Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News: Latest news

Learn about the latest updates for ANZCA library services and resources.

Training E-News (1 February 2023)

AudioDigest collection update

Keep up-to-date on the latest anaesthesia and pain medicine research and practice, in your car, office, home, gym or while travelling.

AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 245 accredited audio lectures and board reviews presented by experts from leading institutions, providing trainees with a convenient "learning on the run experience".

The collection has been fully updated for 2023 and includes many new and topical lectures covering managing COVID-patients in the theatre, anaesthetic complications and airway management.

See our updated AudioDigest guide for further information including full access details.

Latest books

ANZCA fellow Lachlan Rathie has written a new book aimed at Primary Exam trainees. The library has multiple copies now available for loan. In addition, the latest edition of Goodman & Gilman's is now available online and in print.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT E-News (1 February 2023)

Latest books

ANZCA fellow Lachlan Rathie has written a new book aimed at Primary Exam trainees. The library has multiple copies now available for loan.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

ANZCA E-News (17 January 2023)

Recently added titles

A number of new anaesthesia-related titles have been recently added to the library collection, including the latest editions of Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management and Conn's Current Therapy. New journals include Current Anesthesiology Reports and Journal of Clinical Monitoring and Computing.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:

ANZCA E-News (16 December 2022)

NEW: Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine BACK ONLINE!

We are pleased to announce that the library has commenced a new online subscription to Regional Anaesthesia & Pain Medicine (RAPM) AVAILABLE NOW.

Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.

RAPM can be accessed via our journals page, as well as BrowZine app and users can access any issue/article from Volume 1, 1976 onwards.

Der Anaesthesist has a new name

In June of this year, Der Anaesthesist changed it's name to Die Anaesthesiologie. As a result, all our journal listings have been now been updated to reflect the new name.

Latest books

ANZCA fellow Lachlan Rathie has written a new book aimed at Primary Exam trainees. The library has several copies now available for loan. The latest edition of Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology is also available.

FPM Synapse E-News (12 December 2022)

NEW: Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine BACK ONLINE!

We are pleased to announce that the library has commenced a new online subscription to Regional Anaesthesia & Pain Medicine (RAPM) AVAILABLE NOW.

Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.

RAPM can be accessed via our journals page, as well as BrowZine app and users can access any issue/article from Volume 1, 1976 onwards.


NEW: Neuromodulation

We are pleased to announce that the library has just commenced a new online subscription to Neuromodulation: Technology at the Neural Interface.

Neuromodulation is the preeminent journal in the area of neuromodulation, providing readers with timely and rigorously peer-reviewed articles on the technology, science and clinical application of devices that interface with the nervous system to treat disease and improve function. Neuromodulation covers an ever-expanding field including pain, headache, movement disorders, spasticity, paralysis, psychiatric disorders, epilepsy, sensory deprivation, gastric dysfunction, obesity and incontinence.

Neuromodulation can be accessed via our journals page, as well as BrowZine app and users can access any issue/article from Volume 22, 2018 onwards.


Latest books

The latest title in the new pain-related Waldman case-based learning series (The Ankle and the Foot) and a new e-book looking at the short-stay management of chest pain.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (8 December 2022)

NZ print exam book update

Following consultation with members of the NZ training committee, the library has purchased additional print copies of the high-use Primary Exam and Exam Prep texts for use by NZ-based trainees. This includes texts such as The physics, clinical measurement, and equipment of anaesthetic practice for the FRCA; Pharmacology and physiology for anesthesia; Nunn and Lumb's applied respiratory physiology; and Dr Podcast scripts for the primary FRCA. The texts will be available to borrow from early 2023.


NZ print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

FPM Training E-News (7 December 2022)

Latest books

A new title by the author of Ace Your Medical Exams aimed specifically at junior clinicians and the latest in Waldman's Pain Medicine: Case-Based Learning Series.


Latest Journals: Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine BACK ONLINE!

We are pleased to announce that the library has commenced a new online subscription to Regional Anaesthesia & Pain Medicine (RAPM) AVAILABLE NOW.

Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.

RAPM can be accessed via our journals page, as well as BrowZine app and users can access any issue/article from Volume 1, 1976 onwards.


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources. The Pain medicine training & exams section contains guides for: Pain medicine training, Conceptual basis of pain medicine, FPM Procedures Endorsement Program curriculum and the Procedures in pain medicine. In addition, the Self-Assessment tools and Roles in Practice guides provide additional resource support for training and examination purposes.

Training E-News (24 November 2022)

Latest books

A new title by the author of Ace Your Medical Exams aimed specifically at junior doctors, and a new edition of Basics of Anesthesia, now retitled: Miller’s Basics of Anesthesia, 8e.


