This page contains information about accessing eBooks and print titles related to cancer pain management, as well as displaying a selection of books available through the ANZCA Library on this topic area.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Acute Side Effects of Radiation Therapy: A Guide to Management by
This book provides clear guidance on how to manage a wide range of side effects frequently encountered when treating patients with radiation therapy. For each potential side effect, incidence, mechanism, symptoms, and grading are carefully described. All aspects of management are addressed, drawing on the latest available evidence and highlighting key details of importance in clinical routine. The introduction of new radiation therapy techniques such as 3D conformal radiation therapy, intensity-modulated radiation therapy, and image-guided radiation therapy has reduced normal tissue doses and, accordingly, treatment complications. Nevertheless, a significant percentage of patients still experience acute side effects, in part because the threshold doses for these toxicities are typically lower than those for late effects. Acute toxicities may lead to interruption of treatment and be associated with an increase in late damage. A swift and effective response is therefore essential. This book will enable the reader to provide effective care for each side effect, thereby improving patient compliance with treatment and treatment outcomes
Cancer Pain by
Cancer Pain provides a comprehensive, practical guide to the management of pain in cancer patients. Beginning with a discussion of current issues in the control of cancer pain, the initial chapters provide a clear, concise explanation of cancer pain syndromes, an up-to-date understanding of the pathophysiological mechanism and recent developments in creating pre-clinical cancer pain models. The book offers the reader the wide and improved options for management of cancer pain in clinical practice including the use of opioid and non-opioid drugs and the role of non-pharmacological methods in pain control. Subsequent chapters address particular challenges in pain control, such as breakthrough pain, neuropathic cancer pain, as well as pain associated with cancer treatment which, until recently, has not been fully appreciated. Recent issues relating to new adverse side effects to chronic opioid medications such as hyperalgesia and neurotoxicity are explained, and best practice to reduce oravoid them is stated. The book also aims to aid in the overall educational need for young doctors as well as established primary care physicians by highlighting the available tools and the importance of early pain interventions in the overall cancer treatment strategy.
Cancer-Related Bone Pain (OPML) by
Part of the Oxford Pain Management Library, this volume summarises the latest evidence-based and practical information on the management of cancer-related bone pain. Chapters cover the pathophysiology and clinical features of bone pain, general principles of management, and the use of opioids.
Cancer-Related Breakthrough Pain, 3e (OPML) by
This volume contains chapters detailing strategies for the assessment, management, and treatment of breakthrough pain. The use of opioids for the treatment of breakthrough pain is thoroughly explored, with material covering oral, nasal, and other routes for opioid administration. Furthermore, the book includes chapters on non-opioid pharmacological treatments, as well as non-pharmacological interventions.
Cancer Neurology in Clinical Practice: Neurological Complications of Cancer and its Treatment by
This updated edition provides clinicians from various backgrounds and levels of training the information needed to optimally diagnose and manage neurologic complications of the nervous system. Organized into seven sections, this comprehensive volume begins with an overview of diagnostic studies for neurologic complications involving the nervous system. That is followed by sections on metastatic and non-metastatic complications of cancer involving the nervous system, and the interpretation, diagnosis, and management of common neuro-oncologic symptoms. The next section reviews the neurologic complications of cancer therapy, including corticosteroids, radiation therapy, chemotherapy, targeted molecular therapies, immunotherapies, hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, and infections involving the nervous system. The final section focuses on the most important neurologic complications in cancers arising from specific organs.
Cancer Pain: Assessment and Management, 2e [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Drs Eduardo D. Bruera and Russell K. Portenoy have completely revised and updated the widely respected Cancer Pain: Assessment and Management for the second edition of this unanimously praised book. This is a comprehensive, clinically oriented review of all aspects of the complex and multidimensional problem of cancer pain. The unique characteristics of cancer pain, including pathophysiology, clinical assessment, diagnosis, and pharmacological and nonpharmacological management are all discussed here in detail. Internationally recognized leaders in cancer pain research have contributed to many new chapters, including neuraxial analgesia, hospice and institution-based palliative care programs, bone pain, and cancer pain and palliative care in the developing world. Cancer Pain continues to be a scholarly but accessible text that is an essential resource for physicians, nurses, and medical students who treat suffering from cancer pain.
