This page lists key anaesthesia and pain medicine journals that are available via Hinari.
If your institution is registered for Research4Life, click on a journal title below and log-in with your institution's registered username and password.
Find out more about Hinarihere.
Essential Surgery Volume of Disease Control Priorities, 3e [Open Access]
“The Essential Surgery volume of DCP3 helps definitively dispel many of the myths about surgery’s role in global health, in part by showing the very large health burden from conditions that are primarily or extensively treated by surgery. It dispels the myth that surgery is too expensive by showing that many essential surgical services rank amongst the most cost-effective of all heath interventions.”
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 4e [APAC Resources] by
Anaesthesiologists, residents, and advanced practice practitioners alike rely upon the comprehensive content of Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management to remain proficient in this essential area. The 4th edition continues the tradition of excellence with coverage of new devices and algorithms, new research, new outcomes reporting, and much more - while retaining a concise, how-to approach; carefully chosen illustrations; and case examples and analysis throughout.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual [via Hinari] by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy.
Oxford Textbook of Critical Care,2e [Hinari] by
The thoroughly revised second edition of the Oxford Textbook of Critical Care is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary text covering all aspects of adult intensive care management. Uniquely the book takes a problem-orientated approach providing a reference source for clinical issues experienced every day in the intensive care unit.
Anaesthesia Handbook [Open Access] by
The aim of this handbook is to provide guidance for trained anaesthetists working for the ICRC and to offer advice in areas where practice will differ from that in their home country. It is designed to supplement the practical training given in ICRC war-surgery seminars and to support the work of the ICRC in war surgery.
Even in the most austere of conditions it is imperative to realize that anaesthesia is always a significant medical intervention and entails a degree of risk.Despite the constraints of the austere environment, minimum standards of conduct and monitoring must be followed with the emphasis always on safety and simplicity. Flexibility is a key requirement. It is vital to remember that having the skills to pursue a particular course of action does not necessarily mean that you should do so. Anaesthetic techniques may need to be adapted to the prevailing circumstances.
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room [via Hinari] by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization andimaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.The book includes chapters on patient monitoring techniques, pre-procedure evaluation and post-procedure care, and procedural sedation performed by non-anesthesia providers. Its authors address problems of anesthesia that have unique answers in OOR settings, such as patient transport and cardiacarrest, and discuss technological progress and considerations for the future. The text also covers surgical procedures and anesthetic considerations by procedure location, such as radiology, infertility clinics, field and military environments, and pediatric settings, among many others Selectguidelines from the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) are provided as well.Edited by the senior faculty from Harvard Medical School and with contributions from other academic institutions, Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room provides a unique and convenient compendium of expertise and experience.
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
The demand for anesthesiologists outside of the operating room continues to grow as the number of minimally invasive procedures proliferates and the complexity of diagnostic procedures undertaken outside of the OR increase. Non-Operating Room Anesthesia is an easy-to-access, highly visual reference that facilitates an in-depth understanding of NORA procedures and protocols needed to minimize risk and complications and to maximize growth opportunities. "In this book, Drs. Mark Weiss and Lee Fleisher have provided an important tool to address both the challenges and opportunities for anesthesiologists in providing non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) care."
Obstetric anaesthesia for developing countries [via Hinari] by
Anaesthesia services in developing countries are often limited due to a shortage of basic facilities, equipment and drugs, as well as a lack of personnel and proper training. Anaesthesia services for obstetric procedures pose a particular problem in developing countries, where high rates ofanaesthesia-related complications and fetal/maternal mortality are seen in connection with otherwise common procedures such as caesarean section.This concise and practical pocketbook covers the basic principles of obstetric anaesthesia with a special emphasis on the unique challenges of service delivery in the developing world. The book will be useful for a range of practitioners in developing countries including anaesthetists, trainees,nurse anaesthetists, and district hospital doctors.
Cardiovascular Physiology [via Hinari] by
Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology [via Hinari] by
The 13th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as the world's foremost medical physiology textbook. Unlike other textbooks on this topic, this clear and comprehensive guide has a consistent, single-author voice and focuses on the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The detailed but lucid text is complemented by didactic illustrations that summarize key concepts in physiology and pathophysiology.
