This page contains information about accessing ebooks and print titles related to the Procedures in Pain Medicine Clinical Care Standard Quality Statements, which have been used as 'themes' in which to promote books available through the library to support understanding in these areas.
Please see the Navigation box for the numbered list of Quality Statement areas/themes for your reference.
On this page
*Quality Statement has been abbreviated to QS for the purpose of this guide page.
**Some Quality Statements are combined as theme areas for books, where this was appropriate.
How to access e-books
Your college ID (or staff username) and ANZCA password are required to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Catastrophic Perioperative Complications and Management: A Comprehensive Textbook by
This textbook will provide educational material for the many students who participate in perioperative medicine. It will focus on the most serious perioperative complications and include a discussion of the pathophysiologic and pharmacologic implications unique to each. Additionally, it will provide medicolegal information pertinent to those providing care to these patients. All chapters will be written with the most current and relevant information by leading experts in each field.
Clinical Ethics in Anesthesiology: A Case-Based Textbook by
In this clinical ethics textbook, authors from across the USA, Canada and Europe draw on ethical principles and practical knowledge to provide a realistic understanding of ethical anaesthetic practice. The result is a compilation of expert opinion and international perspectives from clinical leaders in anaesthesiology. Building on real-life, case-based problems, each chapter is clinically focused and addresses both practical and theoretical issues.
Consent, Benefit, and Risk in Anaesthetic Practice by
Patients' expectations regarding involvement in their own healthcare have increased dramatically over the past few years. No longer is it acceptable for the doctor to dictate treatment; patients demand information regarding treatment options, and input into the selection of the most appropriate treatment plan.
Damage Control Management in the Polytrauma Patient by
This guide to damage control surgery focuses on the decision-making process for managing polytrauma. Orthopedists, trauma surgeons, and emergency medicine physicians will learn how to effectively coordinate efforts. The book presents an overview of the damage control concept and the epidemiology of polytrauma injuries. Immunological changes, cascade reactions, and patient selection are discussed. Indications for life-saving procedures, damage control for truncal injuries, and damage control for extremities and pelvic fractures are outlined as well. The text also covers vascular injuries and secondary definitive procedures.
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care: Strategies for Prevention, Early Detection, and Successful Management of Perioperative Complications, 2e by
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia & Critical Care, 2e is a problem-oriented approach textbook that will aid a wide variety of readers in handling day-to-day issues and developments relevant to the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients.
Marshall & Ruedy's On Call : Principles & Protocol, 3e by
On Call: Principles and Protocols 3e provides a carefully structured, risk-based approach to the initial assessment, investigation, differential diagnosis and short-term management of ward problems on-call. This new 3rd edition is completely revised and up-to-date, with the latest guidelines laid out in a succinct format to give a practical, rapid, efficient and effective bedside approach to problem solving. Clinical reasoning has never been made so explicit and exciting!
Patient flow : reducing delay in healthcare delivery by
This book is dedicated to improving healthcare through reducing the delays experienced by patients. It is the first book treatment to have reduction in patient delay as its sole focus, and therefore, provides the foundation by which hospitals can implement change. In short, the book provides "hands-on" discussion and methods for solving a variety of problems, and is a guide to motivate change in Health Care Systems around the world.
The Perioperative Medicine Consult Handbook by
Patients with a range of medical conditions undergo surgeries of varying levels of risk, and the evolving field of consult medicine aims to address their needs, whether pre- or post-surgery. This new edition of The Perioperative Medicine Consult Handbook provides useful information, advice, and guidelines based on a combination of clinical experience and evidence-based medicine. It covers topics in many major clinical areas (anesthesiology, cardiology, pulmonology, gastroenterology, rheumatology, endocrinology, and many others) and puts critical surgery information at a consult physician's fingertips.
Reducing Mortality in the Perioperative Period, 2e by
This book offers a complete description of each topic with updated evidence from the literature. Each chapter deals with a specific drug or technique and is structured into the following: background knowledge, main evidence from the literature, and a practical how-to section. Lastly, the book describes in detail the consensus process used, which served to reinforce the systematic review and which is currently being used and improved in other settings with growing success.
Error Reduction and Prevention in Surgical Pathology, 2e by
This book serves as a guide to pathologists to successfully avoid errors and deliver the best diagnosis possible with all relevant information needed to manage patients. The introductory section includes general principles and ideas that are necessary to understand the context of error reduction. In addition to general principles of error reduction and legal and regulatory responsibilities, a chapter on regulatory affairs and payment systems which increasingly may be impacted by error reduction and improvement activities was added.
