Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page includes all books which are part of the recommended reading list for the CICM First Part Exams.
Titles hyperlinked in blue, can be accessed by clicking the heading.
Titles without a hyperlink are not currently available online.
How to access e-resources
Your CICM Member Portal Username and Password is required to access ANZCA Library e-resources
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your CICM Member Portal password? Try resetting your password
Want to make recommend-ations, report issues, or to give general feedback? Contact CICM
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist, 4e [CICM] by This book provides readers with an anaesthesia-focused alternative to general physiology textbooks. The new edition has been reorganised with the trainee anaesthesist in mind, into shorter bite-sized chapters ideal for exam revision. The content includes the physiology of all major organ systems, with specific emphasis on the nervous, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems as well as special sections on pain, aging, specific environments and obesity. Alongside the learning objectives, reflection points and a handy summary of physiological equations and tables, there is greater emphasis on clinical application in this fourth edition, with applied physiology included in almost every section.
Publication Date: 2020-09-20
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e [CICM] by Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study.
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 26e [CICM] by Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology.
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e [CICM] by Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications.
Publication Date: 2021
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e [CICM] by West's Respiratory Physiology, 11e incorporates updates in many areas including blood-tissue gas exchange, mechanics, control of ventilation and the respiratory system under stress; all designed to aid clear understanding of pulmonary physiology. Clinical vignettes with questions emphasize how the physiology described can be applied to clinical situations, reinforcing reasoning and critical thinking. More than 100 USMLE-style multiple-choice questions with full explanations test reasoning skills for comprehension and exam preparation.
Call Number: NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e [CICM] by Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Publication Date: 2018-10-29
Pharmacokinetics Made Easy, 2e [CICM] by Presents a complex topic in a simple, easy-to-understand way Pocket Guide: Pharmacokinetics Made Easy is the latest update of the popular Pharmacokinetics Made Easy. It is suitable for a wide audience including medical practitioners, health professionals, and students. The individual chapters were initially published as a series of articles in Australian Prescriber to assist practitioners in drug dosing and therapy. The physiological approach herein adopted addresses clinical issues in drug therapy and makes them directly applicable to practice situations. Key Selling Features: - Self-assessment questions in each chapter - Glossary of symbols - Use of equations to explain physiological factors underlying important pharmacokinetics processes - Endorsed and co-published with Australian Prescriber - List of key points summarizing the content to improve accessibility and understanding
Call Number: NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009-12-18
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e [CICM] by An essential reference text, the fifth edition of this popular book details drugs in anaesthesia and intensive care in an A-Z format. The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs. The new edition includes a complete revision of all the featured drugs, andthe addition of key new drugs. New diagrams of particular drug structures and comparison tables aid comparison of differences within a drug class for exam revision.
Call Number: Note: Provides brief monographs of many common drugs).
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 15e [CICM] by Presented in full-colour and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 15e is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs.
Publication Date: 2020-12-05
Basic Physics and Measurement in Anaesthesia, 5e [CICM] by An introductory text to the physical principles and their clinical application in anaesthesia. From SHO, through specialist training, this book gives a firm grounding, avoiding complex mathematics and irrelevant detail. Measurement and monitoring are a key element of anaesthesia for both nurses and anaesthetists. Offers a comprehensive guide to physical principles and their clinical application in anesthesia to help the reader practice safe and reliable anesthesia. Uses clinical examples throughout to aid in understanding. Provides practical advice on essential measurement and monitoring using the latest equipment and technology.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE VIA THE INTERNET ARCHIVE
Publication Date: 2003-06-27
Physics in Anaesthesia, 2e [CICM] by This 2nd edition has been comprehensively updated, but the content remains aligned with the FRCA syllabus, making Physics in Anaesthesia ideal for trainee anaesthetists, as well as for operating department practitioners and anaesthetic nurses. In addition, clinical science and engineering students will appreciate the linking of theory and practice.
Publication Date: 2021-06-14
Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 9e [CICM] by First published in 1963, Anatomy for Anaesthesists is the definitive anatomy text for anaesthetists in training and remains an invaluable reference for those in practice. The text explores in depth those areas of particular interest to anaesthetists: the respiratory pathway, the heart, the vertebral canal and its contents, the peripheral nerves, the autonomic nervous system, and the cranial nerves, and also includes sections on the anatomy of pain and other zones of anaesthetic interest. This new 9th edition has been fully revised and updated to incorporate developments in regional techniques and the increased use of ultrasound.
