Showing 10 of 12 Results

Anaesthesia training resources news & updates

Westmead's now available online!

12/10/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

We're delighted to announce that Westmead's - written by ANZCA fellow Dr Anthony Padley - is now available online through the ANZCA Library for the very first time.

Cover Art Westmead Anaesthetic Manual, 5e by Padley, Anthony Westmead Anaesthetic Manual has been assisting anaesthetists and intensive care nurses to save patient lives and improve patient safety care for the past 20 years. The publication provides a step-by-step guide to anaesthetic practice and reflects current best practice in the management of anaesthetic emergency.

Call Number: 617.96 PAD
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781760427283
Publication Date: 24 March 2024
Anaesthesia, Anaesthesia training, Supervisors of Training (SOT), Online Books (eBooks)

New editions of Dr Podcasts Scripts now available!

12/02/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

They're finally here! The new editions of the much-loved Dr Podcast Scripts are now available online - PRINT COPIES NOW AVAILABLE!

Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA, 2e by Goodwin A, Johnson E, Leslie R, Nava S [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Primary FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Primary FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-07-03
 
 
 
Cover Art Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA, 2e by Leslie R, Johnson E, Thomas G, Goodwin A, Harrington P [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Final FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Final FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-06-12
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New editions of The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide - now available!

11/07/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics, 3e by Wijayasiri L, McCombe K The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners. The key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination has been collated and is delivered it in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics, 3e by McCombe K, Wijayasiri L The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners, with key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination collated and delivered in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
Anaesthesia, Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book now available!

10/31/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book, 4e by Simon Bricker The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book 4e provides detailed, accessible summaries of the core questions in anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and clinical measurement and equipment that may be covered in the oral part of the Final FRCA exam. In addition to a comprehensive update, this edition includes new subject material in each of the four basic sciences, with over 200 condensed summaries of the most relevant topics in the examination. Continuing to offer candidates an insight into the way the viva works, the book provides general guidance on examination technique, and readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions. Written by a former senior examiner for the Diploma of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, with previous editions recommended by Anaesthesia UK, formerly a prime educational resource for trainee anaesthetists, the book remains an essential purchase for every Final FRCA candidate.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781009470155
Publication Date: 2025-05-22
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology now available!

10/24/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Yao and Artusio’s Anesthesiology Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e by Hugh C. Hemmings [ed] Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e, contains more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. This core text has been thoroughly revised to bring you up to date with all that's new in the field. Features a problem-based approach to emphasize critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills Uses a consistent chapter format that includes presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case Contains new and updated content throughout, including topics such as coagulopathy and major and complex spine surgery, as well as updated references for further study and clarification
Call Number: 617.96076 YAO
ISBN: 9781975214234
Publication Date: 2025-09-19
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)

New edition of Guyton & Hall now available!

08/14/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 15e by Hall & Hall [eds]
Publication Date: 2025-07-11
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Online Books (eBooks)

Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine 2e now available

07/18/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, 2e by Steven L. Cohn This concise high-yield clinical reference guides physicians and their clinical teams through the decision-making process of assessing patient risk prior to surgery. Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, Second Edition focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities before undergoing surgical procedures. The book provides validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for frequently encountered comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written, updated resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and complex perioperative cases.
ISBN: 9781266072963
Publication Date: 2025-04-09
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)

Latest training & exam related titles added to our collection

01/23/2025
profile-icon ANZCA Library
Cover ArtHow to Teach the Epidural Block in Obstetric Anesthesia by Giorgio Capogna [ed} This book highlights the distinction between "how to teach" and "how to practice," emphasizing the importance of effective teaching skills in conveying information and skills to others. The authors' extensive experience and research make this book a comprehensive and authoritative guide to effective teaching methods for the challenging task of teaching the epidural technique.
ISBN: 9783031702105
Publication Date: 2024-11-01
 
 
 
