This guide has been designed as a means of promoting and providing curated access to relevant resources related to research in the professional practice domains of communicator, collaborator, leader and manager, scholar, health advocate and professional in anaesthesia, perioperative and pain medicine
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Clinical Trials: Study Design, Endpoints and Biomarkers, Drug Safety, and FDA and ICH Guidelines, 2e by
Clinical Trials, 2e offers those engaged in clinical trial design a valuable and practical guide. This book takes an integrated approach to incorporate biomedical science, laboratory data of human study, endpoint specification, legal and regulatory aspects and much more with the fundamentals of clinical trial design.
Community-Led Research: Walking New Pathways Together by
The concept of community-led research has taken off in recent years in a variety of fields, from archaeology and anthropology to social work and everything in between. Drawing on case studies from Australia, the Pacific and Southeast Asia, this book considers what it means to participate in community-led research, for both communities and researchers. How can researchers and communities work together well, and how can research be reimagined using the knowledge of First Nations peoples and other communities to ensure it remains relevant, sustainable, socially just and inclusive?
Handbook of Ethnography in Healthcare Research by
This handbook provides an up-to-date reference point for ethnography in healthcare research. This edited volume is organized around major methodological themes, such as ethics, interviews, narrative analysis and mixed methods. Through the use of case studies, it illustrates how methodological considerations for ethnographic healthcare research are distinct from those in other fields.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics in Health Care and Patient Safety, 2e by
This book draws on both areas to provide a compendium of human factors and ergonomics issues relevant to health care and patient safety. The second edition takes a more practical approach with coverage of methods, interventions, and applications and a greater range of domains such as medication safety, surgery, anesthesia, and infection prevention.
Methods in Health Services Research by
The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research.
Research and Evidence in Practice by
This etextbook is an introduction to the use of research-based evidence in professional health-care practice. It will help you to understand the role of evidence in health care, including how evidence is developed, and how to interpret research methods and outcomes.
Research Impact: Guidance on Advancement, Achievement and Assessment by
This textbook takes the reader on a journey from how the UK Research Excellence Framework assesses impact to real examples of outstanding research impact case studies.
Understanding Clinical Research by
Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyse study results.
Using Naturally Occurring Data in Qualitative Health Research: A Practical Guide by
This highly practical resource brings new dimensions to the utility of qualitative data in health research by focusing on naturally occurring data. It examines how naturally occurring data complement interviews and other sources of researcher-generated health data, and takes readers through the steps of identifying, collecting, analysing, and disseminating these findings in ethical research with real-world relevance.clinicians.
Braun V., Clarke V., Hayfield N., Terry G. (2019) Thematic Analysis. In: Liamputtong P. (eds) Handbook of Research Methods in Health Social Sciences. Springer, Singapore; pages 843-860.
This chapter maps the terrain of thematic analysis (TA), a method for capturing patterns (“themes”) across qualitative datasets. We identify key concepts and different orientations and practices, illustrating why TA is often better understood as an umbrella term, used for sometimes quite different approaches, than a single qualitative analytic approach.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research, 3e now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 4e by
Everyone seeks to avoid getting into a lawsuit, but what do you do if this does happen? Getting sued for medical malpractice is one of the most traumatic events of a physician's career. This text will guide doctors and physicians through the process from the moment they receive a summons until the after-trial appeal process. It contains valuable information that physicians need to know to prevent making critical mistakes that can hurt their case. It comes with strategies explained to maximize their chances of a defendant's verdict. It includes vital information on how to change your attorney, act at the deposition and dress for court, and navigate through what is a mysterious and terrifying process in non-legalese language that is easy to understand including, what makes patients angry, strategies for coping, sample questions and tips on answering them, and what happens in court and how to continue if there is a bad outcome.
Interpreting Qualitative Data: A Guide to the Principles of Qualitative Research, 4e by
David Silverman offers beginners a hands-on guide to getting the best out of a research methods course or an undergraduate research project.
InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing by
This thoroughly revised Second Edition retains the original's seven-stage structure, continuing to focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved with interviewing.
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, 5e by
Text compares qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, the authors include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.
Research Methods in Health: Investigating Health and Health Services, 2e by
This is a comprehensive, easy to read, guide to the range of methods used to study and evaluate health and health services. It describes the concepts and methods used by the main disciplines involved in health research, including: demography, epidemiology, health economics, psychology and sociology.
Library
Websites