How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Acute Pain (Oxford Pain Management Library) by
Acute pain is experienced primarily in relation to surgery and trauma, but is also present in patients with burns, cancer, and other medical conditions. This compact volume of the Oxford Pain Management Library serves as a concise guide to treating acute pain in its many manifestations. Providing a background of basic science, this book covers the fundamentals of pain, the pharmacology of drugs used, and summarises the current evidence base for the management of acute pain.
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e by
Making the correct diagnosis is the first step in the effective management of patients in pain, and simplifying the diagnosis is the primary focus of Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e. Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides clinicians with a clear, concise, and up-to-date understanding of the most common pain syndromes encountered in day-to-day practice, along with practical insights on how to diagnose and treat them. Featuring more than 1,000 high-quality illustrations, this unique atlas provides the information needed to make the correct diagnosis--the signs and symptoms associated with each syndrome, the testing needed to confirm the working diagnosis, and the differential diagnosis.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4e by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain.
A Case-based Guide to Eye Pain: Perspectives From Ophthalmology and Neurology by
Diagnosing a patient with unexplained ocular pain can be time-consuming and difficult, but taking an anatomic approach and excluding causes along the way can aid in the diagnosis. This book provides the reader with a systematic evaluation plan for these cases, written and edited by leaders in the field.
The Chest Wall and Abdomen (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as costosternal syndrome, Tietze's syndrome, devil's grip, fractured ribs, post-thoracotomy pain, acute and chronic pancreatitis, diverticulitis, and more.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by 
Encyclopedia of Pain, 2e by
The Encyclopedia of Pain includes more than 3,000 entries and provides clear, detailed and up-to-date coverage of the current state of research, and treatment of pain. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on all aspects of nociception and pain, including substrates, causes, pathophysiology, symptoms and signs, diagnoses and treatment. A thousand color figures enhance understanding of this too-little-understood topic. The book is available in print, in online only form, or in a print-online bundle.
Essentials of Regional Anesthesia, 2e by
A guide to regional anesthesia. It covers various anatomical regions as well as the considerations in patients with chronic pain, obstetric patients, pediatric patients, and patients treated in the outpatient setting.
First Aid Perioperative Ultrasound: Acute Pain Manual for Surgical Procedures by
Provides an understanding to ultrasound and its application in regional anesthesia and nerve blocks. Clinically relevant and practical for various specialties. Easy to read text designed to appeal to a wide audience involved in the care of the perioperative patient.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Handbook of Acute Pain Management by
Pain is a pervasive symptom present in multiple areas of medicine. It is imperative that physicians not only evaluate and diagnose the source of pain, but that they also recognize how to manage the actual pain symptoms with effective treatment. Handbook of Acute Pain Management is an essential reference for professionals to enhance their knowledge.
Interventional Pain: A Step-by-Step Guide to the FIPP Exam by
This comprehensive book serves as a review for the Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice (FIPP) exam and functions as a concise guide for all interventional pain doctors. Through educational initiatives, it helps to promote consensus-building among experts on the effectiveness of existing techniques and avenues for advancement of therapeutic performances.
Interventional Pain Procedures: Handbook and Video Guide by
This multimedia handbook and video atlas provides an interactive learning experience for practitioners who perform interventional procedures with radiographic guidance for acute or chronic pain. Covering in-demand procedures such as epidural blocks, medial branch blocks, sympathetic blocks, spinal cord stimulation, and more, these dynamic videos put you in the operating suite as each procedure unfolds. Shot from the perspective of the interventionalist with a split screen view, the videos correlate positioning of the needle on the fluoroscopic image to the movement of the practitioner's hands to help you put it all together. These videos offer the opportunity to "stand in" on actual procedures with an expert, and demonstrate proper injection technique, effective targeting, and live contrast review to build skills in interventional pain management. All of the essential high yield text, video, and image content are here in an accessible interface for residents, fellows, and seasoned practitioners looking to master interventional techniques or brush-up on current pain management procedures.
Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook, 2e by
The second edition of Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA) has been thoroughly revised and updated. This beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance provides pertinent and practical guidance for managing vital acute pain services in all civilian and military clinical settings. Much of the book is devoted to step-by-step guidance on performing various regional anaesthesia nerve blocks organized by pertinent neuroanatomy, use of nerve stimulation, and use of ultrasound.
Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard by
This complete version of the Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard describes what each quality statement means for patients and their families, clinicians, and health service organisations, and provides indicators for local monitoring. It includes information about using clinical care standards, and the background and evidence sources for this standard.
The Pain Procedure Handbook: A Milestones Approach by
This book fills the need for a succinct reference on how to master the progressive steps necessary to complete a wide range of complex pain procedures. Organized by anatomic regions and target tissues, the book takes a structured approach to obtaining mastery of the steps required to perform a given procedure rather than providing more in depth or exhaustive reviews of theory and literature. The book covers various nerve blocks and injections for treating chronic pain; how to correctly and safely perform the injection; feature x- ray or ultrasound pictures to help; and offer safety tips, and other pertinent information. Chapters begin with a brief summary, then define the specific skills necessary to perform a given procedure and deconstruct the procedure back into the individual skills expected by novice, intermediate, and advanced practitioners. Practical and concise, The Pain Procedure Handbook is aimed for medical students, residents, fellows, and physicians interested in chronic pain medicine, anesthesiology, acute pain medicine, interventional radiology, and physical medicine and rehabilitation.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms, 5e by
In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5e, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You’ll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.