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology [via Hinari] by
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 8e, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications. This most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will be invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice.
Aagbi Core Topics in Anaesthesia 2015 [via Hinari] by
Based on the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain & Ireland's (AAGBI) continuing education lecture series, this clinically-oriented book covers the latest developments in research and the clinical application of anesthesia and pain control. Reviews latest developments in research and practice Clinically-oriented but rooted in basic science Concise and informative articles on key topics Road-tested through CPD roadshows Designed specifically for continuing medical education
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia is authored by both trainees and specialists in order to create an authoritative yet accessible text. Containing everything candidates need to know to pass this final major hurdle in anaesthetic training, this book is ideal for exam revision.A brief overview of the basic physiology of each system is provided together with important diagrams that may be required by the viva examiners. Suggestions for further reading are included for candidates wishing to read around the subjects. Topics in applied basic science are presented in asystems-based format, as laid out in the syllabus set by the Royal College of Anaesthetists, to allow for easy navigation and structured learning and revision.
Anesthesia Secrets, 5e [via Hinari] by
Get quick answers to the most important clinical questions with Duke's Anesthesia Secrets, 5th Edition! Authors James Duke, MD and Brian M. Keech, MD present this easy-to-read, bestselling resource that uses the popular and trusted Secrets Series® Q&A format. It provides rapid access to the practical, "in-the-trenches" know-how you need to succeed - both in practice and on board and recertification exams. Zero in on key information with bulleted lists, tables, mnemonics, illustrations, practical tips from the authors, and "Key Points" boxes that provide a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Review essential material efficiently with the "Top 100 Secrets in Anesthesiology" - perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Get the evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your patients - ideal for medical students, residents, fellows, and practitioners. Apply all the latest advances in techniques, technology, and pharmacology, and explore effective solutions to a full range of clinical issues in anesthesiology. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and tables from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesiology [via Hinari] by
Anesthesiology: A Comprehensive Review for the Written Boards and Recertification is a high-yield, streamlined study aid. It contains more than 1000 updated, realistic multiple-choice questions tailored to the question content of recent American Board of Anestesiology (ABA) exams. To maximizereading efficiency, key messages are repeated and highlighted in the bullets.While focusing on most-frequently tested keywords by the ABA, this book also covers new "emerging" topics such as patient safety, statistics, and ethics. Well-chosen illustrations and graphs are used to enhance the learning experience. Also novel is a high-yield summary of the 60 most frequentlytested topics and concepts to be reviewed just before taking the boards. With this book as guidance, readers will be able to efficiently prepare for the written primary certification or recertification anesthesiology board exam.
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review [via Hinari] by
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid specifically designed for Anesthesiology residents preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) Basic Anesthesiology Exam. Chapters deliver succinct and efficiently communicated summaries of all contentlisted in the ABA exam outline, plus highlighted key facts, mneomnics, and relevant images and diagrams. Chapters conclude with board-style practice questions and annotated answers, followed by key references and further reading. With this book as a guide, readers will be able to efficiently preparefor the Basic Anesthesiology Examination and master the key facts and concepts that provide the scientific roundation for the practice of Anesthesiology.
Oxford Case Histories in Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
Based around the core curriculum for specialist trainees, Oxford Case Histories in Anaesthesia contains over 60 clinical cases compiled by expert consultants. The cases comprehensively cover all sub-specialties and a broad range of variations that occur in normal and abnormal physiology, pharmacology and pathology, as well as patient age. The cases have been selected with reference to the revised Curriculum for a Certificate of Completion of Training in Anaesthesia set by the Royal College of Anaesthetists.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 4e [via Hinari] by
Evidence-based, up-to-date, and clinically-focused, it is indispensable for both anaesthetic trainees and experienced practitioners. The fourth edition includes new content on obesity surgery, colloids vs crystalloids, and enhanced recovery, as well as intraoperative fluid management, new anticoagulants, BIS updates, pulse contour analysis, and much more.
