Library resource guides: Pain medicine training resources: Starting out

Guide index

Home Library > Library guides > Training & exams > Pain medicine training

Overview

Starting out

Conceptual basis of pain medicine

Journals & articles Essential Topic Areas (ETAs)

Roles in practice

Assessment

Courses

Books & e-books Books & journals

Podcasts & online lectures

Apps

Social networking & support

Post-training resources

Cultural safety

Latest updates

Course overview

Overview of the FPM pain medicine training pathway.

Faculty of Pain Medicine: Training Handbook by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.12 - December 2024
Pain Medicine Training Program Curriculum by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists The purpose of the curriculum is to define the required learning, teaching and assessment of the FPM training program.
Publication Date: December 2024
By-law 4: Faculty of Pain Medicine Training program by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v1.12 - December 2024
Faculty of Pain Medicine - ePortfolio User Guide for Trainees by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: December 2023
This document is designed to assist FPM trainees record and monitor their training via their training ePortfolio.

FPM trainee toolkit

Access all the resources, documents, and forms you need to meet your training requirements.

Pre-reading
As pain medicine is a relatively short training program, we've identified references for reading prior to commencing training.
Trainee guidance for preparation of the clinical case study
While preparing for the clinical case study, we encourage trainees to refer to the Trainee guidance for preparation of the clinical case study document.
Trainee courses
We hold two annual courses for FPM trainees. The Orientation to Pain Medicine course is held in Melbourne a few weeks into the training year and the Advanced Clinical Skills Course is held in Sydney, usually during the second quarter of the year.
Centralised trainee tutorial program
The Centralised Trainee Tutorial Program is held weekly from March to October on a Wednesday afternoon from 4.00 – 5.00 AEDT via zoom. Content is matched to learning outcomes in the curriculum and sessions are recorded and uploaded into the learning management system for revision.
Essential topic area (ETA) study guides
The essential topic areas study guides act as a starting point for each topic area and are used in conjunction with private study and discussion forums to help you build proficiency in an area.

Training e-Portfolio

The online portfolio system designed to record training experiences by and for trainees.

FPM Training My ePortfolio
FPM trainees maintain an ePortfolio of assessments and training records that track their progression through the FPM training program.

FPM ePortfolio video guides [Learn@ANZCA]
A series of ePortfolio video guides can be accessed as part of the FPM trainee support resources module.

Faculty of Pain Medicine Training Program - Training ePortfolio: Frequently asked questions by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Faculty of Pain Medicine - ePortfolio User Guide for Trainees by Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: December 2023
This document is designed to assist FPM trainees record and monitor their training via their training ePortfolio.

Acronyms

An updated list of common college and medical community acronyms.

Common college and medical community acronyms

Access/request anywhere

Enable access to ANZCA library journal article full-text anywhere on the web coupled with on-screen resource access prompts.

ANZCA: LibKey Nomad++ Library Guide
LibKey Nomad++ allows web users to easily access and read journal articles found anywhere on the web. It also allows for easy requesting of articles where there is no full-text access, and provides on screen messaging where access is available through a different site.

Learn@ANZCA

Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees.

Use the links below to access additional support resources contained on the Learn @ANZCA platform.

Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.

FPM Essential topic areas [Learn@ANZCA]
The essential topic areas study guides act as a starting point for each topic area and are used in conjunction with private study and discussion forums to help you build proficiency in an area.
FPM trainee support resources [Learn@ANZCA]
A collection of resources designed to assist pain medicine trainees from the start of their FPM training to become a pain medicine fellow.
FPM trainee tutorials [Learn@ANZCA]
This module contains recordings of key presentations from FPM conferences and events. These recordings cover a broad range of topics relevant to pain medicine.
Holistic approach to anaesthesia [Learn@ANZCA]
This course contains various videos and resources designed to assist Anaesthesia and FPM trainees navigate through their clinical and non clinical lives.

Additional resource support

A number of additional resource guides are available to support pain medicine trainees..

ANZCA: Pain Medicine Resources Hub
This hub has been designed for pain medicine fellows, trainees, and any medical professionals interested in resources for keeping up-to-date with current research in the area of pain medicine.
ANZCA: Pain Medicine Basics Library Guide
This guide has been designed to provide general information and a listing of core resources for pain medicine specialists, including those available through the ANZCA library
ANZCA: Drug Information Library Guide
The purpose of this guide is to assist you in locating relevant drug-related information and resources, as well as the tools and apps available through the ANZCA Library.
ANZCA: Safety & Advocacy Hub
This hub brings together resources related to safety, standards of practice - including anaesthetic incident reporting (webAIRS), critical incident debriefing, advocacy, and indigenous and global health, including those resources available through the ANZCA library.