Skip to main content

AIRR | ANZCA Institutional Research Repository: SUBMITTING TO AIRR

This following page outlines the various submission processes for AIRR | ANZCA Institutional Research Repository. CURRENTLY BETA-TESTING.

Selection criteria framework

Content to be included in AIRR:

  • ANZCA and FPM Fellow research grants (publications and outcomes)
  • ANZCA and FPM Fellow publications (not related to research grants, eg. journal articles, theses, book chapters)
  • ANZCA and FPM trainee research (published and unpublished)
  • ASM abstracts and presentations
  • ANZCA policy and background papers

InformationA complete copy of the selection criteria framework can be found here:

How to submit

Submission workflow overview

  1. Register a user submission profile
    • User submission profile is approved [ADMIN]
  2. Login to AIRR
  3. Add Item Records to AIRR
    • Search/check if publication already loaded
    • Check PubMed/Trove to verify citation details
    • Submit new item record
    • New records reviewed, edited and approved [ADMIN]
  4. Add Author Profiles to AIRR
    • Search/check if author profile already loaded
    • Submit new author profile
    • New author profiles reviewed, edited and approved [ADMIN]

A. Register a user submission profile

Before submitting documents to AIRR, it is first necessary to register a user submission profile.

Steps 1 & 2 below may be completed by the person to be registered, or a library staff member:

  1. Go to http://airr.anzca.edu.au/anzcajspui/register - the User Registration screen will display:

  1. Enter the E-mail Address of the person to be registered and click the Register button

This will automatically generate an email from the Library to the email address nominated above - the email’s subject will be AIRR Account Registration:

Note: If you have completed steps 1 & 2 above on behalf of another user, please advise that user to check their emails and advise them to follow steps 3-6 below.

Note: Steps 3-6 must be completed by the person to be registered:

  1. Open the email from Library with subject AIRR Account Registration and click on the URL that is in the email - the Registration Information screen will open in your browser:

  1. Ensure the following details are entered:
  • First name – for example: Peter
  • Last name – for example: Smith
  • and choose a password to use, and repeat the password to confirm
  1. Click on the Complete Registration button when complete – the Registration Complete screen will display:

  1. Click on Return to DSpace Home link to return to the Home screen

Note: Please allow 3 working days for library staff to authorise your account to submit to AIRR.

Once authorised, you will receive an email notification:

B. Login to AIRR

Once registered, the user can log into AIRR:

  1. Go to URL: http://airr.anzca.edu.au
  2. Click Sign on to: > My DSpace

  1. Enter the E-mail address and Password used on the Registration Information form
  2. Click on the Log In button

C. Adding item records to AIRR

Before submitting a new item:

  1. Check whether the item is already in AIRR: 
    1. Open AIRR: http://airr.anzca.edu.au/
    2. In the Search DSpace box, enter part or all the item’s title, and click the blue search button:
    3. The Results screen will display - check the Item hits table to check for a possible match
    4. If the item is already in AIRR, do not duplicate it.
    5. If the item is not in AIRR, proceed to the next section
  2. Published articles – search PubMed (or Trove) for the item to verify the citation details

Submit new item:

  1. Log into AIRR (see above)
  2. Select My DSpace and click on the Start a New Submission button:
    Note: If you see an error: You are not authorized to submit to any collections, please contact ANZCA Library and request permission to submit items to AIRR.

  1. Using the drop-down next to Collection, choose the collection that you wish to submit the item to: Scholarly and Clinical or Corporate
  2. Click the Next button – you should now be at the Submit: Describe this Item screen
  3. Choose the Type of item (for example: Book or Journal Article) you wish to submit and the Content type (for example: Text), then click the Next button

  1. On the next Submit: Describe this Item screen, complete the fields that describe the item, using the field notes as a guide - 
    • Other Authors/Editors field:
      • Add in all the authors/editors of the item (including any ANZCA/FPM Authors/Editors that you have already added in earlier fields)
      • Please ensure authors are added in publication order
    • Affiliated Organisations field:
      • Add any known affiliations of authors – these can often be found in PubMed citations under Author information:
    • ORCID field:
      • There is no need to complete this field, as it is possible to add the ORCD to the associated Author profile
  2.  Click the Next button when complete
  3. The Access screen will display, where if necessary you may make the item Private (not searchable) and/or set an Embargo date:

