Page index
CICM library guides
ANZCA library guides of interest
Other ANZCA library guides
Please Note: Resources on the ANZCA library guides use ANZCA-only linking. CICM users can search for and access this content via the search widget and A-Z lists linked from this page.
Authentication update
When authenticating, please ensure that you use the CICM Members Portal login (scroll down) and not the MDP Login. if you experience any issues, please contact ictsupport@cicm.org.au.
Oxford e-book access issues (26 February 2024)
There is currently an access issue impacting all Oxford e-book titles. This has been reported to the vendor and we hope to have a resolution soon.
Recent titles added to the collection
Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy, 3e [CICM] by
This simple, jargon-free text fits in your pocket, providing an 'on-the-spot' guide to clinician-performed ultrasound in the emergency department, intensive care unit or in the field. Written by an international team of experts and comprehensively updated in its third edition, Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy brings together in one volume the latest indications for focused ultrasound, including those related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The text is highly accessible and easy to use in an emergency. It is aimed at the rapidly expanding cohort of non-radiologist clinical sonographers who use focused ultrasound. However, its broad scope (for example using ultrasound in the rapid diagnosis of DVT) makes it an invaluable addition to the library of any doctor with an interest in the technique, whether in primary care or the hospital setting. Simple to read and follow Free of jargon Fast step-by-step guide to ultrasound procedures Clear diagrams Tips and pitfalls to avoid Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19 Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care [CICM] by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease inthe critically ill.The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the criticalcare setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology.Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance ofgetting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughoutexplore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
Mechanical Ventilation for Respiratory Failure: Demystifying the Box in the Corner of the Room [CICM] by
Mechanical ventilators have long been an integral part of the care of patients with acute and chronic respiratory failure, and the recent COVID-19 pandemic has further underscored the need for greater understanding of the basic principles of their use in today's ICU. Mechanical Ventilation for Respiratory Failure: Demystifying the Box in the Corner of the Room, is an easy-to-read, accessible text covering must-know information in this essential area--from basic and core principles to advanced topics in the field
ISCCM Manual of RRT and ECMO in ICU: A Reference Book for Practicing Intensivists [CICM] by
The ISCCM Manual of Renal Replacement Therapy and Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation in ICU: A Reference Book for Practicing Intensivists is an endeavor by Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM), the first book of its kind covering practical aspects of bedside extracorporeal therapy (ECT) in ICU patients. It covers various aspects of treatment of acute kidney injury (AKI) in ICU, selection and delivery of the appropriate form of renal replacement therapy (RRT) and extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), with comprehensive material accompanied by practical aspects. The contents are focused for the young budding intensivists and critical care students, but the book will surely be a useful bedside reference guide for anybody handling extracorporeal therapy in critically ill patients. The chapters are concise; discuss the techniques with diagrammatic representation, along with the management, with key points at the end of each chapter. The chapters are arranged with subheadings, flowcharts, checklists and illustrations for better assimilation of content. It covers recent indications in the field of ECT like apheresis, ECMO for sepsis and eCPR, which may bring changes in the clinical practice of critical care physicians. This book will also help postgraduate students and young aspiring intensivists to prepare for various national and international examinations.
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e [CICM] by
Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Provides easy access to evidence-based critical care practice; Offers a practical, clinically oriented approach to intensive care, with detailed descriptions of procedures, incorporating new ultrasound and how-to videos that can easily be accessed in the eBook; Key points are identified at the beginning of each chapter and in the margins of the text; Key references chosen by the author experts are highlighted at the end of each chapter.
The latest intensive care titles are "spotlighted" on the Intensive care medicine essentials guide.
First Part Exams recommended reading list
CICM trainees can now access a dedicated library guide containing the complete list of the First Part Examination Recommended Readings.
The majority of titles are now available online to trainees for the very first time.
AudioDigest access now available!
CICM via ANZCA library users now have access to AudioDigest.
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 245+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation. Free registration required.
See our dedicated Audio-Digest guide for further information including full registration and access details.
BrowZine and LibKey access now available!
CICM via ANZCA library users can now access their favourite journals using BrowZine!
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. It's the perfect armchair reading app or for reading on therun!
See our dedicated BrowZine guide for further information including full access details.
In addition, you will now also be able to access CICM via ANZCA Library full-text when searching on the web using our LibKey Nomad web browser extension.
LibKey allows users to access the available CICM via ANZCA full-text no matter where you search on the web.
See our dedicated Full text via browser extensions guide for further information including full access details.
What can I access?
CICM users are able to access the following ANZCA library online services and content:
What's excluded:
Access anywhere
Enable access to CICM via ANZCA library full-text for anywhere on the web.
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support CICM user access to the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
CICM 
Library feedback form