Library resource guides: History of anaesthesia: Other resources

Guide index

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Without Sensation: A brief history of early anaesthesia
Anaesthesia – a word quite a few of us struggle to pronounce. With this complex pronunciation comes a rich history.

Delve into the new online exhibition Without Sensation? A brief history of early anaesthesia to read about human striving to find solutions for painful surgery. This online exhibition provides insight into anaesthesia’s early days. It explores the period from anaesthesia’s discovery to before the trenches of World War I.

It draws examples from within and outside of the Geoffrey Kaye Museum’s Collections and celebrates the trailblazers of anaesthesia without whom we would not be where we are today. The exhibition is launched to coincide with National Anaesthesia Day.

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Djeembana Whakaora - First Nations Medicine Health & Healing
The Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History chronicles the First Nations history of anaesthesia, intensive care and pain medicine. This exhibition draws on thousands of generations of specialist knowledge. It is a contemporary expression of how First Nations peoples have always responded to their own health needs within cultural contexts, and created space for themselves within the dominant European model of health.

Curated by First Nations curators, with First Nations contributors, providing First Nations insights to medicine, health and healing. All of whom reside on the sacred lands now known as Australia.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Practice evaluation - reviewing performance cultural safety activity.

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Exhibition Research and Findings: The Rare Privilege of Medicine
Monica Cronin, curator of ANZCA's Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History, has recently published an article regarding the exhibition 'The Rare Privilege of Medicine: Women Anaesthetists in Australia and New Zealand'. The article highlights the struggles of locating historical information about women in medicine and the stories of Dr. Janet Greig and Dr. Lily Jörgensen, two women featured within the exhibition.

Cronin M. Exhibition Research and Findings: The Rare Privilege of Medicine. J Anesth Hist. 2020;6(2):90-95.
more...less...
Abstract
On 8 March 2018, the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History launched its latest exhibition in an online format, The Rare Privilege of Medicine: Women Anaesthetists in Australia and New Zealand. The launch was deliberately timed to coincide with International Women's Day which carried the theme of "Press for Progress." These women's stories reveal them to have been champions for progress, as well as having the potential to be inspirational beacons of progress for the future, thereby fitting easily into the theme. This article highlights the stories of Dr. Janet Greig and Dr. Lily Jörgensen, two women featured within the exhibition. Other women are also represented, as their stories provide some degree of context to the two featured women, even though there is no evidence to suggest that they did significant work in anesthesia practice. However, this article should not be considered biographical in nature. Instead, it operates within a distinct theoretical perspective, examining the way in which historians research and interpret the past. It also considers the exhibition research, and the exhibition itself, to be a launch point for more nuanced work in this area.

For more information about the Museum objects displayed below, click on the image to be directed to the item's page on Victorian Collections.

Highlights from the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History

Hewitt's Gas-Air Stopcock and Mask

Surgical Instruments and Appliances, 8th ed

Insufflation anaesthesia machine

Certificate, Fellowship, Anaesthesia

Dr James (Jim) Villiers Qantas bag

Twitter feeds

Adam Rodman (@AdamRodmanMD) Internal medicine physician, medical educator, and host of Bedside Rounds podcast, medical history podcast produced in partnership with @ACPInternists. Opinions my own.
Anaesthesia Heritage (@AAGBI_Heritage) Anaesthesia Heritgae Centre, AAGBI. The UK's leading centre for the study of the history of anaesthesia, pain relief and resuscitation.
AnatomicalMuseum (@TeviotPlace) Anatomical Museum, UK. We have one of the best preserved collections of anatomy in the United Kingdom. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for latest news and opening times.
ANZSHM (@anzshm) The Australian and New Zealand Society of the History of Medicine. Health and #histmed in the Australia-Pacific region. #ozhist #nzhist Tweets: @GeorgiaMc06
Drexel Med Archives (@ducomarchives) Drexel Medical Archives, archive of the Pennsylvania Woman’s Medical College. Archives & special collections on women in medicine and homeopathy; Woman's Medical College of PA, Hahnemann University & Drexel Med history goodness.
Hunterian Museum LDN (@HunterianLondon) Hunterian, London. The Hunterian Museum (the Royal College of Surgeons of England @RCSnews) is closed until 2021 while the building is redeveloped.
The Infirmary (@InfirmaryWorc) Worcester Royal Infirmary. Exhibition in former Worcester Royal Infirmary building. Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sat 10am-4pm. Find us at http://medicalmuseum.org.uk and sign up for our newsletter.
MushinMuseum (@MushinMuseum) Mushin Museum, Cardiff. History of Anaesthesia Museum/ Amgueddfa Hanes Anesthesia. Dept of Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine.
Nursing Clio (@nursingclio) A collaborative blog project that ties historical scholarship to present-day political, social, and cultural issues surrounding gender and medicine.
OldOperatingTheatre (@OldOpTheatre) The Old Operating Theatre & Herb Garret of the old St Thomas's Hospital, London. Likes and retweets are not endorsements. #OldOpTheatre
RCPE Heritage (@RCPEHeritage) Events, news, and discoveries from the Library and Archives of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. Follow @RCPEdin for College news.
RCPI Heritage Centre (@RCPIArchive) RCPI Heritage Centre. Discoveries, events and news from the Heritage Centre of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.
RCP museum (@RCPmuseum) The Royal College of Physicians museum, library, archive & garden in Regent's Park | History, medicine, art & modernist architecture | Exhibitions & events.
Thomas Morris (@thomasngmorris) Thomas Morris, history of surgery & blogger. Historian of surgery and blogger of medical curiosities. Latest book THE MYSTERY OF THE EXPLODING TEETH is out now in UK and US.
UCD CHOMI (@CHOMIreland) Centre for the History of Medicine in Ireland #histmed #medhist #medhums #histSTM #histsci #history #twitterstorians http://www.ucd.ie/history/chomi
Wellcome Collection (@ExploreWellcome) Wellcome Collection. The free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health by connecting science, medicine, life and art.
Wood Library-Museum (@WLMHQ) Preeminent source on the history of anesthesiology with a long established physical location and extensive book and apparatus collections.

Other resources

International Anesthesia Research Society. International Anesthesia Research Society and Anesthesia & Analgesia Historical Timeline
Through this historical timeline, we invite you to reflect on the foundation, some of the key moments and people who made the International Anesthesia Research Society and Anesthesia & Analgesia what it is today.
Royal College of Anaesthetists. The History of Anaesthesia.
From plants to the anaesthetics machinery of today, this page gives an entertaining account of the history of anaesthesia including discoveries, developments, and great events.
National Library of Medicine. Digital Collections.
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.
WFSA. History of Anaesthesia.
Although many individuals administered anaesthetic agents in the decade 1835-1845, they were not widely publicised and did not impact on general medical practice. On 16 October 1846, at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, the first public demonstration of ether anaesthesia took place.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

History of anaesthesia: Other resources

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Geoffrey Kaye Museum: Spotlighted Exhibitions

Highlights from the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History

Hewitt's Gas-Air Stopcock and Mask

Slide

Surgical Instruments and Appliances, 8th ed

Portable hypodermic kit

Tube, Endotracheal, Uncuffed

Insufflation anaesthesia machine

Certificate, Fellowship, Anaesthesia

Dr James (Jim) Villiers Qantas bag

Twitter feeds

Other resources

Talk to us