This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Cardiac Thoracic Vascular and Perfusion (CTVP).
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
All You Really Need to Know to Interpret Arterial Blood Gases by
Today every ICU provides rapid and automated blood gas testing twenty-four hours a day. The emphasis in this handy manual on blood gases is on interpreting readings and wisely using the information derived. The self-testing questions and glossary make it particularly useful. The Second Edition includes patient scenarios, more figures, a revised bibliography, and pertinent Internet addresses.
Analgesia in Major Abdominal Surgery by
This book presents current evidence in an Enhanced Recovery Programme context, and provides a common sense approach to using the array of available analgesia techniques appropriately in major abdominal surgery. Current pain relief options are discussed, many of which have been described only in the last ten years. Topics covered range from the now widespread use of portable ultrasound machines to an appreciation of the value of some older drugs in a new context. Analgesia for Major Abdominal Surgery is aimed at anesthetists, acute pain teams, and acute pain nurses, as well as colorectal, hepatobiliary, urological and gynecological surgeons.
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care for Organ Transplantation by
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care for Organ Transplantation covers transplantation of the heart, lung, liver, pancreas, and kidney, as well as multivisceral and composite tissue graft transplantations. For each kind of transplantation, the full spectrum of perioperative considerations is addressed: preoperative preparation, intraoperative anesthesia management, surgical techniques, and postoperative care.
Anesthesia for Congenital Heart Disease, 4e by
In this fourth edition of Anesthesia for Congenital Heart Disease, a distinguished group of expert authors in congenital heart disease (CHD) from all over the world provide a thorough, comprehensive, and fully updated overview of the specifics of congenital heart disease and the intricacies involved with administering anaesthetic care to patients who suffer from the myriad of lesions encompassed by CHD. In the seven years since the third edition of Anesthesia for Congenital Heart Disease was published, an explosion of new procedures, approaches, and patients eligible for anaesthetic care has occurred. This new edition contains new chapters that reflect exciting new approaches in this rapidly changing field, and also includes: Updated information in the chapter Adult Congenital Heart Disease and Mechanical Support of the Circulation, reflecting the increasing prominence of these patients in CHD care New chapters on Informatics and Artificial Intelligence, Genetic Syndromes, Point of Care Ultrasound, and Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation in Congenital Heart Disease.
Anesthesia for Hepatico-Pancreatic-Biliary Surgery and Transplantation by
This concise, accessible book covers anesthesia for hepatico-pancreatic-biliary (HPB) surgery and transplantation, based on randomized clinical trials, meta-analyses, case series, reports, and hands-on experience. The anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology and clinical consequences are discussed, and the close ties between HPB resection and transplant anesthesia are explored.
Anesthesia in Thoracic Surgery: Changes of Paradigms by
This book reviews and describes the best practices of anesthesia in thoracic surgery, according to evidence-based medicine. It covers preoperative assessment, applied pharmacology, airway management and ventilation methods. The analgesic methods in this surgical specialty are also discussed. This book is aimed at all specialists in the world of anaesthesiology and critical care as well as to physicians in training.
Artificial Intelligence in Cardiothoracic Imaging by
This book provides an overview of current and potential applications of artificial intelligence (AI) for cardiothoracic imaging.
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach provides a comprehensive review of the dynamic and ever-changing field of cardiac anesthesia. Its problem-based format incorporates a pool of multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Each of its 36 case-based chapters is accompanied by questions and answers, accessible online in a full practice exam. The cases presented are also unique, as each chapter starts with a case description, usually a compilation of several actual cases; it then branches out through case-based questions, to increasingly complex situations. This structure is designed to create an authentic experience that mirrors that of working through the nuances of a complicated clinical scenario. The discussion sections that follow offer a comprehensive approach to the chapter's subject matter, thus creating a modern, complete, and up-to-date medical review of that topic.
Cardiac Anesthesia: The Basics of Evaluation and Management by
This concise book meets the market need for an accessible and up-to-date guide on understanding and managing cardiac anaesthesia patients. It reflects the continual evolution of the very complex field of cardiac anaesthesia. Organized into 10 sections, beginning chapters comprehensively examine the foundational concepts of cardiovascular function.