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT E-News (21 November 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of anaesthesia and pain medicine-related education articles:

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

ANZCA E-News (17 November 2022)

Spotlight on: Airway management

ANZCA fellows and trainees are able to access a wide range of airway management-related resources via our dedicated library guide. The guide is regularly updated with the latest articles, airway resources, apps and e-books, and includes access to such titles as Anesthesia Equipment: Principles and Applications, 3eCore Topics in Airway Management, 3e and Hung's Difficult and Failed Airway Management, 3e.


Latest books

A new rapid-response title for the critically ill has been added to the intensive care collection:

ANZCA E-News (17 October 2022)

Spotlight on: Paediatric anaesthesia

ANZCA fellows and trainees are able to access a wide range of paediatric anaesthesia-related resources via our dedicated library guide. The guide has recently been fully updated to include the latest articles, educational videos, apps and e-books, and includes access to such titles as Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia and A Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia. In addition, users have full to access to our subscription to Pediatric Anesthesia journal.



The latest issue of Anaesthesia Research Review is here:

Recent articles of interest

A selection of the latest anesthesia articles:

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (13 October 2022)

ANZCA Library staff attending the NZ CSC

Library manager, John Prentice, will be amongst the ANZCA contingent who will be present at the CSC taking place in Wellington from 21-24 October 2022. Learn more about college library resources and what's being planned for 2023. You'll be able to find John and other college staff (including CPD) at booth 14/15 in the exhibition space.


NZ Print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has it's own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

FPM Training E-News (12 October 2022)

FPM Essentials guide updated

The Pain medicine training: FPM essentials guide has recently been updated.

All essential readings can be directly linked to from the guide (where available) with additional readings available via the linked Course Reserves listings.

Note: The ETA3.2 reading list has yet to be updated.


Recently added journals


Recently added titles

Please Note: Essential Notes in Pain Medicine is NOW AVAILABLE as an e-book.

Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources. The Pain medicine training & exams section contains guides for: Pain medicine training, Conceptual basis of pain medicine, FPM Procedures Endorsement Program curriculum and the Procedures in pain medicine. In addition, the Self-Assessment tools and Roles in Practice guides provide additional resource support for training and examination purposes.

Report: The path to creating a world class library (ANZCA Spring Bulletin)

As one of the only anaesthesia and pain medicine specialist libraries worldwide, the ANZCA Library is often seen as the “jewel in the crown” for ANZCA fellows and trainees

Much of this development is due to the college’s response to a 2014 library services review which sought to reposition the library in the context of its support for the “needs and expectations of the fellows and trainees, with a view to enhancing service delivery and raising awareness of the library, its collection and value to fellows and trainees”.

Recently, the library completed a follow up report to this review, detailing the numerous developments that have occurred in the intervening period.

Selected highlights from the full report provided to ANZCA Council in March 2022 may be viewed in the document attached below.

Training E-News (29 September 2022)

Latest books

Several new training-related titles have been added to the collection:

Self-assessment

Did you know that LWW Health Library has a self-assessment tool containing over 20 quizzes based around various anesthesia-related topics?


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

FPM Synapse E-News (28 September 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of pain medicine-related articles:

Latest journals

SIS have begun publication of a new open-access journal on interventional pain medicine:

Latest books

Several new pain-related titles have been added to the collection:

SOT E-News (26 September 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of anaesthesia and pain medicine-related education articles:

Latest books

A new education-related title has been added to the collection:

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to house all resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

ANZCA E-News (15 September 2022)

It is now possible to access ANZCA Library Full-text via Ovid MEDLINE.

  1. Access Ovid MEDLINE using the proxied ANZCA link
  2. Search and locate an article citation
  3. Where available, click the Access ANZCA Fulltext via LibKey link alongside the article

  1. This will open LibKey and resolve to the article full-text

Latest books

Several new titles have been added to the collection:

ANZCA E-News (18 August 2022)

Latest e-books

A new title looking at post-anesthesia are has just been added to the collection.

Latest print books

The latest to arrive in print at the ANZCA library.

ANZCA Library wins innovation award

Health Libraries Australia and MedicalDirector have announced that the winner for the 2022 HLA/MedicalDirector Innovation Award is John Prentice, Library Manager, ANZCA. John was awarded for his project Automated interlibrary loan/document delivery (ILL/DD) database for health libraries.

The ILL/DD system allows ANZCA library staff to automate many of the standard searching, requesting and communication tasks associated with document delivery requests, resulting in a far quicker turnaround of requests for ANZCA users. With the help of the system, request turnaround time fell to under 1 day for the first 6 months of 2022.

What's happening with New Zealand Health?

On the 1 July 2022, new Zealand health services transitioned to Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand, replacing the District Health Boards (DHBs).

gt; Overview of the changes
> Te Whatu Ora website > What's happening

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (11 August 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of the latest NZ-focussed articles:

NZ Print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

FPM Training E-News (10 August 2022)

Recently added titles

A number of new pain medicine training titles have recently been added, including Essential Notes in Pain Medicine (co-edited by FPM fellow Enrique Collantes Celador).