Cancer Pain: From Molecules to Suffering by
An in-depth analysis of basic and clinical research on cancer pain, Cancer Pain: From Molecules to Suffering describes underlying mechanisms of cancer pain and reviews opioid treatment issues, including tolerance. This comprehensive new volume discusses current drug trials and research, clinical trial designs, common reactions including inflammation and hyperalgesia, the psychology of cancer pain, and disparities in the availability of cancer care worldwide. Who should buy this book? Cancer Pain: From Molecules to Suffering is essential reading for: Clinicians, including physicians, nurses, physical therapists, and psychologists Cancer researchers interested in studying the mechanisms and psychology of pain, as well as clinical drug trials Global health care professionals who experience disparities in cancer treatment Medical students who want to improve their skills in cancer pain assessment and management
Cannabis and Cannabinoid-Based Medicines in Cancer Care: A Comprehensive Guide to Medical Management by
This textbook aims to address the multiple challenges facing healthcare providers regarding the use of CBM in this vulnerable patient population. It provides insight into the latest preclinical and clinical data and offers a practical approach on the use of CBM in a rapidly evolving landscape. It answers questions regarding the prescribing process and elucidates controversies regarding cannabis' disease-modifying effects.
Caring for Patients Across the Cancer Care Continuum: Essentials for Primary Care by
This book serves to educate and train primary care clinicians to provide high quality care to patients across the cancer care continuum. This guide is divided into six main chapters that follow the trajectory of cancer care: prevention, screening, diagnosis, treatment, survivorship care, and palliative/end-of-life care.
Clinical Pain Management: Cancer Pain, 2e by
Now divided into four parts, the second edition of Cancer Pain delivers broad coverage of the issues that arise in the management of malignancy-related pain, from basic science, through end of life care and associated ethical issues, to therapies, both medical and complementary.
Essentials of Interventional Cancer Pain Management by
This text provides a comprehensive review and expertise on various interventional cancer pain procedures. The first part of the text addresses the lack of consistency seen in the literature regarding interventional treatment options for specific cancer pain syndromes. Initially, it discusses primary cancer and treatment-related cancer pain syndromes that physicians may encounter when managing cancer patients. The implementation of paradigms that can be used in treating specific groups of cancer such as breast cancer, follows. The remainder of the text delves into a more common approach to addressing interventional cancer pain medicine. journey. Written by experts in the field, and packed with copious tables, figures, and flow charts, this book is a must-have for pain physicians, residents, and fellows.
Features and Management of the Pelvic Cancer Pain by
This book focuses on the features of pelvic pain in the different cancer diseases, the pain assessment tools, as well as the pharmacological and non-pharmacological approaches. Pelvic cancer pain is a common and debilitating symptom, and pain control is a one among the main therapeutic goals throughout the duration of the disease. Because pelvic cancer pain due to primitive cancer, recurrence or metastasis is a complex clinical pathology, no single technique is often guaranteed to produce a complete pain relief. Thus, there are many treatment options, but in most cases a correct approach to pain control should be provided by a multidisciplinary team under the responsibility of a pain specialist coordinating several professionals.
The Pain of Cancer by
'The Pain of Cancer' should be an essential read for all doctors and nurses in frontline medicine who will day to day be faced with patients having complex pain problems related to cancer. Armed with the concepts and theory of pain management, embellished by real life practical examples contained within this book they will have increased confidence to provide effective pain management. Most importantly patients facing the despair of pain associated with cancer will have access to effective pain control.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty.
Supportive Cancer Care by
This textbook provides a highly coordinated, interdisciplinary model for future clinical cancer supportive care programs in National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Clinical and Comprehensive Cancer Centers and NCI Community Oncology Research Programs (NCORPs). At the same time, it is intended to serve as an up-to-date resource for oncologists and primary care providers that addresses the many aspects of supportive care associated with cancer survivorship. Accordingly, the book covers a wide range of areas and topics, including but not limited to patient navigation, psychosocial oncology, patient and family education, lifestyle change counseling, palliative care, symptom management (eg. Pain control), cancer risk and genetic counseling, and financial planning.
Symptom Management in Advanced Cancer, 4e by
This new edition provides practical and up-to-date information and advice on the symptoms that professionals in cancer care encounter, and details the framework of knowledge enabling the clinician to develop a scientific approach to managing symptoms.
