This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Diving & Hyperbaric Medicine.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Advanced Open Water Diver Guide by
If you are planning to take your Advanced Open Water Diver course in a few weeks, then you need a study guide that will help you prepare for the final test and knowledge review questions. The theory part consists of knowledge review questions, based on the mandatory and elective specialty dives. The PADI Adventure Diver and the Advanced Open Water Diver are some of the most fun and exciting courses out there, allowing students to broaden their knowledge and experience, and to approach different types of dives and specialties. This Advanced Open Water Diver Guide will help you prepare for your final exam and includes things to know before you take the test, tips from an experienced instructor, tricks for taking the exam, and 100 practise knowledge review questions across the range of specialty areas. Our book is just like having an instructor right beside you when studying for the final test.
Aquatic Rescue and Safety: How to Recognize, Respond to, and Prevent Water-Related Injuries by
Be prepared for water emergencies! If you are responsible for the welfare of those who spend time in or around the water--as an aquatic manager, scuba diving instructor, firefighter, law enforcement officer, or emergency rescue worker--or if you're a water sport enthusiast yourself, then you need to know how to prevent and manage aquatic accidents. This potentially lifesaving guide shows you how. The only book of its kind, Aquatic Rescue and Safety provides detailed information on how to identify, treat, and prevent all types of submersion injuries, from drowning, hypothermia, and cramps to injuries of the heart, lungs, head, and spinal cord. It also contains special sections on dealing with watercraft-related and scuba diving injuries. Written by a veteran scuba diving instructor and water-rescue instructor trainer, the book presents the latest, most effective rescue and first aid procedures--techniques proven to save lives--for all water-related injuries. The book also examines the causes of submersion injuries to help you understand how to prevent them. It provides specific steps that you can take to prevent accidents, and it gives you the tools you need to promote safety on the water, including tips for people who have children with them in aquatic settings. Aquatic Rescue and Safety is ideal as a manual for water rescue training, as a resource for individual aquatic recreation enthusiasts, and as a reference for emergency preparedness. Whether you are simply an avid boater or swimmer or a member of a water rescue team, this book will help you acquire the knowledge and skills to prevent water-related injuries and save lives.
Cases in Pre-Hospital and Retrieval Medicine, 2e by
This highly regarded case-based book focuses on the principles of pre-hospital and retrieval medicine and the continuum of care provided for critically ill or injured patients in the field. The second edition has been extensively re-written and updated to keep up with the rapidly expanding sub-speciality of Pre-Hospital and Retrieval Medicine (PHRM)/Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine (PHEM). Written by leading specialists in PHRM, each question and discussion is usually illustrated with a photograph from author archives and real events. The cases are divided into the following themes: pre-hospital medicine; retrieval medicine; service development and special circumstances; and a new section on Paediatric and Neonatal retrieval.
Decompression Sickness by
Decompression sickness (DCS) occurs when depressurized gas (usually nitrogen) exits the solution phase in tissues and obstructs the circulation by forming bubbles. The settings that can precipitate this condition involve rapid tissue decompression, as happens after a quick ascent from deep-sea diving, emerging from a caisson, flying in an unpressurized aircraft, and performing an extra-vehicular activity in space. Proper decompression can prevent DCS.
Experts have classified the manifestations of this disorder into 3 types. Type I DCS presents with skin, musculoskeletal, or lymphatic involvement. Type II DCS manifests with symptoms of brain or spinal injury. Type III DCS presents with potentially fatal pulmonary complications.
This activity reviews the evaluation and management of Types I and II DCS and highlights the role of the interprofessional team in managing patients with these conditions.
Diver Stress and Rescue Manual [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Stress is a major contributor to rescue situations and diving accidents. You can improve your diving confidence and enjoyment by learning to recognise situations that lead to problems and to handle problem situations with special techniques.
This manual is unique and effective because it focuses on accident prevention in order to reduce the need for accident management. The SSI Diver Stress & Rescue Manual can help you become a better diver and buddy.
Diving and Subaquatic Medicine, 5e by
Considered an essential resource by many in the field, Diving and Subaquatic Medicine remains the leading text on diving medicine, written to fulfil the requirements of any general physician wishing to advise their patients appropriately when a diving trip is planned, for those accompanying diving expeditions or when a doctor is required to assess and treat anyone who has been involved in a diving accident.
Diving Deeper into SCUBA ... Science : Practical and Theoretical Knowledge. by
The editors of and authors of this book are a cadre of scientists and physicians with broad experience and knowledge of diving physiology and decompression theory. As is often the case, it requires a group effort to succeed in advancing practical knowledge. The colloquialism "the whole is greater than the sum of its parts" is often true and the PHYPODE Research Group epitomizes this concept. By logically grouping the various elements of diving science and medicine with provocative "food for thought" sections, the text offers valuable lessons to those interested in the current state of diving. Despite nearly 170 years of research, the fundamental nature of decompression stress remains elusive. As is well outlined in this book, great advances have been made to the practical elements allowing for safe diving. Nonetheless, there are glaring voids of knowledge related to the nature of bubble nucleation, its consequences and methods to ameliorate risk. The synergy exhibited in this text not only provides a foundation for what is known, it offers a glimpse of where research is taking us. - Professor Stephen R. Thom, Dept. of Emergency Medicine, University of Maryland School of Medicine
Diving Medicine by
This book is the very first to cover the decompression theory in detail. It gives many information on all topics of the diving medicine, and is richly and uniquely illustrated. It offers a good guideline of high quality practice in diving medicine. The author provides a very structured and easy to understand book, by covering all aspects of the diving medicine, such as equipment, physiology, and related issues as gas intoxications, venomous animals or damages that can occur in the diving practice. Relevant physiological and anatomical illustrations enlight even complex topics. The Diving medicine book will appeal to health experts like doctors and nurses, but also to diving schools and teachers
Handbook on Hyperbaric Medicine by
The decade since the first Handbook on Hyperbaric Medicine has seen major advances: studies have clarified the actions of hyperbaric oxygenation; clinical practice is becoming more scientific; various organisational and operational guidelines are now widely accepted. This new Handbook arises from the EU Co-operation in Science and Technology (COST) programme for hyperbaric medicine, COST B14, in combination with the results of a number of recent experimental and clinical studies.
Hyperbaric Medical Considerations for Occupational Exposure to Compressed Gas Environments by
This activity addresses the modalities used in the performance of compressed air work; caissons, tunneling, and commercial diving, and the various modalities used to accomplish this work. This activity outlines the indications, mechanisms employed, the potential complications encountered, adverse effects, and health monitoring of compressed air workers.
Hyperbaric Oxygenation: Mitochondrial Activity and Brain Physiological Functions by
Exposure of patients to a high oxygen environment is a standard treatment in a select group of patients. The development of oxygen toxicity must be avoided in those patients. This book describes the effects of normobaric and hyperbaric oxygen treatment of animal models on brain biochemical and physiological responses. This book provides a summary of our knowledge on the effects of hyperbaric oxygenation on mitochondrial activity in vivo, and other functions of the brain. A chapter covering the use of hyperbaric hyperoxia in patients' brain pathology and care is also included. This is an ideal book for students, research groups, and clinicians studying hyperbaric oxygen and its connection to mitochondrial activity and brain physiological functions.
Hyperbaric Oxygenation Therapy: Molecular Mechanisms and Clinical Applications by
This book focuses on hyperbaric oxygenation (HBO) therapy from the molecular biology perspective and its clinical applications, including molecular mechanisms of HBO's positive effect on cellular function in hypoxic tissues. HBO is a therapeutic tool that enhances oxygen supply to hypoxic tissues and improves wound healing/tissue remodeling. Currently HBO therapy is applied to a wide range of clinical cases, which include not only acute hypoxic diseases but also many chronic and refractory diseases involving tissue hypoxia or intractable infection.
Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy: Principles and Applications by
This book covers the hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) in current recommended indications, emphasizing the mechanisms involved in the benefits of supplemental oxygen under high pressure. The physiological changes associated with high pressure and hyperoxic conditions are discussed in initial chapters, along with their physical basis governed by the laws of gas followed by the functioning of hyperbaric chambers and the safety precautions needed in operating them. Utilization of HBOT in indications such as wound healing, severe anemia, and burn injuries is thoroughly explained, along with the recommended protocol for HBOT administration. The final chapters present the contraindications of HBOT and its promising effects on aging and regeneration. This book is helpful to HBOT practitioners in understanding its underlying mechanism and major applications.
Return to Diving by
After an episode of decompression illness or other diving-related injuries, many divers want to go diving again, either for recreation, work, or military service. A thorough understanding of the factors that led to the injury and a careful clinical exam will help the clinician and diving medicine specialist decide if additional tests are indicated and advise the diver of his future risk with a return to diving.
The Navy Diving Manual - Revision 7: Books 1 & 2 by
Volume 1 - Diving Principles and Policies (205 pages, 50 illustrations). History of Diving - Underwater Physics - Underwater Physiology and Diving Disorders - Dive Systems - Dive Program Administration - Safe Diving Distances from Transmitting Sonar - References - Telephone Numbers - List of Acronyms.
Volume 2 - Air Diving Operations (319 pages, 82 illustrations). Operational Planning and Risk Management - SCUBA Air Diving Operations - Surface Supplied Air Diving Operations - Nitrogen-Oxygen Diving Operations - Ice and Cold Water Diving Operations - Optional Shallow Water Diving Tables - U.S. Navy Dive Computer - Environmental and Operational Hazards - Guidance for U.S. Navy Diving on a Dynamic Positioning Vessel.
Volume 3 - Mixed Gas Surface Supplied Diving Operations (103 pages, 22 illustrations). Surface-Supplied Mixed Gas Diving - Saturation Diving - Breathing Gas Mixing Procedures.
Volume 4 - Closed Circuit and Semiclosed Circuit Diving Operations (129 pages, 13 illustrations). Electronically Controlled Closed-Circuit Underwater Breathing Apparatus (EC-UBA) Diving - Closed Circuit Oxygen UBA (CC-UBA) Diving.
Volume 5 - Diving Medicine & Recompression Chamber Operations (141 pages, 43 illustrations). Diagnosis and Treatment of Decompression Sickness and Arterial Gas Embolism - Recompression Chamber Operation - Neurological Examination - First Aid - Hazardous Marine Creatures.
The Oxygen Revolution, 3e by
Cutting-edge research on hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) as a gene therapy to treat traumatic brain injuries, degenerative neurological diseases, and other disorders Hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) is based on a simple idea-that oxygen can be used therapeutically for a wide range of conditions where tissues have been damaged by oxygen deprivation.
Textbook of Hyperbaric Medicine, 6e by
This comprehensive volume captures the latest scientific evidence, technological advances, treatments and impact of biotechnology in hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Divided into three distinct sections, the book begins with basic aspects that include history, equipment, safety and diagnostic approaches; this is followed by clinical applications for hyperbaric oxygen therapy in various modalities; the last section provides an overview of hyperbaric medicine as a specialty with best practices from around the world. Integration of multidisciplinary approaches to complex disorders are also covered.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Diving & hyperbaric medicine
Against All Odds: The Inside Account of the Thai Cave Rescue, and the Courageous Australians at the Heart of It by
In June 2018, for seventeen days, the world watched and held its breath as the Wild Boars soccer team were trapped deep in a cave in Thailand. Marooned beyond flooded cave passages after unexpected rains, they were finally rescued, one-by-one, against almost impossible odds, by an international cave-diving team which included Australians Dr Richard Harris and Dr Craig Challen.
Bennett and Elliott's Physiology and Medicine of Diving, 5e by
For the last 30 years, this book has been considered the "bible" of diving medicine. It is extremely well known to doctors and researchers working in this field and its editors and contributors are internationally recognized as experts on the subject. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest developments in the field.
Deeper into Diving: An In-depth Review of Decompression Procedures, and of the Physical and Physiological Aspects of Deeper Diving, 2e by
Deeper into Diving is for the experienced diver, the technical diver, the dive instructor, and other diving and dive medical professionals. It contains information on a variety of decompression procedures and technical information that is not easily obtainable. This book also provides very valuable insights into diving physiology and various physical and medical aspects of deeper diving.
Diving Science… Revisited: An Innovative Approach to the Medical Challenges of Diving by
Diving Science… Revisited is like no other diving text, including its predecessor, Diving Science. Amplified with figures, tables, and photos in colour, this book includes four unique and innovative parts amplified by nine contributors. Medical problems of diving (MPD) are discussed from stimulus-response perspectives in the phase of a dive in which they are likely to occur. MPD are explained by how they affect the human diver whether physical, physiological, psychological, and/or lack of awareness. A variety of diving types and situations from breath-hold to rebreather, from children to women to older aged adults, from cold water to cave, and from deep altitude to diving with handicaps are described in individual chapters with their merits, hazards, and necessary precautions for safe diving. Part IV contains a concise summary of the MPD from seven different perspectives ranging from the significance of the problem to when to return to diving. Part V consists of a rhetorical question for each of the first four parts with bullet points that recap the subjects covered in each chapter. This book describes the positive as well as undesirable ways divers' interact with the aquatic environment. It is especially recommended for the following: Diving instructors and supervisors. Those involved with clinical applications of hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Those engaged in diving-associated marine biology and underwater missions. All divers, whether novice or advanced, who want to advance their knowledge about the science and medical challenges of diving.
Hyperbaric Facility Safety: A Practical Guide, 2e by
In this second edition, editors W.T. "Tom" Workman and J. Steven "Steve" Wood have endeavoured to establish a comprehensive balance between those hyperbaric providers who have a keen interest in the underlying design standards and regulatory framework and those who need to "get it done." The second edition is structured into two parts. The first part explains the various regulatory agencies that may influence the field of hyperbaric medicine (including international perspectives), while the second part emphasizes a nuts-and-bolts approach to hyperbaric safety program development and how the safety program integrates all aspects of a hyperbaric facility. The editors, along with the 80 chapter authors and contributors bring experiences from clinical hyperbaric medicine, the U.S. Air Force and Navy, the UHMS Hyperbaric Facility Accreditation program, hyperbaric chamber engineering, manufacturing, and regulatory/standards development.
Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual, 15e by
Since its first appearance in 1977, the UHMS Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual has served as a guide for practitioners and scientists interested in hyperbaric and undersea medicine.
The UHMS and Best Publishing Company are pleased to announce the upcoming release of the 15th Edition of the Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual. This will include updates to existing chapters, a new chapter on the newest indication to be approved by the Oxygen Therapy Committee, and a new chapter on the Dosing of Hyperbaric Oxygen.
Hyperbaric Medicine Practice, 4e by
A textbook may sometimes gain the unusual trait of longevity beyond all other books - it can be revised and remain a primary source of information for generations of students. Hyperbaric Medicine Practice seems destined to become such a book.
This 4th edition, edited by Harry T. Whelan, pays tribute to its original author, Dr. Kindwall, who died in 2012. It also adds new information of interest to all in the field of diving and clinical hyperbaric medicine. Most chapters have been written or revised by new authors, but many have returned to update their chapters.
New chapters include indications for hyperbaric oxygen treatment subjects recently approved for treatment such as idiopathic sudden sensorineural hearing loss and central retinal vein occlusion. There are also chapters on submarine rescue and problems that pertain to technical and rebreather diving.
- comments by Henry J.C. Schwartz, MD, FACP
Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Indications, 13e by
The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) is an international, non-profit organization serving over 2,400 members from more than 50 countries. The UHMS is the primary source of scientific information for diving and hyperbaric medicine physiology worldwide, the breadth of which is illustrated in the triennial report, Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Indications. With leading experts authoring chapters in their respective fields, this publication continues to provide the most current and up to date guidance and support for scientists and practitioners of hyperbaric oxygen therapy.
NOAA Diving Manual, 6e by
All serious divers should have this comprehensive manual in their library. Dozens of the foremost diving scientists, educators, and other professionals in the field have contributed to and reviewed this important volume. The 6th edition is vastly more robust than previous editions, and the MSRP is 10% less than previous editions - giving the reader more value for a lower price. This sixth edition of the NOAA Diving Manual builds on earlier editions, combining new developments in equipment and cutting-edge methods and procedures to provide a reference text that is useful for not only scientists but also all divers. New Chapters Advanced Platform Support - diving with ROVs/AUVs, submersibles, and atmospheric diving systems Underwater Photography and Videography Significantly revised and updated chapters include: Diving Equipment Procedures for Scientific Dives Rebreathers Polluted-Water Diving This edition also includes the new NOAA nitrox tables.
Policy and Procedural Guidelines for Hyperbaric Facilities by
The field of hyperbaric medicine, along with hyperbaric centers throughout the United States and abroad, continues to grow. This growth has been exponential, touting an increase from 350 centers in 1993 to well over 2,500 programs today. With this progression exists a need to establish a resource guideline for developing complete and comprehensive policies and procedures for clinical hyperbaric units. Hyperbaric policy and procedures provide the guiding principles and foundation for safety, quality, transparency, and cost-effective hyperbaric medical and nursing practice. Every hyperbaric facility needs to follow its specific policies and procedures. Policy and Procedural Guidelines for Hyperbaric Facilities provides needed resource and reference guidelines for new and established hyperbaric facilties. It will serve as a reference for the development of new hyperbaric policies as well as customize and enhance current policies and procedures already in place. Policy and Procedural Guidelines for Hyperbaric Facilitiesaddresses issues of safety and practice for both the multiplace and monoplace environments. It utilizes regulatory guidelines and standards of practice as its foundation. Topics covered in this work include, but are not limited to, governance, administration, emergency procedures, patient care, hyperbaric chamber maintenance, treatment protocols and quality improvement. The appendices include sample forms for both Class A multiplace and Class B monoplace chambers. They are intended to serve as templates for development of hyperbaric unit-specific forms. Also included are acronyms, references, and an index, all specific to hyperbaric medicine. The guidelines provided in this document will benefit the diverse group of physicians, nurses, tecnicians, and allied health-care peronnel in the hyperbaric field as they customize their unit-specific policies and procedures. The contributing authors are comprised of established experts in the field of undersea and hyperbaric medicine. They are a diverse group of physicians, nurses, and technologists who devoted an extensive amount of time and energy into producing this resource document of the highest quality. Specific acknowledgments can be found in the List of Contributors section of the book.
UHMS Guidelines for Hyperbaric Facility Operations, 3e by
These guidelines are essential for facilities that are new to hyperbaric medicine in establishing best practices. Existing facilities will find this reference indispensable in understanding the current standards and recommendations in maintaining an exceptional hyperbaric program. These guidelines are referenced by the UHMS Hyperbaric Facility Accreditation Manual and therefore are vital in planning and preparing for the hyperbaric survey to receive accreditation status.
What are people saying about the book?
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