General Surgery Risk Reduction by
General Surgery Risk Reduction is part of the series: Surgery: Complications, Risks and Consequences edited by Brendon Coventry. &
Great health care : making it happen by
Great Health Care is enlightening and entertaining. It's a must read for physicians, patients, health policymakers and administrators, and the interested public---anyone who wants to understand what great health care is, and how we might build it together The authors share their stories and motivations and the methods they have used to transform care for their own patients within their own practices and health systems. They thoughtfully explore how we got into this mess, how we can get out of it, and the barriers to making it happen.
Health system redesign : how to make health care person-centered, equitable, and sustainabl by
This forward-looking volume challenges professionals and interested lay readers to reconsider our ways of looking at health and wellness, illness and disease, and the goals of health/healthcare systems. Reframing health systems as complex adaptive systems, the book identifies health care as a central aspect of social care and security for all people, particularly the most vulnerable. From there, the author outlines necessary organizational, design, medical, and community steps toward building health systems that view and practice health care as a human right and can produce optimum care in the long term. And extensive illustrations display effective collaborative problem solving within these systems, in both intriguing theoretical models and the real world. Highlights of the coverage: · Systems and complexity thinking in health and health care · & am p;nb sp; Redesign based on "first principles" · Redesign from an organizational perspective · Working together effectively and efficiently to achieve a common purpose · Analyzing "the workings" of health systems as complex adaptive systems · Person-centered, equitable, and sustainable health systems: achieving the goal Health System Redesign brings a voice and a vision to the most pressing problems in healthcare service delivery, and offers new goals and purpose to health policymakers, health financiers, organizational leaders, clinicians, and concerned members of the local community.
Neurointensive Care: A Clinical Guide to Patient Safety by
This book provides guidance for physicians confronted with acute neurological crises in the context of patient safety centred practice standards. It highlights how the implementation of patient safety standards in the neurointensive care unit leads to better clinical outcomes and emphasizes the importance of utilizing appropriate resources, ensuring evidence-based practice is followed.
Patient Safety: A Case-Based Comprehensive Guide by
Patient Safety provides clinicians with a better understanding of the prevalence, causes and solutions for medical errors; bringing best practice principles to the bedside. Written by experts from a variety of backgrounds, each chapter features an analysis of clinical cases based on the Root Cause Analysis (RCA) methodology, along with case-based discussions on various patient safety topics.
Patient Safety in Surgery by
Patient Safety in Surgery aims to increase the safety and quality of care for patients undergoing surgical procedures in all fields of surgery. Patient Safety in Surgery, covers all aspects related to patient safety in surgery, including pertinent issues of interest to surgeons, medical trainees (students, residents, and fellows), nurses, anaesthesiologists, patients, patient families, advocacy groups, and medicolegal experts.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
Safer Healthcare: Strategies for the Real World by
The authors of this book set out a system of safety strategies and interventions for managing patient safety on a day-to-day basis and improving safety over the long term. These strategies are applicable at all levels of the healthcare system from the frontline to the regulation and governance of the system.
Surgical Patient Care: Improving Safety, Quality, and Value by
This book focuses exclusively on the surgical patient and on the perioperative environment with its unique socio-technical and cultural issues. It covers preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative processes and decision making and explores both sharp-end and latent factors contributing to harm and poor quality outcomes.
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e by
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e is the essential book for anyone seeking to learn the core clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. Written in an engaging and accessible style by one of the world's leading authorities on patient safety and quality, this full-color text is filled with valuable cases and analyses, as well as table, graphics, references, and tools.
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures, 2nd ed by
A unique, systematic, safe, and efficient approach makes Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures your go-to resource for spine pain relief for your patients. The highly visual format shows you exactly how to perform each technique, highlighting imaging pearls and emphasizing optimal and suboptimal imaging.
Echography in Anesthesiology, Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine by
Are you looking for the essentials you need to learn the basics of echography for anaesthesiology, intensive care and emergency medicine? This is what this book offers you! These few pages condense the essential knowledge to make getting started with echography in emergency situations easier. Ultrasounds are presented in great detail in order to facilitate and optimize the medical diagnosis process. As a doctor, you will first be placed in front of the machine in order to take the pictures that will serve to answer the questions asked. Just as the author did, you will realize that, when facing the patient with the machine, the best echographic examination is worth nothing without a good clinical examination.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6e by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.
