This page contains information about accessing eBooks and print titles related to drugs in anaesthesia, analgesia and selected pharmacology texts.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Advances in Diagnosis and Management of Cutaneous Adverse Drug Reactions: Current and Future Trends by
This resource guides prescribers, pharmacists, and regulators with an update on the recent expansion of basic and clinical knowledge that forms a framework for understanding cutaneous reactions. This understanding will lead, in turn, to better outcomes and decisions in treatment and management, both in the clinic and in the life cycle of drug development.
Anesthesia and Neurotoxicity by
This book, written by leading Japanese experts in the field, describes the latest findings on the neurotoxicity of anesthetics for the developing brain, postoperative delirium and cognitive dysfunction. It describes the risk factors for postoperative cognitive dysfunction in elderly surgical patients.
Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e by 
Automated Drug Delivery in Anesthesia by
Automated Drug Delivery in Anesthesia provides a full review of available tools and methods on the drug delivery of anesthesia, bridging the gap between academic development, research and clinical practice. The book takes an interdisciplinary approach, pulling information about tools developed in other disciplines such as mathematics, physics, biology and system engineering and applying them to drug delivery.
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e by 
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class, 6e by
Presented in a style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless, Basic Concepts in Pharmacology clearly explains each fundamental principal of drug actions. This updated edition includes the popular Trivia Sorter, which helps you understand the mechanism of action for the class of drugs and its side effects; consider if the drug is for a disorder or symptom; determine the unique features of single drugs in this class; and know the side effects and drug interactions of the class of drugs.
A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions by
The occurrence of deleterious or even fatal drug-drug interactions (DDIs) in the perioperative period is no longer a theoretical concern but a harrowing reality. A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions addresses the complex realm of pharmacokinetic drug interactions in an easy-to-read volume that functions as both a comprehensive clinical reference and a casebook.
Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology by
Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology utilizes a visual approach that translates complex mathematical expressions of drug performance into clear presentations designed to assist the practicing anesthesia care provider. Supported by published models, computer simulations are used throughout to illustrate drug concentrations, predictions of selected drug effects, and interactions between various classes of anesthetic drugs that result from various dosing regimens.
Controlled Substance Management in Chronic Pain: A Balanced Approach by
This comprehensive guide covers prescribing controlled substances for patients with acute or chronic pain and provides a balanced discussion on appropriate treatment, addiction, safety and complications.
Critical Care Sedation by
This book provides a comprehensive guide to delivering analgesia and sedation to critically ill patients for professionals and caregivers being involved in the management of these patients. It discusses and explains in detail the advantages and limitations of each drug and device using clear flowcharts, diagrams and tables.
Critical Care Toxicology: Diagnosis and Management of the Critically Poisoned Patient by
Building on the previous edition with contributions from internationally renowned experts this book provides a fully comprehensive resource for managing the post emergency/treatment stage of acute poisoning. Chapters incorporate evidence-based paradigms with up-to-date citations from the original medical literature. Topic areas covered include: diagnosis and management of the critically poisoned patient, including pediatric patients and poisoning in pregnancy; toxic syndromes including hepatotoxic and pulmonary syndromes as well as poisonings from medications, drugs of abuse, chemical and biological agents. This book is an essential resource for Clinical Toxicologists, Intensivists and Emergency Medicine specialists in training and in practice.
Drug Allergy: Clinical Aspects, Diagnosis, Mechanisms, Structure-Activity Relationships, 2e by
The second edition of this book spans the broad range of modern therapeutic drugs, from small molecules to biologic recombinant proteins. It offers a comprehensive review of the classification and description of different drug-induced systemic and cutaneous hypersensitivities; an up-to-date coverage of individual culprit drugs in each group of therapeutics; the diagnosis and mechanisms of reactions; and important structure-activity relationships.
Drug Dosing in Obesity - Volume 1: Antimicrobials by
This book provides an up to date review on antimicrobials dosing in obese patients, including practice recommendations for clinical use. The book is written by a group of doctors and pharmacists working in infectious diseases practice and research.
