Library resource guides: BrowZine: Resource information

Guide index

Library > Library guides > Apps> BrowZine

On this page

Overview
Downloading & accessing
Full-text access/changing the authentication password
Create a user profile
Setting up email alerts
Requesting an article not available full-text
FAQ
Support - help videos

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

Access via your desktop

Browse the complete A-Z journals list or bookmark your favourite journals on your desktop:

BrowZine - web-accessible version

BrowZine is an app for tablets and smart devices that allows you to access and browse the entire ANZCA e-journal collection all in the one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Features:

Read medical journals in a format that is optimized for tablets and smart devices
Defaults to PDF format for reading most articles
Request an article not available full-text
Create a personal bookshelf of favourite journals
Receive alerts on your mobile devices when new issues (AND articles in press) are published
"My Articles" - bookmark articles (also synced across devices), and group them into collections for easy retrieval/CPD purposes
- Download PDFs and use offline (indicated by paperclip symbol in My Articles)
Easily save to Refworks, Zotero, Dropbox or Mendeley

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

Download & access

Download the BrowZine app

iOS (iTunes App Store) - Access: Free

Android (Google Play) - Access: Free

Web app - Access: Free

When setting up BrowZine for the first time on your device:

Choose Library = Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists(this will populate the ANZCA holdings)
Enter your College ID and Password and click on the Login button (this will allow you to access full-text content)
Content may be accessed via the Subjects list: Biomedical and Health Sciences > Medical Specialties A-N: Anesthesiology OR via the Titles A-Z listing

Full-text access/change authentication password

Already set BrowZine up, but want to check/change your full-text authentication credentials?

Select the Settings icon
The Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists authentication box should already be displaying along with your College ID and Password)
To update your credentials: simply enter your College ID and Password and click the Save Login Infolink

Create a user profile in BrowZine

User profiles can be used to personalise access, add journals to My Bookshelf, set up email alerts, and bookmark articles/downloaded PDFs for My Articles

To sign up for a user profile:

After installing, open the app
Select My Bookshelf or My Articles
Click the Continue link - the Login to BrowZine screen will display
Select the Sign up link
Enter the following details:
- Email
- Password
- Confirm Password
Select the I agree to the BrowZine Privacy Policy box
Click the Sign Up button when complete

To log into your profile:

After installing, open the app
Select My Bookshelf or My Articles
Click the Continue link - the Login to BrowZine screen will display
Enter your Email and Password
Click the Login button

Set up email alerts for new articles/issues

It is possible for users to set up email alerts notifying them of when new issues of their favourite journals have been published. The email alert also includes a READ NOW link which will allow you to select your institution and log into your BrowZine account.

Setting up email alerts:

Create a BrowZine user account (see instructions in preceding section)
Browse/search for your favourite journal - and click on the arrow icon (app version) or the Add to My Bookshelf button (web version)
Using the web version of BrowZine, click on your user settings cog in the top-right of screen and select either Daily, Weekly or Off from the Email Notifications dropdown

Request an article not available full-text

It is possible to request any article not held full-text using the BrowZine service, for any ANZCA subscription title with an embargo period (for example: BJA) or for any journal no longer held full-text by the college (for example: RAPM).

Requesting articles: Access the journal via BrowZine and then navigate to the year/volume/issue, select the article link and click the

REQUEST THIS ITEM AND/OR CHECK ADDITIONAL SOURCES

button to request the article. Turnaround is usually 1-2 working days.

FAQ

Where can I find the anaesthesia journals in BrowZine?
- Select Biomedical and Health Sciences > Medical Specialties A-N > Anesthesiology
Where can I find the pain medicine journals in BrowZine?
- Select Biomedical and Health Sciences > Medical Specialties O-Z > Pain Medicine
Can I set up a new issues alert?
- It is possible to be notified of new articles in bookmarked journals - create a user profile to bookmark journals (see Create a user profile in BrowZine above)

Support

Staying current with BrowZine

Learn how to quickly set up access in this brief introduction to BrowZine (includes new article alerts).

Duration: 2:36 mins.

Discover new journals with BrowZine

Learn more about how to search for journals on a particular topic.

Duration: 1:50 mins.

Additional support

BrowZine Knowledge Base

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form