This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Day Care Anaesthesia.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anesthesia in Day Care Surgery by
This book features a collection of guidelines for anesthesia in day care surgery, covering all medical specialties that may look to venture into the ambulatory surgery domain. It provides various practical tips that can be used in day-to-day practice by anesthetists and surgeons alike, and covers various anesthetic protocols used by the stalwarts of the industry to illustrate the ideal techniques for anesthesia in day care surgery.
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room, 2e by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anaesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization and imaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.
Core Competencies for Adult Day Surgery by
This document, ‘Core Competencies for Adult Day Surgery’ is the first in a series of three to be published, the following two will address core competencies for paediatric day surgery and specialist competencies for day surgery. Each will set recommendations for a minimum standard necessary to maximise outcomes for patient safety and experience of their day surgery care, from the point of admission to discharge. The adult core competencies are pertinent to members of the day surgery team with no experience of or following a long absence from day surgery practice to develop or refresh their competencies for management of patients in this setting. The intention is for these criteria to be used as a reference for workbook competency documents, whether they are already in place or are in development. They apply irrespective of the hospital day surgery model of care and across both the public and private healthcare sectors. Competencies for preoperative assessment are not included as frameworks are available elsewhere
Manual of Office-Based Anesthesia Procedures by
This concise, easy-to-use manual presents the most current and safe anesthesia formulas, protocols, and guidelines for office-based surgical procedures. It offers guidance on how to set up and maintain a safe office-based anesthesia practice in line with standards of the American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, the American Society of Anesthesiologists, and the American Medical Association.
National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards: Guide for Day Procedure Services by
This guide relates to the second edition of the NSQHS Standards, released in November 2017. The key tasks, strategies, and use of examples of evidence and resources provided in this guide are not mandatory. Day procedure services can choose improvement strategies that are specific to their local context. These strategies should be meaningful, useful and relevant to the organisation’s governance, structure, workforce and consumers. Day procedure services that are part of a corporate group may need to refer to the implementation strategies recommended by the group’s governing body or management. This guide includes examples of the kind of evidence a day procedure service may use to show that it meets each of the actions required for the NSQHS Standards. It is not expected that day procedure services will have all the listed examples of evidence in place. Day procedure services vary in size and structure, and will have different ways of developing and presenting evidence.
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia by
The demand for anesthesiologists outside of the operating room continues to grow as the number of minimally invasive procedures proliferates and the complexity of diagnostic procedures undertaken outside of the OR increase. Non-Operating Room Anesthesia is an easy-to-access, highly visual reference that facilitates an in-depth understanding of NORA procedures and protocols needed to minimize risk and complications and to maximize growth opportunities. "In this book, Drs. Mark Weiss and Lee Fleisher have provided an important tool to address both the challenges and opportunities for anesthesiologists in providing non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) care."
Office-Based Maxillofacial Surgical Procedures: A Step-by-step Approach by
This book is a comprehensive, step-by-step guide to maxillofacial surgical procedures typically performed in an office setting. It comprises three sections, the first of which provides an overview of general and basic perioperative topics such as medical and facial assessment, laboratory indications, local anesthesia, and oral and parenteral sedation. In the second section, a wide range of dentoalveolar procedures are described in detail. The final section is devoted to maxillofacial cosmetic procedures. Here, readers will find stepwise guidance on scar revision, chemical peel, laser resurfacing, dermabrasion, use of neuromodulators and fillers, neck procedures, blepharoplasty, and hair transplant surgery. The book is written by acknowledged experts and is multi-institutional and multispecialty based. It will meet the needs of multiple surgical professionals, including oral and maxillofacial surgeons, plastic surgeons, otolaryngologists, cosmetic surgeons, dentists, and medical and dental students. Health care providers will also be able to use the book as a resource to expand their knowledge on common maxillofacial surgical procedures.
Office Based Anesthesia Complications: Prevention, Recognition and Management by
This text provides detailed methods to allow the surgeon and anesthetist to risk stratify patients as well as prevent, recognize and manage the most common anesthesia related complications in office-based settings.
Outpatient Hip and Knee Replacement: Implementation and Essential Techniques by
Outpatient surgery and early discharge is the hottest topic in hip and knee arthroplasty and will continue to be in the coming years: It is expected that over 50% of all hip and knee arthroplasties will be performed in the outpatient setting by 2026. Currently, a central text that encompasses all of the unique aspects of performing hip and knee arthroplasty in the outpatient setting does not exist. Furthermore, as surgeons across the US and abroad are incentivized and encouraged by government and commercial payors, as well as patients, to perform these surgical procedures in the outpatient setting, the educational material must be available to disseminate the unique perioperative and surgical strategies and techniques accordingly. This book is unique in that it will address all the essential elements and considerations to promote surgeon success in this endeavor and enhance patient safety through the transition of hip and knee arthroplasty into the outpatient setting, as well as how to implement such a program into practice. Topics discussed include patient selection, medical optimization and risk management, anesthetic surgical techniques, pain management protocols, and postoperative physical therapy. Later chapters cover practical issues surrounding outcome metrics, discharge criteria, minimizing patient readmissions, financial considerations, and additional implications for hospitals, ASCs and payers. Filling a glaring gap in the literature on this popular new topic, Outpatient Joint Replacement is an ideal resource for orthopedic surgeons, notably hip and knee specialists, as well as residents, fellows and supporting clinical staff.
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide by
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide is a one-stop resource offering practical guidance on performing a wide array of pain-relieving procedures using office-based ultrasound-guided techniques, fluoroscopy, and more. Concise and user-friendly, this easy-to-use guide helps physicians deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective care by demonstrating how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and provide effective pain relief.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care, 4e by
Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more.
Practical Ambulatory Anesthesia by
This combination of authoritative evidence-based guidance and personal advice ensures the reader benefits from the latest scientific knowledge and the authors' wealth of experience. Chapters discuss how to plan, equip and staff an ambulatory unit, pharmacology, key concepts of ambulatory care, pre- and post-operative issues, quality assurance, and current controversies.
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7e by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7e, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Day care anaesthesia
The Ambulatory Anesthesia and Perioperative Analgesia by
This comprehensive guide, from one of the country's top training centers, offers expert guidance on clinical procedures in anesthesia. Perfect as a training manual, clinical reference, and management guide for ambulatory clinics, this text features coverage of the essential topics of office and patient management, vital to success in ambulatory surgeries.
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room, 2e by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anaesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization and imaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.
Day Care Anaesthesia by
This book discusses the provision of anaesthesia for day case patients from the preoperative period until discharge and patient follow-up. Provides information on patient selection, management of pain and sickness, the recovery process and problems which may occur after surgery.
Day Surgery: Development and Practice by 
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