Cardiac Anesthesia and Postoperative Care in the 21st Century by
This book provides a practical approach to cardiac perioperative care. The step-by-step format guides readers from basic concepts, such as cardiac physiology and pharmacology, to anaesthetic management of specific cardiac surgical procedures, including cardiac percutaneous interventions, management of specific cardiac disease, circulatory support, and organ protection strategies. Written by experienced cardiac anaesthesiologists in Europe, USA, Canada and Australia, this book provides an international perspective on the topic with each chapter referring the reader to the relevant key reading.
Cardiac Catheterization for Congenital Heart Disease: From Fetal Life to Adulthood, 2e by
The second edition of this handbook is an up-to-date guide to the application of catheter-based interventions across the entire age range of congenital heart disease patients, from foetal life through to adulthood. It considers the changes and improvements that have occurred during the last few years in terms of new procedures, new tools and devices (in particular in the field of valves), new imaging and pre-procedural strategies, such as 3D-printing, 3D- rotational angiography and fusion imaging.
Cardiac CT Imaging: Diagnosis of Cardiovascular Disease by
This book collates all the current knowledge of cardiac CT and presents it in a clinically relevant and practical textbook format appropriate for both cardiologists and radiologists. The images have been supplied by an experienced set of contributing authors and represent the full spectrum of cardiac CT.
Cardiac Intensive Care, 3e by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions.
Cardiology: An Integrated Approach by
Cardiology: An Integrated Approach to Disease skillfully bridges the gap between the science and practice of medicine. This beautifully illustrated book seamlessly integrates the core elements of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathology with clinical medicine. It is the perfect companion for medical students transitioning to their clinical years, as well as for practicing physicians who need a user-friendly update on the basic science underlying the practice of clinical medicine. Full-colour design includes approximately 340 images and 40 tables Cases teach students how to apply principles to real-world patient situations The latest developments in the field are incorporated throughout the text; End-of-chapter case-based questions with detailed explanations reinforce important concepts and assess understanding of the material.
Cardiopulmonary Bypass by
The third edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass offers a comprehensive, and up-to-date reference text to extracorporeal cardiopulmonary support. This book provides a clinically-focused tutorial with chapters spanning the technical aspects, patient related considerations, and human factors essential to contemporary practice of cardiopulmonary bypass. Written concisely to allow the reader to gain and apply critical knowledge to the clinical setting and featuring artwork that has been extensively updated to include numerous figures and color plates imbedded into each chapter. A remarkable collection of international experts in the fields of perfusion, anesthesiology, and cardiac surgery were recruited to co-author chapters, providing a multidisciplinary approach to case management. This completely updated edition includes expanded content on developments in minimally invasive extracorporeal circulation, anticoagulation, organ injury, and human factors. The comprehensive coverage of perfusion practice in a concise, highly illustrated format makes it the go-to, portable reference manual for perfusionists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists.
Cardiopulmonary Bypass: Advances in Extracorporeal Life Support by
Cardiopulmonary Bypass: Advancements in Extracorporeal Life Support provides comprehensive coverage on the technological developments and clinical applications of extracorporeal technologies, including the underlying basic science and the latest clinical advances in the field. Written by experts around the world, this book comprises all characteristics of cardiopulmonary bypass as well as chapters regarding equipment, physiology and pathology, pediatric aspects and clinical applications. Important highlights include the latest updates regarding minimal invasive cardiopulmonary bypass (MICPB), extracorporeal circulatory and respiratory support (ECCRS) in cardiac and non-cardiac patients, ECMO support in COVID-19, and updated guidelines of extracorporeal technologies. This book is an invaluable resource to clinicians, researchers and medical students in the fields of cardiothoracic surgery, cardiac anesthesiology, intensive care, and perfusion technology. Offers comprehensive and cutting-edge knowledge of cardiopulmonary bypass and extracorporeal life support during surgery and non-surgical situations Discusses basic science principles along with practical clinical applications Includes content from authors who are well-known experts in the field, and whose authoritative contributions are invaluable for early-career and experienced practitioners alike.
Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support: Principles and Practice, 4e by
This edition brings you fully up to date with every aspects of cardiopulmonary bypass, including new information on management of pediatric patients, CPB's role with minimally invasive and robotic cardiac surgery, mechanical circulatory support, miniaturized circuits and CPB, sickle cell disease and CPB management, and much more.