Please Note: Essential Notes in Pain Medicine is NOW AVAILABLE ONLINE.

Recent articles of interest:

Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources. The Pain medicine training & exams section contains guides for: Pain medicine training, Conceptual basis of pain medicine, FPM Procedures Endorsement Program curriculum and the Procedures in pain medicine. In addition, the Self-Assessment tools and Roles in Practice guides provide additional resource support for training and examination purposes.

Training E-News (28 July 2022)

Recent articles of interest

In case you missed it, a recent issue of the RCoA's Bulletin highlighted the changing landscape of anaesthesia training.

Did you know?

That AccessAnesthesiology has a Review Questions section where you can generate MCQs for a number of anaesthesia training titles (Exam Board & Review, Hadzic’s, Hung’s, etc).

Recently added titles

A number of new trainee-related titles have been recently added to the library collection.


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

FPM Synapse E-News (27 July 2022)

Recent articles of interest

The following pain-related articles have recently been published:

Recently added titles:

A number of new pain medicine titles have been recently added to the library collection, including a new edition of the Practical Management of Pain.

ANZCA E-News (20 July 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new anaesthesia-related articles have recently been published, including one offering words of encouragement to young anaesthesiologists.

Recently added titles:

Brand new editions of Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology and Rosen's Emergency Medicine are now available.

ANZCA E-News (16 June 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new anaesthesia-related articles have recently been published:

Recently added titles

A number of new anaesthesia-related titles have been recently added to the library collection, including an online version of Christine Ball's The Chloroformist, and the latest edition of Conn's Current Therapy.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (9 June 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new NZ-focussed articles have recently been published.

Training E-News (26 May 2022)

Recently added titles

A number of new trainee-related titles have been recently added to the library collection.

Primary Exam Print Update

Following unprecedented demand, the library has recently purchased additional PRINT copies for the majority of primary exam texts, including additional copies of West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e and The physics, clinical measurement, and equipment of anaesthetic practice for the FRCA, 2e.

FPM Synapse E-News (25 May 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A new article on managing chronic pain during the COVID pandemic, co-written by Dr Steven Faux (FFPMANZCA).


The latest issue ofPain Management Research Reviewis here:

Recently added titles

A number of new pain-related titles have been recently added to the library collection.

New PPR guide

A new library guidehas been designed as a means of promoting and providing curated access to relevant resources related to research in the professional practice domains.

SOT E-News (23 May 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A number of medical education-related articles have recently been added to the Medical Education guide.

Recently added titles

A number of new medical education-related titles have recently been added to the library collection.

New SOT induction modules and support hub

A single point of contact (one-stop-shop) support hub has been created to house all resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

ANZCA E-News (17 May 2022)

Recent articles of interest

Two new anaesthesia-related articles on the use of blocks and prone positioning of patients with COVID.


The latest issue ofAnaesthesia Research Reviewis here:

E-journals update

The primary access point for the majority of the journals listed on our ANZCA Journals page have now been moved to our BrowZine service. This will allow ANZCA members to experience a more uniform user experience, with access to whole range of new features, including the requesting of articles not available online. A new Emergency Medicine section has also been added. See the ANZCA Journals page for more information.

Recently added titles

A number of new anaesthesia-related titles have been recently added to the library collection.

ANZCA E-News (20 April 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A new anaesthesia-related article on the carbon footprint for TKRs, and another spotlighting female leaders in anaesthesiology.

Recently added titles

A number of new anaesthesia-related titles have been recently added to the library collection.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (14 April 2022)

NZ Anaesthesia & Pain Management Research Review

A new issue of NZAPMRR has just been released.

Recent articles of interest

A number of NZ-related articles have recently appeared.

Recently added titles

Newly added to the collection is Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Policy, with a chapter on "Indigenous data and policy in Aotearoa New Zealand".

FPM Training E-News (13 April 2022)

Recent articles of interest

A number of pain-related education articles have recently appeared.

Recently added titles

A new exam preparation e-book looking at regional anesthesia and chronic pain.

Training and exams hub:

TheTraining and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources. The Pain medicine training & exams section contains guides for: Pain medicine training, Conceptual basis of pain medicine, FPM Procedures Endorsement Program curriculum and the Procedures in pain medicine. In addition, the Self-Assessment tools and Roles in Practice guides provide additional resource support for training and examination purposes.

Changes to ANZCA journal access - enhancing your ANZCA journal experience! (7 April 2022)

UPDATED: The primary access point for the majority of ANZCA journals has now been moved to our BrowZine service. This will allow ANZCA members to experience a more uniform user experience, with access to whole range of new features.