 
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7e by Bartels K; Fox AA; Howard-Quijano K; Thiele RH; Shaw AD Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the field, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7en, edited by Drs. Karsten Bartels, Amanda A. Fox, Andrew D. Shaw, Kimberly Howard-Quijano, and Robert H. Thiele, is an ideal reference and review tool for fellows, residents, and practicing anaesthesiologists. Concisely written and readily accessible, it combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. This edition has been newly reorganized for current practice patterns and to better align with the ACGME requirements for adult cardiothoracic anaesthesiology.
ISBN: 9781975209100
Publication Date: 2024-06-19
 
 
 
 
Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e by Maged Argalious, Ehab Farag, Deepak Sharma [eds] Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e presents the most recent evidenced-based knowledge in basic sciences in anesthesia. It covers topics from the syllabus of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) basic science exam, including anatomy, pharmacology, physiology, physics in anesthesia, and more. In each chapter, key points summarize the content, followed by a pertinent and concise discussion of the topic, ending with multiple choice questions with answers and suggested further reading. This 2nd edition is fully revised featuring new chapters on infection prevention in anesthesiology, principles of patient safety, physician impairment, advance directives and informed consent.
ISBN: 9783031602030
Publication Date: 2025-01-09
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)

New final exam titles now available

12/23/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library
Cover ArtThe Final FRCA Constructed Response Questions: A Practical Study Guide by Elizabeth Combeer; Mitul Patel The only book to offer clear guidance on HOW TO APPROACH the questions in this exam Covers past questions, which reguarly recur in the Final FRCA exam - thus saves candidates enormous amounts of work going back through past papers. The author has a 'helicopter view' of what to include in the answers, brought by years of teaching, experience and knowledge of what the College is looking for. The presentation of the information is exactly as it should be presented for the exam. The candidate will thus learn to understand by example how they can score marks in the exam and avoid wasting time on lengthy prose. Carefully referenced and well researched.
ISBN: 9781032483276
Publication Date: 2023-12-28
 
 
 
 
Cover ArtPassing the Final FFICM: High-Yield Facts for the MCQ & OSCE Exams by Muzzammil Ali This innovative resource serves as a fusion of an MCQ guide and a textbook, providing essential content for postgraduate trainees gearing up for the FFICM Final exam, a vital part of the CCT in Intensive Care Medicine. Crafted to meet the unique requirements of the MCQ while also addressing the necessity for concise, well-structured responses in the OSCE, this book prioritises quick topic transitions, delivering focused, streamlined learning across a range of ICM topics. Its uniqueness lies in its unorthodox structure; rather than having a conventional table of contents, it gives you the freedom to start your learning adventure from any page. Each of the 1,400 facts is structured as a question, reflecting the format of both exams. Answers are conveniently positioned just below, eliminating the need for constant page-flipping. The material is carefully curated to cover the breadth of the ICM curriculum, weaving in valuable insights from the author's and colleagues' exam experiences. Random questions replicate the unpredictability of both exams and enhance the reader's capacity to swiftly switch between topics during self-assessment. This balances knowledge application and active recall while using memory-enhancing methods like self-quizzing, chunking, and spaced repetition.
ISBN: 9781032590622
Publication Date: 2024-04-30
Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks)

New edition of Quick Draw Anatomy for Anaesthetists now available

12/20/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library
Cover ArtQuick Draw Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 2e by Joanna Oram Fox This new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, and continues to provide you with simple instructions on how to draw and interpret the crucial anatomy you need for your anaesthetic training. Covers all the relevant anatomy in: Head, neck and neuro - from Circle of Willis to cervical plexus Vertebral column- from the spinal cord to the sacrum Cardiac- coronary arteries and venous drainage of the heart Airway and respiratory- from airway sensation to the diaphragm Abdomen- from the abdominal aorta to the nephron, via a TAP block Limbs- from blood vessels in the arms to the ankle, via the femoral canal For the majority of sections, in addition to a simple drawing and detailed explanation, there are also step-by-step illustrations to show you how to draw the anatomy yourself - taking some of the stress out of potential viva questions!
ISBN: 9781914961434
Publication Date: 2024-04-09
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)