Textbook of Onco-Anesthesiology by
This book covers all essential evidence on perioperative care and anaesthetic concerns for cancer surgeries, including the evaluation and assessment of patients' schedule for cancer surgeries, perioperative anaesthetic management of various cancers, perioperative analgesia for cancer surgeries, and issues related to inoperable cancers. It reviews anaesthetic considerations of all cancer types as there is a wide variation in anaesthetic requirements in this subset of patients.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Cancer pain
A Clinician's Guide to Integrative Oncology: What You Should Be Talking About with Cancer Patients and Why by
This book is the definitive guide for oncologists, general medical practitioners and other healthcare professionals with an interest in integrative oncology. Guiding you on how to conduct the "ultimate consultation" from an integrative medicine perspective, this text is a valuable educational tool, presenting the latest evidence-based approaches to managing the cancer patient, as well as anecdotes and practical recommendations from Dr. Sali's decades of clinical experience as a leading expert in integrative oncology.
Landmark Trials in Oncology by
This book describes the evolution of treatment in oncology through the lens of approximately 250 landmark clinical trials. The well-designed clinical trial is essential to the practice of medicine. There is no field that has embraced or been transformed more by the clinical trial than oncology. Each primary cancer site has a remarkable story that can be told through clinical trials.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 3e by
Authoritative, hands-on desk reference for the practicing oncologist--from the leader in the field of cancer management and treatment The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology details the personalized multidisciplinary approach to cancer management and treatment of common and rare cancers pioneered by The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Its pragmatic presentation can provide valuable insights at any stage of your career. This completely updated third edition reflects the most recent advancements, including expanded coverage of the rapidly evolving area of biological and immune therapies of cancer, many developed at MD Anderson. It emphasizes and discusses continuing developments in diagnostic procedures, which include the incorporation of new molecular markers and revised staging systems. It also reinforces how imaging and molecular profiling can prevent administration of overly aggressive, toxic treatment regimens or invasive surgery to treat superficial or indolent tumors. To help you quickly assess cancer management options, every chapter includes numerous tables, diagrams, imaging photographs, and prescriptive advice. Evidence-based treatment algorithms in the form of flowcharts and diagrams shaped by the clinical experience of MD Anderson''s world-class faculty enhance the text.
Oncologic Emergency Medicine: Principles and Practice by
This is the first comprehensive clinical reference on cancer emergencies. Recognizing the multiple, overlapping contexts in which emergency care of cancer patients occurs, the book addresses clinically crucial interdisciplinary topics such as the ethics of ED cancer care, the interface with palliative social work, substance abuse, and more. Finally, perspective on care system and social forces that shape ED cancer care, such as cancer care disparities and care models, and on how ED cancer care is delivered outside of the United States, frame the book as a whole. Against the backdrop of rising numbers of cancer patients and survivors as the United States population ages and a forecast shortage of oncologists, this book is designed to serve as the authoritative, single-source clinical reference on cancer emergencies. The intended audience includes emergency physicians, oncologists, internists, family physicians, emergency nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, policy makers as well as pre- and postgraduate trainees.
Problem Based Learning Discussions in Onco-Anesthesia and Onco-Critical Care by
The book provides an insight into relevant anatomy, epidemiology, chemotherapeutic agents used in specific cancers and adverse effects, preoperative assessment and optimization, perioperative challenges specific to the procedure, fluid management, anesthetic techniques perioperative pain management options, post-operative complications and management of oncosurgical cases in detail. It provides information regarding management of oncological emergencies such as tumour lysis syndrome, acute stridor, SVC syndrome, malignant spinal cord compression, febrile neutropenia. It includes some cases for palliative/diagnostic procedures, such as, PTBD, portal vein embolization, ERCP and stenting. It covers the pre-anesthetic examination relevant to a particular case that helps in planning the anesthetic technique, such as, head and neck cancer history of drooling of saliva, breathlessness, change in the voice, inability to lie supine. Additionally, the book discusses certain controversial topics of interest such as TIVA vs inhalational in oncosurgeries, restrictive vs liberal blood transfusion, liberal vs restrictive vs goal directed fluid therapy, perioperative blood transfusion and cancer.
