This section contains information about accessing e-books and print titles related to the Procedures in Pain Medicine Clinical Care Standard Quality Statements, which have been used as 'themes' in which to promote books available through the library to support understanding in these areas.
Please see the Navigation box for the numbered list of Quality Statement areas/themes for your reference.
Guide index
Library > Library guides> Training & exams > Procedures in pain medicine
QS 3: Safe and sufficient facilities
Error Reduction and Prevention in Surgical Pathology, 2e by
This book serves as a guide to pathologists to successfully avoid errors and deliver the best diagnosis possible with all relevant information needed to manage patients. The introductory section includes general principles and ideas that are necessary to understand the context of error reduction. In addition to general principles of error reduction and legal and regulatory responsibilities, a chapter on regulatory affairs and payment systems which increasingly may be impacted by error reduction and improvement activities was added.
Health system redesign : how to make health care person-centered, equitable, and sustainabl by
This forward-looking volume challenges professionals and interested lay readers to reconsider our ways of looking at health and wellness, illness and disease, and the goals of health/healthcare systems. Reframing health systems as complex adaptive systems, the book identifies health care as a central aspect of social care and security for all people, particularly the most vulnerable. From there, the author outlines necessary organizational, design, medical, and community steps toward building health systems that view and practice health care as a human right and can produce optimum care in the long term. And extensive illustrations display effective collaborative problem solving within these systems, in both intriguing theoretical models and the real world. Highlights of the coverage: · Systems and complexity thinking in health and health care · & am p;nb sp; Redesign based on "first principles" · Redesign from an organizational perspective · Working together effectively and efficiently to achieve a common purpose · Analyzing "the workings" of health systems as complex adaptive systems · Person-centered, equitable, and sustainable health systems: achieving the goal Health System Redesign brings a voice and a vision to the most pressing problems in healthcare service delivery, and offers new goals and purpose to health policymakers, health financiers, organizational leaders, clinicians, and concerned members of the local community.
Neurointensive Care: A Clinical Guide to Patient Safety by
This book provides guidance for physicians confronted with acute neurological crises in the context of patient safety centred practice standards. It highlights how the implementation of patient safety standards in the neurointensive care unit leads to better clinical outcomes and emphasizes the importance of utilizing appropriate resources, ensuring evidence-based practice is followed.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
Safer Healthcare: Strategies for the Real World by
The authors of this book set out a system of safety strategies and interventions for managing patient safety on a day-to-day basis and improving safety over the long term. These strategies are applicable at all levels of the healthcare system from the frontline to the regulation and governance of the system.
Surgical Patient Care: Improving Safety, Quality, and Value by
This book focuses exclusively on the surgical patient and on the perioperative environment with its unique socio-technical and cultural issues. It covers preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative processes and decision making and explores both sharp-end and latent factors contributing to harm and poor quality outcomes.
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e by
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e is the essential book for anyone seeking to learn the core clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. Written in an engaging and accessible style by one of the world's leading authorities on patient safety and quality, this full-color text is filled with valuable cases and analyses, as well as table, graphics, references, and tools.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