The introductory chapter outlines the important physiological changes in obesity including factors affecting the dosing of antimicrobials in obese patients. The introductory chapter is followed by ten chapters covering the major classes of antibiotics, antifungals, and antivirals. Each chapter briefly discuss the pharmacokinetics changes related to obesity and a summary of the relevant up-to-date literature. Specific dosing recommendations are provided for each class supplemented by real-life examples as clinical cases that are included as an appendix to the book. The book is a useful resource for clinicians, students and researchers needing up-to-date information on antimicrobial dosing in obese patients. Doctors, pharmacists, nurses working in hospital settings, and students of health courses (medical, pharmacy and nursing students) will find this book particularly useful.
Drug Eruptions by
Cutaneous adverse drug reactions are common and range from the benign to those which are life-threatening. The clinical presentation of these dermatoses is varied and many may mimic common skin conditions. Consequently, diagnosis in drug-induced skin disease is challenging and the treatment considerations are complex. This book aims to bridge the divide between dermatology and allergy by providing a comprehensive review on the pathomechanisms and clinical features of cutaneous adverse drug reactions. Broken up into three distinct sections: General Considerations, Reaction Patterns, and Special Drug Categories, these chapters cover the common and rare adverse skin reactions and provide information on recent advances - particularly immunopathology and pharmacogenetics - as well as highlighting new adverse drug signals and novel therapies. Drug Eruptions is a must-have resource for dermatologists, allergists, internal physicians and general practitioners.
Drugs During Pregnancy: Methodological Aspects by
This book addresses methodological aspects of epidemiological studies on maternal drug use in pregnancy. Discussing the existing sources of error and how they can produce incorrect conclusions, it examines various epidemiological techniques and assesses their strengths and weaknesses. These refer both to the identification of outcomes (with special emphasis on congenital malformations) and to the types of exposure (drug use). Further, the book discusses the problem of confounding and how to handle it, and provides a simple introduction to statistics.
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e by
The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs.
Educating Together, Improving Together : Harmonizing Interprofessional Approaches to Address the Opioid Epidemic by
The United States is in the midst of an urgent and complex opioid crisis. To address how education and training can more effectively respond to this crisis, we must have a better understanding of problems in practice?or professional practice gaps?for health professionals and teams in practice. A coordinated response requires identifying and addressing professional practice gaps (PPGs) related to pain management, opioid use disorder, and other substance use disorder (SUD) care, as well as integrating evidence-based best practices into health professional education and training curricula across the continuum from undergraduate training into post-graduate continuing education This Special Publication presents two information-gathering efforts to assess persisting PPGs pertaining to pain management and SUD care and to better understand the current health professional education environment: the first is a comprehensive literature review, and the second is a survey of the regulatory landscape.
Elsevier’s 2024 Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, 40e by
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For nearly 50 years, Elsevier's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, this annual publication is ideal for use in critical care areas, at the nursing station, in the office, and in public health and home care settings.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Anesthesia, Pain Medicine, and Critical Care by
In anesthesiology, pain medicine, and critical care, practitioners at all levels need help to stay current with the continually evolving drug knowledge-base and trainees need tools to prepare for in-training and board exams that increasingly test their knowledge of pharmacology. This practical book is aimed at both readerships.
Fentanyl, inc.: How Rogue Chemists Are Creating the Deadliest Wave of the Opioid Epidemic by
A remarkable four-year investigation into the dangerous world of synthetic drugs--from black market drug factories in China to users and dealers on the streets of the U.S. to harm reduction activists in Europe--which reveals for the first time the next wave of the opioid epidemic A deeply human story, Fentanyl, Inc. is the first deep-dive investigation of a hazardous and illicit industry that has created a worldwide epidemic, ravaging communities and overwhelming and confounding government agencies that are challenged to combat it. "A whole new crop of chemicals is radically changing the recreational drug landscape," writes Ben Westhoff. "These are known as Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS) and they include replacements for known drugs like heroin, cocaine, ecstasy, and marijuana. They are synthetic, made in a laboratory, and are much more potent than traditional drugs"--and all-too-often tragically lethal. Drugs like fentanyl, K2, and Spice--and those with arcane acronyms like 25i-NBOMe-- were all originally conceived in legitimate laboratories for proper scientific and medicinal purposes. Their formulas were then hijacked and manufactured by rogue chemists, largely in China, who change their molecular structures to stay ahead of the law, making the drugs' effects impossible to predict. Westhoff has infiltrated this shadowy world. He tracks down the little-known scientists who invented these drugs and inadvertently killed thousands, as well as a mysterious drug baron who turned the law upside down in his home country of New Zealand. Westhoff visits the shady factories in China from which these drugs emanate, providing startling and original reporting on how China's vast chemical industry operates, and how the Chinese government subsidizes it. Poignantly, he chronicles the lives of addicted users and dealers, families of victims, law enforcement officers, and underground drug awareness organizers in the U.S. and Europe. Together they represent the shocking and riveting full anatomy of a calamity we are just beginning to understand. From its depths, as Westhoff relates, are emerging new strategies that may provide essential long-term solutions to the drug crisis that has affected so many.
