This guide contains links to information and resources of relevance to ANZCA's Global Development committee. The Global Development committee is "committed to improving education and training capacity in anaesthesia and pain medicine in response to the needs expressed by low and middle income countries (LMIC)".
The Asia-Pacific anaesthesia resources guide promotes key anaesthesia and pain medicine books and journals available online to local doctors in areas supported by the ANZCA Global Development committee such as Papua New Guinea and Fiji.
ACCESS selected Asia-Pacific anaesthesia resourcesClick here
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
The WAME Board of Directors has approved the following addendum to the WAME Statement on Promoting Global Health:
WAME on abstract translations Jan 17, 2020
WAME encourages all medical journal editors to encourage authors to provide abstracts in the language of the location where the research took place and that journals should make those abstracts available to readers when provided. See statement
World Association of Medical Editors (WAME).
WAME on abstract translations [Internet]. January 17, 2020.https://www.wame.org/news-details.php?nid=28. Accessed 29 January 2020.
Article from the reference list of the original statement:Koplan JP, Bond TC, Merson MH, et al. Towards a common definition of global health. Lancet (London, England). 2009;373(9679):1993-1995. Read the original statement here.
The Global Surgery 2030 report (including the great introductory video - shown centre tab on this page) has developed 5 key messages stressing the importance of access to safe affordable surgical and anaesthesia care when needed.
More information is available from the Lancet Commission on Global Surgery website.
ANZCA supports the vision established through the Lancet Commission on global surgery. Universal access to safe, affordable surgical and anaesthesia care when needed.
Anesthesia in Low-Resourced Settings: Near Misses and Lessons Learned by
This book outlines the many anesthesia-related obstacles, concerns, and challenges that may be encountered by western trained anaesthesiologists in low-resourced settings. Each chapter presents a challenging scenario with solutions. It is therefore an essential handbook that will prepare those performing anesthesia in this milieu.
Australasian Anaesthesia 2023 by 
Developing anaesthesia: guidelines for anaesthesia in developing countries V.1.6 2010 by
The Developing Anaesthesia Textbook has been created to promote the advancement of anaesthetic practice and to empower anaesthetists in countries with limited resources. The text has chapters on the following topics: preoperative management, general anaesthesia, paediatric anaesthesia, obstetrics, regional anaesthesia, recovery, critical incident management, and quality assurance.
Essential Surgery Volume of Disease Control Priorities, 3e [Open Access]
“The Essential Surgery volume of DCP3 helps definitively dispel many of the myths about surgery’s role in global health, in part by showing the very large health burden from conditions that are primarily or extensively treated by surgery. It dispels the myth that surgery is too expensive by showing that many essential surgical services rank amongst the most cost-effective of all heath interventions.”
Global Anaesthesia (Oxford Specialist Handbooks) by
The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Global Anaesthesia is a key reference for anaesthetists working in environments with scarce resources. Whether due to rural locations, poverty, natural disasters, the outbreak of epidemics, or war and conflict, this handbook supports anaesthetists to practice to a high standard in challenging situations and to problem solve when faced with unusual circumstances.
Global Cardiac Surgery Capacity Development in Low and Middle Income Countries by
This book provides a focused resource on how cardiac surgery capacity can be developed and how it assists in the sustainable development and strengthening of associated health systems. Background is provided on the extent of the problems that are experienced in many nations with suggestions for how suitable frameworks can be developed to improve cardiac healthcare provision.
Global Health Essentials by
This practical and handy textbook offers a succinct yet comprehensive overview of the main challenges, issues and solutions in global health in relation to the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) 2030 agenda. Subdivided into 11 parts, devoted each to a macro-topic, the book opens with an introduction to Global Health followed by an overview of the global burden of disease - from child and maternal health to communicable and non-communicable diseases. The authors further examine the social determinants of health, health systems' features as well as innovations, governance and methods in Global Health. In consideration of the emerging discussions and ideas, and beyond the more traditional and essential elements of global health, the book also looks at the need to re-think the whole concept of global health and the importance of a "decolonized" approach that engages low and lower-middle countries fully. One entire part is then devoted to analyzing the major threats to the health of humanity such as climate change, the need for an ecological approach to health (including "One Health" approaches), and, ultimately, planetary health. Written by an international panel of more than 100 experts, this manual will be an excellent resource for students in a broad range of disciplines - from medicine and other scientific studies to economics, social science, anthropology and international relations. Pragmatic and reader-friendly, it will further be a valuable tool for policymakers, program implementers and those wishing to build knowledge on the meaning, principles and practices of global health.
