This page contains information about accessing books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to the topic of gender equity.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
A Community of Practice Approach to Improving Gender Equality in Research by
Bringing together the latest research among various communities of practice (disciplinary and place based as well as thematically organised), this volume reflects upon the knowledge, experience and practice gained through taking a unique community of practice approach to fostering gender equality in the sectors of research and innovation, and higher education in Europe and beyond. Based on research funded by the European Union, it considers how inter-organisational collaboration can foster change for gender equality through sharing of experiences of Gender Equality Plan implementation and examining the role of measures such as change-monitoring systems. As such, it will appeal to social scientists with interests in organisational change, the sociology of work and gender equality.
Comparative Perspectives on Work-Life Balance and Gender Equality: Fathers on Leave Alone by
This book provides an international perspective on fathers who take parental leave alone. Raises important issues on modernization of the life course and the family in contemporary societies. Provides an understanding on the impact in social and policy context. Provides a comparison on countries which have introduced generous fully-compensated leave entitlements for fathers.
Culture, Diversity and Health in Australia: Towards Culturally Safe Health Care by
Australia is increasingly recognised as a multicultural and diverse society. Nationally, all accrediting bodies for allied health, nursing, midwifery and medical professions require tertiary educated students to be culturally safe with regards to cultural and social diversity. This text, drawing on experts from a range of disciplines, including public health, nursing and sociology, shows how the theory and practice of cultural safety can inform effective health care practices with all kinds of diverse populations.
Daughters of Durga: Dowries, Gender Violence and Family in Australia by
In the early 2010s a spate of domestic violence-related murders in the Victorian Indian community compelled psychiatrist Manjula Datta O'Connor to investigate the causes of patriarchal abuse in South Asian families. As a practitioner with many decades experience in the field, Datta O'Connor questioned whether a better understanding of history and culture could help these communities implement measures to prevent family violence. But the most powerful lessons came from those she met through her practice - survivors of transnational abuse and of sexual and dowry exploitation. These women taught Datta O'Connor about human resilience and strength and the myriad ways women find the inner power to survive. These are the daughters of the goddess Durga, wielding the tools of history to produce meaningful change.
Diversity, Equality and Inclusion by
This book comprehensively covers diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in the context of daily surgical practice. Through real-life illustrative case scenarios and experiences, this book explores DEI and its impact on academic surgery, career development, and clinical practice. Each chapter highlights a commonly encountered scenario and features extensive guidance on how to address each challenge secondary to both implicit explicit biases as well as detailing how to implement best practices.
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion provides a detailed guide to the best practices and challenges associated with implementing DEI in day to day surgical practice and is a valuable resource for all surgical practitioners looking for a guide on how to successfully implement DEI strategies into daily clinical practice.
Emotional Female: A Brilliant Young Surgeon's Journey Through Ambition and Dedication to Exploration and Burnout by
Yumiko Kadota was every Asian parent's dream- model student, top of her class in medical school and on track to becoming a surgeon. A self-confessed workaholic, she regularly put 'knife before life', knowing it was all going to be worth it because it would lead to her longed-for career. But if the punishing hours in surgery weren't hard enough, she also faced challenges as a young female surgeon navigating a male-dominated specialty. She was regularly left to carry out complex procedures without senior surgeons' oversight; she was called all sorts of things, from 'emotional' to 'too confident'; and she was expected to work a relentless on-call roster - sometimes seventy hours a week or more - to prove herself. Eventually it was too much and Yumiko quit. Emotional Female is her account of what it was like to train in the Australian public hospital system, and what made her walk away. Yumiko Kadota is a voice for her generation when it comes to burnout and finding the resilience to rebuild after suffering a physical, emotional and existential breakdown. This is a brave, honest and unflinching work from a major new talent.
Feeling Gender: A Generational and Psychosocial Approach by
This book explores how feelings about gender have changed over three interrelated generations of women and men of different social classes during the twentieth century. The author explores the ways in which generational experiences are connected, what is continued, what triggers gradual or abrupt changes between generations - and between women and men within these generations.
Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia: A Conceptual Framework for Sustainable Transformation by
Institutional focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion affects all parts of higher education management. Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia: A Conceptual Framework for Sustainable Transformation scrutinises the conceptual framework for diversity, equity, and inclusion actions in academia to facilitate research-based and critically reflected decisions in higher education management. The book contains 24 chapters, each focused on one of 24 fundamental concepts that are essential for identifying, understanding, and implementing organizational changes and counteracting unjustified disadvantages faced by women and members of other gender minorities in academia, preceded by an introductory binding chapter. The book also discusses concepts directed towards solutions, such as affirmative action and feminist pedagogies, and overcomes the traditional binary approach on gender by incorporating specific challenges faced by LGBTQ+ and transgender staff and students. Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia will be key reading for academics in Gender Studies and Education Studies, while also serving as a vital resource for individual consumers working in or preparing to enter leadership positions in higher education.
Lead Like You: How Authenticity Transforms the Way Women Live, Love, and Succeed by
Is the life you're leading true to you? Do you feel like you're endlessly striving in a world that never stops asking for more? Too often, we exhaust ourselves in pursuit of supposed ideals. We give everything in search of 'success,' while struggling with stress, guilt, self-doubt, and burnout. It's time to dismantle the illusion of external validation. It's time to embrace your inherent worth as a woman and a leader. Lead Like You is a roadmap for rediscovering the authentic you and realising a new way to live and lead. The key to true transformation, radical resilience, and deep fulfilment lies within: learning to know yourself, care for yourself and truly be yourself, at work and in life. Lead Like You will show you how to ignite this personal and professional revolution. Through courageous stories, evidence-based practices and insights from psychology, author Jo Wagstaff shares indispensable tools for forging a profound connection with -- and caring for -- the self. Learn how you can lead your career and lead yourself with more purpose and power. Understand and overcome the external and internal forces that limit your potential Increase your self-awareness and identify your motivations, limiting behaviours and boundaries Discover the strength and power in mindfulness, self-care and self-compassion Learn how to forge authentic connections and healthier, more meaningful relationships Access and leverage the advantages of authentic leadership to make a difference within your organisation and the world Lead Like You shares the tools and knowledge you need to feel calm, confident, and empowered as a female leader. You'll discover how to find power in vulnerability and return to your true values and purpose. This book will inspire you to do the inner work and redefine your vision for success -- so you can live and lead true to yourself.
Mothermorphosis: Australian Storytellers Write about Becoming a Mother by
The mythology of motherhood is often reduced to cliché. But how do we articulate the complex internal conflicts, the exhilaration and the absurdity of this transformation? Mothermorphosis is a collection of essays on the experience as told by some of Australia's most talented writers and storytellers. In these stories we read about the yearning for a child, the private and public expressions of love, identity in the face of motherhood, gratitude, pride, celebration and loss. Ultimately we learn that there is no one version of this epic story, no one tale that could ever speak for all, and no one way of encapsulating the experience. However, in reading other women's experiences, the hard bits, the ridiculous bits, we can only become more compassionate, not just to other mothers but hopefully to ourselves.
Mothers in Medicine: Career, Practice, and Life Lessons Learned by
Choosing Motherhood and Medicine: The First Questions.- Having and Raising Children During Physician Training: Medical School.- Having and Raising Children During Physician Training: Residency -- Being a Mother in Medicine in Practice.- Choosing Where and How to Work -- Balancing Work and Life.- Sharing the Humor in Being a Mother in Medicine.- Embracing the Mother in Medicine’s Village of Support.- Navigating Life Challenges as a Mother in Medicine.- Negotiating for the Job You Want.- Question and Answer: The Collective Wisdom of Mothers in Medicine.
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide by
The very first textbook of its kind delivers the evidence- and case-based review clinicians need to address the unique healthcare realities of transgender and gender diverse adults. Fenway Guide to Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care offers everything you to provide basic, culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adults patients.
Unconscious Bias Toolkit by
The following toolkit, developed by the Gender Equity Sub-Committee, provides an introduction to unconscious bias. It explains how unconscious bias influences the care our patients receive and the professional endeavours of our members. It also provides strategies and resources to identify and mitigate the effects of unconscious bias.
What Even Is Gender? by
Presents a new philosophy of gender categories, going beyond binary oppositions Introduces some novel concepts, such as 'gender feels' and applies hermeneutical injustice theory to gender One of the first books to use analytic philosophy to disentangle a lot of the confusing debates around gender, which are still rooted in physiological differences
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
Library feedback form