Library resource guides: Databases & collections: Overview

Guide index

DynaMed (Clinical Decision Tool)

DynaMed Trial

As part of our strategy to expand dedicated resourcing for our private practice fellows, the college is undertaking a trial of the DynaMed clinical decision tool.

This trial has been extended and now concludes 31 July 2025.

DynaMed
Similar to UpToDate, DynaMed aims to help clinicians make informed decisions by providing access to up-to-date, evidence-based information, expert guidance, and a personalized experience. Set up a profile via the ANZCA login and download the full version of the app to enjoy 12 months free access.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices
See our DynaMed guide for more information including full access details

AccessAnesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessAnesthesiology is a comprehensive online resource covering the entire spectrum of anaesthesiology. Includes leading anaesthesiology e-books, multimedia, interactive self-assessment Q&A's, practice guidelines, an integrated drugs database and patient cases.

Log into AccessAnesthesiology (using your ANZCA ID and password)

See the AccessAnesthesiology: User Resources guide for more information

There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-book collections, whereby some users are not being recognised as ANZCA users when authenticating within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being improperly authenticated and being unable to access some titles.

Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.

Creating a MyAccess account:

Log into AccessMedicine
Check to make sure that it says Access Provided by: ANZCA in the top-right corner
Select the Sign in > Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile from the dropdown [top-right corner]
Click the Create a Free MyAccess Account button
Complete the form and click the Create Profile button

ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides instant access to leading medical textbooks, multimedia, interactive self-assessment Q&A's, quick reference tools, practice guidelines, an integrated drugs database and patient cases.

Log into AccessMedicine (using your college ID and password)

See the AccessMedicine: User Resources guide for more information

AusDI

AusDI (Australian Drug Information)
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices
Log into AusDI (using your college ID and password)

See our AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

AudioDigest

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App]
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
Log into AudioDigest (using your college ID and password)

See our AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details
App access also available

The Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases - including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, with a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

Access the Cochrane Library

Looking for help? Browse webinars, user guides and short training videos to find the resource you need to get the most out of the Cochrane Library.

Access the Cochrane Library training hub

Cochrane podcasts deliver the latest Cochrane evidence in audio format, allowing you to stay up-to-date on newly-published reviews wherever you are.

Cochrane Library Podcasts
Listen to Cochrane review authors explain in plain language the evidence and findings of their high-impact reviews. In 5 minutes or less, healthcare professionals to patients and families can understand the latest trusted evidence to help make better informed decisions.

Covidence

Covidence
Covidence is an easy-to-use web-based tool that assists in streamlining the production of systematic reviews.

Already signed up? Sign into Covidence

See our Covidence guide for more information including full access details

Database syntax for searching

Flinders University library have produced a database syntax guide to assist with the searching of most major databases.

Database syntax guide for systematic reviewers

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey (Australian Edition)
ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to the Elsevier medical library. The service aims to provide a source of clinical answers and includes online books, journals, videos, drug information and procedures.

Log into ClinicalKey (using your college ID and password)

PubMed

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Access Note: Click on the ANZCA logo in PubMed to link direct to the full-text article.

Access PubMed using the dedicated ANZCA link

See our PubMed guide for more information including full access details

Access ANZCA full-text using LibKey with PubMed

Ovid Medline

Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published worldwide.

Log into Ovid MEDLINE (using your college ID and password)

See our Ovid MEDLINE guide for more information including full access details

Therapeutic Guidelines

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines is a leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions.

Log into Therapeutic Guidelines (using your college ID and password)

Access Issues: Some users are experiencing issues trying to access the updated Therapeutic Guidelines website. If content fails to appear after a few minutes, then please click your browser "refresh" button. We also recommend clearing your cache and trying if that fails to resolve the issue.

Trip Database (Pro)

Trip Database (Pro)
Trip Database (Pro) is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Log into Trip Database (Pro) (using your college ID and password)

See our Trip Database (Pro) guide for more information including full access details

UpToDate Access: Unfortunately, ANZCA does not subscribe to UpToDate. We recommend contacting your hospital library to check whether you can access UpToDate via your workplace.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form