Global Surgery and Anesthesia Manual by
This guide provides in-depth instruction on epidemiology and ethics surrounding surgical services, and on anesthesia, perioperative care, trauma surgery, and non-trauma surgery. With contributions from a group of culturally and academically diverse clinicians, each chapter is enriched by at least one commentary from a surgeon or anesthesia provider in a low- or middle-income country (LMIC) who shares first-hand perspectives on the realities and complexities of providing surgical care in these settings with limited resources.
Guide to Pain Management in Low-Resource Settings by
The Guide to Pain Management in Low-Resource Settings is intended to support health care providers in low-resource settings. Chapters were written by a multidisciplinary and multinational team of authors. Practitioners in settings with limited resources will benefit from easy-to-read information about simple and cost-effective approaches that can provide maximum effects in managing pain in their patients.
How to Practice Academic Medicine and Publish from Developing Countries?: A Practical Guide by
The book provides an overview of the state of research in developing countries - Africa, Latin America, and Asia (especially India) and why research and publications are important in these regions. It addresses budding but struggling academics in low and middle-income countries. It is written mainly by senior colleagues who have experienced and recognized the challenges with design, documentation, and publication of health research in the developing world.
Infectious Diseases and Rural Livelihood in Developing Countries by
This book focuses on the effects of rural livelihood and the impact of infectious diseases on health and poverty. It explores cultures and traditions in developing countries and their role in infectious-disease management and prevention. It highlights the associated healthcare systems and how these have contributed to some of the challenges faced, and goes on to elaborate on the significance of community involvement in infectious-disease prevention, management and control. It also emphasizes the importance of surveillance and setting up strategies on infectious-disease management that are favourable for poor communities and developing countries
Obstetric anaesthesia for developing countries (OAL) by
Anaesthesia services for obstetric procedures pose a particular problem in developing countries, where high rates of anaesthesia-related complications and foetal/maternal mortality are seen in connection with otherwise common procedures such as caesarean section. This concise and practical pocketbook covers the basic principles of obstetric anaesthesia with a special emphasis on the unique challenges of service delivery in the developing world. The book will be useful for a range of practitioners in developing countries including anaesthetists, trainees, nurse anaesthetists, and district hospital doctors.
Safer Surgery for Africa: Challenges and Solutions by
Almost everyone will need surgery in their lifetime, but in Africa nearly 95% of the population do not have affordable surgery and anaesthesia.
More people die after surgery than from HIV, TB, and malaria combined.
In Africa, adults are twice as likely to die after surgery, and for children that number rockets to eleven. Mothers who need caesarean sections face the greatest risk: the mortality rate is fifty times higher than high-income countries. Most of these deaths do not happen in the operating theatre, but on the ward during recovery.
Through extensive research and personal narratives from physicians across the continent, Professor Bruce Biccard provides a history of death and surgery, describes the current state of surgery in Africa, and presents two models for improving surgical care and outcomes.
Fortunately, the solutions are simple and cost-effective, but making them happen has never been easy; even the basic hygiene we now take for granted was once met with resistance. So Bruce presents a manifesto for surgical health, showing us all how to make the world a healthier place.
Setting up Community Health and Development Programmes in Low and Middle Income Settings, 4e by
Setting up Community Health Programmes in Low and Middle Income Settings, 4e provides a practical introductory guide to the initiation, management, and sustaining of health care programmes in developing countries. The book has been fully revised to take into account the Millennium Development Goals, Sustainable Development Goals, and Universal Health Coverage.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Global health
Got big ideas for this ANZCA resource guide? Why not become our advocate? Highlight valuable resources for college fellows and trainees while earning CPD hours!