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e by
Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Cardiovascular Surgery: A Clinical Casebook by
This clinical casebook is comprised of surgical cases involving the most important cardiovascular diseases in a concise format. Each chapter is a case that opens with a unique clinical presentation, followed by a description of the diagnosis, assessment and management techniques used to treat it, as well as questions and answers (between 8 and 10) about relevant aspects related to the diagnosis and treatment of the addressed disease. The Q&A section will broaden discussion and increase the title's pedagogical value.
Case-Based Atlas of Cardiac Imaging by
This case-based atlas encompasses all aspects of imaging in congenital cardiac defects, cardiac masses, inflammatory and acquired heart diseases, cardiomyopathies and coronary-related pathologies. The chapters begin with a description of the imaging approach, followed by cases comprehensively covering the gamut of clinical scenarios that may be encountered in clinical practice. The atlas provides pertinent information about each discussed disease state, its imaging diagnosis and recent advances, including role of radiology in management, follow up and prognostication. Cases that may pose as imaging differentials accompany the index case, followed by a variety of companion cases illustrating the possible spectrum of abnormalities that the reader may be confronted with while dealing with the index case. It acts as a guide for the cardiovascular radiologist, physician, paediatrician, internist, cardiologist, cardiothoracic surgeon as well as radiology residents for inculcating an evidence-based approach for choosing the right imaging algorithm in the given clinical situation. The highly visual design of the atlas enables it to act as a quick and ready reference.
Clinical and Surgical Aspects of Congenital Heart Diseases: Text and Study Guide by
This text and guide discusses the surgical and medical management of congenital heart diseases in both adult and children. It describes the disease, pathology, treatment, complications and follow-up with extensive use of didactic material to educate the reader to the practicalities of the subject. It details the novel research via an extensive literature review, while covering all aspects of the surgical and medical treatment of congenital heart disease. It includes review of the laparoscopic techniques and epidemiology of each disease involved and their prevalence to provide the reader with the full clinical picture. Clinical and Surgical Aspects of Congenital Heart Diseases: Text and Study Guide provides a thorough practical reference for the discipline with the use of illustrations and charts to facilitate understanding. It is essential reading for all trainee and practicing cardiac surgeons, cardiologists and internists, and all interested healthcare professionals.
Clinical Thoracic Anesthesia by
This book covers all aspects of thoracic anesthesia to equip the anesthesiologist in dealing with patient care from the time of admission to discharge. Apart from an understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and imaging in thoracic anesthesia this book provides important nuggets of patient examination to help in decision making. Chapters provide information on the interpretation of various tests and intra-operative data for successful conduct of the surgery.
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia, 1e by
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia compiles the many recent advances in thoracic anaesthesiology into one convenient, easy-to-use reference. Concise, clinically focused chapters written by international authorities in the field cover all facets of anaesthesia practice for thoracic procedures, logically organized by preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative considerations.
Congenital Cardiac Anesthesia: A Case-based Approach by
Written by experts in the field, this highly illustrated book succinctly reviews the pathophysiology of congenital cardiac lesions along with important anaesthetic implications for each. Case scenarios cover patients of wide-ranging ages, with a focus on care in non-cardiac operating room settings, including the general operating room, cardiac catheterization laboratory and radiology.
Congenital Heart Disease in Pediatric and Adult Patients: Anesthetic and Perioperative Management by
Congenital Heart Disease in Pediatric and Adult Patients: Anesthetic and Perioperative Management provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of care of the paediatric patient undergoing cardiac surgery and anaesthesia. After introductory chapters that encompass paediatric cardiovascular embryology, physiology and pharmacology, diagnostic approaches and preoperative considerations are explained.
Core Topics in Cardiac Anaesthesia, 3e by
This fully-updated third edition provides a practical and concise guide to all aspects of the perioperative care of cardiac surgical patients. This is the authoritative text for residents and fellows in anaesthesia and cardiac surgery, clinical perfusionists, and critical care nurses. Updated chapters include regional anaesthesia, paediatric cardiac anaesthesia, and anaesthesia for specific procedures such as aortic valve surgery and cardiac transplantation. An entire section is dedicated to transoesophageal echocardiography (TOE) in recognition of the increasing demand for basic TOE training.
Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia by
Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia brings together the clinical expertise of global leaders in the field in a comprehensive review of contemporary practice. Practical and well illustrated, Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia is essential reading for anaesthetists, intensive care physicians and vascular surgeons.
