Library resource guides: Patient information for physicians: Overview

Guide index

On this page

All about Anaesthesia
Patient information databases - subscription
Patient information databases - free
ANZCA patient information resources
Pain medicine resources
E-books - free

How to access e-resources

Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.

Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.

Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form

Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.

Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library

Spotlight: Great resources for patients

ANZCA: Patient information website
This information has been produced by specialist doctors and reviewed by patient representatives and experts in different areas of anaesthesia and pain medicine.
All About Anaesthesia
The Australian Society of Anaesthetists site includes explanations on what anaesthesia is, how anaesthetics are given, and how anaesthetists care for patients. People can also learn how anaesthetics affect them and how they can affect their anaesthetic.

A Journey to Learn about Pain by Reis F, Nogueira L, Meziat-Filho N, Louw A, Palermo T, Ickmans K
Publication Date: c2017
This book is targeted at parents or caregivers, family members or friends who care about a child who has pain. The book covers some topics about pain and provides some cognitive and behavioral strategies for helping the child who is struggling with pain. The content is also relevant to a wide range of practitioners: doctors, physiotherapists, psychologists and mental health professionals working within interdisciplinary pain programs.

Patient information databases (college member access only)

The following databases are available to college fellows and trainees through the ANZCA library.

AccessMedicine: Patient education handouts
Connect to AccessMedicine's comprehensive, reliable collection of patient education handouts. Available in multiple languages, for thousands of topics.
See the AccessMedicine: User Resources guide for more information

AusDI: Consumer medicine information
Comprehensive and up-to-date collection of CMIs. Carefully curated and easy to find, to enhance patient education and medicine safety.
See our AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

ClinicalKey: Patient education
Quickly access the information you need for your patients.
See our ClinicalKey guide for more information including full access details

Trip Database (Pro)
Search for the topic and filter by 'Patient decision aids' or 'Patient information sheets'.

See our Trip Database (Pro) guide for more information including full access details

Patient information databases (free)

Alcohol and Drug Foundation: Drug Facts
A comprehensive and trustworthy list of both prescription and illegal drugs. Offers detailed and straight-forward information such as what drugs look like, the short and long-term effects, withdrawals and getting help.
Better Health Channel
Australian health and medical information to improve the health and wellbeing of people and the communities they live in.
CareSearch Evidence and Translation Centre
The evidence centre is a place for people to find, learn about, and work with palliative care evidence. An authoritative, practical, and foundational resource to support best practice and improving care.
Choosing Wisely Australia: Consumers and carers
The Choosing Wisely Australia initiative is helping the healthcare community and consumers to start important conversations about unnecessary and sometimes harmful tests, treatments and procedures. We are here to support consumers to make informed decisions in partnership with their healthcare professionals in ways that suit their own preferences and personal circumstances.
Discern Online
A brief questionnaire which provides users with a valid and reliable way of assessing the quality of written information on treatment choices for a health problem.
HealthDirect
Healthdirect Australia provides free Australian health advice you can count on.
MyHealthfinder
MyHealthfinder has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1400 US government and non-profit organisations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
Health Translations Directory
Health Translations enables health practitioners and those working with culturally and linguistically diverse communities to easily find translated health information.
MEDLINE Plus
Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Got big ideas for this ANZCA resource guide? Why not become our advocate? Highlight valuable resources for college fellows and trainees while earning CPD hours!

Feedback Contact ANZCA Library for more info: library@anzca.edu.au

Find out more

ANZCA: About anaesthesia Each year, more than four million Australians and New Zealanders will have an anaesthetic.
FPM: About pain medicine One in five people in Australia and New Zealand will experience chronic – or persistent – pain at some stage in their lives.
ANZCA: Safety & Advocacy We work closely with key decision-makers, the medical community, and the media; providing trusted advice and information to help ensure our patients have access to safe, high-quality, culturally competent care whenever and wherever they need it; and our fellows and trainees have a voice on the issues that matter most.
ANZCA: Our history and heritage Explore the history of our college and the history of anaesthesia and pain medicine in Australia and New Zealand, including the museum and oral histories.

Pain medicine resources

FPM Opioid Calculator [App] This link opens in a new window
The Opioid Equianalgesic Calculator is designed to support specialist and general medical practitioners, medical students, nurses, and allied health professionals involved in the care of patients with persistent pain.

Aotearoa (New Zealand)

New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists: Patient Resources
Patient resources from the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.

E-books

A Journey to Learn about Pain by Reis F, Nogueira L, Meziat-Filho N, Louw A, Palermo T, Ickmans K
Publication Date: c2017
This book is targeted at parents or caregivers, family members or friends who care about a child who has pain. The book covers some topics about pain and provides some cognitive and behavioral strategies for helping the child who is struggling with pain.
Power of the Patient Voice: How Health Care Organizations Empower Patients and Improve Care Delivery by NEJM Catalyst
Publication Date: [2020]
Download NEJM Catalyst's new eBook, The Power of the Patient Voice, to find candid and actionable advice from NEJM Catalyst Insights Council members. We couple one-on-one interviews with executives, clinical leaders, clinicians, and patient advocates with data gleaned from a year of Insights Council surveys to illustrate where and how to amplify the patient voice.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form