Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Read by QxMD: Resource information

Read by QxMD provides a single place to discover new research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed.

Guide index

Library > Library guides > Apps & podcasts

On this page

  • Overview of the app
  • Downloading the app
  • Creating a user account
  • Setting up full-text access
  • Setting up notifications and email alerts
  • Creating, sharing and following collections
  • Tips

ANZCA-related Collections

There are two research-related collections maintained fo the benefit of ANZCA:

Both collections can be followed, ensuring users receive notifications of any new publications added to either collection.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support user access to the ANZCA Library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

Overview

Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with newly published medical & scientific research articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly published content and for bookmarking articles for CPD purposes.

Features:

  • Uses an alerts-based approach to notify users of newly published content
  • Track newly published content based on journal, topic or even keyword!
  • Get full-text PDFs with one tap
  • Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
  • Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  • Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  • Access full-text through ANZCA Library's institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  • Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  • Organize and review your personal collection of articles

Download the Read by QXMD app:

You can download the app through the QXMD website:

Or via one of these links:

Signing in:

Once you have downloaded the app, ANZCA and FPM Fellows and trainees will need to create a user account (see sidebar), which will allow them to keep up-to-date on their specialist topics, favourite journals and so on.

  1. Open the app
  2. New users should will need to set up a new account (see sidebar)
  3. If you already have an account:
    • Sign in with Facebook OR
    • Enter your account credentials:
      • Select the LOGIN link
      • Enter Email and Password
      • Click the Sign In button on the top-right

Setting up institutional/full-text access:

  1. Once signed in, select the Settings cog (top corner)
  2. Under Account Settings, select Institutional Access
  3. Select Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
  4. Select your login preference = Automatic Login Using Library Login
  5. Enter your Account Details:
    • College ID
    • Password
  6. Click Done (or tick) when complete

User accounts can be used to personalise access, set up notifications and download PDF content for the Read by QxMD app.

  1. After installing, open the app
  2. Click on the green SIGN UP (or NEW ACCOUNT) button
  3. Complete the Personalization form:
    • Your Profession - for example: Physician
    • Your Specialty = Anesthesiology AND/OR Pain Management
    • Your Location = Australia OR New Zealand
  4. Click Next (or Continue)
  5. Add any other specialties and click Next (or Continue) OR don't select anything and click Skip
  6. Add Keywords, Collections and Journals of interest and click Next (or Continue) OR don't select anything and click Skip
  7. Sign in using Facebook OR enter your name/email credentials to create a Read by QxMD profile:
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Work ZIP (Post Code)
    • Email
    • Password
  8. Click Done (or Finish) when complete

It is possible to set up the Read by QxMD app to send alerts/notifications based on a whole range of settings, including publication of articles related to chosen specialties, journals, collections and keywords.

  1. Sign into the Read by QxMD app and select the Settings cog (top corner)
  2. Select the Settings cog (top-right corner)
  3. Under Content Settings:
    • Select one of the following:
      • Specialties to Follow
      • Journals to Follow
      • Collections to Follow
      • Keywords to Follow
    • Search/select/enter your specialty(-ties)/journals(s)/collection(s)/keywords for which you would like to set up alerts/notifications
    • Click Done (or tick) when complete
  4. Under Account Settings, select App Settings & Information (or App Settings on Android)
  5. The following settings can be adjusted:
    • Automatic PDF Download
    • Download Finished Notification
    • Color Code Papers by Paper Type
    • Attach PDF when Emailing Papers
    • Notification Settings: Push & Email Notifications [*recommended]
      • New articles from journals you've subscribed to*
      • New articles from collections you've subscribed to
      • New articles from keywords you've subscribed to
      • Landmark new research
      • General notifications
      • Updates on Read
      • Updates on QxMD news, software updates and the latest information on our products, services and partners
      • This Week's Most Read Papers*
      • Weekly Update
      • New comment on paper's I'm interested in
      • New follower for my shared collection
      • New comment on papers in my collection
      • Trending papers*
    • Click Done (or tick) when complete

Add articles to a Collection:

  1. Sign into the Read by QxMD app
  2. Tap the search icon (bottom-right of the app screen)
  3. Enter your search term and select the Search button
  4. Select (tap) the article you would like to add to a collection
  5. Click on the  symbol (top of article)
  6. Select the + Add to My Collection link
  7. Either ​Enter the Collection Name (for a new collection) or select an existing collection (from the list)
  8. Repeat steps 2-7 to add additional articles

Share a collection:

  1. Tap on the  symbol at the bottom of the app screen
  2. The Saved Papers view will display with a list of My Personal Collections
  3. Tap the Publish button alongside the collection you would like to share
  4. Alongside the Visibility setting tap PRIVATE - to change the setting to PUBLIC
  5. Enter a Description (optional)
  6. Click the Done (or tick or Finish) button

The collection can now be selected by other users (see Notifications/Alerts box).

To Follow a Collection:

Note: This assumes the user has downloaded the app and created a profile.

  1. Sign into the Read by QxMD app and select the Settings cog (top corner)
  2. Select the Settings cog (top-right corner)
  3. Under Content Settings:
    • Select Collections to Follow
    • Enter a search term in the Search for a Public Collection box (for example: ANZCA Clinical Trials Network) and click the Search button
  4. Select the Collection you would like to follow (by selecting the tick box alongside the collection)
  5. Click Done (or tick) when complete

It is possible to request articles via teh Read by QxMD app.

Note: Please ensure you have set up institutional access/full-text access (see Download & access instructions) before attempting to request articles.

  1. Open the Read by QxMD app
  2. Select an article - the app will check for full-text access
  3. If the article is not available full-text, the PDF Not available message will display at the bottom of the screen

  1. Select the Tap Here for Options. section

  1. Select the Request Copy option
  2. This will open a pre-populated request
  3. Enter your College ID and Email address*
  4. Click the Send button to submit

*Users may have to complete a separate copyright indemnification form when requesting articles using this method.

Access Read by QxMD from your desktop

It is possible to access Read by QxMD on your desktop:

Read by QxMD - web-accessible version

Read by QxMD Overview

Tips & tricks

CPD Credit: Journals


ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.