Contact ANZCA Library for more info: library@anzca.edu.au
Find out more
The Global Development committee is "committed to improving education and training capacity in anaesthesia and pain medicine in response to the needs expressed by low and middle income countries (LMIC)".
Fellows of the college develop and contribute to variety of anaesthesia and pain medicine programs across the Pacific, Asia and Africa. In response to a number of frequently asked questions the Global Development Committee has prepared information for fellows and trainees interested in working and teaching overseas.
For further information please visit the Global Health page on the ANZCA website, which includes resources and initiatives like:
Last updated: 6 September 2023
Open access articles
Bartovic J,Datta SS, Severonic S, D'Annaa V.Ensuring equitable access to vaccines for refugees and migrants during the COVID-19 pandemic. Bulletin of the World Health Organisation. 2021; 99:3-3a. doi:10.2471/BLT.20.267690
Pouramin P, Li CS, Busse JW, et al. Delays in hospital admissions in patients with fractures across 18 low-income and middle-income countries (INORMUS): a prospective observational study.Lancet Global Health. 2020;8(5):e711-e720. doi:10.1016/S2214-109X(20)30067-X
Kayambankadzanja RK, Likaka A, Mndolo SK, Chatsika GM, Umar E, Baker T. Emergency and critical care services in Malawi: findings from a nationwide survey of health facilities. Malawi Medical Journal. 2020;32(1):19-23. doi:10.4314/mmj.v32i1.5
Dobson GP. Trauma of major surgery: a global problem that is not going away. International Journal of Surgery. 2020;81:47-54. doi:10.1016/j.ijsu.2020.07.017
Marun GN, Morriss WW, Lim JS, Morriss JL, Goucke CR.Addressing the challenge of pain education in low-resource countries: essential pain management in Papua New Guinea. Anesthesia and Analgesia. 2020;2020 Mar 12.
Pakenham-Walsh N, Godlee F. Healthcare information for all [published correction appears in BMJ. 2020 Feb 28;368:m818]. BMJ. 2020;368:m759. Published 2020 Feb 28. doi:10.1136/bmj.m759
Articles accessible with an ANZCA ID and password
Lal A, Erondu NA, Heymann DL, Gitahi G, Yates R. Fragmented health systems in COVID-19: rectifying the misalignment between global health security and universal health coverage. Lancet. 2021 Jan 2;397(10268):61-67. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(20)32228-5.
Prasad A. Loyce Pace: equity, solidarity, and humility in global health. Lancet. 2021 Jan 2;397(10268):16. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(20)32670-2.
Loh PS, Chaw SH, Shariffuddin II, Ng CC, Yim CC, Hashim NHM. A developing nation's experience in using simulation-based training as a preparation tool for the Coronavirus disease 2019 outbreak. Anesthesia and Analgesia. 2021 Jan;132(1):15-24. doi: 10.1213/ANE.0000000000005264. Lonergan D. I am a Mzungu. Anesthesiology. 2020 Sep 1;133(3):667-669. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0000000000003264.
Henry JA, Volk AS, Kariuki SK, et al. Ending neglected surgical diseases (NSDs): definitions, strategies, and goals for the next decade [published online ahead of print, 2020 Aug 11]. International Journal of Health Policy and Management. 2020;10.34172/ijhpm.2020.140. doi:10.34172/ijhpm.2020.140
Ma X, Marinos J, De Jesus J, Lin N, Sung CY, Vervoort D. Human rights-based approach to global surgery: a scoping review [published online ahead of print, 2020 Aug 21]. International Journal of Surgery. 2020;82:16-23. doi:10.1016/j.ijsu.2020.08.004
Goucke, RC, Chaudakshetrin, P. Pain: a neglected problem in the low-resource setting. Anesth Analg. 2018;126(4):1283–1286.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
