This guide contains resources intended to support and assist those entering the pain medicine training program to gain the essential knowledge required. They are not intended to be exclusive, rather to stimulate interest and encourage learning.
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Articles and publications
ANZCA & FPM resources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification
Pain Management: Practical Applications of the Biopsychosocial Perspective in Clinical and Occupational Settings by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It deals specifically with the management of potentially chronic l pain, how to assess patients with pain, the factors involved in the development of chronic pain and the setting up and running of a pain management programme. The main focus is on musculoskeletal and fibromyalgic type pain. Cancer pain is not addressed. The authors address not only what is recommended in the management of pain but also whether and why it is done, thereby covering not only the content of interdisciplinary pain management but also the processes involved. Provides extensive background material and covers broad issues which other books lack Focuses on not only what is done with the management of pain but whether and why it is done Includes the nuts and bolts of setting up and running a pain management programme Addresses the application of pain management programmes in a wide range of fields Has a multidisciplinary approach and therefore appeals to a multidisciplinary market Two new co-authors: Kay Greasley and Bengt Sjolund. Major restructuring of chapters and rewriting of content with new authors for many of them. Greatly increased discussion of biopsychosocial management in individual clinical practice. Addresses the needs of the individual practitioners as well as those working in specialised pain management units. Includes more on primary care and secondary pain prevention. Expanded discussion of the clinical-occupational interfaces. Particular emphasis on the identification and targeting of modifiable risk factors for chronic pain and prolonged disability. The following topics stregthened throughout: communication, the nature of groups, medication and iatrogenics. Potential of an evidence-based biopsychosocial approach to pain management highlighted.
Talley and O'Connor's Examination Medicine: A Guide to Physician Training, 9e by
Talley & O'Connor's Examination Medicine: A Guide to Physician Training, has prepared generations of physician trainees and medical students for their clinical examinations. Instructive, informative and aligned with current practice, this 9th edition gives you an overview of what to expect, what is expected of you and how to develop a mature clinical approach to complex medical problems.
External resources
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