Surgical Oncology Manual, 2e by
In 2011, the General Surgical Oncology Fellowship Program at the University of Toronto sought to develop a practical approach to common oncology problems faced by general surgeons. This effort culminated in the publication by the program of the Surgical Oncology Manual in March, 2012. The Manual provides a succinct review of surgical oncology with a summary of key evidence in the work-up, treatment, and follow-up for each cancer site. A clear, concise format has proven invaluable to the intended audience:& surgical oncology fellows, practicing general surgeons, and general surgery residents. In addition, each chapter contains a section of "Pearls", derived from the wide breadth of experience, skills, and abilities of the contributors.
Tata Memorial Center Textbook of Oncology by
The Tata Memorial Centre Textbook of Oncology is an authoritative and comprehensive book, meticulously compiled to cover contemporary issues in oncology. It features contributions from 189 authors, culminating in 76 chapters. Authored by faculty members from the renowned Tata Memorial Centre, this textbook offers a harmonious blend of detailed information and practical approaches. It serves as a comprehensive resource that contextualizes the practice of oncology in TMC and offers insights into delivering high-quality cancer care in diverse settings. It offers an authentic overview of the TMC approach to multidisciplinary cancer care. The Textbook is designed to cater to a wide array of readers - from undergraduate medical students to postgraduates specializing in general surgery, general medicine, pediatrics, gynecology, radiation oncology, and other disciplines, and practicing community oncologists.
Chemotherapy in Neonates and Infants: Pharmacological Oncology for Children Under 1 Year Old by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of pediatric oncology, discussing drug therapy and treatment in children under the age of 1 year. It is the first volume to focus on chemotherapy in newborns and infants, especially the daily clinical practice and treatment protocols.
Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology: A Pocket Guide by
This book is intended to offer guidelines about drug interactions for physicians, pharmacists and the other healthcare professionals involved in the chemotherapy of pediatric patients. In this book the reader will have access to a primary introduction for the major diseases in pediatric oncology, followed by the major therapeutic protocols.
Pediatric and Adolescent Oncofertility: Best Practices and Emerging Technologies by
Reflecting the increasing interest in fertility management for pediatric and adolescent patients and fulfilling an urgent need to have a comprehensive guide to the management of these individuals, this is the first book of its kind to present a comprehensive discussion of pediatric and adolescent oncofertility.
Advances in Cancer Survivorship Management by
This volume presents the MD Anderson experience in providing care and services to the rapidly growing population of cancer survivors, which is currently estimated to be 12 million in the United States and more than 25 million worldwide. This book aims to assist community oncologists, physicians, and their staff, who care for the vast majority of cancer survivors, by disseminating models of surveillance for disease recurrence, screening for second primary cancers, education regarding potential late effects of treatment, and psychosocial counselling.
Caring for Patients Across the Cancer Care Continuum: Essentials for Primary Care by
This book serves to educate and train primary care clinicians to provide high quality care to patients across the cancer care continuum. This guide is divided into six main chapters that follow the trajectory of cancer care: prevention, screening, diagnosis, treatment, survivorship care, and palliative/end-of-life care.
Opioids in Cancer Pain, 1e (OPML) by
Opioids in Cancer Pain outlines the opioids available for the management of cancer pain, examining the evidence for their use, discussing how they are best used and outlining the side effects.
IASP pain refresher courses
Pain 2018: Refresher Courses, 17th World Congress on Pain by
Presented at the 17th World congress on Pain in Boston, Massachusetts, in September 2018, these papers represent the thinking of the world’s top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2016: Refresher Courses, 16th World Congress on Pain by
Pain 2016 Refresher Courses: 16th World Congress on Pain, was written by the instructors of the Refresher Courses offered in conjunction with the 16th World Congress on Pain, held September 26-30, 2016, in Yokohama, Japan. The publication incorporates the latest thinking on a diverse range of topics in pain research and treatment and is a valuable resource not only for those new to the pain field but also for those seeking to update their knowledge.
Pain 2014: Refresher Courses, 15th World Congress on Pain by
Every two years, the International Association for the Study of Pain publishes a compendium of benchmark papers that summarize the current status of pain research, treatment, and management throughout the world. Presented at the 15th World Congress on Pain in Buenos Aires in October 2014, these papers represent the thinking of the world's top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher Courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress of Pain by
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress on Pain, is based on IASP's refresher courses on pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (neuroimaging, genetics), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological, complementary/alternative), and disorders (neuropathic pain, headache, cancer pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, pediatric pain, abdominopelvic pain).