Image-Guided Percutaneous Spine Biopsy by
This textbook covers key areas and reviews important principles and steps in the preparation for and the performance of spine biopsy. Image-guided percutaneous biopsy techniques and their application throughout the spinal axis are presented and discussed in detail. The advantages and disadvantages of various spine biopsy instruments are reviewed. Commonly encountered biopsy scenarios are considered in order to help readers effectively manage these situations when they occur in their practices. Clear guidance is offered on patient selection and preparation, which are critical to safe and effective outcomes, and much emphasis is placed on procedural safety, with a focus on complication avoidance and the appropriate reporting of complications.
Imaging the ICU Patient by
The critical care unit is an intense clinical environment with huge responsibilities on the professionals caring for these patients. Imaging is a key source of diagnostic information, but the conditions in which diagnostic imaging has to be performed are often extremely challenging and significantly different to imaging in the non acute setting. Imaging the ICU Patient reviews imaging procedures on the ICU in a highly practical and memorable manner. Swift and efficient clinical decision-making is rewarded on the ICU and this book serves as a practical handbook.
A Practical Approach to Anesthesia Equipment by
Written by the authors of the definitive text Understanding Anesthesia Equipment, A Practical Approach to Anesthesia Equipment covers the most commonly used machines and devices and addresses common problems and pitfalls that affect clinical situations.
Ultrasonography in the ICU : practical applications by
This text presents a basic guide of the principles and applications of ultrasound in the critical care setting. The text also addresses the basic and clinical uses of ultrasound, including clinical cases at the end of each of the 7 sections of the clinical subdivisions. The final chapters focus on the issues of training, certification, credentialing and billing. These discussions make the text unique, as literature regarding monetary and training issues for ultrasound in the ICU is sparse. Each chapter is written by experts in the field, and supplemented with illustrations and links to videos of actual ultrasound examinations in patients. Ultrasonography in the ICU: Practical Applications will be of great utility to critical care specialists in the disciplines of surgery, medicine, anesthesiology and emergency medicine. In addition this book can be used as a teaching tool for critical care fellows and residents interested in further training in ultrasound for the critically ill patient.
Ultrasound in Anesthetic Practice [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Ultrasound is now an accessible tool for all clinicians and healthcare professionals, facilitating safe, easy, quick and non-invasive examination of organs. This practical text explains the benefits of ultrasound for * vascular access * local anesthetic blocks * cardiac and oesophageal assessment * trauma and intensive care practice * neonatal and obstetric practice * ophthalmic disorders * soft tissue injuries The companion DVD contains over 700 still and video clips, allowing the reader to view ultrasound sequences while reading the relevant chapter. Written by ultrasound experts, Ultrasound in Anesthetic Practice is the perfect introductory text for all anaesthetists and any trainee or medical student who needs a step-by-step guide to how ultrasound works, how to use it themselves, how to get the best images and when to ask a sonographer for help.
Understanding Anesthesia Equipment, 5e by
The "Bible on Anesthesia Equipment" returns in a new Fifth Edition, and once again takes readers step-by-step through all the basic anesthesia equipment. This absolute leader in the field includes comprehensive references and detailed discussions on the scientific fundamentals of anesthesia equipment, its design, and its optimal use. This thoroughly updated edition includes new information on suction devices, the magnetic resonance imaging environment, temperature monitoring and control, double-lumen tubes, emergency room airway equipment, and many other topics. Readers will have access to the fully searchable online text and an interactive quiz bank at acompanion Website.
Ward's Anaesthetic Equipment, 6e by
Ward's Anaesthetic Equipment is a highly accessible single source to aid understanding of the key principles behind equipment function and design. This sixth edition of the classic reference text on anaesthetic equipment is again extensively revised to reflect the very latest advances.
Absolute hospital medicine review : an intensive question & answer guide by
Hospital medicine has expanded beyond the practice of internal medicine to co-manage patients in the fields of orthopedics, neurosurgery and general surgery. This concise guide covers the evolution and expanding scope of hospital medicine and the variety of clinical, ethical and administrative situations a Hospitalist encounters. 500 questions on inpatient care, co-management of patients and hospital system management are provided with the goal of assessing clinical and academic competency. Questions feature actual cases with evidence-based solutions. Useful to physicians, house staff and advanced nurse practitioners, this up-to-date referenced learning text encompasses all aspects of hospital care.
Clinical Audit in Primary Care: demonstrating quality and outcomes by
Clinical audit is essential for demonstrating performance for the quality and outcomes framework of the GP Contract. This completely up to date manual uses a practical ¿how-to-do-it¿ approach, linked directly to the GP Contract, to make the undertaking of clinical audit a positive and rewarding exercise for both patient care and practice finance. By using examples of clinical audit from around twenty different clinical fields, Clinical Audit in Primary Care provides tips and advice that can be integrated into everyday practice. The recommended process will enable managers, doctors, nurses and clinical staff to collect the data painlessly and to draw meaningful results from it. Its principles will also provide practical guidance to pharmacists and others in the multidisciplinary team involved in clinical audit.
Comparative Effectiveness Research in Health Services by
The second volume in the Health Services Research series provides a series of perspectives on comparative effectiveness research. Motivated by concern from the general public, governments in virtually all countries with developed and rapidly developing economies have been actively seeking and promoting ways of improving the patient experience of health care, improving the health of populations, and reducing the per capita cost of health care. While comparing treatment outcomes is not a new concept, appreciation of its potential application has grown in recent years. In addition to traditional health sciences methods, modern approaches to comparative effectiveness research now include greater emphasis on social sciences frameworks such as economics, ethics, and implementation science. Moreover, a key feature of the modern approach to comparing treatment outcomes is a focus on the individual patient through explicit consideration of inter-patient variability and patient-reported outcomes. & Comparative Effectiveness Research&presents a series of chapters of relevance including introductions to areas that are being incorporated when comparing treatments, country-specific applications, patient-centred approaches, and modern methods. Included are chapters on the following areas that are being considered in treatment comparisons: ethics, economics and costs, implementation science, modern payment schemes (coverage with evidence development), and priority setting. Country-specific examples include an overview chapter on national approaches from various countries in Europe, Australia, and Canada, as well as specific chapters on comparative effectiveness research in Brazil and in the United States. The focus on the individual patient is described through chapters on patient-centred comparative effectiveness research, individualized treatment, the link with personalized medicine, and incorporating patient and public input for treatment. Methodological chapters include overviews of data sources, study designs, new statistical methods of combining results, the link with evidence-based medicine, specific issues when comparing drug and non-drug technologies, and dissemination of results.
Distracted Doctoring : returning to patient-centered care in the digital age by
This book presents original essays by distinguished experts in their fields, addressing this critical problem and making an urgent case for reform, because while electronic technology has revolutionized the practice of medicine, it also poses a unique challenge to health care. Smartphones in the hands of doctors and nurses have become dangerously seductive devices that can endanger their patients.
Handbook of Communication in Anaesthesia and Critical Care by
This book provides anesthetists, intensivists and other critical care staff with a comprehensive resource that offers ways of improving communication in everyday clinical practice, and provides practical communication tools that can be used in difficult or unfamiliar circumstances.
Healthcare Communication Matters: Transforming Healthcare, Organizations, and Caregivers the Cleveland Clinic Way by
In Communication the Cleveland Clinic Way, Dr. Adrienne Boissy and her team tell the story of how Cleveland Clinic created and applied the R.E.D.E. to Communicate: Foundations of Healthcare program, making the world-renowned hospital system a leader in relationship-centered care. They provide a step-by-step guide for healthcare leaders and decision-makers to design, develop, and implement communication skills training in their own institutions.
Health Care Evaluation Using Computer Simulation by
The purpose of this book is to place computer simulation studies within the paradigm of intervention research that is concerned with comparing the outcomes of health care delivered under different policies. This book presents computer simulation as a tool for testing various policy alternatives that have been developed by decision-makers within health care systems. This approach differs from the use of computer simulation in operations research, where simulation helps determine the configurations of a system that will allow it to function optimally. Although simulation of health care processes is not new, few health care systems have used simulations as a basis for re-engineering the delivery of health services. There is growing appreciation that the complexity of health care processes exceeds the capacity of individual disciplines-health services research, health economics, or operations research-to guide health care reform. In this book, the authors focus on bringing the methodological rigor of evaluative research to the design and analysis of such simulation studies.
Health Services Evaluation by
The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research. It addresses the increasing need for comprehensive, yet balanced, information in a field that welcomes various disciplines: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management, policy, and information technology. This well-organized reference is an indispensable source of information for everyone who seeks to develop understanding of health systems and to learn about historical, political, and socioeconomic factors that influence health policies at the global, national, regional and local level. Specifically, the Handbook helps readers: Recognize core concepts of health services and outcomes research, such as, need, access, equity, quality and safety; Become familiar with social, political, organizational, behavioral and economic theories that have influenced health systems designs; Learn about frameworks developed for evaluating the organization, financing, delivery, utilization and outcomes of health services; Get an introduction to methods of comparative effectiveness research, program evaluation, health technology assessment and health economics; Identify types and sources of data appropriate for generating valid and reliable information about the delivery of health services; Learn about strengths and weaknesses of various research designs used to study health services and policy issues. The online version of the Handbook of Health Services Research is in the format of a dynamically updated knowledge base, offering search tools, cross-referencing across chapters and linking to supplement data, other major reference works and external articles. The Handbook of Health Services Research is accessible at the level of graduate students even if it is not their focus area. This includes students with various backgrounds: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management or information technology.
