How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
A list of core/commonly used intensive care texts.
Acute and Critical Care Echocardiography by
This is a comprehensive practical guide to the practice of the new subspecialty of critical care echocardiography. The text covers all aspects of clinical practice and describes how to use transthoracic echocardiography to approach and manage common clinical questions. Specific emphasis is placed on the appropriate use of clinical echocardiographic data in the context of the patient’s critical illness; this is illustrated by the frequent use of case studies including both still and moving echocardiographic images.
Cardiac Intensive Care, 3e by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions.
Civetta, Taylor, & Kirby's Critical Care Medicine, 5e by
Covering every problem encountered in today's intensive care unit, this leading critical care textbook presents the knowledge and expertise of more than 350 global experts in this fast-changing field. Beginning with the social aspects of medicine, it then discusses monitoring and organ system pathobiology followed by specific diseases states/syndromes.
Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e by
The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organisation allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e by
Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence.
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by 
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
This handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians.
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e by
Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Provides easy access to evidence-based critical care practice; Offers a practical, clinically oriented approach to intensive care, with detailed descriptions of procedures, incorporating new ultrasound and how-to videos that can easily be accessed in the eBook; Key points are identified at the beginning of each chapter and in the margins of the text; Key references chosen by the author experts are highlighted at the end of each chapter.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by 
Oxford Textbook of Critical Care, 2e by
The thoroughly revised second edition of the Oxford Textbook of Critical Care is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary text covering all aspects of adult intensive care management. Uniquely the book takes a problem-orientated approach providing a reference source for clinical issues experienced every day in the intensive care unit.
50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know by
50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of critical care medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including: sedation and analgesia, resuscitation, shock, ARDS, nutrition, renal failure, trauma, infection,diabetes, and physical therapy.
Acute and Critical Care Echocardiography by
This is a comprehensive practical guide to the practice of the new subspecialty of critical care echocardiography. The text covers all aspects of clinical practice and describes how to use transthoracic echocardiography to approach and manage common clinical questions. Specific emphasis is placed on the appropriate use of clinical echocardiographic data in the context of the patient’s critical illness; this is illustrated by the frequent use of case studies including both still and moving echocardiographic images.
Adult Critical Care Medicine: A Clinical Casebook by
This clinical casebook provides a comprehensive yet concise state-of-the-art review of adult critical care medicine. Presented in a case-based format, each case focuses on a scenario commonly encountered with an adult patient in the ICU. Case scenarios include management of seizures and acute intracranial hypertension, sepsis, liver failure, brain death, bleeding and thrombosis, and treating hospital acquired infections in the ICU.
Advanced Paediatric Life Support: A Practical Approach to Emergencies, 7e by
The gold standard for treating paediatric emergencies. This book is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care. Written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group, the book uses their structured approach: a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life-threatening illness or injury. Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. In the seventh edition you will find descriptions of both common and uncommon paediatric emergencies which you may encounter in clinical practice, their causes, and how to best treat them during the first hours after presentation.
Please Note: This is the new international edition. An updated ANZ 7th edition of the APLS course manual is currently being finalised which will incorporate the latest ILCOR 2021 guidelines, current best practice and Australia and New Zealand-specific content.
Advanced Paediatric Life Support: A Practical Approach to Emergencies, Australia and New Zealand, 6e by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. This edition has been adapted specifically for use in Australia and New Zealand, with the latest procedures, medications and clinical best practice to match the guidelines of the Australia and New Zealand Resuscitation Councils.
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors by
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivor fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter; Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach; Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process.
All You Really Need to Know to Interpret Arterial Blood Gases by
Today every ICU provides rapid and automated blood gas testing twenty-four hours a day. The emphasis in this handy manual on blood gases is on interpreting readings and wisely using the information derived. The self-testing questions and glossary make it particularly useful. The Second Edition includes patient scenarios, more figures, a revised bibliography, and pertinent Internet addresses.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Anesthesia in High-Risk Patients by
This book describes the approach to anaesthetic and perioperative management in different categories of high-risk patient scheduled to undergo elective noncardiac surgery. Individual sections focus on patients with conditions entailing cardiac and hemodynamic risks, respiratory risks, renal and metabolic risks, neurological risks, and other forms of risk.
Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine 2022 by
The Annual Update compiles reviews of the most recent developments in clinical intensive care and emergency medicine research and practice in one comprehensive book. The chapters are written by well recognized experts in these fields. The book is addressed to everyone involved in intensive care and emergency medicine, anesthesia, surgery, internal medicine, and pediatrics.
Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine 2023 by
The Annual Update compiles reviews of the most recent developments in clinical intensive care and emergency medicine research and practice in one comprehensive book. The chapters are written by well recognized experts in these fields. The book is addressed to everyone involved in intensive care and emergency medicine, anesthesia, surgery, internal medicine, and pediatrics.
Applied Anatomy for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book is a tool for trainee and practised anaesthetists and intensive care physicians seeking to learn, revise and develop their anatomical knowledge and procedural skills. Concise textual descriptions of anatomy are integrated with descriptions of procedures that are frequently performed in anaesthesia and intensive care, such as nerve blocks, focussed echo, lung ultrasound, vascular access procedures, front of neck airway access and chest drainage.
Atlas of Critical Care Procedures by
This atlas is designed to provide an all-inclusive resource that describes step by step how to perform the essential bedside procedures required to provide optimal care to the critically ill patient. Detailed descriptions of these procedures, with sequential photographs depicting each critical step, provide an in depth understanding of the anatomy, critical technical steps and common pitfalls to both military and civilian trainees.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine, 5e by
The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions.
Biochemistry for Anesthesiologists and Intensivists by
This book discusses and explains the importance of biochemistry knowledge in understanding what happens to patients during anesthesia and/or to those being in intensive care. It covers a wide range of topics, such as Cerebral Edema, Shock, Blood-Brain Barrier, The Pulmonary surfactant, The Acid - Base equilibrium, Local anaesthetics, Perineural adjuvants, Normobaric Oxygen Therapy, Theories of Narcosis. Hyperventilation effects and consequences are also presented.
Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing: Physiology, Clinical Interpretations, and Laboratory Applications, 3e by
Blood gas tests are a group of tests that are widely used and essential for the evaluation and management of a patient's ventilation, oxygenation, and acid-base balance, often in emergent situations, and along with blood gases are other critical care analytes measured on blood: calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate.
Cardiac Intensive Care, 3e by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions.
Cardiopulmonary Monitoring: Basic Physiology, Tools, and Bedside Management for the Critically Ill by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the basic physiology of the cardiac and pulmonary systems, tools for cardiopulmonary monitoring, and related issues in the management of specific conditions. Cardiopulmonary Monitoring: Basic Physiology, Tools, and Bedside Management for the Critically Ill is an essential resource for physicians, residents, fellows, medical students, and researchers in cardiology, critical care, emergency medicine, anaesthesiology, and radiology.
Case Files: Critical Care, 2e by
Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition provides 42 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in critical care. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize.
Cases in Paediatric Critical Care Transfer and Retrieval Medicine by
This highly illustrated book covers a multitude of clinical presentations in a case-based format to allow an authentic feel to the transfer process. Written by clinicians with experience in thousands of transfers, it brings together many years of experience from a world-renowned hospital. Following the case from initial presentation, to resuscitation and referral and finally with the transfer itself; the book explores the clinical stabilisation, human factors decisions and logistical challenges that are encountered every day by these teams.
Civetta, Taylor, & Kirby's Critical Care Medicine, 5e by
Covering every problem encountered in today's intensive care unit, this leading critical care textbook presents the knowledge and expertise of more than 350 global experts in this fast-changing field. Beginning with the social aspects of medicine, it then discusses monitoring and organ system pathobiology followed by specific diseases states/syndromes.
