Showing 10 of 22 Results

Anaesthesia training resources news & updates

Westmead's now available online!

12/10/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

We're delighted to announce that Westmead's - written by ANZCA fellow Dr Anthony Padley - is now available online through the ANZCA Library for the very first time.

Cover Art Westmead Anaesthetic Manual, 5e by Padley, Anthony Westmead Anaesthetic Manual has been assisting anaesthetists and intensive care nurses to save patient lives and improve patient safety care for the past 20 years. The publication provides a step-by-step guide to anaesthetic practice and reflects current best practice in the management of anaesthetic emergency.

Call Number: 617.96 PAD
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781760427283
Publication Date: 24 March 2024
Anaesthesia, Anaesthesia training, Supervisors of Training (SOT), Online Books (eBooks)

MyPortfolio Now Live!

12/03/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

The college's new MyPortfolio system - which replaces the old Training Portfolio System (TPS) - is now live!

On launch, MyPortfolio automatically replaced TPS on the ANZCA website and portal, with any saved TPS links automatically redirecting you to MyPortfolio. Your existing data remains available in a read-only format for reference. Visit our FAQs for guidance, tips, and troubleshooting support.

Anaesthesia training, Supervisors of Training (SOT), Resources

New editions of Dr Podcasts Scripts now available!

12/02/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

They're finally here! The new editions of the much-loved Dr Podcast Scripts are now available online - PRINT COPIES NOW AVAILABLE!

Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA, 2e by Goodwin A, Johnson E, Leslie R, Nava S [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Primary FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Primary FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-07-03
 
 
 
Cover Art Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA, 2e by Leslie R, Johnson E, Thomas G, Goodwin A, Harrington P [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Final FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Final FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-06-12
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New editions of The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide - now available!

11/07/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics, 3e by Wijayasiri L, McCombe K The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners. The key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination has been collated and is delivered it in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics, 3e by McCombe K, Wijayasiri L The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners, with key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination collated and delivered in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
Anaesthesia, Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book now available!

10/31/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book, 4e by Simon Bricker The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book 4e provides detailed, accessible summaries of the core questions in anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and clinical measurement and equipment that may be covered in the oral part of the Final FRCA exam. In addition to a comprehensive update, this edition includes new subject material in each of the four basic sciences, with over 200 condensed summaries of the most relevant topics in the examination. Continuing to offer candidates an insight into the way the viva works, the book provides general guidance on examination technique, and readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions. Written by a former senior examiner for the Diploma of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, with previous editions recommended by Anaesthesia UK, formerly a prime educational resource for trainee anaesthetists, the book remains an essential purchase for every Final FRCA candidate.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781009470155
Publication Date: 2025-05-22
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New IT Assessments - SES assessment resources added

10/27/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

The IT Assessments tab of this guide has been updated to add a number of SES assessment resources.

The resources cover a number of topic areas including: 1) Anaphylaxis, 2) Aspiration, 3) Cardiovascular instability, 4) Difficult airway, 5) Massive haemorrhage, and 6) Raised Airway Pressure Or Inability To Ventilate Patient.

Anaesthesia training, Supervisors of Training (SOT), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology now available!

10/24/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Yao and Artusio’s Anesthesiology Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e by Hugh C. Hemmings [ed] Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 10e, contains more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. This core text has been thoroughly revised to bring you up to date with all that's new in the field. Features a problem-based approach to emphasize critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills Uses a consistent chapter format that includes presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case Contains new and updated content throughout, including topics such as coagulopathy and major and complex spine surgery, as well as updated references for further study and clarification
Call Number: 617.96076 YAO
ISBN: 9781975214234
Publication Date: 2025-09-19
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)

New edition of Guyton & Hall now available!

08/14/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 15e by Hall & Hall [eds]
Publication Date: 2025-07-11
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Online Books (eBooks)

Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine 2e now available

07/18/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, 2e by Steven L. Cohn This concise high-yield clinical reference guides physicians and their clinical teams through the decision-making process of assessing patient risk prior to surgery. Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, Second Edition focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities before undergoing surgical procedures. The book provides validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for frequently encountered comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written, updated resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and complex perioperative cases.
ISBN: 9781266072963
Publication Date: 2025-04-09
Anaesthesia training, Online Books (eBooks)

Understanding the Numbers in Depth of Anesthesia Monitors now available

06/20/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art Understanding the Numbers in Depth of Anesthesia Monitors by Ashraf A. Dahaba Is there a unified definition of anesthesia? What exactly are we monitoring? Processed electroencephalography (pEEG) monitors may not reliably assess all anesthetic endpoints. This book explains how anesthesiologists should not blindly follow the displayed numbers when they adjust their anesthetic agents' doses.&nbsp;This book is based on the author's 30 years of experience researching the topic of Depth of Anesthesia (DOA) monitoring. Depth of Anesthesia monitors are pEEG Monitors. All conditions that would alter the EEG (these are many) would also alter the DOA displayed numbers so each reader should learn how to correctly interpret the displayed numbers. In many instances physicians are confronted with various paradoxical Depth of Anesthesia monitors displaying inaccurate readings that do not concur with "clinically judged Anesthetic state" whether arising from an underlying pathophysiology alteration of the patients' own EEG cerebral function or those due to shortcomings in the performance and design of the DoA. This book - very easy to read although the topic sounds very complicated - would like to represent a reference where anesthesiologists can go back to when they are confronted with such situations. Each chapter is focused on one contributing element that could influence depth of anesthesia monitoring. It reports cases or studies of displayed numbers that do not concur with clinically assessed depth of anesthesia; these are immediately followed by the documented scientific EEG explanations. A book that both younger and older anesthetists should read to better understand how to use DOA monitors in their daily practice and that very much simplifies the topic.
ISBN: 9783031882593
Publication Date: 2025-05-29
Anaesthesia training