Interpreting Health Benefits and Risks by
This timely guide to communication in patient-centered medicine argues for greater clarity in explaining health risks versus benefits of an array of screening tests, procedures, and drug regimens. It reviews the growing trend toward patients' involvement in their own care, particularly in terms of chronic conditions, and details approaches physicians can use to prepare patients (and themselves) for collaborative decision-making based on informed choices and clear, meaningful knowledge.
Intervention Effectiveness Research: Quality Improvement and Program Evaluation by
Do interventions improve health outcomes? This volume provides a model and road map to answer clinical questions related to intervention effectiveness research, quality improvement, and program evaluations. It offers clear and simple guidance for all phases of a clinical inquiry projects from planning through dissemination and communication of results and findings. The book emphasizes the value and importance of leveraging existing data to advance research, practice, and quality improvement efforts.
Medical Emergency Teams by
Why Critical Care Evolved METs? In early 2004, when Dr. Michael DeVita informed me that he was cons- ering a textbook on the new concept of Medical Emergency Teams (METs), I was surprised. At Presbyterian-University Hospital in Pittsburgh we int- duced this idea some 15 years ago, but did not think it was revolutionary enough to publish. This, even though, our fellows in critical care medicine training were all involved and informed about the importance of "C- dition C (Crisis)," as it was called to distinguish it from "Condition A (Arrest). "We thought it absurd to intervene only after cardiac arrest had occurred,because most cases showed prior deterioration and cardiac arrest could be prevented with rapid team work to correct precluding problems. The above thoughts were logical in Pittsburgh, where the legendary Dr. Peter Safar had been working since the late 1950s on improving current resuscitation techniques, ?rst ventilation victims of apneic from drowning, treatment of smoke inhalation, and so on. This was followed by external cardiac compression upon demonstration of its ef?ciency in cases of unexpected sudden cardiac arrest. Dr. Safar devoted his entire professional life to improvement of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. He and many others emphasized the importance of getting the CPR team to o- of-hospital victims of cardiac arrest as quickly as possible.
New Challenges in Communication with Cancer Patients by
The relationship between oncologists and their cancer patients is rapidly evolving. Oncologists and other cancer professionals master new anticancer and supportive treatment options, while working under increasing economic pressure and time constraints, and are often unprepared to deal with all the challenges of their new position in a therapeutic relationship with cancer patients and families.
Patient-centered primary care : getting from good to great by
This book offers a summary of the approaches that are currently in growing use, such as health literacy assessment, motivational interviewing, appreciative inquiry, shared decision making, minimally disruptive care, trauma informed care, enfranchisement coaching, relationship-centered care, and family-informed care.
Patient navigation : overcoming barriers to care by
Documenting the success and result of patient navigation programs, this book represents the culmination of years of research and practical experience by scientific leaders in the field. A practical guide to creating, implementing, and evaluating successful programs, Patient Naviation - Overcoming Barriers to Care offers a step-by-step guide towards creating and implementing a patient navigation program within a healthcare system. Providing a formal structure for evaluation and quality improvement this book is an essential resource for facilities seeking patient navigation services accreditation.
Transforming the Patient Experience: A New Paradigm for Hospital and Physician Leadership by
This book provides an organizational model of the common ground needed to improve patient care and adapt to today's healthcare environment. The relationship between a hospital CEO and a general surgeon and how they aligned, motivated and partnered with physicians to change the culture of a hospital and implement patient oriented systems is the essential element of this text.
Understanding Medical Professionalism by
A groundbreaking text on how to deliver the highest quality patient care through professionalism in daily medical practice.
Addressing Unhealthy Alcohol Use in Primary Care by
Addressing Unhealthy Alcohol Use in Primary Care is a resource for primary care clinicians who are confronted by patients with addiction medicine problems daily, and who wish to successfully address these issues in their practice.
Consent, Benefit, and Risk in Anaesthetic Practice by
Patients' expectations regarding involvement in their own healthcare have increased dramatically over the past few years. No longer is it acceptable for the doctor to dictate treatment; patients demand information regarding treatment options, and input into the selection of the most appropriate treatment plan.