Added features include:
  • Single point of access
  • Complete table of contents for each issue
  • Choose between direct or PDF article access (where available)
  • Create a personal profile and save your favourite articles from *any journal* using the My Articles feature
  • Track your favourite journals using the My Bookshelf feature
  • Easily request articles not available online
  • Retraction status indicator
  • Users will also be able to seamlessly move between the website version and the app version of BrowZine, where you can take advantage of the in-built authentication feature.
  • Coming soon: new issue email alerts!

In addition, a new Emergency Medicine journal section has been added to showcase the large number of journals for that area.

Note: For those users who prefer to continue to access journals direct via the platform, an alternate access vendor link is also provided.

As always, we welcome any feedback you may have to give.

Training E-News (31 Mar 2022)

New Communicator Role library guide

We’ve created a new library guide to support "communicator role" activities. These resources are available to help you establish rapport, trust, and ethical therapeutic relationships with your patients and their families.

The guide includes informative, accessible and diverse training resources such as journal articles, books, videos, websites, and framework (LAURS and NURSE) details.

Access the Communicator role library guide


Recent articles of interest

A recent article on development of an airway simulation on the out-of-operating-room management of COVID-19 patients for anaesthesiology residents.


Recently added titles

The latest edition of Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review is now available.

SOT E-News (28 March 2022)

Recently added titles:

A new title aimed at emerging SOTs, with Australian and UK contributions.

Recent articles of interest:

A number of education articles have

FPM Synapse E-News (24 March 2022)

Recently added titles:

A number of new pain medicine titles have been recently added to the library collection.

Recent articles of interest

The following pain-related articles by FPM and ANZCA fellows have recently been published:

The following pain-related articles have a significant Australian or NZ focus:

ANZCA E-News (18 March 2022)

Recent articles of interest:

A number of articles have


Recently added titles:

The latest edition of Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia,

FPM Training E-News (10 March 2022)

Recent articles of interest:

A number of pain-related education articles have recently appeared in Pain Medicine journal.

Recently added titles:

The latest edition of Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Managementis now available.

  • Contains an extensive new section on interventional approaches to pain management, as well as new chapters on radiotherapy and radiopharmaceuticals for cancer pain and ethical considerations in pain medicine.
  • Features new chapters on discography, epidural steroid injections; intrathecal drug delivery; peripheral nerve blocks; and sympathetic blockade.
  • Includes handy appendices that provide useful medication information, basic science coverage relevant to clinical strategies, and numerous tables and chapter-opening outlines for quick reference.

Training and exams hub:

TheTraining and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources. The Pain medicine training & exams section contains guides for: Pain medicine training, Conceptual basis of pain medicine, FPM Procedures Endorsement Program curriculum and the Procedures in pain medicine. In addition, the Self-Assessment tools and Roles in Practice guides provide additional resource support for training and examination purposes.

CTN Educational Sessions: ANZCA Research Grant Program

A recording of the overview of the ANZCA Research Grant program presented by Professor David A. Scott onTuesday 15 February is now available to watch.
Duration: 62 mins approx.

ANZCA E-News (18 February 2022)

New journals

BJA has launched a new open-access version of it's popular BJA publication. BJA Open aims to publish high-impact original work in all branches of anaesthesia, critical care, pain medicine and perioperative medicine. Note: The new publication should also allow UK researchers to continue publishing their research using the BJA moniker in light of the UKRI-mandated announcement on Open Accesstaking effect from 1 April 2022.

Elsevier have also recently launched a new open-access intensive care title. Journal of Intensive Medicine is an open-access peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality review papers and original research articles related to the latest trends and advances covering all aspects of intensive care medicine.

Both titles can be accessed via the Journals page, relevant library guides and the A-Z list.

Recent articles of interest:

New articles on webAIRS and livestreaming surgical education.

Latest titles:

A new e-book offering a critical examination of evidence-based in medicine, and the latest edition of Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination now available e-book and print formats.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (10 Feb 2022)

Recent articles of interest:

NZ Print collection update

Due to the impact of ongoing COVID restrictions in New Zealand, it is not currently possible to lend out NZ-based books at this time. However, should any trainee or fellow require access to any materials only available in print, they can submit a chapter request via the ANZCA library's Request a chapter form.

BJA change of access (4 November 2021)

Due to a significant and unsustainable price increase, the ANZCA Library will discontinue its online subscription to the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) from 1 January 2022.

See the complete college news item for more information

With this change, college members will continue to receive the following free online access to the BJA:

  • Issues published pre-2022
  • Issues published from 2022 onward that are older than 12 months

This content will be available through the library’s discovery service, journals list, apps and other linking tools and platforms. It will also be possible to request any newer articles not online through the library free-of-cost.

Any current college fellow, trainee, or SIMG, can also take out a personal subscription to the BJA at a heavily discounted rate.

See the college BJA personal subscriptions page for more information

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.