Library resource guides: Pain medicine basics: Other resources

Guide index

25 Years - Faculty of Pain Medicine

25 Years: Faculty of Pain Medicine

2024 Global Year about Sex and Gender Disparities in Pain

Global Year about Sex and Gender Disparities in Pain
IASP's global themes focus on a special aspect of pain and aim to increase awareness within the pain community and beyond. The 2024 Global Year will examine what is known about sex and gender differences in pain perception and modulation and address sex-and gender-related disparities in both the research and treatment of pain.

ASRA: Pain Medicine Resource Centre

The American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
The American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA) is one of the largest subspecialty medical societies in anaesthesiology and pain medicine with more than 5,000 members in 66 countries on 6 continents.
ASRA Resource Centre The resource center contains a number of regional anesthesia and pain medicine-related resources.
Acute Pain Medicine
Chrome Pain Medicine
COVID-19 Resources
Patient Education
Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS)
Practice Management
Professional Issues
Regional Anesthesia

International Classification of Diseases

International Classification of Diseases 11th Revision
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) "is the foundation for the identification of health trends and statistics globally, and the international standard for reporting diseases and health conditions. It is the diagnostic classification standard for all clinical and research purposes".

ICD serves a broad range of uses globally and provides critical knowledge on the extent, causes and consequences of human disease and death worldwide via data that is reported and coded with the ICD. Clinical terms coded with ICD are the main basis for health recording and statistics on disease in primary, secondary and tertiary care, as well as on cause of death certificates. These data and statistics support payment systems, service planning, administration of quality and safety, and health services research. Diagnostic guidance linked to categories of ICD also standardizes data collection and enables large scale research.

National Strategic Action Plan for Pain Management

Painaustralia: National Strategic Action Plan for Pain Management
17 May 2021: Australia's peak pain organisations for health professionals welcome national pain management plan

National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education

The NSHPPME Strategy is a high-level plan for an Australia-wide coordinated approach to pain management education across health disciplines and throughout the health practitioner’s career span. The Strategy provides a blueprint for the future of pain education and recognises it is important that health professionals, across a range of disciplines are well informed on best practice and evidence-based care.

National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education by The Faculty of Pain Medicine; Australian & New Zealand College of Anaesthetists The National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education provides a blueprint for the future of pain education over the next five to 10 years with its underpinning values, principles, goals and detailed implementation plan. It articulates not only ‘what’ needs to be achieved, but ‘how’ we can achieve the desired goals in the most effective and resource-efficient way, to ensure a meaningful and positive impact for those in the community living with pain.
Publication Date: 2023
National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education: Implementation Guide by Faculty of Pain Medicine; Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists This Implementation Guide is a companion document to the National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education and provides the key elements of the strategy, including a detailed ‘Implementation Plan’. It is recommended that the guide be read in conjunction with the main strategy document which provides essential background and contextual information.
Publication Date: 2023

OpenAnesthesia - Pain Medicine

OpenAnesthesia - Pain Medicine
OpenAnesthesia offers online education resources. We are dedicated to using cutting-edge technology and a modern approach to education to provide the best, most time-efficient continuous education that targets individual resident’s and physician’s strengths and weaknesses, and, of course, interests. Our goal, as from our inception, to offer an education system that is effective, engaging, and ultimately improves anesthesiology practice and patient care.

PAIN+

Pain+ (Premium LiteratUre Services)
Pain+ (Premium LiteratUre Services)provides access to current, high-quality evidence from health care research, to support evidence-based clinical decisions.

PAIN+ is a continuously updated, unique resource which allows you to see what other clinicians are reading and to search citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) that are pre-rated for evidence quality by research staff.

How you can use it:
- Register to create a free account where you can set up alert preferences for email alerts
- Receive email alerts about new evidence. Each alert includes clinical ratings and comments, and electronic links to the article's abstract via PubMed (if available) and full-text article via PubMed or the publisher's site (if available for free)
- Search the ANZCA journal list and find the articles you want from our subscriptions, or if you need assistance locating an article, request the article from the Library via the request an article service

Physical Diagnosis of Pain videos

Videos on this topic, as referenced below, are sourced from the online version of the book Physical Diagnosis of Pain 4th edition. Click the link to the book to explore this topic further.

Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms, 5e by Steven D. Waldman In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5e, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You’ll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.
ISBN: 9780443118036
Publication Date: 2024
Note: Create a ClinicalKey personal profile to access/download PDF chapters.

OPPC

Online Paediatric Pain Curriculum - The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
The goal of this curriculum is to provide a broad education platform, for health-care professionals to learn about pain within clinical, basic science, and ethical themes. These 10 modules are free and can be viewed independently and interchangeably.
more...less...
Features of the core curriculum include:
- Based on the International Association for the Study of Pain Core Curriculum for professional education in pain.
- Available to anyone via the web, anywhere in the world.
- Each module contain a number of cases illustrating the concepts covered in the module.

Safety Practices for Interventional Pain Procedures

Safety Practices for Interventional Pain Procedures
These safety practices have been developed to highlight the important elements in the safe performance of interventional pain procedures. Adherence to these practices will help decrease the risk of preventable complications. For additional information about the indications and technical aspects that yield improved treatment outcomes, refer to the IPSIS Practice Guidelines for Spinal Diagnostic and Treatment Procedures.

Please note that these Safety Practices documents have been updated to address GBCA recommendations from a multisociety practice advisory. (April 19, 2021)