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3e by
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3e, keeps you abreast of the skills and knowledge required to safely care for children with congenital and acquired heart disease in the ICU. Pediatric intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists from leading centers around the world provide a well-rounded perspective on basic scientific principles, medical and pharmacologic treatments, surgical techniques, and equipment.
Cunningham's Manual of Practical Anatomy - 2: Thorax and Abdomen, 16e by
The new 16th edition of Cunningham's has been thoroughly revised for the modern-day anatomy student. The language has been simplified for easy understanding making this textbook ideal for students at undergraduate levels. Each dissection reflects current medical school teaching and is now broken down into clear step-by-step instructions. New learning features prepare students for the dissection lab, university examinations and clinical practice. Completely updated full colour artwork brings the friendly explanations to life. Following a logical structure, each chapter explains in a clear friendly manner the key knowledge expected of students. Improved diagrams with clear labelling and full colour illustrate key anatomical features bringing the text to life. Learning objectives introduce each dissection and clear step-by-step instructions make it easy to follow in the dissection lab. Throughout the book new clinical application boxes and radiology images explain how anatomy relates to clinical medical practice. At the end of each part, multiple-choice questions allow students to quickly review their knowledge before checking the answers in the appendix. Student friendly and richly illustrated this new edition of Cunningham's brings expert anatomical teaching to the modern day student of medicine, dentistry and allied health sciences. Retaining the trustworthy authority of the previous editions, this sixteenth edition offers a contemporary account of this excellent practical anatomy book.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Evidence-Based Practice in Perioperative Cardiac Anesthesia and Surgery by
This comprehensive yet concise book addresses current best practice in the combined areas of cardiac surgery and anesthesia, interventional minimally invasive cardiac procedures, perioperative management and monitoring, and critical care recovery. This book not only provides the latest best practices in the perioperative management of cardiac surgical patients, but also it summarizes the current clinical guidelines and algorithms from leading cardiac programs and professional societies.
Extracorporeal Life Support by
This book covers up-to-date knowledge of extracorporeal life support/ membrane oxygenation (ECLS/ECMO), which is performed as one special procedure that takes over the work of the lungs when they are too sick to properly support the body. This book summarizes the major characteristics of technique, current status of implication and topics of development. Physiology and mechanism of ECLS is defined in the initial part of the book. Type and primary characteristics of ECLS, including instrument materials and monitoring methods are further introduced. Methods of cannulation, characteristics of patients and key-point of management during paediatric ECLS are included. ECLS has been recognized as one kind of novel CPR procedures, transport of ECLS, treatment of various complications with preventive strategy are demonstrated. Recent hot topics of ECLS and training perspective are also discussed.
Hemostasis and Thrombosis, 4e by
The latest edition of this practical handbook provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of common and rare problems with hemostasis and thrombosis. Through thoroughly updated and revised chapters, the text features practical information on diagnosing and managing troublesome hematologic conditions often found in clinical practice. The handbook also spotlights advances in the field since the publication of the last edition, including multiple novel coagulation factors for hemophilia, the increasing use of novel anticoagulants and their reversal agents, and the increasing use of genetics for diagnosis.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7e by
Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the field, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7en, edited by Drs. Karsten Bartels, Amanda A. Fox, Andrew D. Shaw, Kimberly Howard-Quijano, and Robert H. Thiele, is an ideal reference and review tool for fellows, residents, and practicing anaesthesiologists. Concisely written and readily accessible, it combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. This edition has been newly reorganized for current practice patterns and to better align with the ACGME requirements for adult cardiothoracic anaesthesiology.
Intensive Care of the Adult with Congenital Heart Disease by
Dedicated to the critical management of acutely ill adults with congenital heart disease, this comprehensive book discusses the many challenges faced in the management of these patients, who require intensive inter- and trans-disciplinary care. It provides the first universal review of the practical management of patients with these complex conditions, who survive into adulthood with congenital cardiac malformations and are often affected by other morbidities.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care, 8e by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8e, offers practical guidance from today’s international leaders in cardiac anaesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today’s clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Cardiac Surgery, 2e by
Designed for residents, nurses, and clinicians seeking quick, high-yield answers rather than the encyclopedic information commonly found in larger references-in fact, its concise format makes it easy to complete a section in a single sitting. Trusted authorities deliver the key cardiac anesthesia knowledge you need to know.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists.
Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Congenital Heart Disease by
This heavily updated textbook focuses on the use of cardiac magnetic resonance (CMR) imaging in pediatric and adult patients with congenital heart disease. Over past two decades, CMR has come to occupy an ever more important place in the assessment and management of patients with congenital heart defects (CHD) and other cardiovascular disorders. The modality offers an ever-expanding amount of information about the heart and circulation, provides outstanding images of cardiovascular morphology and function, is increasingly being used to detect pathologic fibrosis, and has an expanding role in the assessment of myocardial viability. Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Congenital Heart Disease is an excellent foundation for any reader not familiar with the field whether they are imagers or clinicians who deal with cardiovascular disease. It also describes the technical details of MRI techniques to help the clinician understand the most important elements of CMR in assessing and managing their patients. In creating the book, the editors have assembled a world-renowned panel of contributors to review the use of CMR in CHD and make it accessible to those working in the field and to those who use the information derived from CMR in their clinical practice.
Monitoring Mechanical Ventilation Using Ventilator Waveforms by 
Myocardial Perfusion Imaging - Beyond the Left Ventricle: Pathology, Artifacts and Pitfalls in the Chest and Abdomen by
This book will serve as a comprehensive reference source and self-assessment guide for physicians and technologists who practice myocardial perfusion SPECT imaging. Readers will learn to identify a wide variety of findings apart from the left ventricle, including those in the chest, the abdomen, and the right heart. It is explained which findings are clinically relevant and related to the reason for the myocardial perfusion imaging examination and which are incidental, with or without important clinical ramifications. The coverage includes a wide variety of common and uncommon focal lesions (e.g., benign or malignant neoplasms) and organ/systemic diseases (e.g., emphysema, cirrhosis and its sequelae, cholecystitis, duodenogastric reflux/gastroparesis, end-stage renal disease) that may be detected with myocardial perfusion SPECT imaging. In addition, guidance is provided in the recognition of typical artifacts, which may appear either "hot" or "cold" on the raw (unprocessed) and processed SPECT images, and, thereby, in the avoidance of potential interpretative pitfalls.
Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia by
The new Oxford Textbook of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia provides a comprehensive overview of and a thorough grounding in this challenging subspecialty. Both cardiac and thoracic anaesthesia demand high levels of knowledge and skill, as minimally invasive surgical techniques demand a sounder understanding of the specialties and as more patients with co-morbidities present for surgery.
Oxford Textbook of Transplant Anaesthesia and Critical Care by
The Oxford Textbook of Transplant Anaesthesia and Critical Care has been written and edited by pioneers in the field of organ transplantation with an international team of authors, in order to equip anaesthetists and intensivists with the knowledge and training necessary to provide high quality and evidence-based care.
A Practical Approach to Cardiac Anesthesia, 5e by
A Practical Approach To Cardiac Anesthesia is the most widely used clinical reference in cardiac anesthesia. Drawing on the experience of 55 authors from 29 different institutions, this 5th edition provides complete information on drugs, monitoring, cardiopulmonary bypass, circulatory support, and anesthetic management of specific cardiac disorders.
A Practical Guide to Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) by
This book covers point of care ultrasound (POCUS) in a practical, problem oriented and illustrated manner. It begins with introduction to the basic principles of medical ultrasound imaging and ultrasound guided interventions and outlines point of care ultrasound in a lucid manner for rapid learning for medical students as well as practitioners. It contains chapters on ultrasound of the airways, thoracic ultrasound including lungs and transthoracic screening echocardiogram, vascular assessment, ultrasound of the abdomen for focussed trauma assessment, gastric volume assessment and ultrasound guided interventions such as vascular cannulations, pleurocentesis, etc. along with some of the latest point of care ultrasound techniques such as ocular assessment and assessment of the foetus and placenta in the operation theatre. This book will help the intensivist, emergency physician and anaesthesiologist to learn the basics of POCUS, which ostensibly, is the future of medical practice. It also includes objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) questions after every chapter as well as multiple choice questions (MCQs) that will benefit the students greatly. The book also includes videos from some of the celebrated practitioners of POCUS providing a unique learning experience. This book is suited for students, trainees and practitioners alike. The modules of POCUS described here are part of the curriculum of anaesthesiology in the UK, USA, Singapore, Australia/ New Zealand and most of the countries. The book also covers the curriculum of POCUS in critical care and emergency medicine courses.