Pain 2010 - An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus by
Pain 2010 – An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus, based on sessions held at the 13th World Congress on Pain, 2010, in Montréal, covers pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (imaging, genetics, pain models), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological), disorders (cancer pain, neuropathic pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, abdominal/pelvic pain, back pain, paediatric pain), and drug development.
Advances in Radiation Oncology in Lung Cancer by
This is the third, completely updated edition of a comprehensive book in which many of the world's leading lung cancer specialists discuss the recent advances in the radiation oncology of lung cancer and reflect on the latest research findings in lung cancer and other intrathoracic malignancies. Lung cancer remains the major cancer killer in both sexes worldwide. It is so despite significant progress in recent decades in both diagnostic and treatment approaches. New biological and technological advances in this field are now faster incorporated in the overall decision-making process and are bringing fast and substantial improvements in both survivals and quality of life of lung cancer patients. Optimized patient-oriented approaches are reality of the third decade of this millennium and thoracic oncologists strive towards nothing but seamlessly delivering it in a continuous battle with lung cancer.
Bone Metastases from Prostate Cancer: Biology, Diagnosis and Management by
This book presents up-to-date information on one of the hottest topics in prostate cancer, namely bone metastases. The most recent developments with respect to biology, pathology, diagnosis, and treatment are described, providing readers with an excellent understanding of the mechanisms of metastasis formation, the characteristics of metastases, their aggressiveness, and prognostic factors for treatment response.
Breast Cancer Management for Surgeons: A European Multidisciplinary Textbook by
This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the state of the art knowledge of breast cancer management for the modern breast surgeon. It covers all aspects of multidisciplinary care including primary breast and axillary surgery, reconstruction and oncoplastic techniques, external beam radiotherapy and newer techniques such as tomotherapy, intraoperative radiotherapy and brachytherapy. In addition, systemic therapies including chemotherapy, the latest biological targeted therapies and endocrine therapies are covered. Readers can find out about other important aspects of breast cancer such as genetics, screening, imaging and long-term health among others.
Esophageal Cancer: Diagnosis and Treatment by
This book provides comprehensive and practical guidance for the management of esophageal cancer. It presents a detailed review of the pathophysiology, clinical staging, treatment, and outcomes of patients with esophageal cancer. Chapters cover the epidemiology of the disease, latest diagnostic and staging tools, systemic therapies, and the current open and minimally invasive surgical techniques including transhiatal, Ivor Lewis and McKeown esophagectomy. Esophageal Cancer: Diagnosis and Treatment compiles experience gained across a variety of medical disciplines, with contributions from world renowned surgeons, gastroenterologists, and medical oncologists. Thanks to its multidisciplinary authorship, this book represents a unique resource for anybody who takes care of patients with esophageal cancer.
Pancreatic Cancer by
Pancreatic cancer is a challenging and complex disease characterized by a dense fibrotic stroma and an immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment. Until recently, there were no predictive biomarkers to personalize selection of targeted or biologic therapies as a part of standard of care treatment. Moreover, the regulatory immune population of cells creates a “cold”, non-immunogenic tumor that is resistant to immunotherapies including checkpoint inhibitors. However, in the last few years, there has been substantial progress in our understanding of the role mutations in the pathogenesis of disease leading to increased adoption of germline and next generation sequencing to identify mutations and fusions to optimize selection of therapies and select patients for clinical trials of targeted agents.
This book provides a comprehensive, global overview on therapy for pancreatic cancer, exploring approved therapies and focusing on the “Next” in drug development including molecularly targeted therapy and efforts at “Drugging the Undruggable”: the KRAS mutation.
Pediatric CNS Tumors by
Pediatric CNS Tumors is a detailed review of childhood brain tumors that offers a biologically based perspective on their management. For each tumor type, epidemiology, pathological features, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment are discussed. Particular emphasis is placed on the provision of treatment algorithms that reflect current best practice, and controversies and therapeutic agents under development are also addressed. The closing chapters consider many of the diagnostic and treatment modalities common to all tumors, with special attention to experimental and emerging techniques. This third edition of the book has been thoroughly revised and updated to take into account the latest advances in knowledge and treatment.
