This guide has been designed for anaesthetists, pain medicine specialists, and medical professionals interested in locating relevant resources on medicinal cannabis, including those available through the ANZCA library. This guide is intended to provide a starting point for medical professionals interested in the topic, not to promote or advocate the use of medicinal cannabis.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Chapter 4.11 concerns cannabis, cannabinoids, and cannabimimetics, their pharmocology, efficacy, adverse effects, and general considerations.
Cannabinoids by
Less than 20 years ago the ?eld of cannabis and the cannabinoids was still c- sidered a minor, somewhat quaint, area of research. A few groups were active in the ?eld, but it was already being viewed as stagnating. The chemistry of cannabis 9 9 was well known, ? -tetrahydrocannabinol (? -THC), identi?ed in 1964, being the only major psychoactive constituent and cannabidiol, which is not psychoactive, possibly contributing to some of the effects. These cannabinoids and several s- thetic analogs had been thoroughly investigated for their pharmacological effects. Their mode of action was considered to be non-speci?c. The reasons for this - sumption were both technical and conceptual. On the technical side, it had been shown that THC was active in both enantiomeric forms (though with a different level of potency) and this observation was incompatible with action on biological substrates--a receptor, an enzyme, an ion channel--which react with a single stereoisomer only. The conceptual problem related to THC activity. This had been pointed out by several highly regarded research groups that had shown that many of the effects seen with cannabinoids were related to those of biologically active lipophiles, and that many of the effects of THC, particularly chronic ones, were comparable to those seen with anaesthetics and solvents.
Cannabinoids and Pain by
This book presents a well-balanced view of the potential medical use of cannabinoids in pain. It comprehensively covers the current challenges with medical cannabis utilization and provides recommendations for research and future directions. Thoroughly and equitably composed, Cannabinoids and Pain is an invaluable resource for primary care physicians, pain and palliative care physicians, and oncologists.
Cannabis and Cannabinoid-Based Medicines in Cancer Care: A Comprehensive Guide to Medical Management by
This textbook aims to address the multiple challenges facing healthcare providers regarding the use of CBM in this vulnerable patient population. It provides insight into the latest preclinical and clinical data and offers a practical approach on the use of CBM in a rapidly evolving landscape. It answers questions regarding the prescribing process and elucidates controversies regarding cannabis' disease-modifying effects.
Cannabis in Medicine: An Evidence Based Approach by
Legalization of marijuana is becoming increasingly prominent in the United States and around the world. While there is some discussion of the relationship between marijuana and overall health, a comprehensive resource that outlines the medical literature for several organ systems, as well as non-medical societal effects, has yet to be seen. While all physicians strive to practice evidence-based medicine, many clinicians aren't aware of the facts surrounding cannabis and are guided by public opinion
Cannabis Use and Dependence: Public Health and Public Policy by
Exploring the relationship between health policy, public health and the law regarding the controversial use of cannabis, this study assesses the impact of illegality in drug use and compares it with the policies of the U.S., Europe and Australia as well as other developed societies.
Cannabis Use Disorders by
This book is an unbiased scientific compendium documenting the state-of-the-art in the etiology, diagnosis and treatment of Cannabis Use Disorders (CUD). Unlike any other current medical text, this volume focuses on the scientific aspects of CUDs and provides a resource for researchers, physicians and other health care providers who treat patients suffering from the disorder or its consequences.
Cannabis Use in Medicine: A Concise Handbook by
This book examines the effectiveness of a unique area of patient care, cannabis use in medicine. While many American states have legalized medical marijuana, the FDA still has not approved it as a treatment due to a lack of studies to prove its validity. Countries such as Canada and Uruguay, on the other hand, have legalized cannabis.
Controlled Substance Management in Chronic Pain: A Balanced Approach by
This comprehensive guide covers prescribing controlled substances for patients with acute or chronic pain and provides a balanced discussion on appropriate treatment, addiction, safety and complications.
The Health Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids by
Significant changes have taken place in the policy landscape surrounding cannabis legalization, production, and use. During the past 20 years, 25 states and the District of Columbia have legalized cannabis and/or cannabidiol (a component of cannabis) for medical conditions or retail sales at the state level and 4 states have legalized both the medical and recreational use of cannabis. These landmark changes in policy have impacted cannabis use patterns and perceived levels of risk. However, despite this changing landscape, evidence regarding the short- and long-term health effects of cannabis use remains elusive. While a myriad of studies have examined cannabis use in all its various forms, often these research conclusions are not appropriately synthesized, translated for, or communicated to policy makers, health care providers, state health officials, or other stakeholders who have been charged with influencing and enacting policies, procedures, and laws related to cannabis use. Unlike other controlled substances such as alcohol or tobacco, no accepted standards for safe use or appropriate dose are available to help guide individuals as they make choices regarding the issues of if, when, where, and how to use cannabis safely and, in regard to therapeutic uses, effectively. Shifting public sentiment, conflicting and impeded scientific research, and legislative battles have fueled the debate about what, if any, harms or benefits can be attributed to the use of cannabis or its derivatives, and this lack of aggregated knowledge has broad public health implications. The Health Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids provides a comprehensive review of scientific evidence related to the health effects and potential therapeutic benefits of cannabis. This report provides a research agenda "outlining gaps in current knowledge and opportunities for providing additional insight into these issues "that summarizes and prioritizes pressing research needs.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Medicinal cannabis
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