Fundamentals of Pediatric Drug Dosing by
Focused on paediatric physiology, pharmacology, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, this book illustrates the differences between the paediatric population and adults; knowledge of extreme importance not only during paediatric drug development but also in the clinical practice. Physicians, nurses, clinical pharmacologists, researchers and healthcare professionals will find this an invaluable resource.
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by 
Good Medical Practice: A Code of Conduct for Doctors in Australia by
Good medical practice (the code) describes what is expected of all doctors registered to practise medicine in Australia. It sets out the principles that characterise good medical practice and makes explicit the standards of ethical and professional conduct expected of doctors by their professional peers and the community.
Handbook of Drugs in Intensive Care: An A-Z Guide, 6e by
Now in its sixth edition, the Handbook of Drugs in Intensive Care is the essential guide to using drugs safely and effectively in the intensive care setting. The book is split into two sections: an A-Z guide to the drugs available, and concise notes on the key topics and situations faced on a daily basis. The A-Z section provides succinct information on each drug including uses, limitations, administration directions and adverse effects. The second section details practice guidelines such as insulin therapy, Parkinson's disease therapy when nil-by-mouth, and drug dosing in renal failure. This revised edition includes seventeen new drug monographs and covers several new topics, including blood glucose management.
Humanizing Addiction Practice: Blending Science and Personal Transformation by
This original, eloquent, compassionate, and timely book offers all healthcare practitioners interested and involved in addiction practice a powerful account of an addiction psychiatrist's journey of professional and personal growth, thereby offering readers a unique opportunity to learn deeply from the author's insights, experiences, and struggles in becoming a patient-centered empathic healer.
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
This handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians.
A Medication Guide to Internal Medicine Tests and Procedures by
A Medication Guide to Internal Medicine Tests and Procedures provides concise, focused answers to common medication questions before, during, and after internal medicine tests and procedures. Co-authored by experienced physicians and clinical pharmacists, this unique, time-saving reference brings together essential information for healthcare providers and students in a convenient, highly templated, pocket-sized book.
Medication Safety during Anesthesia and the Perioperative Period by
With medication errors in healthcare an internationally recognised problem, this much-needed book delivers a comprehensive approach to understanding medication safety in the perioperative period. It reviews what medication adverse events are, and how often and where these errors occur, as well as exploring human cognitive psychology and explaining why things can go wrong at any time in a complex system.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, 16e by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere.
Neuropathology of Drug Abuse by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the current state of knowledge concerning neuropathologies resulting from drug abuse. The first chapters offer readers detailed information on the neurobiological basics of drug abuse and the results of neuroimaging studies in drug abusers. The focus of the book is on neuropathological findings in drug abusers for the predominant substances, which include cannabis, opiates, cocaine, amphetamine, methamphetamine and a broad spectrum of designer drugs. These findings are supported by histological illustrations and discussed in connection with recent scientific publications. A chapter specifically addressing clinicians is also included, and highlights the implications for further therapy. The book is essential reading for neuropathologists, neurologists, neuroradiologists and psychiatrists, as well as other health professionals and scientists interested and engaged in the problem of drug abuse. Although a great deal of data has been derived from animal models and from human neuroimaging studies, little is known about the morphological effects of drug abuse on the human brain. In recent years, fundamental drug-induced effects on the cellular elements of the brain have been detected. These alterations might not only be the substrate of the neuroimaging data but might also have implications for clinical research and therapy. In addition, drug abuse may induce premature neurodegeneration.
Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard by
This complete version of the Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard describes what each quality statement means for patients and their families, clinicians, and health service organisations, and provides indicators for local monitoring. It includes information about using clinical care standards, and the background and evidence sources for this standard.
Opioids in Cancer Pain, 1e (OPML) by
Opioids in Cancer Pain outlines the opioids available for the management of cancer pain, examining the evidence for their use, discussing how they are best used and outlining the side effects.
Opioids in Non-Cancer Pain, 2e (OPML) by
This edition of Opioids in Non-Cancer Pain brings clinicians up to date on the current use of opioid drugs in patients with non-cancer pain, and highlights the potential benefits of therapy as well as the problems that can occur. The edition includes new chapters on the history of opioids to help contextualize the following discussions, and a new chapter covering the emerging field of pharmacogenomics.
Optimizing Pharmacotherapy in Older Patients: An Interdisciplinary Approach by
This book summarizes the broad and rapidly evolving field of geriatric pharmacotherapy, which is becoming increasingly relevant for practicing physicians who care and prescribe medications for older patients. Around the globe, ageing populations are associated with an increased prevalence of chronic diseases. Older adults are often affected by multimorbidity, i.e., suffer from more than one chronic disease. The main consequence of multimorbidity is polypharmacy, which is commonly defined as the regular use of five or more medicines. Polypharmacy has now reached epidemic proportions in our societies, and is associated with an increased risk of drug-drug interactions, drug-disease interactions and adverse drug reactions. The management of polypharmacy in older patients with complex multimorbidity poses several challenges and needs to be based on specific knowledge and prescribing expertise. The aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive update on the field, and to share the expertise needed to optimize the management of pharmacotherapy in older patients.
Pain, Drugs, and Ethics by
Pain remains one of the most common reasons that people seek medical attention in the United States today. One of the ways health care providers responded to pain being designated the "5th vital sign" was with their prescription pads. In order to respond to subjective pain-ratings, opioid analgesics began to be prescribed more liberally than in the past, presumably with the intention of responding to information about pain-related complaints now captured in routine assessments. This was in concert with several other circumstances, including the appearance and promulgation of "pill mills", questionable marketing practices by opioid manufacturers, and increasing rates of abuse, misuse, and addiction related to opioid analgesics. All this taking place in an environment of tremendous educational deficits related to pain, its assessment and treatment, and risks of aberrant drug-related behaviors. There is now a challenge to balancing the safe, compassionate, and effective treatment of chronic pain against serious negative outcomes associated with the increased abuse and misuse of these medications. With overdose death rates increasing, tensions running high, a multitude of political and regulatory involvement, and "knee-jerk" reactiveness, it seems as if the only thing being forgotten are the needs of chronic pain patients and the core ethical principles intended to help clinicians maintain the highest ethical standards of care. This book delves into this background and offers the context of professionalism and ethics taught to most healthcare professionals today, and describes how these principles can help to maximize safety, efficacy, and compassionate pain care, regardless of the direction the "opioid pendulum" is swinging. A framework is provided for clinicians to rely on best practices in managing acute, subacute, and chronic pain. The goal is to help clinicians provide patients with pain the most reliable, contextual, and ethical pain care possible. Pain, Drugs, and Ethics is written for the multiple disciplines involved in managing patients with pain today.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e by
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anaesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice.
Pharmacology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e by
The fifth edition of this popular textbook continues to provide a solid foundation of pharmacological knowledge for all those working in anaesthesia and intensive care. The content has been thoroughly revised to include expanded chapters with clearer figures, ensuring readers are kept abreast of the ever-changing landscape of clinical pharmacology. Conveniently divided into four sections covering the basic principles of pharmacology, core drugs in anaesthetic practice, cardiovascular drugs, and other important drugs and complemented by new diagrams, tables and chemical formulae to facilitate learning.
Physics, Pharmacology and Physiology for Anaesthetists: Key Concepts for the FRCA, 2e by
A key requirement of the primary and final FRCA examinations is a sound understanding of the basic sciences behind anaesthetic practice. It is important to be able to describe these principles clearly, particularly in the viva section of the examinations. Featuring several new topics, this fully updated new edition provides all the important graphs, definitions and equations which may be covered in the examinations.
Pocket Guide to Critical Care Pharmacotherapy by
This is a no-nonsense guide to drug treatment in the intensive care unit. It covers the most commonly encountered conditions and is organized by system. Management of each condition is tersely outlined step-by-step in table format. The book also includes non-drug information that is essential to making informed, evidence-based pharmacotherapy decisions, such as risk scores, scales, and assessment tools. The Second Edition has been revised to reflect the latest critical care practice guidelines and up-to-date drug and non-drug information.
Poisoning & Drug Overdose, 8e by
This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons.
Practical Pharmaceutics: An International Guideline for the Preparation, Care and Use of Medicinal Products by
Practical Pharmaceutics contains essential knowledge on the preparation, quality control, logistics, dispensing and use of medicines. It features chapters written by experienced pharmacists and scientists working in hospitals, academia and industry throughout Europe, including practical examples as well as information on current GMP and GMP-based guidelines and EU-legislation. In this second edition all chapters have been updated with numerous new as well as didactically revised illustrations and tables. A completely new chapter about therapeutic proteins and Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products was added. From prescription to production, from usage instructions to procurement and the impact of medicines on the environment, the book provides step-by-step coverage that will help a wide range of readers, students as well as professionals. It offers product knowledge for all pharmacists working directly with patients and it will enable them to make the required medicine available, to store medicines properly, to adapt medicines if necessary and to dispense medicines with the appropriate information for patients as well as caregivers about product care and how to maintain the quality of the product. The basic knowledge presented in the book will also be valuable for industrial pharmacists to remind and focus them on the application of the medicines manufactured. The basic and practical knowledge on the design, preparation and quality management of medicines can directly be applied by the pharmacists whose main duty is production in community and hospital pharmacies and in industry. Undergraduate as well as graduate pharmacy students will find knowledge presented in a coherent way and fully supported with relevant examples. Practical Pharmaceutics has become a reliable and recognised source for the acquisition of pharmaceutical-technological knowledge. The book is used in the curriculum of a number of international universities and schools of Pharmacy.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 10e by
Now in its tenth edition, Rang and Dale's pharmacology has been updated to include important new drugs such as gene therapies, personalised medicines and the new wave of RNA drugs. However it has not lost any of the elements that have contributed to its popularity, such as colour coding and illustrations, making it reader-friendly while comprehensively covering the depth of detail required. This essential book is recommended as the first-choice undergraduate text for science and medical students and junior doctors and will also be useful for students in other professional disciplines such as pharmacy, veterinary medicine and nursing.
SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for postgraduate exams in anaesthesia and intensive care including the FRCA, FFICM, the EDAIC, and the EDIC. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in. Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters such as 'Intravenous anaesthetic agents' to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading.
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e by 
Substance Use Disorders: A Guide for the Primary Care Provider by
This practical and timely book provides comprehensive, state-of-the-art guidance on how primary care clinicians can best care for patients with substance use disorders. The book covers the major drugs of abuse, as well as the more recent ones, detailing the biology of various addictions and all dimensions of clinical diagnosis and management. It is organized in four parts: (1) The Basics, (2) Psychoactive Substance Dependencies, (3) Diagnosis, Treatment, Recovery, Relapse, and the Family, and (4) Special Groups.
Taking on TIVA: Debunking Myths and Dispelling Misunderstandings by
"We have a geographically diverse collection of authors who have helped us to present the most important topics in TIVA in a clear and easily readable style. Our vision is to empower readers to start or continue using this technique. Ideally this should be in young, healthy patients undergoing relatively straightforward surgery without the use of muscle relaxants"-- Provided by publisher.
Technology for Drug Safety: Current Status and Future Developments by
This book presents information about the use of technology to support the prevention and management of drug safety issues: pharmacovigilance (PV), medication errors, drug-related problems (DRPs), counterfeit medicines and other drug safety issues. Adapting new technologies/information technologies, mobile technologies and social media has contributed effectively to safety practices for medications, with this book providing comprehensive information as a guide to its challenges and potential. Technology for Drug Safety provides practicing and trainee pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy educators, researchers, public health policy makers, healthcare professionals and medical educators with vital information about the impact of technology on drug safety-related issues. It describes the current status of the practice, the challenges in the field and recommendations for the effective use of technology in drug safety practice including clinical trials and drug development, PV, detection of adverse drug reactions, reporting and management, medication errors detection, reporting and management, DRPs, counterfeit and substandard medications, and other safety issues.
Total Intravenous Anesthesia and Target Controlled Infusions: Comprehensive Global Anthology by
This is a comprehensive and authoritative presentation of total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA) and target controlled infusion (TCI). The editors' international reputation has enabled them to recruit leading experts from around the world to write single-author chapters in their area of expertise.
The Toxicology Handbook, 4e by
The Toxicology Handbook, 4e is Australia's leading reference guide for quick and evidence-informed decision making on treatment of the acutely poisoned patient. The book has been streamlined and fully updated to provide a comprehensive yet concise guide for all medical practitioners and health-care professionals who deal with poisonings. It contains quickly accessible information on poisons, toxins, antidotes, envenomings and antivenoms, and uses a structured and rigorous risk assessment-based approach to guide appropriate treatment decisions.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e by Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e by 
Drug Metabolism: Chemical and Enzymatic Aspects by
In order to understand drug metabolism at its most fundamental level, pharmaceutical scientists must be able to analyze drug compound structure and predict possible metabolic pathways in order to avoid the risk of adverse reactions that lead to the withdrawal of a drug from the market. This title is a comprehensive guide for recognizing the chemical underpinnings of drug metabolism. While there are numerous resources available to medicinal chemists for understanding drug structure, and to pharmacologists for discerning drug metabolism from a biological standpoint, no resource currently exists that links the chemical and biological aspects in language accessible to both-making it challenging for both groups to fully comprehend how a drug is metabolized, as well as the potential effects of the metabolites. Drug Metabolism: Chemical and Enzymatic Aspects provides extensive material to help understand drug metabolism within a biological context, and for predicting and mitigating adverse drug reactions.
Fentanyl, inc.: How Rogue Chemists Are Creating the Deadliest Wave of the Opioid Epidemic by
A remarkable four-year investigation into the dangerous world of synthetic drugs--from black market drug factories in China to users and dealers on the streets of the U.S. to harm reduction activists in Europe--which reveals for the first time the next wave of the opioid epidemic A deeply human story, Fentanyl, Inc. is the first deep-dive investigation of a hazardous and illicit industry that has created a worldwide epidemic, ravaging communities and overwhelming and confounding government agencies that are challenged to combat it. "A whole new crop of chemicals is radically changing the recreational drug landscape," writes Ben Westhoff. "These are known as Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS) and they include replacements for known drugs like heroin, cocaine, ecstasy, and marijuana. They are synthetic, made in a laboratory, and are much more potent than traditional drugs"--and all-too-often tragically lethal. Drugs like fentanyl, K2, and Spice--and those with arcane acronyms like 25i-NBOMe-- were all originally conceived in legitimate laboratories for proper scientific and medicinal purposes. Their formulas were then hijacked and manufactured by rogue chemists, largely in China, who change their molecular structures to stay ahead of the law, making the drugs' effects impossible to predict. Westhoff has infiltrated this shadowy world. He tracks down the little-known scientists who invented these drugs and inadvertently killed thousands, as well as a mysterious drug baron who turned the law upside down in his home country of New Zealand. Westhoff visits the shady factories in China from which these drugs emanate, providing startling and original reporting on how China's vast chemical industry operates, and how the Chinese government subsidizes it. Poignantly, he chronicles the lives of addicted users and dealers, families of victims, law enforcement officers, and underground drug awareness organizers in the U.S. and Europe. Together they represent the shocking and riveting full anatomy of a calamity we are just beginning to understand. From its depths, as Westhoff relates, are emerging new strategies that may provide essential long-term solutions to the drug crisis that has affected so many.
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by 
Opioids and Pain Relief by
Opioid use for the alleviation of pain can prove problematic. Differing opinions within the medical community arise from the dual nature of these drugs. Despite universal recognition of the potent analgesic effects of opioids, many health care providers are reluctant to employ them - especially for chronic pain - due to the risk for addiction. Ample literature exists for opioid addiction, yet this volume stands alone in its examination of the history of opioid use for pain relief. It presents a balanced view of the topic by discussing both the benefits and risks of opioid use in pain treatment. International experts from the pain field examine from a historical perspective International experts from the pain field examine from a historical perspective the beneficial and detrimental consequences of opioid use in pain management. From medieval times to the Victorian era to the 21st century, these specialists offer unprecedented insights into understanding and appreciating the usefulness of these drugs. They remove the mythological shrouds surrounding opioid use and they identify objective criteria for incorporating opioids into pain treatment protocols. This volume enlightens and informs readers so that they may broaden and deepen their understanding of the subject.
Opioid Therapy in the 21st Century (OAPL) by
Over the last thirty years, the concern of Pain Medicine practitioners about the potential for their patients to develop a dependence on opioids has left opioid therapy as a largely underutilized treatment. While there is no simple answer to chronic pain, opioids remain the only class of drugscapable of providing relief to patients experiencing serious pain.
An Overview of TCI and TIVA, 3e by
An Overview of TCI and TIVA is an invaluable source of information on the practice of total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA) with or without target-controlled infusion (TCI) technology. In this long-awaited third edition of their popular book they have maintained the small size while thoroughly updating it to include recent developments and insights in the field, many of which have emerged from the work of their own research group.
Pharmaceutical Dosage forms: Tablets. V.2 - Rational Design and Formulation by
Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms: Tablets, Third Edition is acomprehensive treatment of the design, formulation, manufacture, and evaluation of the tablet dosage form.¿ The ultimate goal of drug product development is to design a system that maximizes the therapeutic potential of the drug substance and facilitates its access to patients; Volume 2 focuses on the rational design, and formulation of a tablet and includes chapters with practical illustrations and formulation examples.
Pharmacology of Pain by
Pharmacology of Pain provides a complete review of the pharmacology of pain, including mechanisms of drug actions, clinical aspects of drug usage, and new developments. This authoritative book describes the different systems involved in the perception, transmission, and modulation of pain and discusses the available options for pharmacological treatment of pain.
Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists, 5e by
This fifth edition of Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists continues to provide a comprehensive scientific basis and a readable account of the principles of pharmacology, as well as practical guidance in the use of drugs that is relevant to clinical anaesthesia. With these concepts in mind: Every chapter in this new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated An additional chapter on Adverse Drug Reactions is included For ease of reference, the structures of many commonly used agents are featured, with their sites of isomerism, when appropriate Recommended International Non-proprietary Names (rINNs) are generally used for generic agents, although preference has been given to the current nomenclature for adrenaline and noradrenaline As in previous editions, a comprehensive glossary covering abbreviations and acronyms is included to aid the reader. Principles and Practice of Pharmacology for Anaesthetists is an invaluable resource, both for candidates of professional examinations in anaesthesia and the practising anaesthetist wishing to refresh their pharmacological knowledge.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 10e by
Now in its tenth edition, Rang and Dale's pharmacology has been updated to include important new drugs such as gene therapies, personalised medicines and the new wave of RNA drugs. However it has not lost any of the elements that have contributed to its popularity, such as colour coding and illustrations, making it reader-friendly while comprehensively covering the depth of detail required. This essential book is recommended as the first-choice undergraduate text for science and medical students and junior doctors and will also be useful for students in other professional disciplines such as pharmacy, veterinary medicine and nursing.
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e by Taking on TIVA: Debunking Myths and Dispelling Misunderstandings by
"We have a geographically diverse collection of authors who have helped us to present the most important topics in TIVA in a clear and easily readable style. Our vision is to empower readers to start or continue using this technique. Ideally this should be in young, healthy patients undergoing relatively straightforward surgery without the use of muscle relaxants"-- Provided by publisher.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
