Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & exams > Pain medicine training
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Key texts
Highly recommended resources are listed below.
Faculty of Pain Medicine: Training Handbook by 
Pain Medicine Training Program Curriculum by
The purpose of the curriculum is to define the required learning, teaching and assessment of the FPM training program.
By-law 4: Faculty of Pain Medicine Training program by 
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Classification of Chronic Pain: Descriptions of Chronic Pain Syndromes and Definitions of Pain Terms, 2e by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Recommended texts
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Clinical Pain Management: Cancer Pain, 2e by
Now divided into four parts, the second edition of Cancer Pain delivers broad coverage of the issues that arise in the management of malignancy-related pain, from basic science, through end of life care and associated ethical issues, to therapies, both medical and complementary.
Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM, 5e by
Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies.
The Health Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids by
Significant changes have taken place in the policy landscape surrounding cannabis legalization, production, and use. During the past 20 years, 25 states and the District of Columbia have legalized cannabis and/or cannabidiol (a component of cannabis) for medical conditions or retail sales at the state level and 4 states have legalized both the medical and recreational use of cannabis. These landmark changes in policy have impacted cannabis use patterns and perceived levels of risk. However, despite this changing landscape, evidence regarding the short- and long-term health effects of cannabis use remains elusive. While a myriad of studies have examined cannabis use in all its various forms, often these research conclusions are not appropriately synthesized, translated for, or communicated to policy makers, health care providers, state health officials, or other stakeholders who have been charged with influencing and enacting policies, procedures, and laws related to cannabis use. Unlike other controlled substances such as alcohol or tobacco, no accepted standards for safe use or appropriate dose are available to help guide individuals as they make choices regarding the issues of if, when, where, and how to use cannabis safely and, in regard to therapeutic uses, effectively. Shifting public sentiment, conflicting and impeded scientific research, and legislative battles have fueled the debate about what, if any, harms or benefits can be attributed to the use of cannabis or its derivatives, and this lack of aggregated knowledge has broad public health implications. The Health Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids provides a comprehensive review of scientific evidence related to the health effects and potential therapeutic benefits of cannabis. This report provides a research agenda "outlining gaps in current knowledge and opportunities for providing additional insight into these issues "that summarizes and prioritizes pressing research needs.
An Introduction to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Cultural Protocols and Perspectives by
This document provides a guide to appropriate and respectful behaviour with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It is intended to give RACGP members and staff background information and guidance on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives, along with an understanding of important protocols and other relevant cultural issues. It can be used to guide the RACGP’s overall engagement with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, communities and organisations in the improvement of their health and wellbeing.
Motivational Interviewing: Helping People Change, 3e by
This bestselling work for professionals and students is the authoritative presentation of motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. The book elucidates the four processes of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--and vividly demonstrates what they look like in action. A wealth of vignettes and interview examples illustrate the "dos and don'ts" of successful implementation in diverse contexts. Highly accessible, the book is infused with respect and compassion for clients.
Patient-centred care : improving quality and safety through partnerships with patients and consumers. by 
The Philosophy of Evidence-Based Medicine by
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) has become a required element of clinical practice, but it is critical for the healthcare community to understand the ongoing controversy surrounding EBM. Seeking to address questions raised by critics, The Philosophy of Evidence-based Medicine challenges the over dependency of EBM on randomized controlled trials.
Questions and Answers in Pain Medicine: A Guide to Board Exams by
This book provides a practical and comprehensive review of pain medicine in a clear and easy to apply question and answer format. Divided by topic, the book includes Q&As on Pain Basics, Psychology, Common Pain Syndromes, Medications, Pain Management in Special Populations and Interventional Pain. It is intended as a guide for residents and fellows and is written in such a manner to provide instantaneous feedback on correct answer choice and explanation for self-evaluation while preparing for written board examinations.
Visceral Pain: Clinical, Pathophysiological and Therapeutic Aspects by
Visceral pain, or pain in the internal organs, is often quite difficult for the clinician to recognize promptly as its characteristics are often atypical and vary with time. Patients with visceral pain also often present with concurrent painful conditions in more than one internal organ; this can give rise to an intricate complex of symptoms which can be misleading if not accurately evaluated.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
IASP pain refresher courses
Pain 2018: Refresher Courses, 17th World Congress on Pain by
Presented at the 17th World congress on Pain in Boston, Massachusetts, in September 2018, these papers represent the thinking of the world’s top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2016: Refresher Courses, 16th World Congress on Pain by
Pain 2016 Refresher Courses: 16th World Congress on Pain, was written by the instructors of the Refresher Courses offered in conjunction with the 16th World Congress on Pain, held September 26-30, 2016, in Yokohama, Japan. The publication incorporates the latest thinking on a diverse range of topics in pain research and treatment and is a valuable resource not only for those new to the pain field but also for those seeking to update their knowledge.
Pain 2014: Refresher Courses, 15th World Congress on Pain by
Every two years, the International Association for the Study of Pain publishes a compendium of benchmark papers that summarize the current status of pain research, treatment, and management throughout the world. Presented at the 15th World Congress on Pain in Buenos Aires in October 2014, these papers represent the thinking of the world's top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher Courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress of Pain by
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress on Pain, is based on IASP's refresher courses on pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (neuroimaging, genetics), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological, complementary/alternative), and disorders (neuropathic pain, headache, cancer pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, pediatric pain, abdominopelvic pain).
Pain 2010 - An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus by
Pain 2010 – An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus, based on sessions held at the 13th World Congress on Pain, 2010, in Montréal, covers pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (imaging, genetics, pain models), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological), disorders (cancer pain, neuropathic pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, abdominal/pelvic pain, back pain, paediatric pain), and drug development.
DSM Library texts
Texts available as part of the *online* DSM Library are listed below.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. Designed for teachers, students, and clinicians, this book presents a broad range of patient vignettes that cover the diagnostic waterfront.
DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Fully updated to reflect the recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), this handbook includes two newly developed diagnostic trees (for dissociative symptoms and repetitive pathological behaviours). This indispensable guide offers a rich selection of diagnostic lenses through which to consider symptomatic presentations, grounded in the latest research and standards of practice. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e: DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview by
DSM-5 Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI--and this unique handbook--is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes. Cultural psychiatry as a field has evolved enormously from the days when it was principally concerned with epidemiological and clinical studies of disease prevalence; it now examines a multitude of issues, primary among them the differing patient, family, and practitioner models of illness and treatment experiences within and across cultures. The editors, all of whom have been intimately involved in the evolution of the field, have designed the book and accompanying videos for maximum instructional and clinical utility.
Print books
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change, 30th Anniversary Ed by
This 30th anniversary edition of the timeless classic commemorates the wisdom of the 7 Habits with modern additions from Sean Covey. The 7 Habits have become famous and are integrated into everyday thinking by millions and millions of people. With Sean Covey's added takeaways on how the habits can be used in our modern age, the wisdom of the 7 Habits will be refreshed for a new generation of leaders. They include: Habit 1: Be Proactive Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind Habit 3: Put First Things First Habit 4: Think Win/Win Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood Habit 6: Synergize Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw.
Ace Your Medical Exams: Even When Everything is Stacked Against You by
"How often have you put off studying because you've had a long, tiring work shift, or you feel guilty at not spending enough time with your family? For many doctors, finding a study and testing program they can stick to is an almost impossible task. Most regimes ask too much, too often, and are invariably too hard. ACE YOUR MEDICAL EXAMS doesn't ask you to do the impossible. It introduces you to the psychological strategies and techniques designed to cultivate peak performance and personal growth. What good performers in any field have in common is an ability to quickly move past the negative emotion of a failure and learn from the experience.The book bridges the gap between research and practice by clearly illustrating essential concepts with case studies, anecdotes, and examples." -- Back cover.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Anesthesia, Pain Medicine, and Critical Care by
In anesthesiology, pain medicine, and critical care, practitioners at all levels need help to stay current with the continually evolving drug knowledge-base and trainees need tools to prepare for in-training and board exams that increasingly test their knowledge of pharmacology. This practical book is aimed at both readerships.
Headache & Pain by
Headache and other types of pain have some common characteristics concerning pain generation and chronicity. But some distinct pathophysiological processes are unique to the headache. This book explores pain mechanisms, diagnosis, and management of headache and other chronic pain through sessions of a joint symposium in 2012 in Hamburg, Germany, of IASP and the International Headache Society as part of the Global Year Against Headache. The goals of the meeting were to stimulate discussions about pain from different angles, establish potential cooperation and synergies between IASP and IHS, and most importantly, involve young scientists and help them build networks to advance their work. This book represents the current state of scientific discussions of the respective fields in both pain areas. It strictly follows the structure of the meeting#65533;s topics, which were chosen based similarity of research interest of both fields. More than 100 young scientists and clinicians from 22 countries participated, with speakers from both societies represented in all sessions.
Pharmacology of Pain by
Pharmacology of Pain provides a complete review of the pharmacology of pain, including mechanisms of drug actions, clinical aspects of drug usage, and new developments. This authoritative book describes the different systems involved in the perception, transmission, and modulation of pain and discusses the available options for pharmacological treatment of pain.
Study Less and Still Blitz Your Medical Exams by
Patsy Tremayne's earlier book "Ace Your Medical Exams" distilled her vast knowledge and experience, focusing on the outcome - passing the written and clinical examinations. And it does this well.
This new book by Patsy and Kell Tremayne enters this part of the fray, aimed at the medical environment, and explicitly for junior doctors. It is based on knowledge and experience and illustrated through case-based teaching.
Access anywhere
Learn more about how to access ANZCA full-text resources whilst searching the web.
It is possible to access ANZCA library full-text resources outside the library via such services as Google Scholar and by utilising browser extensions like LibKey that allow you to link to the full-text when a citation appears on a web site (ie: PubMed/Wikipedia).
Need help prepping for your exams? Try the Exam Preparation guide.
Want to test your knowledge/access BJA Education online exam content? Check out our Self-assessment Tools guide.
Looking for our key pain medicine-related e-books? See the the Pain medicine basics list
Journals
Recommended journals are listed below. For a complete list of key anaesthesia, pain medicine, intensive care medicine, emergency medicine and medical education journals, see the library Journals page.
Journal apps
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