Preparing to Pass the FRCA [via Hinari] by
Preparing to Pass the FRCA: Strategies for Exam Success equips you with the skills of effective revision and time management to maximise your success.The book takes each element of the FRCA exam and provides tips and techniques on how to approach the different types of questions, and includes worked examples with answers, so that you can undertake your revision accordingly.It will help you to target your revision so you can cover the breadth of topics in the FRCA syllabus and ensure that you structure your revision in an efficient way, as well as helping you to approach the exam and convey your knowledge through writing or speech correctly.Taking many common problems candidates face when preparing for this exam, the book covers motivation, effective studying, managing nerves, and scheduling time to study amongst other commitments.
Regional Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is an essential companion to the practice of regional anaesthesia for consultants and trainees in the specialty. Filled with practical advice and carefully designed for ease of use, this book is the helpful aid to practice that anaesthetists have beenwaiting for.The book covers all the major blocks by anatomical region, from the head and upper extremities, to the lower extremities and para-axial region. The technique for each procedure is prefaced by information on its difficulty, indications, contraindications, and potential side-effects. Every procedureis also accompanied by a range of high-quality clinical photographs and anatomical drawings that demonstrate the importance of applying anatomical knowledge in practical anaesthetic procedures.Regional anaesthesia is a fast-moving specialty, and this book takes into account recent advances in ultrasound-guided techniques with a strong focus on real-time observation of needle placement. Landmark-placed blocks have are also covered for clinicians without access to ultrasound technology.Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is a unique compilation of anaesthetic techniques that offers support and guidance for any trainee or specialist in their every day practice.
Developing Anaesthesia is a collection of online resources that have beencreated to promote the advancement of anaesthetic practice and to empower anaesthetists in countries with limited resources. Resources include:
Developing Anaesthesia textbook
Initial emergency care resources
Emergency in Anaesthesia manual
Anaesthesia education resources
Visit the website to explore more information and resources
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z [via Hinari] by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care.
Anaesthesia for the Elderly Patient, 2e [via Hinari] by
The second edition of Anaesthesia for the Elderly Patient offers the anaesthetist guidance on the evaluation and management of elderly patients that present at hospital for surgery and anaesthesia. Containing 15 chapters on key topics such as emergency anaesthesia, orthopaedic surgery, and neurosurgery, as well as a new chapter on "Anaesthesia for Non-Theatre Environments", this book ensures the reader is fully prepared for the clinical challenges they may face when working with this ever-growing vulnerable group.
Anaesthesia Science [via Hinari] by
Anaesthesia Science presents the scientific foundations upon which the clinical practice of anaesthesia and care of the critically ill are based. Written on the basis that basic science underlies the practice of anaesthesia. Thoroughly integrates the clinical practice of anaesthesia with basic sciences, providing all the information needed in one convenient source.
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6e [via Hinari] by
Your awareness of uncommon diseases and possible complications is vital to successful anesthetic patient management. Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with new information on less commonly seen diseases and conditions, including the latest evidence and management guidelines. This unique medical reference book is essential for a complete understanding of today's best options and potential difficulties in anesthesia. Improve your ability to successfully manage every patient, including those with rare diseases or conditions. Avoid complications with unique coverage of an important aspect of anesthetic management.
Anesthesia Emergencies [via Hinari] by
Anesthesia Emergencies contains relevant step-by-step information on how to detect, manage, and treat complications and emergencies during the perioperative period. The second edition contains a revised table of contents which presents topics in order of their priority during emergencies, as well as two new chapters on crisis resource management and disaster medicine.
Anesthesia for Cardiac Surgery, 3e [via Hinari] by
This comprehensive, state of the art overview of pediatric and adult cardiac anesthesia brings together all the latest developments in this rapidly developing field. This text is intended both as a reference and for daily use by practicing and prospective anesthesiologists. Thoroughly updated for its third edition, Anesthesia for Cardiac Surgery fills the gap between encyclopaedic references and brief outlines, presenting just the right amount of information to guide trainees and practitioners who care for cardiac surgical patients.
Anesthesia for Congenital Heart Disease, 3e [via Hinari] by
The third edition of Anesthesia for Congenital Heart Disease, the recognized gold-standard reference in this field, offers a major update and expansion of the textbook to reflect the ongoing development of the practice of paediatric and congenital cardiac anaesthesia and the burgeoning knowledge base in this exciting field.
