Skip to main content

eBooks: HOME

ANZCA Library subscribes to 9,000+ e-books, with access to an additional 500+ open-access titles. You can access e-books in several ways:

BROWSE the most popular e-books:WebsiteAnaesthesia essentials list
SEARCH for e-books using the NEWWebsiteDiscovery service :   
BROWSE theWebsitelibrary guides for topic-specific e-books
BROWSE the latest e-books on theBooksLatest Titles List
ACCESS the complete A-Z e-books list: WebsiteBrowseWebsiteSearch

How to access e-books

InformationYour college ID and (ANZCA/Networks) password is required to access Library e-resources

InformationANZCA staff should use their staff username and (Networks) password to access Library e-resources

Safety & QualityHaving trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and then trying again.

Safety & QualityForgotten your (ANZCA/Networks) password? Try resetting your password and/or filling in a Login Help request

BooksCan't find your book online? Request a print copy via our courier delivery service or request a book chapter via our article request service

FeedbackExperiencing difficulties, or would like some help accessing e-books? Contact the Library

InformationFor further information about searching for and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide

Borrowing books

BooksANZCA Library provides access to a large range of books and e-books, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.

  • Items available for loan include textbooks, CD-ROMs and DVDs
  • Items can be requested by searching the ANZCA Library, clicking the item title and selecting the [ Request Item ] button
  • Requested items are delivered/returned via courier FREE-OF-CHARGE
  • When placing a request, first-time users will be required to create a password for their Library Account

InformationFor further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page

Searching for e-books

e-BooksALL ANZCA Library's e-books are now searchable via the library's new discovery layer. Simply enter a keyword search for a particular title or topic, and select the  button to access the full-text.

InformationSearching for a specific title? Try selecting the In Title option from the search box drop-down when searching within teh discovery service.

InformationWant to refine a result list to show just e-books? Then simply select the eBook tick box in the Format section of the left sidebar:

Searching for different editions/formats

InformationThe discovery service collapses all the different editions and formats (print and e-book) into a grouped or representative record.

Be default, the record displayed is usually for the most recently held item.

Different (older) editions and print holdings can be accessed in several different ways:

  1. Select an alternate edition or alternate format using the links in the More local formats section:

  1. By deselecting the Group related editions tick box in the top-left corner of the screen - this will then display all held editions/formats seperately:

  1. Alternatively, the user can select the View all editions & formats link on the search results screen or within the "representative" item title navigate to the Editions & Formats section and toggle the panel to display ALL the editions for this title, including those Held by: ANZCA Library:

e-Book collections

AccessAnesthesiology is a comprehensive online resource covering the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content.


‚ÄčAccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.


Books@Ovid contains a comprehensive anaesthesiology and pain medicine catalogue including such popular titles as Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine and The ICU Book.


Cambridge Core provides access to Cambridge University Press's book and journal content

 


ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to the Elsevier medical library - which contains 1000+ e-book titles.


LWW Health Library's Anesthesiology collection covers core content in every major anaesthesiology sub-discipline - echocardiography, pain management and more. The collection also includes an extensive video library of 600 procedures and more than 2,000 Q&As to support learning needs and written and oral board preparation. 


Oxford Medicine Online provides access to a collection of e-books, including the Oxford Handbook series.


Springer's Medicine eBook Collection is designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, with an extensive anaesthesiology and pain medicine collection. It is ANZCA Library's largest overall e-book collection with 7000+ titles.


Therapeutic Guidelines (eTG complete) is a leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions. It includes explicit instructions for therapy, assisting practitioners in making decisions to ensure their patients receive optimum treatment.

ClinicalKey e-Book Issue [RESOLVED]

Safety & Quality[10 February 2019] We are currently experiencing an issue with ClinicalKey e-books whereby the contents listings for titles are not displaying, thereby making certain chapters inaccessible. The issue has been reported to the vendor and we hope to have a solution soon.

UPDATED 12/2/19: The issue with ClinicalKey has now been RESOLVED. If you are still experiencing issues, please contact library@anzca.edu.au.

Looking for our most popular e-books?

InformationTry the Anaesthesia Essentials list for our 50+ most popular e-books.

Statuses/updates

[28/11/2018] Taylor & Francis e-Books:

Access issues resolved. It is recommended that users empty their browser cache, and close and reopen their browser, before attempting to access again.

[27/8/2018] AccessMedicine and AccessAnestheseiology:

Some users are experiencing access issues with titles from the above e-book collections.

The issue is preventing users from successfully authenticating as ANZCA members when they are within the IP range of any institution that also subscribes to McGraw Hill e-books. This results in the user only ever being authenticated as a user of that institution - and not ANZCA. We are continuing to work with the vendor to resolve this issue and will keep you updated on any progress.

Workarounds: Access to the above collections should be unaffected when accessed outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.

InformationUsers requiring urgent access can submit a chapter request/s via Request an article service.