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Sections of Other Useful Texts
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e [CICM] by Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice provides trainees and practitioners an in-depth but concise presentation of those aspects of pharmacology and physiology that are relevant either directly or indirectly to the perioperative anaesthetic management of patients. This is a difficult topic but is foundational to the practice of anaesthesia and trainees face questions on it in their in-training and qualifying exams.
Publication Date: 
Pharmacology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e [CICM] by The fifth edition of this popular textbook continues to provide a solid foundation of pharmacological knowledge for all those working in anaesthesia and intensive care. The content has been thoroughly revised to include expanded chapters with clearer figures, ensuring readers are kept abreast of the ever-changing landscape of clinical pharmacology. Conveniently divided into four sections covering the basic principles of pharmacology, core drugs in anaesthetic practice, cardiovascular drugs, and other important drugs and complemented by new diagrams, tables and chemical formulae to facilitate learning.
Publication Date: 2021-02-26
Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e [CICM] by Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e, is an outstanding therapeutic resource in anesthesia and critical care: Section 1 introduces the principles of drug action, Section 2 presents the molecular, cellular and integrated physiology of the target organ/functional system and Section 3 reviews the pharmacology and toxicology of anaesthetic drugs. The new Section 4, Therapeutics of Clinical Practice, provides integrated and comparative pharmacology and the practical application of drugs in daily clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2011-04-11
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance, 8e [CICM] by Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 8th edition has been extensively updated, especially in the areas of anaesthetics, drugs used in AIDs, cardiovascular drugs, drugs used in anxiety, depression and schizophrenia, urological drugs, drug metabolism, as well as practical concerns such as drug indications and side effects.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE VIA THE INTERNET ARCHIVE
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
Immunology at a Glance, 10e [CICM] by Immunology at a Glance provides a user-friendly overview of the body's defence mechanisms. Ideal from day one of a medical, biomedical or life science course, the text begins with a basic overview of both adaptive and innate immunity, before progressing to applied immunological concepts, which look at what happens when things go wrong, and how, in clinical medicine, each body system can be affected by immunity. Each double-page spread corresponds to a typical lecture and diagrammatically summarises core concepts in immunology, through accessible schematic diagrams on left-hand pages, with key points concisely summarised on the right-hand page. There are also self-assessment essay questions so you can test your knowledge.
Call Number: NOT AVAILABLE ONLINE - Note: a useful reference text for some topics – you are not expected to read it all.
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
Therapeutic Guidelines: Antibiotic [CICM] by Apart from major textbooks of infectious disease, there have been few books published specifically on guidelines related to antibiotics. This text provides a well established set of clinical practice guidelines on antibiotics. This text is well researched, concise and consistent in its presentation.
Miller's Anesthesia, 9e [CICM] by Miller's Anesthesia, 9e, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature.
Call Number: Note: a good reference text for some topics – you are not expected to read it all.
Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology, 6e [CICM] by Learn all the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and exams. Now fully revised and updated, Mims' clinically relevant, systems-based approach and abundant colour illustrations make this complex subject easy to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes.
Call Number: Note: No need to read it all. The main syllabus content is covered in chapters 1 to 5 (basic microbiology) and chapter 33 (antimicrobial agents and chemotherapy). Other sections of the book may provide useful insights for the syllabus (e.g. the chapter on immune defences in action)).
Publication Date: 2018-04-11
Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e [CICM] by Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease.
Call Number: Note: this is a good reference text – you are not expected to read it all.
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Whilst the titles below are not on the recommended reading list, they may be helpful in preparing for your exam.
50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know [CICM] by 50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of critical care medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including: sedation and analgesia, resuscitation, shock, ARDS, nutrition, renal failure, trauma, infection,diabetes, and physical therapy.
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Examination Intensive Care Medicine, 2e [CICM] by This book covers the key components of the exam syllabuses for FCICM, EDIC and DICM, and builds on the ICM component of the previous edition, Examination Intensive Care and Anaesthesia. The book deals with all elements of the individual clinical examinations including performance strategies and provides a chapter on paediatric intensive care.
Publication Date: 2011-12-23
Maths, Physics and Clinical Measurement for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care [CICM] by This book covers these core topics in a logical and structured format, creating a more enjoyable learning experience that is accessible and easy to digest. Each chapter opens with a set of learning objectives and summary of chapter contents. Following this is a clinical scenario that relates to the themes of the chapter and a number of hypothetical questions relating to the scenario are laid-out. Clinical pearls are presented in boxes for more advanced learning opportunities. Each chapter closes with a set of MCQ or SBA self-test questions to test the readers' knowledge of the chapter. This book covers everything needed for the FFICM and FRCA exams, making it an essential text for exam candidates, tutors, and those working in theatres, anaesthesia and the ICU.
Publication Date: 2019-10-31