Australasian Anaesthesia 2023 by 
Basics of Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
Basics of Anesthesia, 7e, provides comprehensive coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Drs. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and Ronald D. Miller, in conjunction with many new contributors, have ensured that all chapters are thoroughly up to date and reflect the latest advances in today's practice. Unparalleled authorship, concise text, easy-to-read chapters, and a user-friendly format make this text the #1 primer on the scope and practice of anesthesiology.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
Regarded as the go-to reference in the field, Atlas of Regional Anesthesia brings you the detailed visual guidance and unmatched expertise needed to confidently administer a myriad of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner while an emphasis on cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT and MRI scans help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia.
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook, 2e [via Hinari] by
This second edition of Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook offers a comprehensive review of the options, advantanges, and disadvantages of different aspects of the perioperative management of the pediatric patient, as well as examples of a wide range of relevant clinical scenarios.
Complications in Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
This easy-to-use resource details all of the complications likely to be encountered in clinical practice. The scope has been expanded to include the critical care setting. Internationally renowned authorities explain the nature, likelihood, and causes of each problem, and then guide you through the appropriate treatment measures. Each type of complication is discussed in its own concise chapter making it easier to quickly locate and research specific topics of interest.
Coté and Lerman's A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 6e [via Hinari] by
Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia.
Crisis Management in Anesthesiology [via Hinari] by
The fully updated Crisis Management in Anesthesiology continues to provide updated insights on the latest theories, principles, and practices in anesthesiology. From anesthesiologists and nurse anesthetists to emergency physicians and residents, this medical reference book will effectively prepare you to handle any critical incident during anesthesia. "A comprehensive discussion of the latest theories, principles and practices for CRM in perioperative practice and will be a useful resource for anaesthetists of all grades and levels of experience" Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, Jun 2015
Decision Making in Anesthesiology, 4e [Hinari] by
Get fast answers to more than 220 anesthetic management problems with Decision Making in Anesthesiology! This fully revised and updated fourth edition examines vital topics in pre-anesthesia assessment, pre-operative problems, resuscitation, specialty anesthesia, post-operative management, and more. Its unique algorithmic approach helps you find the information you need quickly -- and gives you insights into the problem-solving techniques of experienced anesthesiologists that you won't find in any other book!
Essence of Anesthesia Practice [via Hinari] by
Essence of Anesthesia Practice, 4th ed, is a trusted resource for point-of-care anesthesia management. Concise, easy-to-find summaries cover a single clinical topic for both common and rare conditions. A renewed focus on diseases and drugs makes this edition even more useful when formulating anesthesia plans and mastering the core knowledge of anesthesia practice. Features a unique, easy-to-follow, consistent format that covers a single clinical topic on each page, with a review of its problems, causes, comorbidities, and anesthesia implications. Helps you understand the interactions of common drugs and alternative medicine so that you can develop effective anesthesia plans.
Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology [via Hinari] by
Leading authority Lee A. Fleisher, MD expertly explores the full range of important issues in perioperative management, discussing the available options, examining the relevant research, and presenting practical recommendations. Make sound, evidence-based decisions on every aspect of patient care: preoperative assessment, monitoring and administration of anesthesia during surgery, postoperative intensive care management, and postoperative pain management.
Foundations of Anesthesia, 2e [via Hinari] by
118 international experts provide you with complete coverage of basic and clinical science in anesthesiology. They emphasize the principles and clinical applications of molecular and cell biology, physiology, pharmacology, and physics and measurement. Over 700 full-color illustrations and easy-to-read tables and graphs help you understand every detail. Uses a visual approach with excellent full-color line illustrations. Includes a bonus CD-ROM that allows you to download all of the book's figures into PowerPoint® for electronic presentations. Refers only to key references from primary papers keeping information that is the most up-to-date.