Skin Tumors and Reactions to Cancer Therapy in Children by
This book familiarizes clinicians with the range of oncologic issues that pediatric dermatologists encounter, including the diagnosis and management of various skin tumors, cutaneous reactions to cancer therapies, and both acute and long term complications of cancer therapy. Written and edited by experts in the field, Pediatric Skin Tumors and Cutaneous Reactions to Cancer Therapy explores these important topics, beginning with the discussion of various skin tumors, and associated genetic syndromes, followed by chapters on acute cutaneous reactions to traditional and targeted cancer therapies, graft versus host disease, and opportunistic skin infections. This book concludes with the discussion of both malignant and nonmalignant late effects of the skin in childhood cancer survivors.
Toxicities of Radiation Treatment for Breast Cancer: Risks and Management Strategies by
This book is a comprehensive guide to breast toxicity. Here, authors have collected recent data focused on toxicity of treatment that provide an opportunity for improving this optimization. Chapters cover both acute and late toxicity of radiation for breast cancer, including tailored risk assessment for each of these potential toxicities, considerations for including risk of toxicity in management decisions, and toxicity management strategies.
Management of Breast Cancer in Older Women by
This book offers evidence-based clinical knowledge of older patients suffering from breast cancer. It details the full armament of therapeutic options as well as the epidemiology of the disease and specific psychosocial considerations for elderly patients.
Pain in Older People (OPML) by
Pain in older people is both common and disabling, and differs significantly in terms of its aetiology, diagnosis and treatment from pain in the general adult population. This online resource is a concise companion for anyone managing older patients suffering with pain and covers areas such as depression, pain and addiction and assessment.
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
"The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich new full-color design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine. Hazzards's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition is logically divided into five parts: Principles of Gerontology, Principles of Geriatrics, Geriatric Syndromes, Principles of Palliative Medicine, and Organ Systems and Diseases. Within its pages, you will find balanced, authoritative coverage of every essential topic - from evaluation and management to nutrition and palliative medicine"--Publisher's description.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Clinical Pain Management: Practice and Procedures, 2e by
Largely reorganised and much expanded in this second edition, Practice and Procedures brings together in a single volume general methods of pain assessment and presents the wide range of therapies that can be provided by a range of health care disciplines.
Fundamentals of Cancer Pain Management by
This book presents a timely and multidisciplinary update on the modalities currently available for treating the most feared symptom of patients diagnosed with cancer. The various cancer pain syndromes are explored in detail, covering those related directly to malignancy and those due to the after-effects of cancer therapy. Treatment modalities, including pharmacologic approaches, interventional procedures, and palliative surgical options, are discussed clearly and concisely, with provision of recommendations for the practitioner.
Oxford Handbook of Pain Management by
The Oxford Handbook of Pain Management is the essential resource for all clinicians involved in the management of pain. Organised into sections dealing with basic principles of treatment, therapeutic interventions, including non-medical management of pain, and specific clinical situations, the Handbook emphasises the multimodal treatment options available for patients with pain conditions and brings them together to provide a truly biopsychosocial approach to management.
Pain Management and Palliative Care: A Comprehensive Guide by
This comprehensive book covers the knowledge needed to diagnosis and treat patients with acute and chronic pain. Sections dedicated to patient evaluation, medication management, treating patients with more complex circumstances and interventional management provide clinically-relevant information on an array of topics relevant to both the generalist and specialist.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
Palliative Care in Pediatric Oncology by
This textbook is the first to focus on comprehensive interdisciplinary care approaches aimed at enhancing the wellbeing of children with cancer and their families throughout the illness experience. Among the topics addressed are the epidemiology of pediatric cancer distress, including physical, emotional, social, and spiritual dimensions; the role of the interdisciplinary team; communication and advance care planning; symptom prevention and management; care at the end of life; family bereavement care; and approaches to ease clinician distress. The contributing authors are true experts and provide guidance based on the highest available level of evidence in the field. The book has not only an interdisciplinary but also an international perspective; it will appeal globally to all clinicians caring for children with cancer, including physicians, nurses, psychosocial clinicians, and chaplains, among others.
Pain Management and Palliative Care: A Comprehensive Guide by
This comprehensive book covers the knowledge needed to diagnosis and treat patients with acute and chronic pain. Sections dedicated to patient evaluation, medication management, treating patients with more complex circumstances and interventional management provide clinically-relevant information on an array of topics relevant to both the generalist and specialist.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
