Anaesthesia training resources news & updates

Assessments Update

01/23/2025

John Prentice

The Assessments section of this guide has been updated to remove the old IAACQ page as this has been replaced by the new Introductory Training (IT) assessments page. This new page contains LO information and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the assessments. The new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page is also in place and contains the new PCIA Implementation guide and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the PCIA assessment.

The Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024

This guide is part of the PCIA resources pack and is available to anaesthesia trainees, SIMGs and members of Anaesthesia Departments to support implementation of the PCIA in hospitals and health services.

Training, Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments

PCIA resources now available

12/05/2024

John Prentice

0 Comments

Information and resources related to the new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) can be found on the new Assessment > Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page. This includes PCIA guidance documents, Teaching/learning resources, PCIA assessment resources and a PCIA-related webinar.

Note: Updated versions the PCIA Implementation guide and Summary sheet were added on 20 December 2024.

The Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024

Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments

Back to Anaesthesia training resources

Subjects

Primary exam (PEx)

Online Books (eBooks)

Anaesthesia training

Anaesthesia training assessments

Final exam (FEx)

Anaesthesia

Paediatric Anaesthesia

Training

Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA)

SIMG

By Month

March 2025

January 2025

December 2024

November 2024

September 2024

July 2024

Recent Posts

New edition of Rogers’ Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care now available

Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, 6e by Donald H. Shaffner John J. McCloskey; Elizabeth Anne Hunt; Robert C. Tasker [eds] Long recognized as the leading text in this dynamic field, Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care provides comprehensive, clear explanations of both the principles underlying paediatric critical care disease and trauma as well as how these principles are applied. The fully revised Sixth Edition brings you completely up to date on today's understanding, treatments, technologies, and outcomes regarding critical illness in children. Contains 120 up-to-date chapters covering everything from hematologic/oncologic disorders to mass casualty incidents to PICU organization and physical design. Keeps you current with the latest evidence and practices, including recent advances in electronic monitoring, education, and pandemic management. Includes Key Points at the beginning of each chapter along with associated numbered margin icons throughout correlating pertinent sections so you can find what you need, quickly margin icons so you can find what you need quickly. jQuery(function () { jQuery('[data-toggle="popover"]').popover() }) ISBN: 9781975174217 Publication Date: 2023-10-06 ...

Planning for success: A resource for anaesthesia exam preparation

Planning for Success is our new exam preparation resource designed to support trainees and SIMGs on the exam pathway. Read the news article to learn more: https://www.anzca.edu.au/news-and-safety-alerts/planning-for-success-a-resource-for-anaesthesia-exam-preparation See the Primary Exam (PEx) - Revision aids tab for links and access instructions. ...

College website relinking and page updates

Following last week's college website update, a number of broken webpage and resource links have been corrected. If you encounter a broken or incorrect link on this guide, please use the library feedback form (select Report an Issue > Library Guide Link Issue) and we will update the link as a matter of urgency. ...

Latest training & exam related titles added to our collection

How to Teach the Epidural Block in Obstetric Anesthesia by Giorgio Capogna [ed} This book highlights the distinction between "how to teach" and "how to practice," emphasizing the importance of effective teaching skills in conveying information and skills to others. The authors' extensive experience and research make this book a comprehensive and authoritative guide to effective teaching methods for the challenging task of teaching the epidural technique. jQuery(function () { jQuery('[data-toggle="popover"]').popover() }) ISBN: 9783031702105 Publication Date: 2024-11-01 Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7e by Bartels K; Fox AA; Howard-Quijano K; Thiele RH; Shaw AD Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the field, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7en, edited by Drs. Karsten Bartels, Amanda A. Fox, Andrew D. Shaw, Kimberly Howard-Quijano, and Robert H. Thiele, is an ideal reference and review tool for fellows, residents, and practicing anaesthesiologists. Concisely written and readily accessible, it combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. This edition has been newly reorganized for current practice patterns and to better align with the ACGME requirements for adult cardiothoracic anaesthesiology. jQuery(function () { jQuery('[data-toggle="popover"]').popover() }) ISBN: 9781975209100 Publication Date: 2024-06-19 Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e by Maged Argalious, Ehab Farag, Deepak Sharma [eds] Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e presents the most recent evidenced-based knowledge in basic sciences in anesthesia. It covers topics from the syllabus of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) basic science exam, including anatomy, pharmacology, physiology, physics in anesthesia, and more. In each chapter, key points summarize the content, followed by a pertinent and concise discussion of the topic, ending with multiple choice questions with answers and suggested further reading. This 2nd edition is fully revised featuring new chapters on infection prevention in anesthesiology, principles of patient safety, physician impairment, advance directives and informed consent. jQuery(function () { jQuery('[data-toggle="popover"]').popover() }) ISBN: 9783031602030 Publication Date: 2025-01-09 ...