Fundamentals of Neuroanesthesia [via Hinari] by
Neurosurgical procedures are becoming more common and are taking place in the operating room and in interventional suites. Procedures that used to be performed only at major academic institutions are also being done in small community hospitals, and anesthesiologists in private practice arebeing asked to care for these patients. In many cases, treatment options are controversial or rapidly evolving. Close cooperation between the anesthesiologist and neurosurgeon is essential to achieve optimal outcomes and early recognition of any adverse events so appropriate therapy can beimplemented.Fundamentals of Neuroanesthesia is a comprehensive guide to neuroanesthesia that discusses neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, and neurosurgical procedures and offers practical approaches and solutions to administering neuroanesthesia and providing perioperative care for neurosurgical patients. Chaptersemphasize clinical management of neurosurgical problems that may be encountered in community practice as well as major academic medical centers. Highlighted key points, figures, algorithms, and management procedures supplement the text. This book is a must-have volume for general anesthesiologists,anesthesiology fellows, and subspecialists.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia, 7e helps you optimize perioperative outcomes for patients undergoing both cardiac and noncardiac surgery. Dr. Joel L. Kaplan, along with associate editors, Drs. John G. T. Augoustides, David L. Reich, and Gerard R. Manecke, guide you through today's clinical challenges, including the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology. Complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Cardiac Surgery, 2e [via Hinari] by
Designed for residents, nurses, and clinicians seeking quick, high-yield answers rather than the encyclopedic information commonly found in larger references-in fact, its concise format makes it easy to complete a section in a single sitting. Trusted authorities deliver the key cardiac anesthesia knowledge you need to know.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery [via Hinari] by
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists.
Miller's Anesthesia, 9e [via Hinari] by
Miller's Anesthesia, 9e, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature.
Obstetric Anesthesia [via Hinari] by
Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6e, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students.
Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
The new Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia provides a comprehensive overview of and a thorough grounding in this challenging subspecialty. Both cardiac and thoracic anaesthesia demand high levels of knowledge and skill, as minimally invasive surgical techniques demand a sounder understanding of the specialties and as more patients with co-morbidities present for surgery.
Practical Procedures in Anaesthesia and Critical Care [via Hinari] by
The ability to perform a wide variety of practical procedures safely and competently is essential for any doctor involved in the practice of anaesthesia and intensive care. Junior doctors especially are now called upon to gain competence in many invasive practical procedures in an increasinglyshort space of time, whilst also understanding the theory behind them.This highly practical book is the only guide needed to the procedures and techniques commonly used in anaesthesia and critical care medicine. Step-by-step, it clearly explains each technique and procedure, enabling the reader to fully understand how and why they are performed. Full colourphotographs illustrate each technique, and every chapter covers the same essential information: definition, indications, contraindications, complications, equipment, sites, and technique, for ease of use.This book will be used by all junior trainees in anaesthesia, along with junior doctors from other specialities working in intensive care units. It will also be useful to any senior anaesthetist who wishes to update or refresh their knowledge, as well as anyone working in the emergency ward whoperforms any of these procedures.
Principles and Practice of Regional Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
The fourth edition of this highly successful textbook discusses the practical applications of the various methods of regional anaesthesia, including ultrasound, as well as giving an account of their theoretical aspects. The well-established author team use their experience to provide apractical and stimulating book which reflects everyday clinical activity, supplemented by high definition ultrasound images and schematic diagrams. The book will also discuss the place of regional anaesthesia in current medical practice, particularly with regard to pain processes, ultrasoundimaging, and patient outcomes.Regional anaesthesia is a rapidly expanding sub-speciality of anaesthesia: routine provision of long-lasting pain relief and the introduction of real-time ultrasound block has fuelled a demand for cadaver and ultrasound-based anatomy training courses. Thus, it is more important than ever to have athorough grounding in this exciting subspecialty.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care [via Hinari] by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that support reform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease [via Hinari] by
A classic since its first publication nearly 25 years ago, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 7th Edition, by Drs. Roberta L. Hines and Katherine E. Marschall, remains your go-to reference for concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. To provide the guidance you need to successfully manage or avoid complications stemming from pre-existing conditions there are detailed discussions of each disease, the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, and more.
Thoracic Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
Thoracic anaesthesia is regarded as a post fellowship sub-speciality within anaesthesia, and can be daunting. This handbook provides an easily accessible, informative, and palatable guide to this often complex subject. The text is sub-divided into basic sciences, pre-operative assessment, diagnostic procedures, and an anaesthetist's walk-through of key thoracic surgical procedures. It concludes with an emergency section covering thoracic anaesthesia emergencies, critical care, and the thoracic surgical patient, and ends with essential guidance on the relevant practical procedures necessary to manage cases. The text provides an essential reference for the core curriculum of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and for the day-to-day practice of post fellowship anaesthetists alike. The discussions of the surgical procedures are simple, highlighting the poignant stages that can affect the anaesthetic management of the patient. The authors use the very latest evidence in order to keep the reader up to speed with developments in the field. Whether on-call, running day-to-day lists or working within critical care, this indispensable guidebook will optimise the preparedness of all staff in dealing with any case, whether simple or complex.
