Showing 3 of 3 Results

Pain medicine training resources news & updates

College website relinking and page updates

03/03/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
0 Comments

AlertFollowing last week's college website update, a number of broken webpage and resource links have been corrected.

If you encounter a broken or incorrect link on this guide, please use the library feedback form (select Report an Issue > Library Guide Link Issue) and we will update the link as a matter of urgency.

Pain medicine training

New edition of Handbook of Communication now available

02/28/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
0 Comments

Handbook of Communication in Anaesthesia, Pain Management, and Intensive Care: A Practical Guide to Exploring the Art, 2e by Cyna AM; Tan SG; Andrew MI; Burgoyne LL; Simmons SW [eds] Communication in anaesthesia, pain management, and intensive care can have profound impacts on patients and healthcare colleagues. Good communication can result in better patient outcomes and experiences of the hospital setting, whereas poor communication is frequently at the heart of adverse incidents, complaints, and litigation. This handbook outlines two model frameworks to improve communication: one to give structure to an interaction and one that explores language structures and the layers of meaning to our words. The frameworks are essential tools for communicating with children, obstetric patients, and those with needle phobia. A practical guide, the book is packed with useful tips to enhance interactions with both patients and colleagues. Numerous examples and vignettes clearly demonstrate ideas that will improve patient care, safety, and bring out the best in everyone around. Fully updated with new clinical guidelines and literature, the second edition includes new chapters on how to talk to patients in pain, featuring motivational interviewing techniques, and on social media. Increased coverage of managing challenging situations, includes communicating with distressed relatives, dealing with complaints, and working with interpreters.
ISBN: 9780198858669
Publication Date: 2024-11-29
Roles in Practice, Pain medicine training, Communication in Anaesthesia SIG

Updated training documentation

12/09/2024
profile-icon John Prentice
0 Comments

Updated versions of the training handbook, curriculum and bylaws have been released.

Cover ArtFaculty of Pain Medicine: Training Handbook by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.12 - December 2024
Pain medicine training