Point-Of-care US for Acute Abdomen by
This book focuses on surgical decision-making, a key topic for both surgeons and emergency physicians who are faced with patients with acute abdominal pain. Providing easy-to-understand technical details and discussing the interpretation of normal and pathological images, it is a valuable resource for surgeons and emergency physicians who are not used to applying clinical US in this field, enabling them to shorten the diagnostic path and avoid unnecessary costs and exposure to radiation. It is also a practical reference guide for surgeons and doctors wanting to apply US as a decision-making tool in the context of acute abdominal pain.
A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine, 5e by
Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD, this respected title has helped practitioners provide effective regional anesthesia for nearly 30 years. Now it has been retitled A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine to reflect the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's recent establishment of Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine as an anesthesiology fellowship. This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this subspecialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care.
Regional Analgesia and Acute Pain Management: Special Issue of Anesthesiology Clinics by
In this issue of Anesthesiology Clinics, the guest editors have solicited an outstanding collection of articles that highlight many of these issues including complications and the medical legal implications, enumeration of these techniques outside of the hospital, and the economic and practice management implications.
Short Stay Management of Chest Pain, 2e by
The second edition of this book provides scientific and clinical insights on the management of patients who arrive at the hospital with a presentation consistent with a potential acute coronary syndrome. Focusing on the cardiology aspects of chest pain, it presents the science and methodology that has allowed the remarkable improvements in diagnostic accuracy and improved patient outcomes for the evaluation of patients presenting with suspected acute coronary syndromes.
Trigeminal Nerve Pain: A Guide to Clinical Management by
Trigeminal Nerve Pain comprehensively covers how to manage patients with this often debilitating pain and is of use to trainees and practising internists, hospitalists, surgeons and anaesthesiologists seeking to increase their understanding of this complex condition.
Visceral Pain: Clinical, Pathophysiological and Therapeutic Aspects by
Visceral pain, or pain in the internal organs, is often quite difficult for the clinician to recognize promptly as its characteristics are often atypical and vary with time. Patients with visceral pain also often present with concurrent painful conditions in more than one internal organ; this can give rise to an intricate complex of symptoms which can be misleading if not accurately evaluated.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Acute pain
IASP pain refresher courses
Pain 2018: Refresher Courses, 17th World Congress on Pain by
Presented at the 17th World congress on Pain in Boston, Massachusetts, in September 2018, these papers represent the thinking of the world’s top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2016: Refresher Courses, 16th World Congress on Pain by
Pain 2016 Refresher Courses: 16th World Congress on Pain, was written by the instructors of the Refresher Courses offered in conjunction with the 16th World Congress on Pain, held September 26-30, 2016, in Yokohama, Japan. The publication incorporates the latest thinking on a diverse range of topics in pain research and treatment and is a valuable resource not only for those new to the pain field but also for those seeking to update their knowledge.
Pain 2014: Refresher Courses, 15th World Congress on Pain by
Every two years, the International Association for the Study of Pain publishes a compendium of benchmark papers that summarize the current status of pain research, treatment, and management throughout the world. Presented at the 15th World Congress on Pain in Buenos Aires in October 2014, these papers represent the thinking of the world's top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher Courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress of Pain by
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress on Pain, is based on IASP's refresher courses on pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (neuroimaging, genetics), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological, complementary/alternative), and disorders (neuropathic pain, headache, cancer pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, pediatric pain, abdominopelvic pain).
Pain 2010 - An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus by
Pain 2010 – An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus, based on sessions held at the 13th World Congress on Pain, 2010, in Montréal, covers pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (imaging, genetics, pain models), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological), disorders (cancer pain, neuropathic pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, abdominal/pelvic pain, back pain, paediatric pain), and drug development.
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Back Up: Why Back Pain Treatments Aren't Working and the New Science Offering Hope. by
Liam Mannix is one of the many who experience back pain, and he takes this as a starting point for this compelling and urgent work of investigative journalism. A theory has emerged, born from cutting-edge neuroscience, that claims back pain often has little to do with the back or the discs or the spine. Instead, back pain is all about the brain. This new science offers new solutions -- including, remarkably, evidence that just by teaching people this theory of pain we can reduce it.
Conquering Pain: How to Overcome the Discomfort of Arthritis, Backache, Migraine, Heart Disease, Childbirth, Period Pain and Many Other Common Conditions by
A Positive Health Guide about why we feel pain, how it can be relieved and what we can do to help ourselves.
Explain Pain by
Designed to be used as a manual for clinicians to explain pain to patients, as a workbook completed with patient and clinician, or as a part of a cognitive-behavioural multidisciplinary pain management program, or for the patient to use as a take-home resource.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
