The fellowship examination consists of a written and oral examination and is conducted annually, usually in September and November respectively.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & exams > Pain medicine training
Pain medicine training program assessment information
Exam preparation texts
Recommended general resources are listed below.
Key texts
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Recommended texts
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Classification of Chronic Pain: Descriptions of Chronic Pain Syndromes and Definitions of Pain Terms, 2e by 
Questions and Answers in Pain Medicine: A Guide to Board Exams by
This book provides a practical and comprehensive review of pain medicine in a clear and easy to apply question and answer format. Divided by topic, the book includes Q&As on Pain Basics, Psychology, Common Pain Syndromes, Medications, Pain Management in Special Populations and Interventional Pain. It is intended as a guide for residents and fellows and is written in such a manner to provide instantaneous feedback on correct answer choice and explanation for self-evaluation while preparing for written board examinations.
Learn@ANZCA
Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees and fellows.
Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.
ANZCA & FPM resources
Faculty of Pain Medicine: Training Handbook by 
By-law 4: Faculty of Pain Medicine Training program by 
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