  1. To make the record private (not searchable):
    Note: You also have the option to make a record private after the item has been added to the collection
    • Place a tick in the Private tick box under Private Item
  2. To set an Embargo period:
    • Enter the date from which access is allowed in the Embargo Date: box
    • If you wish, you may enter the reason for the embargo in the Reason box
  3. If you do not wish to use (or have completed) these options, click the Next button - the Submit: Upload a File screen will display:

  1. If you wish to add a file, click on the Select a file or drag & drop files … box and either browse to and select the file, or drop the file on this box. Click the Next button when complete
  2. If you do not wish to add a file, then click the Skip file upload button instead
  3. If you see a SHERPA/RoMEO Publisher Policy Database box, ignore it and click the Skip the upload button - the Submit: Verify Submission screen will display:

  1. Please review your submission. If there are any errors, you may edit any text by using the buttons to the right of the error, or by clicking on the progress bar at the top of the page

  1. When you have finished reviewing, click the Next button - the DSpace Distribution License screen will display
  2. Read through the licence and either click I Grant the License or I Do Not Grant the License buttons at the bottom of the page:

  1. The Submit: Submission Complete! page should now display
Please Note: Your submission will not immediately appear in the designated collection. Your submission will go through a review process, where it will need to be approved by an editor of the designated collection. Please allow 3 working days for this process to be completed. You will receive email notification when your submission has been approved (Subject = AIRR: Submission Approved and Archived), or if there is a problem with your submission:
 
 
It is also possible to check on the status of your submission by going to My DSpace > Submissions in Workflow Process.

D. Adding an Author Profile to AIRR

It is possible to create an author profile in AIRR, which can be linked to the ANZCA/FPM Authors/Editors field on the item submission form (see above).

Before submitting a new author profile:

  1. Check whether the item is already in AIRR:
    • Open AIRR: http://airr.anzca.edu.au/
    • In the Search DSpace box, enter the author surname, and click the blue search button:
    • The Results screen will display - check the Item hits table to check for a possible match
    • If the author is already in AIRR, do not duplicate it.
    • If the author is not in AIRR, proceed to section B below

Submit new author profile:

  1. Login to AIRR (see above)
  2. Select My DSpace and click on the Start a New Submission button:

Note: If you see an error: You are not authorized to submit to any collections, please contact ANZCA Library and request permission to submit items to AIRR.

  1. Using the drop-down next to Collection, choose the collection that you wish to submit the item to: AIRR | ANZCA Institutional Research Repository > ANZCA author profiles
  2. Click the Next button – the Submit: Describe this Item screen will display
  3. On the next Submit: Describe this Item screen, complete the fields that describe the item, using the field notes to help you, and click the Next button when complete:

  1. The Access screen will display - do not fill this out - click the Next button
  2. The Submit: Upload a File screen will display. If you wish, you may upload a photo of the author at this screen:

  1. Adding author photos:
    1. If you wish to add a photo of the author, click on the Select a file or drag & drop files … box and either browse to and select the file, or drop the file on this box. Click the Next button when complete
    2. If you do not wish to add a file, then click the Skip file upload button instead
  2. The Submit: Verify Submission screen will display
  3. Please review your submission. If there are any errors, you may edit any text by using the buttons to the right of the error, or by clicking on the progress bar at the top of the page

  1. When you have finished reviewing, click the Next button
  2. The Submit: Submission Complete! page should now display
Please Note: Your submission will not immediately appear in the ANZCA Author profiles collection. Your submission will go through a review process, where it will need to be approved by an editor of the designated collection. Please allow 3 working days for this process to be completed. You will receive email notification when your submission has been approved (Subject = AIRR: Submission Approved and Archived), or if there is a problem with your submission.
 
It is also possible to check on the status of your submission by going to My DSpace > Submissions in Workflow Process.

Access and search AIRR

Submit via Library

It is also possible to submit your research item or author profile via the Library.

Note: Please allow 5-10 working for your submission to be added to AIRR.

Want to update an existing record?

Once approved, item records and author profiles can only edited by AIRR administrators.

To update an existing record:

Adding keywords and subject terms

Keywords/subjects can be used to describe the subject of items (eg. articles, book chapters, presentations) as well as the key research interests of author profiles. The ANZCA Research Foundation has developed a list of relevant keywords that can guide the selection of the relevant keywords.

Alternatively medical subject headings can be located with MeSH on Demand.

Talk to us

Talk to usWe rely on your feedback to further develop and support these library guides. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

http://anzca.libsurveys.com/feedback