This page contains resources likely to aid in assessment preparation for anaesthesia trainees. Specific PEx and FEx-related resources can be accessed via the dedicated drop-downs.
Further detail on assessments may be found in the Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum and Anaesthesia Handbook for Training.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
A note on exam texts
Several acronyms are used repeatedly by the texts listed in this guide. What follows is a summary of the key acronyms.
Study Guide for the Primary Exam
Appendix 2 - Study Guide for the primary exam can be accessed below.
PEx recommended reading list
Candidates are advised that all examination questions are based on Learning Outcomes and that the great majority of information required is contained in the recommended texts.
Revision texts
We've highlighted a number of texts that can be used for revision purposes. Please ensure that you refer to the information in the Recommended Reading List texts at all stages.
MCQ resources
A Primer for the Primary FANZCA examination by 
1,000 Practice MTF MCQs for the Primary and Final FRCA by
Written for anaesthesia trainees, this comprehensive text covers all the MCQ preparation required for both the Primary and Final FRCA exams. Broken down into five sections, there are 150 questions for each of the physics, pharmacology, anatomy, and physiology sections, and a fifth section of 400 questions covering clinical anaesthesia. The first four sections of 150 questions match the Primary exam and are laid out to follow its format. The fifth clinical section covers the entire clinical syllabus. The authors are educators in anaesthesia and surgery and their wealth of experience has been brought together in this text to benefit the next generation of anaesthetists. Covering the entire syllabus, with 1,000 expertly distributed questions, this is the most comprehensive text available for MCQ preparation for both parts of the FRCA.
Get Through Primary FRCA: SBAs by
With 300 brand new single best answer questions and reasoned answers, this comprehensive revision guide provides the candidate with the definitive, revision resource for the newly introduced inclusion of SBA questions as part of the Primary FRCA examination.
Get Through Primary FRCA: MTFs by
With 300 brand new multiple true-false (MTF) questions and reasoned answers, Get Through Primary FRCA: MTFs, along with the companion SBA volume, provides candidates with the definitive revision resource for this challenging examination.
MCQs for the Primary FRCA by
Designed specifically for the Primary FRCA examination, this book contains true/false multiple choice questions. It is divided into the three specific areas outlined in the FRCA curriculum: physics and measurement, physiology, and pharmacology. Each section includes a brief introduction, 170 mcqs and answers with explanations.
This text also includes answers with explanations and cross-references to key textbooks, allowing you to read more on difficult areas.
MCQs for the Primary FRCA by
Designed specifically for the revised Primary FRCA examination, this book contains true/false multiple choice questions. It is divided into the three specific areas outlined in the FRCA curriculum: physics and measurement, physiology, and pharmacology. Each section includes a brief introduction, 170 mcqs and answers with explanations. Uniquely the book includes answers with explanations and cross-references to key textbooks, allowing you to read more on difficult areas.
SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for postgraduate exams in anaesthesia and intensive care including the FRCA, FFICM, the EDAIC, and the EDIC. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in. Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters such as 'Intravenous anaesthetic agents' to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading.
Anesthesiology Examination and Board Review, 7e by See the Written exams - MCQ section of the Exam Preparation guide for additional MCQ and SBA-related resources.
SAQ resources
Short Answer Questions in Anaesthesia, 2e by See the Written exams - SAQ section of the Exam Preparation guide for additional SAQ and CRQ-related resources.
VIVA resources
The Anaesthesia Viva 1: A Primary FRCA Companion. Vol 1: Physiology & Pharmacology, 2e by
This first volume covers the essentials of physiology, pharmacology, and statistics and gives the candidate a comprehensive range of possible questions and exemplary model answers to provide the perfect self-learning tool, and it is also useful as a concise reference for the established anaesthetist, being packed with up-to-date information on fundamental questions that face the anaesthetist on a daily basis.
Anesthesia Oral Board Review: Knocking Out the Boards, 2e by 
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA by
Dr Podcast (www.dr-podcast.com) is a great way to revise for the FRCA exams and has been met with widespread enthusiasm from candidates. It provides podcasts of questions and model answers with no redundant material.
Miller's Anesthesia Review, 3e by 
Passing the Primary FRCA SOE: A Practical Guide by
The Structured Oral Examination can be the hardest component of the Primary FRCA examination to prepare for, but help is at hand. This book has been specifically designed to give realistic practice questions and to show you how to phrase and develop your answers. The questions included have been mapped to the FRCA examination curriculum and reflect both core and niche subject areas. Questions are presented as full mock examinations and also divided by section, enabling you to use the book in whichever way you find most effective.
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva by
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva is a succinct and practical text that comprehensively covers all aspects of the physics and clinical measurement curriculum for the FRCA examinations. Each section begins by explaining the basic science concepts, which are then expanded and related to everyday practice. Illustrations are used to enhance understanding of the concepts, and are presented in such a way as to be easy to reproduce in the exam setting. In addition, sample viva questions are provided at the end of each chapter to test learning, or for use in a mock viva session. Written by trainees for trainees, this book provides exactly what you need to pass the exam.
The Physiology Viva: Questions and Answers, Rev Ed by
Fluid & electrolyte physiology -- Acid-base physiology -- Cardiovascular physiology -- Respiratory physiology -- Renal physiology -- Endocrine physiology & metabolism -- Physiology of blood -- Gastrointestinal physiology -- Neurophysiology -- Physiology of muscle & the neuromuscular junction -- Maternal, foetal & neonatal physiology -- Clinical measurement -- Miscellaneous topics.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Exam Guide 1, 2e by
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Exam Guide 2, 2e by
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections.
See the VIVAs (Oral & clinical exams) section of the Exam Preparation guide for additional VIVA-related resources.
Other exam-related texts
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by 
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Physics, Pharmacology and Physiology for Anaesthetists: Key Concepts for the FRCA, 2e by
A key requirement of the primary and final FRCA examinations is a sound understanding of the basic sciences behind anaesthetic practice. It is important to be able to describe these principles clearly, particularly in the viva section of the examinations. Featuring several new topics, this fully updated new edition provides all the important graphs, definitions and equations which may be covered in the examinations.
ANZCA resource guides
*Please Note: The user must create a free local profile to access this feature.
Learn@ANZCA
Use the links below to access additional support resources contained on the Learn @ANZCA platform.
Note: Resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.
Primary exam courses
A number of preparatory courses are available via ANZCA, the ASA and other providers.
Websites
The following websites are not endorsed by ANZCA, and may contain factual errors. Non-peer-reviewed medical education resources should be used with caution.
Videos
Recommended YouTube sites/videos are listed below.
Podcasts
The following podcasts are highly recommended for those studying for the primary exam.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
