This page contains resources likely to aid in assessment preparation for anaesthesia trainees. Specific PEx, FEx and PCIA-related resources can be accessed via the dedicated drop-downs.
Further detail on assessments may be found in the Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum and Anaesthesia Handbook for Training.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
A note on exam texts
Several acronyms are used repeatedly by the texts listed in this guide. What follows is a summary of the key acronyms.
Related texts
A selection of resources are listed below.
A note on the listed FRCA content: The ANZCA Final Exam is sat at a later point than the FRCA Final Exam, so some of the suggested responses in the content listed below may not fully reflect the knowledge and experience expected from an ANZCA Final Exam participant. As a result, these resources should be used with caution.
A large number of additional texts can be accessed via the Exam preparation guide. For resources related to the Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) - see dedicated page [coming soon].
1,000 Practice MTF MCQs for the Primary and Final FRCA by
Written for anaesthesia trainees, this comprehensive text covers all the MCQ preparation required for both the Primary and Final FRCA exams. Broken down into five sections, there are 150 questions for each of the physics, pharmacology, anatomy, and physiology sections, and a fifth section of 400 questions covering clinical anaesthesia. The first four sections of 150 questions match the Primary exam and are laid out to follow its format. The fifth clinical section covers the entire clinical syllabus. The authors are educators in anaesthesia and surgery and their wealth of experience has been brought together in this text to benefit the next generation of anaesthetists. Covering the entire syllabus, with 1,000 expertly distributed questions, this is the most comprehensive text available for MCQ preparation for both parts of the FRCA.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam, 2e by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
The Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book, 2e by
The second edition of the hugely popular The Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book builds on the success of the first by providing a thorough review of short and long case questions typically given to Final FRCA Viva candidates.
CRQs for the Final FRCA by
CRQs for the Final FRCA is the first book of its kind and an invaluable resource for any candidate preparing to pass the written aspect of the Final FRCA. Unlike other revision texts, this book will enable candidates to practise the CRQ format and refine their exam technique to ensure they are best equipped to succeed.
CRQs for the Final FRCA (OST) by
Focusing solely on the Constructed Response Question (CRQ), the book is organised into six practice papers each comprised of 12 CRQs, reflecting the real exam. Each question has been carefully laid out, clearly identifying the weighting of each part of the question and with appropriate space towrite your answer.
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Dr Podcast (www.dr-podcast.com) is a great way to revise for the FRCA exams and has been met with widespread enthusiasm from candidates. It provides podcasts of questions and model answers with no redundant material. Dr Podcast scripts are now available in print format. Containing the scripts of all 103 individual podcasts from the Dr Podcast Final FRCA collection, they also include diagrams the reader can draw to explain their answers. They cover the entire syllabus for the Final FRCA, allowing the readers to experience the style of the questions likely to be asked and providing tips on how to excel in the exam. Each podcast is written by a successful candidate who has insight and experience of the exam, and all material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. For those preparing for the Final FRCA exams, Dr Podcast scripts are a must.
Examination Anaesthesia: A Guide to the Final FANZCA Examination, 2e by
This updated exam guide keeps pace with these developments and assists anaesthetic trainees in preparation for the exam. Examination Anaesthesia is a comprehensive study guide that focuses solely on the anaesthetic exam, eliminating confusion between this and the intensive care exams.
Get Through Final FRCA: Single Best Answers by
A comprehensive revision guide, Get Through Final FRCA: Single Best Answers provides candidates with a definitive resource to aid passing their challenging Final FRCA written examination.This latest edition contains 180 new SBA questions along with detailed answer justifications.
Interactive Cases for the Oral Boards by
Learn essential principles of anesthesiology through an interactive environment that guides you through information gathering, synthesis, decision making, and reevaluation in order to arrive upon the best anesthetic plan.
Build a case from color-coded cards that guide you through various clinical conditions, surgical procedures, and events or crises that can occur during your patient encounter. Cases can be selected from discrete topics or built at random to test your knowledge. Progress within a case is tracked so you can start and stop at any time, or retake them at your convenience to practice difficult concepts.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment. This invaluable resource provides intensive care medicine trainees with an ideal companion for the FFICM and EDIC and other postgraduate critical care exams.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Cases by
Essential for written and oral board preparation, this new companion to Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6e is packed with informative clinical case vignettes. 300 succinct case descriptions emphasize common medical issues faced in clinical practice. Each case is followed by a series of board-style question and answers. The book reveals how experienced clinicians use critical thinking in their clinical decision making.
The Physics, Clinical Measurement and Equipment of Anaesthetic Practice for the FRCA, 2e by 
Preparing to Pass the FRCA: Strategies for Exam Success by
Preparing to Pass the FRCA: Strategies for Exam Success equips you with the skills of effective revision and time management to maximise your success.The book takes each element of the FRCA exam and provides tips and techniques on how to approach the different types of questions, and includes worked examples with answers, so that you can undertake your revision accordingly.It will help you to target your revision so you can cover the breadth of topics in the FRCA syllabus and ensure that you structure your revision in an efficient way, as well as helping you to approach the exam and convey your knowledge through writing or speech correctly.
SAQs for the Final FRCA by
This book offers a comprehensive solution to any person wishing to sit, and ultimately pass, the SAQ paper for the Final FRCA exam. It is designed specifically to fit the examination format, with each double page spread containing a sample question and detailed model answer, acting both as a revision guide and as a template for answering similar questions in the exam.
SBAs and MCQs for the Final FRCA by
Designed specifically for the revised Final FRCA examination, this book contains four mock exams, combining the new single best answer format with the traditional true/false format MCQs.
SBAs for the Final FRCA by
Prepare with confidence for the Final FRCA with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole breadth of the RCOA basic and intermediate curricula. SBAs correspond to the Royal College of Anaesthetist's units of training, so candidates can focus their revision in each sub-specialty area, such as paediatrics, neuroanaesthesia, and pain management. Individuals can track their progress, identify gaps in their knowledge, and target their ongoing revision as needed, assured that chapters cover all aspects of the curriculum as required for the exam.
Structured Oral Examination Practice for the Final FRCA by
Structured Oral Examination Practice for the Final FRCA offers well-researched, relevant, and carefully constructed questions with evidence-based answers. The book specifically addresses the new clinical emphasis in the FRCA examination, giving candidates an insight into the way the vivaworks, offering general guidance on examination techniques, and providing readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions.
ANZCA resource guides
*Please Note: The user must create a free local profile to access this feature.
Learn@ANZCA
Use the links below to access additional support resources contained on the Learn @ANZCA platform.
Note: Resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.
Final exam courses
A number of preparatory courses are available via ANZCA, the ASA and other providers.
Websites
The following websites are not endorsed by ANZCA, and may contain factual errors. Non-peer-reviewed medical education resources should be used with caution.
Podcasts
The following podcasts are highly recommended for those studying for the final exam.
Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.
Webinars
The following webinars are recommended for those studying for the final exam.
Title: ABCs of Anaesthesia: How to pass the Final ANZCA Anaesthesia Exam
Tips from my lecture at the college of anaesthetists.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
