Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ClinicalKey (Aus Edition): Resource information

ClinicalKey (Australian Edition) is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to the Elsevier medical library. The service aims to provide a source of clinical answers and includes online books, journals, videos, drug information and procedures.

Guide index

Library > Library guides > Apps & podcasts

On this page

  • Overview
  • Searching ClinicalKey
  • Saved Searches
  • Add images to a presentation
  • Create a user profile
  • Downloading book chapter PDFs
  • CME/CPD Credits
  • Support

Related guides

ClinicalKey App


Access ClinicalKey (Australian Edition)
(users will be required to authenticate using their ANZCA D and password)

Features:

  • 125+ Books - medical and surgical books, including Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, Clinical Examination and more
  • 40+ Journals - including The Lancet, Heart, and many more
  • 33,000+ Medical and Surgical Videos - a continuously updated library of searchable video content
  • 1,400+ Topic Pages - Quick clinical answers and summaries from Conn’s Current Therapy, Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, Ferri’s Clinical Advisor and First Consult
  • 300+ Procedures Consult Videos and Articles - step-by-step procedural videos and articles to teach techniques or simply help clinicians refresh their skills
  • 3,000,000+ Images - a continuously updated library of searchable images from trusted books and journals
  • 50+ Clinics - full-text medical and surgical clinical review articles
  • 850+ First Consult Monographs - succinct, trusted clinical answers for clinicians at the point of care
  • 1,100+ AMH Drug Monographs - all Australian Medicines Handbook drug monographs
  • 4,500+ Practice Guidelines - full-text practice guidelines from journals, links to full-text guidelines from professional and government agencies (including Australian and New Zealand), and summaries from the National Guideline Clearinghouse
  • 15,000+ Customisable Patient Education Handouts - educational handouts that can incorporate institutional branding and special instructions, as well as the patient's preferred language and text size

Searching ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that employs a single search box that utilises keyword searching. Post-search, results may be narrowed/filtered as follows:

  • Filter it - ClinicalKey can narrow results by source type, study type, specialty, date and Australian only content. Results update automatically.
  • Scale it - Search wide. Search narrow. It’s up to you. ClinicalKey can search across all content or within a specific chapter, book, journal or content type
  • Review it - View your search history to review or retry recent questions, including any filters you may have applied.
    • Access your search history by clicking on the Search History link at the top-right of screen
  • Save it - If you find something interesting in your results but need to come back to it, save it for later. Customised, searchable tags keep your content organised.

Saved searches

Learn how to save articles, add tags and share content in ClinicalKey.

Please Note: These features require that the user have a personal account in ClinicalKeyso you can access your user profile (see the dedicated info box for further details).

  1. Log into ClinicalKey Australia using theproxiedANZCA link(users will be required to authenticate using their ANZCA ID and password)
  2. Enter your search terms and hit <Enter>
  3. Select the search lines you wish to save (by clicking in the check box)
  4. Click on the button at the top of the list to open the Save pop-up
  5. Click on the + Create new tag link in the pop-up to add tags to your saved items and click Add when complete
    • Note: It is possible to add multiple tags
  6. Click Done when complete

To access your Saved Content:

  • Click on your profile name and select ☆ Saved Content

Add images to a presentation

ClinicalKey's Presentation Maker allows you to add content as soon as you find it – without interrupting your search.

When you find images in ClinicalKey that you’d like to use in a presentation, you can save them for later use without leaving the results page. Images can be dragged and dropped from the search results list into Presentation Maker, or saved using the “Add to Presentationrdquo; button. You can also view, move and delete content within the Presentation Maker panel.

Create a user profile

User profiles can be used to download book chapter PDFs, save searches, create alerts and enable mobile access for the ClinicalKeyapp.

  1. Log into ClinicalKey Australia using the proxied ANZCA link (users will be required to authenticate using their ANZCA ID and password)
  2. Select the Register link from the top-right of screen
  3. Complete the registration form:
    • First name
    • Family name (surname)
    • Email
  4. Click the Register > button when complete

Downloading book chapter PDFs

It is possible to download most book chapters within ClinicalKey to read offline.

In order to download PDFs, you will need to create a separate ClinicalKey user profile [personal account] (see separate box). Once created, just log into using the link in the top-right of screen.

Note: This does not apply to journal article PDFs.

CME/CPD Credits

ClinicalKey supports Internet Point of Care learning (IPoC), which is a certified Continuing Medical Education (CME) activity that allows physicians the opportunity to identify and research a topic relevant to their clinical practice. CME credit/time is available for the following content types: books, Clinical Overviews, and published journal articles.

Support

ClinicalKey - Find Answers

The Elsevier Find Answers page includes answers to many of your questions, including:

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.