Ethical Issues in Anesthesiology and Surgery by
Each chapter includes an ethical challenge presented as a clinical case scenario that readers may relate to in their daily practice of anesthesiology and surgery. The ethical issues surrounding each chapter's content are examined in an easily understandable manner for the specific target audience to improve the understanding and management of ethical dilemmas in patient care.
Healthcare information security and privacy by
Written by an expert in the field with multiple industry certifications, this definitive resource fully addresses information security and privacy considerations and their implications within the business of patient care. The book begins with an overview of the organization, financing, and delivery of healthcare and discusses technology, terminology, and data management principles. The topic coverage continues across all aspects of information security and privacy, with a special emphasis on real-life scenarios in clinical practices and business operations in healthcare. Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity. Written for a global audience, this comprehensive guide addresses U.S. laws and regulations as well as those within the European Union, the United Kingdom, and Canada.--Publisher description
Perioperative Addiction: Clinical Management of the Addicted Patient by
The editors and contributors provide expert guidance on how to identify and manage the addicted patient, approaching the subject from the vantage points of the specific drug and of special patient populations.
Perioperative assessment of the maxillofacial surgery patient : problem-based patient management by
This book is designed to guide the practitioner in the medical and anesthetic management of the maxillofacial surgery patient, serving as a comprehensive, up-to-date resource that will assist in patient work-up and response to any medical problem. It is divided into four sections that provide an overview of general and basic topics relevant to perioperative assessment, explain the assessment and management of diverse medical issues and co-morbidities, discuss the perioperative, pharmacological, and supportive management of maxillofactial treatment, and identify potential complications and their management. All of the authors have been carefully selected for their expertise in the topics that they discuss. While the book will be especially valuable for oral and maxillofacial surgeons, it will also be highly relevant for multiple other health care providers, including dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, otolaryngologists, plastic and reconstructive surgeons, medical residents, nurses, and physician assistants.
Perioperative Medicine by
Perioperative Medicine uses a concise, highly practical, bulleted format designed to ensure rapid comprehension of key concepts and reinforce the reader's understanding of complex topics in perioperative medicine. It contains authoritative, up-to-date coverage of the most essential concepts in perioperative care from preoperative risk assessment to postoperative follow-up. The Editor and his contributors use their expert insight and experience to provide an in-depth review of comorbid conditions, patient and surgery-specific risk assessment, and common postoperative complications. This new book reviews recent developments in the field, including published guidelines, and emphasizes an evidence-based, cost-effective approach designed to ensure quality, patient safety, and optimal outcomes. It is intended for use by hospitalists, general internists and subspecialists as well as anesthesiologists, surgeons, and residents in training who are caring for patients before and after surgery.
Perioperative medicine : managing surgical patients with medical problems by
Many patients undergoing surgery have a chronic medical disorder unrelated to the surgical problem. These can present major difficulties for inexperienced surgical house staff and junior anaesthetists working unsupervised, most of whom will have had little or no experience in dealing with suchproblems. Peri-operative medicine provides practical guidelines on the management of all the common medical conditions likely to be encountered in routine surgical and anaesthetic practice. The first section addresses a range of general issues that can arise on surgical wards when patients withcomplex medical problems are being prepared for operation, such as obtaining informed consent. The book then provides simple protocols for the safe care of patients with underlying medical problems on surgical wards, with special focus on the risks that various conditions pose for surgery andanaesthesia. The third part of the book looks at the diagnosis and management of medical complications in the post-operative period. An essential book for junior anaesthetists and surgical house staff to keep by their sides at all times.
Perioperative psychiatry : a guide to behavioral healthcare for the surgical patient by
This book provides a comprehensive review of mental health topics for pre- and postsurgical patients. The book discusses general aspects of psychiatric care during the immediate pre- and postsurgical phase, such as pain management, psychopharmacological management or legal aspects of informed consent.
Preoperative Assessment and Management, 3e by
This latest edition of Preoperative Assessment and Management offers up-to-date, concise, and comprehensive information for anyone who performs preoperative assessments on patients. With a practical, no-nonsense writing style, it provides fast, efficient answers on evaluating patients with neurological, cardiac, renal, endocrine, metabolic, hematologic, musculoskeletal, and other disorders; administering medications; and more.
Oxford Textbook of Anaesthesia (Vols. 1 & 2) by
This comprehensive work covers all aspects of anaesthesia; volume one addresses the fundamental principles and the basic sciences whose understanding is required for a logical, effective and evidence-based approach to practice. Volume two focuses on the clinical aspects of anaesthesia, including those aspects of intensive care and pain medicine that are required by all general anaesthetists.
