Showing 10 of 10 Results

Anaesthesia training resources news & updates

New editions of Dr Podcasts Scripts now available!

12/02/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

They're finally here! The new editions of the much-loved Dr Podcast Scripts are now available online - PRINT COPIES NOW AVAILABLE!

Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA, 2e by Goodwin A, Johnson E, Leslie R, Nava S [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Primary FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Primary FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-07-03
 
 
 
Cover Art Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA, 2e by Leslie R, Johnson E, Thomas G, Goodwin A, Harrington P [eds] Widely popular amongst exam candidates, Dr Podcast Scripts is a great way to revise for your Final FRCA. Providing questions and model answers spanning the breadth of the exam syllabus and fully updated in this second edition, this revision aid allows you to experience the format of questions likely to be asked and it provides tips on how to excel in the exam. Supplemented with helpful illustrations to explain answers, you will learn what to expect in the exam and how differently worded questions on the same topic require modified approaches. Written and updated by successful candidates providing insight and experience of the exam, all the material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. If you are preparing for your Final FRCA exam, Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA is a must!
Call Number: 617.96076 DRP
>> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 2025-06-12
Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New editions of The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide - now available!

11/07/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics, 3e by Wijayasiri L, McCombe K The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1: Physiology and Physics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners. The key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination has been collated and is delivered it in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics, 3e by McCombe K, Wijayasiri L The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2: Pharmacology and Clinical Topics 3e provides answers to the questions regularly posed by the FRCA examiners, with key information to succeed in the Primary FRCA examination collated and delivered in a relevant and user-friendly layout, making exam preparation easier.
Publication Date: 2025-03-25
Anaesthesia, Anaesthesia training, Primary exam (PEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New edition of Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book now available!

10/31/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book, 4e by Simon Bricker The Anaesthesia Science Viva Book 4e provides detailed, accessible summaries of the core questions in anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and clinical measurement and equipment that may be covered in the oral part of the Final FRCA exam. In addition to a comprehensive update, this edition includes new subject material in each of the four basic sciences, with over 200 condensed summaries of the most relevant topics in the examination. Continuing to offer candidates an insight into the way the viva works, the book provides general guidance on examination technique, and readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions. Written by a former senior examiner for the Diploma of the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, with previous editions recommended by Anaesthesia UK, formerly a prime educational resource for trainee anaesthetists, the book remains an essential purchase for every Final FRCA candidate.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
ISBN: 9781009470155
Publication Date: 2025-05-22
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Online Books (eBooks), Anaesthesia training assessments

New IT Assessments - SES assessment resources added

10/27/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

The IT Assessments tab of this guide has been updated to add a number of SES assessment resources.

The resources cover a number of topic areas including: 1) Anaphylaxis, 2) Aspiration, 3) Cardiovascular instability, 4) Difficult airway, 5) Massive haemorrhage, and 6) Raised Airway Pressure Or Inability To Ventilate Patient.

Anaesthesia training, Supervisors of Training (SOT), Anaesthesia training assessments

Case Studies of near Misses in Clinical Anesthesia now available

06/19/2025
profile-icon John Prentice
Cover Art Case Studies of near Misses in Clinical Anesthesia by John G. Brock-Utne All anesthesiologists eventually face the fear of a "near miss," when a patient's life has been put at risk.nbsp; Learning from the experience is crucial to professionalism and the ongoing development of expertise. Drawing on forty-plus years of practice in major metropolitan hospitals in the United States, Norway, and South Africa, John Brock-Utne, MD presents 80 carefully selected cases that provide the basis for lessons and tips to prevent potential disaster. nbsp;The cases emphasize problem-centered learning and span a broad range of topics--from an outbreak of operating room infection (could it be the anesthesia equipment?), nbsp;complications of fiberoptic intubations, nbsp;and problems with epidural drug pumps, to performing an urgent tracheostomy for the first time, working with an aggressive surgeon, and what to do when a patient falls offnbsp; the operating table during surgery.nbsp;nbsp;80 true-story clinical "near misses" never before published, ideal for problem-centered learning, recommendations, references, and discussions accompany most cases, rich basis for teaching discussions both in or out of the operating room, settings include sophisticated as well as rudimentary anesthetic environments, complements the author's other case book, Clinical Anesthesia: Near Misses and Lessons Learned (Springer, 2008).
ISBN: 9781441911780
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Anaesthesia training, Anaesthesia training assessments

How are VIVAs assessed

05/20/2025
profile-icon John Prentice

A series of How are VIVAs assessed? videos have been added to the PEx revision aids page and the FEx resources page.

These videos explore how vivas are scored to provide a clear understanding of the evaluation criteria. The written commentary highlights examiner techniques and assessment of the candidates’ performance.

Primary exam (PEx), Final exam (FEx), Anaesthesia training assessments

Assessments Update

01/23/2025
profile-icon ANZCA Library

The Assessments section of this guide has been updated to remove the old IAACQ page as this has been replaced by the new Introductory Training (IT) assessments page. This new page contains LO information and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the assessments. The new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page is also in place and contains the new PCIA Implementation guide and dedicated forms/resourcing to be used with the PCIA assessment.

Cover ArtThe Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024
This guide is part of the PCIA resources pack and is available to anaesthesia trainees, SIMGs and members of Anaesthesia Departments to support implementation of the PCIA in hospitals and health services.
Training, Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments

IT assessments LOs added

12/19/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library

The Learning Outcomes documents for the new MCQA and SES assessments have now been added.

Anaesthesia training, Anaesthesia training assessments

Changes to introductory training

12/06/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library

Changes to program requirements are being introduced to the ANZCA training program in 2025 and will apply to trainees who begin introductory training after 1 January 2025.

A new Introductory Training (IT) assessments page has been created with links to information and resources related to the new MCQA and SES assessments.

Anaesthesia training, Anaesthesia training assessments

PCIA resources now available

12/05/2024
profile-icon ANZCA Library

Information and resources related to the new Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) can be found on the new Assessment > Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA) page. This includes PCIA guidance documents, Teaching/learning resources, PCIA assessment resources and a PCIA-related webinar.

Note: Updated versions the PCIA Implementation guide and Summary sheet were added on 20 December 2024.

Cover ArtThe Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment: Implementation Guide by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.0 - December 2024
This guide is part of the PCIA resources pack and is available to anaesthesia trainees, SIMGs and members of Anaesthesia Departments to support implementation of the PCIA in hospitals and health services.
Anaesthesia training, Final exam (FEx), Patient Clinical Interaction Assessment (PCIA), Anaesthesia training assessments