This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Leadership and Management.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
The Best Medicine: A Physicians Guide to Effective Leadership by
This volume provides a theoretical framework for visionary leadership as well as specific management techniques to achieve success. The authors focus on maintaining a consistent set of behavioral characteristics for both the leader and the organization as a whole. The text is written in a conversational style using the authors' personal experiences and case studies to illustrate the principles and practices of successful leaders. When helpful, the large body of observational work on professional group dynamics is referenced. The text also provides ideal supplemental material for the many leadership programs offered by physician organizations and health care systems Developed by an accomplished physician leader from one of the nation's finest hospital systems and an experienced professor of business, The Best Medicine: A Physician's Guide to Effective Leadership is of great value to physicians of all levels who are interested in improving their understanding of leadership styles and tactics.
Coaching for Performance: The Principles and Practice of Coaching and Leadership, 5e by
This book is the founding text of the coaching profession. It explains why enabling people to bring the best out of themselves is the key to driving productivity, growth, and engagement. A meaningful coaching culture has the potential to transform the relationship between organizations and employees and to put both on the path to long-term success.
Collaboration-Based Approaches by
Collaboration-based approaches to healthcare improvement attract much attention. They involve networks of people coming together to cooperate around a common interest, with shared goals of improving care and mutual learning. Longstanding examples of collaborative approaches have been associated with some success in improving outcomes and reducing harm. The evidence for their effectiveness and cost-effectiveness, however, remains inconsistent and contingent on the circumstances in which they are deployed and how they are used for what purpose. Several models for collaboration have been developed, varying in structure, format, and balance between internal leadership and external control. The authors focus on two approaches: quality improvement collaboratives and communities of practice. They explore evidence of their impact on health outcomes, and evidence about how best to organise and implement collaboration-based approaches. Using examples of more and less successful collaborations, they offer guidance on the key challenges involved in using collaboration-based approaches to improve healthcare. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Leadership and Governance in Primary Healthcare: An Exemplar for Practice in Resource Limited Settings by
Good leadership and governance at all levels of the healthcare system is necessary for better performance of the system and health outcomes. Lack of good leadership and governance practices can lead to misuse of health system inputs such as human resources, health commodities and financial resources hence lowering the quality of services delivered. Thus, this guide was developed through collaborative efforts envisioned to respond to the needs of improving good governance practices at the primary healthcare level in resource-limited healthcare systems.
Leadership and Management in Healthcare: A Guide for Medical and Dental Practitioners by
This book is a comprehensive guide to leadership in healthcare and the management of complex clinical scenarios in the medical or dental practice. Training in leadership and hospital management is not part of the curriculum and so guidance is often not provided in depth. This book outlines strategies for dealing with the management problems that arise in the healthcare profession, and it prepares the reader for interviews, examinations and the supervision of a team. It opens with an overview of the NHS, its evidence-based practice and healthcare regulations. Subsequent chapters discuss data protection, management of new business cases, formal complaints and inappropriate use of social media. Information is provided on the recruitment of new junior trainees, the management of underperforming allied health professionals, and the handling of injuries sustained at work. This book is ideal for final-year medical and dental undergraduate students, foundation year doctors, core trainees, junior and senior specialists and newly-appointed consultants.
Leadership in Surgery by
How does one become a successful leader? This book teaches the theories and concepts behind leadership and explains the skills and traits needed to become a good leader. Teaching surgical faculty and trainees how to successfully lead will create more effective surgeon leaders. The skills and theories reviewed in this Volume are highly useful for numerous leadership situations, ranging from heading a committee, leading a research laboratory, directing a clinical effort, leading a Division, leading a Department, among others. By gathering these skills and theories into one comprehensive, portable book, more readers will have access to them.
Management and Leadership - A Guide for Clinical Professionals by
​This book will provide anyone with an interest in the clinic with a basic guide on those things that are not taught during medical school or any other pre-clinical trainings. The line-up of authors was carefully assembled to include experts in all respective fields to give this volume the authority it requires to be a relevant text for many.
Management and Leadership Skills for Medical Faculty: A Practical Handbook by
Recognizing that medical faculty face different questions or issues in different stages of their careers, this handy, practical title offers a comprehensive roadmap and range of solutions to common challenges in the complex and changing Academic Medical Center (AMC). With critical insights and strategies for both aspiring and seasoned academicians, this handbook offers a concise guide for personal career development, executive skill acquisition, and leadership principles, providing actionable, targeted advice for faculty seeking help on a myriad of new issues and situations.
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations by
The leader's guide to building a service powerhouse using the approach that made Mayo Clinic the #1 healthcare system in America Mayo Clinic is among the best service organizations in the world. It fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. This classic business guide offers a rare, up-close look at the best practices that drive Mayo Clinic's success.
Manual of Healthcare Leadership: Essential Strategies for Physician and Administrative Leaders by
Rather than being a theoretic work, The Manual of Healthcare Leadership is intended to be a relevant, practical, and real-world guide that addresses the myriad organizational, regulatory, budgetary, legal, staffing, educational, political, and social issues facing leaders in the healthcare industry.
Practical Operating Theatre Management: Measuring and Improving Performance and Patient Experience by
Distilling the ideas central to managing operating theatres, this book provides a practical and easy to use toolkit to improve theatre efficiency and patient outcomes. It advocates using time as the key measurement and proposes a new norm of operating theatre management based on rational, data-driven principles.
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e by
Since its publication in 2012, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition has become the field's premier resource. Comprehensive, authoritative, and practical, this landmark text provides a solid grounding in clinical, organizational, and administrative areas central to the practice of hospital medicine. The Second Edition has been completely updated to reflect the evolving practice responsibilities of hospitalists. Examples include value-based medicine, expanded surgical content, bedside clinical reasoning, and a new segment devoted to rehabilitation and skilled nursing care. This edition also features a more accessible and streamlined full-color design enriched by more than 600 illustrations.
Senior Leadership Teams and the Agile Organization by
Senior Leadership Teams and the Agile Organization builds on existing knowledge in the leadership, teams, and strategic management literatures to examine and explore how senior leadership teams drive the dynamic capabilities of organizations. Organizational agility is a key dimension of organizational performance. This volume focuses on senior leadership team processes and attributes that facilitate organizational agility and the organization's capacity to perform and rapidly pivot in response to shifting strategic demands. Chapters summarize the current state of knowledge, examine past research and theory, define research and theoretical gaps, and consider how to address these gaps. In so doing, they offer an understanding of how senior leadership teams drive and enable organizational activity. The book is essential reading for researchers and professionals looking to understand the intersection of leadership, team dynamics, organizational psychology, organizational psychology, and strategic management, particularly in relation to organizational agility and the senior leadership team.
Surgical Mentorship and Leadership: Building for Success in Academic Surgery by
This book is a practical, useful guide that reviews select topics on leadership and mentorship, as well as provides key information on how to launch a successful “young” surgical career. This volume focuses on key points on how to identify mentors, highlight mentor-mentee “pearls”, as well as define key leadership traits in being successful as an academic surgeon.
Textbook of Medical Administration and Leadership by
This textbook covers all general areas of knowledge required for a trainee, generalist medical administrator, and doctor undergoing training to be a medical administrator specialist. Chapters cover all the key topics on medical administration and leadership.
Transforming the Patient Experience: A New Paradigm for Hospital and Physician Leadership by
This book provides an organizational model of the common ground needed to improve patient care and adapt to today's healthcare environment. The relationship between a hospital CEO and a general surgeon and how they aligned, motivated and partnered with physicians to change the culture of a hospital and implement patient oriented systems is the essential element of this text.
Women and Global Health Leadership: Power and Transformation by
This ground-breaking collection explores the leadership roles that women hold in global health, teasing out the routes women have taken to leadership, the challenges they have faced, and what has facilitated their journey. It brings to the fore the stories of women on the frontlines of this struggle from around the world, highlighting and complementing these stories with theoretical and analytical explorations of the structures and systems that help or hinder the process. Among the topics explored: Gendered Institutions in Global Health Gender, Peace, and Health: Promoting Human Security with Womens Leadership Academic Journal Publishing: A Pathway to Global Health Leadership Women in Health Systems Leadership: Demystifying the Labyrinth Womens Leadership in Global Health: Evolution Will Not Bring Equality
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Leadership & management
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