Vascular Anaesthesia [via Hinari] by
Providing a practical, current, evidence-based approach to all aspects of perioperative care for the patient with vascular disease, this title is an essential read for all vascular anaesthetists, anaesthetic nurses and all those involved in the care of vascular patients throughout the world.
Essential Surgery Volume of Disease Control Priorities, 3e
“The Essential Surgery volume of DCP3 helps definitively dispel many of the myths about surgery’s role in global health, in part by showing the very large health burden from conditions that are primarily or extensively treated by surgery. It dispels the myth that surgery is too expensive by showing that many essential surgical services rank amongst the most cost-effective of all heath interventions.”
The Essential Surgery Volume of Disease Control Priorities focuses on the global burden of surgical disease, including anaesthesia and perioperative care (chapter 15).
Key messages:
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence [via Hinari] by
This fourth edition sums up the evidence currently available to assist health professionals in the management of acute pain. Additional literature has been reviewed from August 2009 to August 2014. Levels of evidence have been documented according to the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) designation (NHMRC 1999). The Jadad scoring instrument was used to score the quality of all randomised controlled trials (RCTs) (Jadad 1996). Key iv Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence messages for each topic are specified with the highest level of evidence available to support them, or with a symbol showing that they are based on clinical experience or expert opinion
Atlas of Pain Injection Techniques, 2e [via Hinari] by
This highly illustrated, "off-the-shelf" guide offers easy-to-follow descriptions of today's best techniques for administering basic nerve blocks. Ideal for relative newcomers to pain management as well as for anesthesiology trainees, this medical reference book provides exactly the fundamental guidance you need to master these essential procedures. Find information quickly with a user-friendly, templated format that guides you through each nerve block in a consistent and easy-to-follow manner.
Complications in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine [via Hinari] by
This single-source reference addresses complications related to the practice of regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Chapters are written by a world authority on each specific complication and are evidence-based from an extensive literature search. Each chapter is constructed to follow a defined approach to the problem to ensure inclusiveness of evidence, clarity, and consistency. Provides a definition for each complication Details the risk factors so you can make informed decisions on treatment Includes details on treatment and rehabilitation providing you with a complete solution to any complication you encounter Advises you on when to seek further consultation
Essentials of Pain Medicine [via Hinari] by
Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Features hundreds of diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify key information and injection techniques - now in full color for the first time. Includes the latest best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Discusses recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular pain. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Pain Medicine and Regional Anesthesia, 2e [via Hinari] by
This second edition of Essentials of Pain Management and Regional Anesthesia, offers an accessible and concise, yet complete, overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. From a review of basic considerations through local anesthetics and nerve block techniques, this book provides the reader with an excellent tool for exam review or practice of Pain Management. Organized in a concise, practical quick-reference format. All chapters are brief and easy to read quickly. Offers specific strategies for the evaluation and management of a full range of pain syndromes, including cancer pain. Features over 230 diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify the information and make it easy to apply. Discusses the latest drugs and therapeutic approaches, such as acupuncture. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Includes new topics such as: imaging in pain medicine, radiation safety, issues associated with the use of narcotics, intraarticular and intraperitoneal use of opioids, pain management in the emergency room and in the intensive care unit, pain management issues during pregnancy, geriatric pain, and hospice care and end-of-life issues. New chapters on interventional procedures include discography, intradiscal electrothermal coagulation (IDET), vertebroplasty, and piriformis injections. Truncal blocks and neuraxial blocks and anticoagulants are added to the section on nerve blocks. With 89 additional contributing experts.
