Library resource guides: Self-assessment tools: Resources

BJA Education

BJA Education: CME
Each issue of BJA Education includes tests designated for potential CPD recognition (the term CME may be used interchangeably), as well exam preparation. Each test is based on an article published in BJA Education and consists of a series of multiple-choice questions followed by a brief optional post-test evaluation on how the knowledge gained can be used. Recognition for each test may be earned for up to five years after publication after which time the tests will expire on this site.

Access BJA Education articles (via BrowZine)
Access associated CME/CPD/Online Exam Content*

*Please Note: The user must create a free local profile to access this feature.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

McGraw-Hill Medical Cases & Study Tools

Both AccessAnesthesiology and AccessMedicine contain large collections of cases and study tools that allow you to check your knowledge.

Please Note: You will need to create aMyAccess account to access some of these features. It is free to create and it can be used for both the AccessMedicine and AccessAnesthesiology collections. Please refer to the user guides below for more information.

AccessAnesthesiology
- Review Questions - generate multiple-choice quizzes from textbooks in AccessAnesthesiology
  - TEE practice tests [right side-bar]
  - Save quizzes with your MyAccess account
- Clerkship Modules - this curriculum includes materials for a 4-week anaesthesiology clerkship. Each week consists of 4 to 5 modules on foundational topics, and each week ends with a short quiz.
- Cases include:
- Multimedia:
  - Patient Safety Modules - interactive online modules that introduce the core concepts of patient safety

AccessMedicine
- Review Questions - generate multiple-choice quizzes from textbooks in AccessMedicine
  - Save quizzes with your MyAccess account
- Interactive, online flashcards (choose flashcards by topic or resource)
  - Save flashcards with your MyAccess account
- Challenge other trainees or the computer to a bowl-style showdown game to test your knowledge!
- Cases includes:
  - Case Files for Anatomy, Pharmacology and Physiology
- Quick reference:
  - 2 Minute Medicine - daily literature reports by the 2 Minute Medicine® Publishing Group
  - Diagnostic Tests
- Multimedia:
  - Patient Safety Modules - interactive online modules that introduce the core concepts of patient safety
  - Harrison's Podclass - discussions on key principles of internal medicine
  - Human Anatomy Modules - interactive modules allowing for full visualization of the human body

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

McGraw-Hill Medical Cases & Study Tools

NEJM Learning/CME (Challenge Yourself)
Test your skills and improve your medical knowledge with Image Challenge, Interactive Medical Cases, and other clinical case challenges.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

Looking for the Primary Exam (PEx) Recommended reading list? Access the Primary Exam (PEx) guide.

Need help prepping for your exams? Try the Exam Preparation guide.

Annual structured conversation/perform-ance appraisal

Formal structured meeting with your head of department/practice, manager, or a trusted colleague to review your professional activities, development needs, learning goals and plans for the following year.
This activity is a mandatory requirement for those with medical registration in New Zealand.

ANZCA and FPM CPD Program Library Guide: Annual Structured Convers-ation/Performance Appraisal Resources
See our dedicated ANZCA and FPM CPD Program Library Guide for more information and resources.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Practice evaluation - reviewing performance annual structured conversation/ performance appraisal activity.

AudioDigest (Audio lectures)

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

BMJ Learning

BMJ Learning
BMJ Learning includes CPD/CME for Australian and New Zealander users.

Please Note: Users must create a free local profile to access this feature.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

LWW Health Library Self-Assessment Tools

LWW Health Library: Self-Assessment Tools
The LWW Health Library has two self-assessment tools available (Anesthesiology and Perioperative echocardiography).

The Anesthesiology section contains over 20 quizzes based around various anesthesia-related topics including airway management, monitoring technique, pain management and preoperative assessment. You can choose which topics you would like to review, creating a customised self-assessment.

Please refer to the linked document below for steps explaining how to use this tool.

Please Note: Users must create a free local profile to access this feature.

How to use self-assessment tools available in LWW Health Library

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form