Pediatric Sedation Outside of the Operating Room: A Multispecialty International Collaboration, 3e by
Third edition of a multidisciplinary reference that features an international authorship and is also of use for a broad range of specialists who deliver paediatric sedation in the non-OR setting.
Practical Guide to Moderate Sedation/Analgesia, 2e by
When it comes to managing the care of a patient receiving conscious sedation/analgesia during a short-term therapeutic, diagnostic, or surgical procedure, this easy-to-follow book is an ideal clinical reference. It covers everything you need to know - from practice guidelines for administering sedation, to pre-sedation requirements, intra-procedure monitoring and documentation, and discharge criteria. Detailed sections discuss the basic concepts of medications, administration techniques, potential complications and emergencies, monitoring parameters, developing a credentialing program, legal implications, and patient discharge, as well as separate chapters on pediatric and geriatric sedation. The book also provides practical learning tools such as sample documentation forms, learner feedback, and questions and answer sections. Thorough content provides all the key, essential information needed for a complete understanding of moderate sedation/analgesia in practice. Detailed sections address the basic concepts of medications, administration techniques, potential complications and emergencies, monitoring parameters, developing a credentialing program, legal implications, and patient discharge. Learning tools focus on practical implementations, such as sample documentation forms, learner feedback, and questions and answer sections. A chapter on Pediatric Sedation presents the latest techniques and recommended guidelines for the proper management of this special population. The latest JCAHO Standards for Sedation and Analgesia are included to assist nurses and institutions with meeting these standards. A new chapter on geriatric sedation focuses on specific considerations for older adults receiving moderate sedation. A new chapter on risk management and legal issues provides important guidelines for understanding the scope of practice as it pertains to administering and monitoring patients receiving moderate sedation/analgesia. More in-depth discussion on aspects of care examines topics such as the role of the RN in monitoring the patient, the standards of care as applied to all types of facilities, and the discharge criteria within the PACU.
Advanced Procedures for Pain Management: A Step-by-Step Atlas by
This atlas covers advanced procedures that normal residency and fellowship programs may not cover. It consolidates information pain fellows usually amass by traveling throughout the country to various specialized weekend courses. Advanced Procedures for Interventional Pain Management: A Step-by-Step Atlas is for physicians that know the fundamentals of pain medicine and want to push their knowledge further.
Anesthesia in High-Risk Patients by
This book describes the approach to anaesthetic and perioperative management in different categories of high-risk patient scheduled to undergo elective noncardiac surgery. Individual sections focus on patients with conditions entailing cardiac and hemodynamic risks, respiratory risks, renal and metabolic risks, neurological risks, and other forms of risk.
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, 6e by
All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures.
Bedside Procedures for the Intensivist by
Bedside Procedures for the Intensivist delivers practical tips and clear, step-by-step instruction on the most common procedures in the ICU. The convenient and portable handbook focuses on ultrasound-guided techniques, including an introduction to ultrasound physics and principles, while individual chapters provide concise "how-to" text supplemented with numerous full-color figures and tables that summarize key content. Residents, fellows, and trainees in critical care will benefit from the detailing of indications and contraindications for performing core procedures, while more experienced intensivists will find the book a reliable source of review material. Key procedures described include:* Ultrasound-guided vascular access* Ultrasound-guided drainage* Focused echocardiography* Airway management* Dialysis and apheresis* Pericardiocentesis* Insertion of vena cava filters* Percutaneous dilational tracheostomy* Open tracheostomy* Transbronchial biopsy* Percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy* Intracranial monitoring
Case Studies of near Misses in Clinical Anesthesia by
All anesthesiologists eventually face the fear of a "near miss," when a patient's life has been put at risk. Learning from the experience is crucial to professionalism and the ongoing development of expertise. Drawing on forty-plus years of practice in major metropolitan hospitals in the United States, Norway, and South Africa, John Brock-Utne, MD presents 80 carefully selected cases that provide the basis for lessons and tips to prevent potential disaster. The cases emphasize problem-centered learning and span a broad range of topics--from an outbreak of operating room infection (could it be the anesthesia equipment?), complications of fiberoptic intubations, and problems with epidural drug pumps, to performing an urgent tracheostomy for the first time, working with an aggressive surgeon, and what to do when a patient falls off the operating table during surgery.80 true-story clinical "near misses" never before published, ideal for problem-centered learning, recommendations, references, and discussions accompany most cases, rich basis for teaching discussions both in or out of the operating room, settings include sophisticated as well as rudimentary anesthetic environments, complements the author's other case book, Clinical Anesthesia: Near Misses and Lessons Learned (Springer, 2008).
Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital, 10e by
Emphasizing the clinical fundamentals necessary for patient safety and optimal outcomes, this trusted guide provides fast answers to the most frequent problems encountered in daily anaesthetic practice, making it an invaluable resource for practicing anaesthesiologists and residents as well as nurse anaesthetist trainees and practitioners.
Current procedures : surgery by
Learn to perform more than 50 of the most common surgical procedures with this step-by-step, superbly illustrated guide. This book is a unique combination atlas and text that details everything that you must know to perform more than 50 key surgical procedures. It covers the full spectrum of general surgery in an ultra-convenient, at-a-glance format, with more than 400 beautifully rendered illustrations to guide you every step of the way. An easy to follow template for each procedure includes: Indications, Contraindications, Informed Consent, Equipment, Patient Preparation, Patient Positioning, Procedure, Postoperative Care, Potential Complications, Pearls and Tips, References.
ICU protocols : a stepwise approach by
The book describes step-wise management of clinical emergencies seen every day in Intensive care units (ICUs. As a practical guide, clinicians can refer to it on a day-to-day basis during their work hours, or while in transit to update their knowledge. Targeted readers are intensivists, critical care specialists, and residents involved in the care of patients admitted in ICUs. This handbook covers an array of specialities such as cardiology, pulmonology, gastroenterology, neurology, nephrology, traumatology, and toxicology. This monograph provides point-of-care treatment guidance and will serve as a ready-reckoner for physicians to quickly learn the management steps in a methodical manner.
Interventional Critical Care: A Manual for Advanced Care Practitioners by
This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of the interventional procedures that can be performed in intensive care settings. The book addresses fundamentals of the indications and technical aspects of procedures, and identifies pitfalls and resource needs.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care, 4e by
Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more.
Anesthesiology: A Practical Approach by
This book will assist the practitioner to plan their anesthetic from preoperative evaluation phase to complete recovery or transfer to another special care area. The emphasis is on both the planned technique and more importantly the logic or reasoning behind the suggested technique.
The Complete Recovery Room Book, 6e by
The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The Complete Recovery Room Book, 6e, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients.
Comprehensive Postanesthesia Care by 
Enhanced Recovery After Surgery by
This book provides up-to-date information and practical approaches to Enhanced Recovery after Surgery (ERAS) programs for digestive and / or cardiopulmonary surgery. ERAS programs following surgical interventions are now part of the standard of care for patients undergoing various operative procedures. These programs have been associated with reductions in complications, in length of hospital stay after surgery and in related costs, and have led to improved patient QOL. Enhanced Recovery after Surgery discusses a range of aspects of the program, from surgical procedure to perioperative management. Each chapter is written by experts in the field, including digestive, cardiopulmonary and pediatric surgeons. It is a valuable resource for surgeons, nurses and administrators interested in initiating an ERAS program.
Postoperative Care in Thoracic Surgery by
This book offers a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of optimal postoperative care in patients who have undergone thoracic surgery and discusses challenging issues that are of interest not only in the context of thoracic surgery but also more generally within the fields of anesthesia, intensive care, and pain medicine. The coverage ranges, for example, from use of non-invasive ventilation, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, and new monitoring devices to fluid management, pain control, and treatment of arrhythmias. A key feature of the book is the exceptionally attractive list of authors, who represent the most authoritative experts on the topics that they address. The approach is appropriately multidisciplinary, acknowledging that in many centers thoracic anesthetists are responsible for care during the postoperative period. This book is exceptional in being devoted solely to postoperative care in thoracic surgery, even though the difficulties involved in thoracic operations sometimes exceed those of cardiac surgery, especially in the postoperative period.
Postoperative Critical Care for Adult Cardiac Surgical Patients, 2e by
This text reviews the postoperative management of patients who have undergone cardiac surgical procedures, some of the most common and most complicated forms of surgery. These patients and their management are characterized by complex challenges, while among the factors determining ultimate clinical outcome, postoperative critical care is of major importance. This new and extensively updated edition of Postoperative Critical Care for Cardiac Surgical Patients maintains the general clinical approach in explaining and analyzing the course of clinical care in patients undergoing cardiac surgery, providing the reader with a practical "cookbook" of postoperative intensive care in adult cardiac patients. It has been extensively updated to include the developments in this field during the last few years, from new chapters on postoperative management of renal, gastrointestinal and respiratory systems, postoperative management of infectious and inflammatory complications, and postoperative care of transplant patients and postoperative safety. This book is of critical importance for cardiac surgeons, cardiac anesthesiologists and intensivists, and defines optimal daily practice for adult patients undergoing cardiac surgical procedures.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
