The college's new MyPortfolio system - which replaces the old Training Portfolio System (TPS) - is now live!
On launch, MyPortfolio automatically replaced TPS on the ANZCA website and portal, with any saved TPS links automatically redirecting you to MyPortfolio. Your existing data remains available in a read-only format for reference. Visit our FAQs for guidance, tips, and troubleshooting support.
John Prentice
We're delighted to announce that Westmead's - written by ANZCA fellow Dr Anthony Padley - is now available online through the ANZCA Library for the very first time.
Westmead Anaesthetic Manual, 5e by Westmead Anaesthetic Manual has been assisting anaesthetists and intensive care nurses to save patient lives and improve patient safety care for the past 20 years. The publication provides a step-by-step guide to anaesthetic practice and reflects current best practice in the management of anaesthetic emergency.
John Prentice
They're finally here! The new editions of the much-loved Dr Podcast Scripts are now available online - PRINT COPIES NOW AVAILABLE!
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA, 2e by Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Primary FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Primary FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA is a must!
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA, 2e by Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Final FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Final FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA is a must!
John Prentice
Vander's Renal Physiology, 10e by
John Prentice
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics, 3e by The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners. The key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination has been collated and is delivered it in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics, 3e by The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners, with key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination collated and delivered in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
John Prentice
Robinson and Hall's How to Survive in Anaesthesia: A Guide for Trainees, 6e by The initial months working as a trainee anaesthetist are daunting, with a wealth of new drugs, terminology, anaesthetic equipment, and practical procedures to master. This essential guide, now in its sixth edition, provides doctors and clinical staff with a clear introduction on the delivery of safe anaesthesia from day one. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, it covers the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and offers advice on how to manage common crises and emergencies such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage, and blood transfusion. Proceeding parts explore subspecialties and provide information on intensive care and perioperative medicine. Thoroughly revised and updated to reflect recent changes in anaesthesia, and including new chapters on obstetric anaesthesia, common regional nerve blocks, and emergency laparotomy. Written in an accessible style, it is an essential resource for learning the safe fundamentals of anaesthetic practice for trainee anaesthetists and clinical staff working alongside anaesthetists.
John Prentice
The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book, 4e by The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book 4e provides detailed, accessible summaries of the core questions in anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and clinical measurement and equipment that may be covered in the oral part of the Final FRCA exam. In addition to a comprehensive update, this edition includes new subject material in each of the four basic sciences, with over 200 condensed summaries of the most relevant topics in the examination. Continuing to offer candidates an insight into the way the viva works, the book provides general guidance on examination technique, and readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions. Written by a former senior examiner for the Diploma of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, with previous editions recommended by Anaesthesia UK, formerly a prime educational resource for trainee anaesthetists, the book remains an essential purchase for every Final FRCA candidate.
John Prentice
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 27e by
John Prentice
The IT Assessments tab of this guide has been updated to add a number of SES assessment resources.
The resources cover a number of topic areas including: 1) Anaphylaxis, 2) Aspiration, 3) Cardiovascular instability, 4) Difficult airway, 5) Massive haemorrhage, and 6) Raised Airway Pressure Or Inability To Ventilate Patient.
John Prentice
Yao and Artusio’s Anesthesiology Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e by Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e, contains more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. This core text has been thoroughly revised to bring you up to date with all that's new in the field. Features a problem-based approach to emphasize critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills Uses a consistent chapter format that includes presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case Contains new and updated content throughout, including topics such as coagulopathy and major and complex spine surgery, as well as updated references for further study and clarification
John Prentice
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 4e by Gray's Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 4e, remains the reference of choice for clinicians who use ultrasound-guided technology to administer regional blocks. Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and discussions of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for anaesthetists, pain medicine specialists, nurse anaesthetists, and emergency physicians-anyone who requires expert guidance on the latest methods to ensure safe and effective needle placement. Helps ensure correct needle placement with numerous 3-D and long-axis views that clearly depict surrounding structures Contains nine new chapters: Ultra High Frequency (UHF) Ultrasound; PENG Block; iPACK Block; External Oblique Intercoastal (EOI) Block; Serratus Anterior Plane Block; Erector Spinae Plane (ESP) Block; Suprazygomatic Maxillary Nerve Block; Ultrasound-Guided Percutaneous Cryoneurolysis for Acute Pain; Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia.