Library resource guides: Drug information: Apps, podcasts & online lectures

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Opioid Abuse and Addiction: Are We Making Any Progress? (7 Jan 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve identify ways anesthesia providers can care for the patient with a history of opioid abuse and addiction.
Morbid Obesity: What Weight Should We Use to Titrate Drugs and Ventilation? (7 Jan 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve correctly determine the weight to use when titrating drugs and ventilation in the morbidly obese.
The Role of the Anesthesia Provider in the Opioid Crisis (21 Aug 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of opioid addiction, including how to implement strategies to reduce harm from prescription opioids.
Substance Use Screening (21 Aug 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve screening for substance use, including risk stratification strategies in the perioperative setting.
Medication-Assisted Treatment (Buprenorphine) for Opioid Addiction (14 Aug 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of buprenorphine addiction by maximising current care of overdose patients in the emergency department and exploring other treatment options for opioid addiction.
Opioids: Updated Prescribing Guidelines and Laws (7 Aug 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve opioid prescribing practices that comply with updates to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines for prescribing opioids, and to provide appropriate follow-up and tapering of therapy for patients taking opioids on a long-term basis.
Opioid Stewardship in Urology (7 May 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve opioid stewardship in urology by citing statistics of opioid addiction after urologic procedures and using alpha-blockers and antispasmodic agents in treatment of pain after urologic procedures.
Optimal Dose Determination and Personalized Medicine (21 Apr 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve determination of optimal dosing in oncology drugs.
The Emerging Role of the Anesthesiologist in the Opioid Crisis (7 Apr 2023)
This program aims to improve the management of the opioid crisis, and includes identifying factors that contribute to the misuse, optimising opioid dosing, and counselling patients.
Update on Cannabis Use, CBD, and Medical Marijuana (21 Mar 2023)
This program analyzes the risks and benefits associated with medical cannabis so that clinicians can prescribe appropriate forms and doses.
Preparing for Unexpected Emergency Cardiac Events in Ambulatory Surgery (7 Feb 2023)
This program is to improve emergency management at ambulatory surgical centres, and includes recognising the symptoms of oculocardiac reflex and medications to treat local aanesthetic systemic toxicity.
Risks and Benefits of Benzodiazepines (7 Jan 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve the safety of benzodiazepine (BZD) use and discontinuation.
The Opioid Ecosystem (14 Sep 2022)
This program aims to improve the use of opioid treatment, including strategies of pain management with the appropriate use of opioids.
Breastfeeding and Medications (14 Jul 2022)
This program is to improve management of medication in breastfeeding mothers, including the pharmacokinetics of drugs to treatment recommendations made for breastfeeding mothers.
Sympathomimetic Agents (28 Oct 2021)
This program aims to improve use of drugs that mimic the sympathetic nervous system in clinical practice.
Evidence-based Opioid-sparing Techniques (28 Jun 2021)
This program aims to improve implementation of evidence-based opioid-sparing techniques, and includes the advantages of multimodal pain therapy.
The Impact of Anesthesiologists’ Preoperative Care on Surgical Site Infections and an Update on Appropriate Preoperative Antibiotics (14 Jun 2021)
This program aims to improve prophylaxis for surgical site infections, including patients with reported penicillin allergy.
Management of the Anticoagulated Patient (28 Mar 2021)
This program aims to improve the perioperative treatment of patients who take drugs for anticoagulation.

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

Podcasts

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

Australian Prescriber Podcast
The Australian Prescriber Podcast provides a regular dive into some of the many great articles that Australian Prescriber publishes every two months. In each episode, our host will chat with one of the authors from a recent issue of Australian Prescriber.
Australian Prescriber Podcast (Spotify)
Australian Prescriber Podcast (iOS/Apple)

FDA Drug Safety Podcasts
FDA Drug Safety Podcasts, produced by FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, provide emerging safety information about drugs in conjunction with the release of Drug Safety Communications.
FDA Drug Safety Podcasts (Spotify)
FDA Drug Safety Podcasts (iOS/Apple)

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

AusDI (Australian Drug Information) This link opens in a new window
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices
See our dedicated AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

Calculate by QxMD
Calculate by QxMD is a next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool, freely available to the medical community. It contains over 200 unique calculators and decision support tools.
Calculate by QxMD (iOS/Apple)
Calculate by QxMD (Android/Google Play)

ClinicalKey [App] This link opens in a new window
The ClinicalKey app provides access to the Australian version of ClinicalKey, allowing ANZCA fellows and trainees to access e-books, journals and a range of other resources.

See our dedicated ClinicalKey app guide for further information including full access details.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity. Use the CME feature to earn and track completed activities (local profile required).

FPM Opioid Calculator [App] This link opens in a new window
The Faculty of Pain Medicine, ANZCA has developed a Opioid Calculator app designed to calculate dose equivalence of opioid analgesic medications.

See the dedicated FPM Opioid Calculator website for more information

Managing Dabigatran
The following app has been designed for doctors to help them manage patients on the anticoagulant dabigatran.
Managing Dabigatran (iOS/Apple)

MDCalc
MDCalc clinical decision support is created exclusively by board-certified physicians for use by physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and medical students. The simple yet sleek app provides access to 550+ easy-to-use clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators, and more.
MDCalc (iOS/Apple)
MDCalc (Android/Google Play)