Principles and Practice of Anesthesia for Thoracic Surgery, 2e by
Updated and expanded, this comprehensive new edition captures the considerable evolution in the anesthetic management of patients requiring anesthesia for non-cardiac intrathoracic diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. Major advances addressed include the expanded role of ultrasound beyond trans-esophageal echocardiography, the role of extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation in thoracic anesthesia, and postoperative pain management for thoracic surgery. Chapters are authored by prominent anesthesiologists and feature cases commonly encountered in clinical practice. Authoritative and the leading text in the field, this book will serve as an indispensible guide to practitioners of thoracic anesthesia at all levels.
Short Stay Management of Chest Pain, 2e by
The second edition of this book provides scientific and clinical insights on the management of patients who arrive at the hospital with a presentation consistent with a potential acute coronary syndrome. Focusing on the cardiology aspects of chest pain, it presents the science and methodology that has allowed the remarkable improvements in diagnostic accuracy and improved patient outcomes for the evaluation of patients presenting with suspected acute coronary syndromes.
Thoracic Anesthesia Procedures by
Thoracic Anesthesia Procedures is a timely update in the field, providing a concise, evidence-based, and richly illustrated book ideal for students, trainees, and practicing clinicians. Comprehensive in scope, this book addresses essential topics such as thoracic physiology and pathophysiology, airway devices and other equipment, anaesthetic techniques, surgical considerations, ventilation techniques, and postoperative care.
Three-Dimensional Echocardiography, 2e by
Three-dimensional echocardiography is the most recent fundamental advancement in echocardiography with a strong impact on almost all clinical and research applications of echocardiography.
Vascular Anaesthesia (OSH in Anaesthesia) by
Providing a practical, current, evidence-based approach to all aspects of perioperative care for the patient with vascular disease, this title is an essential read for all vascular anaesthetists, anaesthetic nurses and all those involved in the care of vascular patients throughout the world.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Cardiac thoracic vascular & perfusion
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e by
Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology, 10e by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE review and course work Concise and engaging, Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology provides everything you need to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. This updated edition is more reader-friendly and includes important updates, design improvements, and fresh perspectives on critical subject matter. Succinct but thorough, the text focuses on the facts and concepts you must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing your ability to evaluate the myriad new information you will be exposed to throughout your career than Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology. Medical students will find it to be an outstanding review for the USMLE® and experienced clinicians will find it to be a valuable clinical refresher. Features Updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field "Perspectives" in each chapter identify important, currently unresolved issues Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
Atlas of Perioperative 3D Transesophageal Echocardiography: Cases and Videos, 2e by
This book presents a series of over 50 cases in 3D transesophageal echocardiography. In each case, background information is followed by a step-by-step approach to patient diagnosis and postoperative outcomes. The book's most outstanding highlight consists in over 600 illustrations, which mainly focus on 3D transesophageal echocardiography in combination with 2D transesophageal echocardiography, X-ray fluoroscopy and computed tomography to demonstrate the various cardiovascular pathologies. Since the echo images obtained in clinic practice are moving images, it also includes more than 450 videos, which effectively supplement the static illustrations. The atlas is divided into 11 chapters. Chapters 1 through 3 describe abnormalities affecting mitral, aortic, tricuspid and pulmonary valves, while prosthetic valves are discussed in Chapter 4. Chapter 5 details abnormalities of the aorta. Chapters 6-8 examine coronary artery disease, congenital heart disease and cardiomyopathies, while Chapter 9 explores cases of infective endocarditis. Chapter 10 deals with tumor and mass lesions, and the other cases are collectively addressed in Chapter 11. In this second edition, authors add 3-5 new cases at each chapter. Now new technology in 3D TEE rendering technology such as TruVue, a kind of post processing techniques, is also included. Offering a valuable new resource, the book will enhance the usefulness of echocardiography during operations as a "third eye" for surgeons. With the advances in technology, clinicians are using three‐dimensional (3D) transoesophageal echocardiographic imaging is crucial for device selection during the procedure and to assess the functional result after procedure.