Handbook of Pain Management [via Hinari] by
The essential companion to the Textbook of Pain, this book provides the pain specialist and trainee with an easy-to-access overview on the management complexities, assessment tools and multiple treatment modalities that are currently available to the physician dealing with the full spectrum of pain syndromes. The emphasis throughout is on the clinical aspects of pain medicine. It contains the core information that the practitioner and trainee needs. Each chapter is brief and succinctly written, with key information provided in accessible tables and summary charts. The book is divided into two main sections: clinical states (acute, chronic and cancer pain) and therapeutic aspects (pharmacological, surgical, physiotherapy, psychotherapy) - and it presents a rational, multidisciplinary approach to the management of pain. Designed for concise, quick reference Provides core information needed for accurate diagnosis and management of patients Accessible and affordable introduction to pain medicine Edited by Melzack & Wall themselves - giving reassurance that the information is from a knowledgeable and trusted source Suitable as a recommended text for pain specialists in training
Pain Management [via Hinari] by
Regarded as the premiere clinical reference in its field, Pain Management, 2e, edited by noted pain authority Dr. Steven Waldman, provides comprehensive, practical, highly visual guidance to help you effectively apply the most recent evidence-based advances in pain management. This popular text has been updated with 13 new chapters that include the latest information on interventional and ultrasound-guided techniques, acute regional pain nerve blocks, and more.
Pain Management Secrets, 3e [via Hinari] by
No matter what questions arise in practice or while preparing for boards, Pain Management Secrets, 3rd Edition has the answers. A two-color page layout, portable size, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in pain management help you better meet the challenges you face today. You'll find all the features you rely on from the Secrets Series®-a question-and-answer format, lists, mnemonics, tables and an informal tone-that make reference fast and easy.
Postoperative Pain Management [via Hinari] by
A team of today's leaders in this rapidly changing field present definitive, evidence-based guidance on optimal postoperative pain practice. Comprehensive in scope, the text spans the spectrum of patients from infants to the elderly, and examines topics including the scientific basis of postoperative pain, management of postoperative pain, and postoperative pain management in specific clinical settings. A bonus CD-ROM, bound in the text, presents approximately 200 case-based question sets for self-assessment. Provides a comprehensive, current source of information on what practices are supported by existing evidence. Includes practical examples to demonstrate the clinical application of principles or recommendations discussed. Emphasizes evidence-based decision making practice. Presents a design and presentation suitable for all health care workers responsible for the management of postoperative pain. Offers abundant illustrations throughout to facilitate understanding of the material.
Practical Management of Pain, 5e [via Hinari] by
Understand and apply the latest developments in pain medicine with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, chronic widespread pain, and burn pain. Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents.
Spinal Injections and Peripheral Nerve Blocks [via Hinari] by
Spinal Injections & Peripheral Nerve Blocks - a volume in the new Interventional and Neuromodulatory Techniques for Pain Management series - presents state-of-the-art guidance on when and why these procedures should be performed, the mechanisms of action on pain, and current guidelines for practice.
Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 9e [via Hinari] by
First published in 1963, Anatomy for Anaesthesists is the definitive anatomy text for anaesthetists in training and remains an invaluable reference for those in practice. The text explores in depth those areas of particular interest to anaesthetists: the respiratory pathway, the heart, the vertebral canal and its contents, the peripheral nerves, the autonomic nervous system, and the cranial nerves, and also includes sections on the anatomy of pain and other zones of anaesthetic interest. This new 9th edition has been fully revised and updated to incorporate developments in regional techniques and the increased use of ultrasound.
Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women [via Hinari] by
Logically organized and easy to use, Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women, 3rd Edition, is your #1 resource for details on how virtually all of today's drugs and herbal supplements interact with pregnancy and lactation. More than just a dosing manual, this unique title by Dr. Carl P. Weiner fully explains whether each drug is FDA-approved for use by expecting or nursing mothers, is known to be safe for use, or is known to pose a danger. With up-to-date coverage of nearly 2,000 substances, it provides the thorough details you need to choose the most effective course of treatment. Covers nearly 2,000 substances (more than 30 are new), arranged alphabetically by both trade and generic name, all updated and rewritten for this edition. Includes over-the-counter drugs and alternative medications as well as prescription drugs. Includes extensive updates to information for breastfeeding mothers and enhanced drug interactions throughout. Helps you make prescribing decisions with current information on whether each drug is FDA-approved for use by expecting or nursing mothers, is known to be safe for use, or is known to pose a danger. Describes each substance's mechanism of action, side effects, drug-drug interactions, dosage, cost of therapy, and degree of safety during pregnancy or lactation. Features an easy-to-read, efficient design with consistent headings, highly templated drug listings, and succinct text that presents only the key facts you need. Contains a special index listing drugs by category. Points out conflicts in FDA class with existing knowledge throughout the book. Indicates not only whether the FDA has approved a drug based on clinical trials, but also whether the drug is generally considered to be safe in the absence of FDA approval. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices Features new letter thumb tabs for easier navigation. Includes dozens of new drugs and thorough updates throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care [via Hinari] by
An essential reference text, the fifth edition of this popular book details drugs in anaesthesia and intensive care in an A-Z format. The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access tospecific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs.The new edition includes a complete revision of all the featured drugs, and the addition of key new drugs. New diagrams of particular drug structures and comparison tables aid comparison of differences within a drug class for exam revision. Improved navigation in the index enables promptdiscoverability of information.Written in a concise, bullet-point style to allow quick access to information, the book contains all necessary drug references for anaesthetists in training, consultant anaesthetists, intensive care nurses, and anaesthetic assistants.
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics [via Hinari] by
Medical Pharmacology & Therapeutics, 5e, offers medical students all they need to know to become safe and effective prescribers. It forms a complete, integrated resource for basic pharmaceutical science, pathophysiology, clinical pharmacology, and therapeutics. The fifth edition has been extensively revised and updated throughout.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, 16e [via Hinari] by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere.
Pharmacology in Anesthesia Practice [via Hinari] by
In anesthesia practice and treatment, pharmacology and therapeutics are intimately related, synergistic, and mutually reinforcing. Rapid advances in pharmacotherapy often offer myriad treatment options for clinicians to sort through when developing patient management strategies. In turn, theprinciples of clinical therapeutics are rooted in fundamental pharmacology. Clinicians must understand pharmacologic principles in order to formulate and implement therapeutic algorithms that maximize patient benefit.Pharmacology in Anesthesia Practice provides clinicians with a rapid and easy review of the most commonly utilized pharmacologic agents during perioperative care. Clinical application is emphasized throughout. It aims to offer clinicians point-of-care guidance from internationally recognizedauthors and centers of excellence.
Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists, 5e [via Hinari] by
This fifth edition of Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists continues to provide a comprehensive scientific basis and a readable account of the principles of pharmacology, as well as practical guidance in the use of drugs that is relevant to clinical anaesthesia. With these concepts in mind: Every chapter in this new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated An additional chapter on Adverse Drug Reactions is included For ease of reference, the structures of many commonly used agents are featured, with their sites of isomerism, when appropriate Recommended International Non-proprietary Names (rINNs) are generally used for generic agents, although preference has been given to the current nomenclature for adrenaline and noradrenaline As in previous editions, a comprehensive glossary covering abbreviations and acronyms is included to aid the reader. Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists is an invaluable resource, both for candidates of professional examinations in anaesthesia and the practising anaesthetist wishing to refresh their pharmacological knowledge.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 9e [via Hinari] by
Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine [via Hinari] by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Ward's Anaesthetic Equipment [via Hinari] by
Won First Prize at 2012 BMA awards in Anaesthesia Category. Lavishly illustrated by clear line diagrams and photographs, Ward's Anaesthetic Equipment is a highly accessible single source to aid understanding of the key principles behind equipment function and design. This sixth edition of the classic reference text on anaesthetic equipment is again extensively revised to reflect the very latest advances. Ward's is an invaluable resource for qualified anaesthetists, as well as essential reading for those in training or approaching examinations such as those of the Primary and Final Fellowship in the UK and Ireland.
How to Practice Academic Medicine and Publish from Developing Countries?: A Practical Guide [Open Access] by
The book provides an overview of the state of research in developing countries - Africa, Latin America, and Asia (especially India) and why research and publications are important in these regions. It addresses budding but struggling academics in low and middle-income countries. It is written mainly by senior colleagues who have experienced and recognized the challenges with design, documentation, and publication of health research in the developing world.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
