Showing 7 of 7 Results

Anaesthesia training resources news & updates

New editions of Dr Podcasts Scripts now available!

12/02/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

They're finally here! The new editions of the much-loved Dr Podcast Scripts are now available online - PRINT COPIES NOW AVAILABLE!

Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA, 2e by Goodwin A, Johnson E, Leslie R, Nava S [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Primary FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Primary FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-07-03
 
 
 
Cover Art Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA, 2e by Leslie R, Johnson E, Thomas G, Goodwin A, Harrington P [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Final FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Final FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-06-12
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book now available!

10/31/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book, 4e by Simon Bricker The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book 4e provides detailed, accessible summaries of the core questions in anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and clinical measurement and equipment that may be covered in the oral part of the Final FRCA exam. In addition to a comprehensive update, this edition includes new subject material in each of the four basic sciences, with over 200 condensed summaries of the most relevant topics in the examination. Continuing to offer candidates an insight into the way the viva works, the book provides general guidance on examination technique, and readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions. Written by a former senior examiner for the Diploma of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, with previous editions recommended by Anaesthesia UK, formerly a prime educational resource for trainee anaesthetists, the book remains an essential purchase for every Final FRCA candidate.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781009470155
Publication Date: 2025-05-22
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

Updates to FEx resources

06/25/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

A number of additional resources (including texts) have been added to the FEx page covering anatomy, biochemistry, ECG, trauma and perioperative medicine.

Final exam (FEx)

How are VIVAs assessed

05/20/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

A series of How are VIVAs assessed? videos have been added to the PEx revision aids page and the FEx resources page.

These videos explore how vivas are scored to provide a clear understanding of the evaluation criteria. The written commentary highlights examiner techniques and assessment of the candidates’ performance.

Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Anaesthesia training assessments

Assessments Update

01/23/2025
profile-icon ANZCA Library

The Assessments section of this guide has been updated to remove the old IAACQ page as this has been replaced by the new Introductory Training (IT) assessments page. This new page contains LO information and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the assessments. The new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page is also in place and contains the new PCIA Implementation guide and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the PCIA assessment.

Cover ArtThe Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024
This guide is part of the PCIA resources pack and is available to anaesthesia trainees, SIMGs and members of Anaesthesia Departments to support implementation of the PCIA in hospitals and health services.
Training, Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments

New final exam titles now available

12/23/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library
Cover ArtThe Final FRCA Constructed Response Questions: A Practical Study Guide by Elizabeth Combeer; Mitul Patel The only book to offer clear guidance on HOW TO APPROACH the questions in this exam Covers past questions, which reguarly recur in the Final FRCA exam - thus saves candidates enormous amounts of work going back through past papers. The author has a 'helicopter view' of what to include in the answers, brought by years of teaching, experience and knowledge of what the College is looking for. The presentation of the information is exactly as it should be presented for the exam. The candidate will thus learn to understand by example how they can score marks in the exam and avoid wasting time on lengthy prose. Carefully referenced and well researched.
ISBN: 9781032483276
Publication Date: 2023-12-28
 
 
 
 
Cover ArtPassing the Final FFICM: High-Yield Facts for the MCQ & OSCE Exams by Muzzammil Ali This innovative resource serves as a fusion of an MCQ guide and a textbook, providing essential content for postgraduate trainees gearing up for the FFICM Final exam, a vital part of the CCT in Intensive Care Medicine. Crafted to meet the unique requirements of the MCQ while also addressing the necessity for concise, well-structured responses in the OSCE, this book prioritises quick topic transitions, delivering focused, streamlined learning across a range of ICM topics. Its uniqueness lies in its unorthodox structure; rather than having a conventional table of contents, it gives you the freedom to start your learning adventure from any page. Each of the 1,400 facts is structured as a question, reflecting the format of both exams. Answers are conveniently positioned just below, eliminating the need for constant page-flipping. The material is carefully curated to cover the breadth of the ICM curriculum, weaving in valuable insights from the author's and colleagues' exam experiences. Random questions replicate the unpredictability of both exams and enhance the reader's capacity to swiftly switch between topics during self-assessment. This balances knowledge application and active recall while using memory-enhancing methods like self-quizzing, chunking, and spaced repetition.
ISBN: 9781032590622
Publication Date: 2024-04-30
Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks)

PCIA resources now available

12/05/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library

Information and resources related to the new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) can be found on the new Assessment > Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page. This includes PCIA guidance documents, Teaching/learning resources, PCIA assessment resources and a PCIA-related webinar.

Note: Updated versions the PCIA Implementation guide and Summary sheet were added on 20 December 2024.

Cover ArtThe Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024
This guide is part of the PCIA resources pack and is available to anaesthesia trainees, SIMGs and members of Anaesthesia Departments to support implementation of the PCIA in hospitals and health services.
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments