Library resource guides: Drug information: Databases

Guide index

Related guides

AUS & NZ drug databases

Australian

The Alcohol and Drug Foundation (ADF)
Australia’s leading organisation committed to preventing and minimising the harm caused by alcohol and other drugs.

AusDI (Australian Drug Information) This link opens in a new window
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH Online via ClinicalKey Australia) is an independent, evidence-based national drug reference. It offers concise, reliable and comprehensive information with easy-to-find comparative drug data allowing users to compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices.

NPS MedicineWise This link opens in a new window
NPS MedicineWise provides independent, not-for-profit, evidence-based and consumer-centred information about medicines, and a range of other health topics from an Australian perspective.

Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA)
The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) is the regulatory body for therapeutic goods in Australia. This link goes to the Health Professionals Information and Education section of the website, but there are a range of different databases to search and other drug resources available from the home page of the TGA website.

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines is a leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions.

National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre
The overall mission of NDARC is to conduct and disseminate high quality research and related activities that increases the effectiveness of treatment and other intervention responses to alcohol and other drug related harm.

New Zealand

Medsafe (New Zealand Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Authority)
Medsafe is the New Zealand Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Authority. It is a business unit of the Ministry of Health and is the authority responsible for the regulation of therapeutic products in New Zealand.

International drug databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides instant access to leading medical textbooks, multimedia, interactive self-assessment Q&A's, quick reference tools, practice guidelines, an integrated drugs database and patient cases.

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessAnesthesiology is a comprehensive online resource covering the entire spectrum of anaesthesiology. Includes leading anaesthesiology e-books, multimedia, interactive self-assessment Q&A's, practice guidelines, an integrated drugs database and patient cases.

ClinicalKey Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Full-text practice guidelines from journals, links to full-text guidelines from professional and government agencies (including Australian and New Zealand), and summaries from the US National Guideline Clearinghouse.

Drugs.com
Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed®) This link opens in a new window
The LactMed® database, updated monthly, contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.

MEDLINE Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.

The Drugs, Herbs and Supplements database enables you to learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Information including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. You can also browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA is responsible for protecting public health in the US by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices. This link directs users to the drugs database and information on the FDA website. This is a product of the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), and this body ensures that safe and effective drugs are available to improve the health of the people in the United States.

Ovid drug search builder

This new, powerful search building tool allows users to quickly build and launch sophisticated literature searches using the Ovid platform. Search for information about drugs, with on screen prompts for refining searches to get the results you need in less time.

Step 1: Select the Ovid MEDLINE database

Access Ovid MEDLINE
(users will be required to authenticate using their ANZCA ID and password

This database consists of journal references from over 5,600 journals, and is frequently updated (weekly or daily)

Step 2: Select the Ovid Search Builder

Step 3: Build your search

This search input screen as the first step in your literature search, which provides you with a fully developed search strategy (combining the terms for you!).