Cardiac Anesthesia and Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2e by
Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2e is a fast, proven effective way for anaesthesiology trainees to acquire the essential skills and knowledge necessary to successfully navigate the cardiac operating room. Enhanced by more than 100 photographs, nearly 200 carefully rendered line drawings, and illustrative case scenarios, this unique guide imparts the basic principles of both cardiac anaesthesia and echocardiography in a way that reflects the realities of clinical anaesthesia practice.
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3e by
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3e is written to be the field's go-to resource and the standard reference textbook on the topic. It offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of the key principles, concepts, and developing practice of transesophageal echocardiography. Completely updated, reorganized, and expanded, this Third Edition features a sectional format, each containing chapters that were reviewed and revised to provide a comprehensive discussion of physiology, pathophysiology, and echocardiographic approach for normal and common disease states. Where possible, important clinical information has been aligned with the principles of cardiovascular physiology and echocardiographic techniques.
Comprehensive Textbook of Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2e by
The definitive text and reference on transesophageal echocardiography (TEE) is now in its thoroughly updated Second Edition. This edition has been significantly reorganized to meet new demands in the field. The first section covers material relevant to the basic certification now being implemented by the American Society of Anesthesiologists and the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists. The second section, new to this edition, covers echocardiography in the critical care setting. The third section covers advanced applications relevant to the current certification. The basic perioperative echocardiography section includes new chapters on organizing education and training in perioperative echocardiography and on ultrasound for vascular access. The critical care section includes new chapters on assessment of the patient with endocarditis and using echo during resuscitation. The advanced applications in perioperative echocardiography section includes new chapters on epiaortic and epicardial imaging; endovascular management of thoracic vascular disease; transcutaneous management of valvular heart disease; and perioperative application of Strain and three-dimensional echocardiography. A companion website includes the fully searchable text and an image bank.
Perioperative Two-Dimensional Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Practical Handbook, 2e by
Perioperative Two-Dimensional Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Practical Handbook, 2e has been designed to be a concise, portable guide for using TEE to recognize cardiac pathology during the perioperative period. This compact guide has a diverse appeal for anaesthesiologists, cardiac surgeons and cardiologists desiring comprehensive up-to-date echocardiographic information at their fingertips.
A Practical Approach to Transesophageal Echocardiography, 4e by
With updated content and new expert contributors, A Practical Approach to Transesophageal Echocardiography, 4e is every clinician's go-to reference for TEE skill-building. The book is written concisely, so you can quickly digest and apply critical information in a real clinical setting. Numerous figures throughout each chapter and hundreds of video clips on the eBook paint an important visual picture, illuminating the textual explanations and instructions.
Transesophageal Echocardiography in Pediatric Congenital Cardiac Surgery and Catheter Intervention by
This book reviews the history and evolution of intraoperative transesophageal echocardiography (TEE) ;as applied in various paediatric congenital heart surgeries, catheter intervention procedures and hybrid surgeries. The development of the paediatric TEE is described, including safety and efficacy data in infants and neonates. Practical insights of the use of TEE in cardiac surgery and catheter intervention are highlighted through actual case presentations with images and illustrations. Topics covered include TEE monitoring from pre-procedural planning, real-time assist during the surgery, confirmation of the intended results, as well as identification of residual lesions that require further surgical correction. This book will be a valuable resource for practitioners working in the field of paediatric congenital heart diseases surgery and interventional procedures where TEE plays a vital role.
For a comprehensive list of videos, see: Transesophageal Echocardiography
Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia by
Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia brings together the clinical expertise of global leaders in the field in a comprehensive review of contemporary practice. Practical and well illustrated, Core Topics in Vascular Anaesthesia is essential reading for anaesthetists, intensive care physicians and vascular surgeons.
Vascular Anaesthesia (OSH in Anaesthesia) by
Providing a practical, current, evidence-based approach to all aspects of perioperative care for the patient with vascular disease, this title is an essential read for all vascular anaesthetists, anaesthetic nurses and all those involved in the care of vascular patients throughout the world.
Vascular Anesthesia Procedures by
Vascular Anesthesia Procedures will review the essential topics of the field from vascular anatomy to common vascular procedures, anaesthetic techniques in general and regional anaesthesia, complications, perioperative patient monitoring, and post-operative management. Chapters are concise, up-to-date, evidence-based, and richly illustrated throughout.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
