Library resource guides: Referencing: EndNote

Guide index

Home Library > Library guides > Referencing > EndNote

On this page

Overview
Using EndNote
Exporting from Ovid Medline to EndNote
Configuring full-text access (via the ANZCA Library)
EndNote access
Output styles
ANZCA style
Support

EndNote
EndNote is a commercial reference management application, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays and articles. It is produced by Clarivate Analytics.

EndNote groups citations into "libraries" with the file extension *.enl and a corresponding *.data folder.

There are several ways to add a reference to a library: manually, or by exporting, importing, copying from another EndNote library, or connecting from EndNote. The program presents the user with a window containing a dropdown menu from which to select the type of reference they require (for example: journal, book, film, newspaper article, etc.), and fields ranging from the general (author, title, year) to those specific to the kind of reference (abstract, author, ISBN, running time, etc.)

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web) is a web-based version of EndNote.

Using EndNote

YouTube EndNote Training Tutorials
Hundreds of video tutorials covering every aspect of EndNote (covering nearly all versions).

How to use EndNote 21 in seven minutes (Windows)

How to use EndNote 21 in seven minutes (macOS)

Configuring full-text access (via the ANZCA Library)

It is possible to configure EndNoteto provide full-text access to resources via the ANZCA Library.

Open EndNote
From the EndNote menu, select Edit > Preferences...
On the EndNote Preferences screen, select the Find Full Text section in the left side-menu
Enter the following:
- OpenURL Path: = https://anzca.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
- Authenticate with: URL = https://login.ezproxy.anzca.edu.au/login?url=
Ensure ALL tick boxes are selected
Click the OK button when complete

EndNote access

Many universities are often licensed to allow for EndNote use by all staff and students. Users with a university affiliation are advised to contact their university library or research office.

Output styles

EndNote Connection Styles
EndNote offers more than 6,000 connection files. Connection files contain all the information necessary for EndNote to search and import references from an online database.

ANZCA style

ANZCA Style
The ANZCA EndNote style used for citing is attached above. This is a modified version of the Vancouver style.
ANZCA Style Reference Types
The ANZCA Style Reference Types file is attached above. It should be used in conjunction with the ANZCA Style in EndNote. It contains a number of custom reference types not commonly available, including those for ANZCA professional documents.

Adding the ANZCA Style to EndNote

You must already have EndNote installed.

Click on the ANZCA Style link above. The file will begin downloading.
Click on the downloaded file. It will automatically open in EndNote.
Select File > Save as and save the style.

Adding the ANZCA Style Reference Types to EndNote

After completing the above steps:

Right-click on the ANZCA Style Reference Types link above and select Save link as.
Save the link to the desired location.
In EndNote, select Edit > Preferences.
Ensure thatReference Typesis highlighted.
Select Import.
Navigate to the downloaded ANZCA Style Reference Types file (where you saved it in Step 2).
Double-click on the file and select OK.

You will now have the option to use reference types that are not commonly available, but are relevant to the college, such as professional documents.

Referencing: EndNote

Using EndNote

Configuring full-text access (via the ANZCA Library)

EndNote access

Output styles

ANZCA style

Support