Clinical Anesthesiology II: Lessons from Morbidity and Mortality Conferences by
Written by experts in the anesthesiology field, this unique resource explores the various issues and complications that arise during the administration of anesthesiology in various clinical settings. To convey the depth and breadth of these potential obstacles, 26 real-life cases are explored and examined throughout the book. Each chapter includes a case summary, discussion questions, and selected references - all of which are supplemented by high quality illustrations and images that provide distinctive visual synopses of key teaching points. Clinical Anesthesiology II: Lessons from Morbidity and Mortality Conferences is an indispensable guide that functions as both a pragmatic reference and compelling read for practitioners and critical care medicine trainees.
Controversies in Critical Care by
The book reviews the most relevant, contemporaneous evidence on several critical care topics and provides practical guidelines for clinical practice. This book includes chapters that follow a structured approach to controversies related to specific organ systems. The topics covered provide a summary of the most relevant, practice-changing studies in the field of critical care medicine. Each topic describes the basic applied physiology, points of controversy, the evidence base, and summarizes the key points at the end.
COVID-19 Critical and Intensive Care Medicine Essentials by
This book provides healthcare professionals in Critical Care setting an easy consultation guide to fight against COVID-19. The book is divided into sections: Fundamentals of COVID-19, Pneumological critical care, Neurological manifestations, Cardiovascular manifestations, Renal manifestations, Haemostasis and coagulation, Other multi-organs involvement, Principles of therapy.
Crisis Management in Acute Care Settings: Human Factors and Team Psychology in a High-Stakes Environment, 3e by
This book is unique in providing a comprehensive overview of the human factors issues relevant to patient safety during acute care. By elucidating the principles of human behavior and decision-making in critical situations and identifying frequent sources of human error, it will help healthcare professionals provide safer, more effective treatment when dealing with emergencies characterized by uncertainty, high stakes, time pressure, and stress.
Critical Care Compendium: 1001 Topics in Intensive Care & Acute Medicine by
Uncommon clinical problems can present serious challenges in any medical specialty, particularly in those areas providing acute care. Bringing together all uncommon problems relevant to the treatment of seriously ill patients in a quick one-stop reference, this book is an easy-to-use and practical reference for the clinician at any level faced with an uncommon acute medical problem at the bedside. Using a popular A-Z format, over 1000 entries reflect the current breadth of the specialty's extension to hospital-wide issues of acute care. Each topic contains both essential diagnostic and treatment information and discusses the implications for intensive care management. Extensive cross-referencing throughout aids rapid access to key information and the use of cartoons enhances learning. The book offers a source of reference for the many issues so often overlooked in major textbooks, which can be difficult not only to locate elsewhere but also for experienced clinicians to remember in detail. An invaluable resource within a single volume for intensivists, anaesthetists, emergency specialists, and a wide range of other healthcare professionals.
Critical Care Echocardiography Review: 1200+ Questions and Answers by
Prepare for success on the Examination of Special Competence in Critical Care Echocardiography (CCEeXAM)! Critical Care Echocardiography Review is a first-of-its-kind, review textbook containing over 1,200 questions and answers.
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by
This unique review reflects the author's belief that competency in critical care medicine is derived from multiple factors: an understanding of the basics of medicine, access to the most current evidence, clinical experience, and openness to palliative care.
Critical Care Medicine: an Algorithmic Approach by
Make confident, evidence-based decisions in everyday critical care practice with Critical Care Medicine: An Algorithmic Approach. This first-of-its-kind decision making tool provides concise, practical guidance on key aspects of critical care in the form of easy-to-follow diagnostic and treatment algorithms, diagrams, and tables. The unique format saves you time as it guides you through best practices and reliable data to improve patient outcomes in the ICU. Chapters cover a particular organ system and are organized by disorder for easy reference. Each chapter includes a brief overview of the disorder, diagnostic algorithms, treatment algorithms, potential complications and strategies for overcoming them, and supporting references. Helpful mnemonics and advice from critical care experts are provided throughout. Key topics include ventilatory failure: ARDS, pulmonary embolism, asthma and COPD; ABG analysis; pleural effusion; acute respiratory failure; cardiac critical care; acute kidney injury, water and electrolyte management, acid-base disorders; infectious disease; COVID-19; critical care issues related to other medical specialties; and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5e by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference.
Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and More, 5e by
Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More, 5e covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that's new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before.
Critical Care Secrets, 6e by
Critical Care Secrets, 6e, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on neurological monitoring, obesity in the ICU, new ultrasound practices, ICU survivorship, and the latest cardiac technology such as ventricular assist and percutaneous support devices. Covers the full range of essential topics in critical care for in-training or practicing professionals, including anatomy, physiology, immunology, and inflammation - fundamentally important topics in the effective care of critically ill patients.
Critical Care Sedation by
This book provides a comprehensive guide to delivering analgesia and sedation to critically ill patients for professionals and caregivers being involved in the management of these patients. It discusses and explains in detail the advantages and limitations of each drug and device using clear flowcharts, diagrams and tables.
Critical Care Toxicology: Diagnosis and Management of the Critically Poisoned Patient by
Building on the previous edition with contributions from internationally renowned experts this book provides a fully comprehensive resource for managing the post emergency/treatment stage of acute poisoning. Chapters incorporate evidence-based paradigms with up-to-date citations from the original medical literature. Topic areas covered include: diagnosis and management of the critically poisoned patient, including pediatric patients and poisoning in pregnancy; toxic syndromes including hepatotoxic and pulmonary syndromes as well as poisonings from medications, drugs of abuse, chemical and biological agents. This book is an essential resource for Clinical Toxicologists, Intensivists and Emergency Medicine specialists in training and in practice.
Critical Care Ultrasonography, 2e by
A complete, hands-on guide to successful image acquisition and interpretation at the bedside Written by top practitioners in the field, this all-in-one text/DVD package is filled with practical guidance that helps you master clinical ultrasonography in a critical care environment. Here, you'll learn exactly how to utilize diagnostic ultrasound as part of the physical exam, as the book examines current evidence supporting its use in the critically ill adult and child. Organized by body system, Critical Care Ultrasonography features self-contained chapters that can be used as individual reference guides for a range of interventions, from transthoracic echocardiography to echocardiagraphic evaluation of cardiac trauma. Through this in-depth coverage, you'll get a sense of how this essential technology supports the cross-disciplinary nature of critical care.
Critical Care Ultrasound by
A straightforward, practical approach, an abundance of detailed ultrasound images and online video demonstrations provide step-by-step guidance on the principles and effective use of this important imaging modality in both diagnosis and assistance with specific procedures. Coverage includes the latest applications of ultrasound for neurologic critical care; vascular problems; chest; hemodynamic monitoring; and abdominal and emergency uses, as well as assistance in a variety of specific procedures in critical care medicine.
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3e by
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3e, keeps you abreast of the skills and knowledge required to safely care for children with congenital and acquired heart disease in the ICU. Pediatric intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists from leading centers around the world provide a well-rounded perspective on basic scientific principles, medical and pharmacologic treatments, surgical techniques, and equipment.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Emergency Medicine, 8e by
An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3e by
Drawing on the experience and knowledge of master world-renowned trauma surgeons, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3e, offers a comprehensive summary of optimal treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. Ideally suited for everyday use, this practical, concise reference highlights the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, from damage control to noninvasive techniques to chemical and biological injuries. A focus on the surgical techniques required to manage even the most complex injuries makes it both an excellent resource for quick review before entering the operating room and a valuable review tool for board certification or recertification.
Devices in Cardiac Critical Care by
Everything you need to know about the latest cardiac devices and how to use them to diagnose and treat patients safely and effectively.
In a critical care setting, time is often of the essence and there is no room for confusion about different cardiac devices―which are evolving at a rapid-pace. Understanding how to choose and use each of these devices correctly is crucial. Devices in Cardiac Critical Care addresses this important issue by providing thorough coverage of all the devices you are likely to encounter. Written in an engaging, conversational style, this accessible book will assist you in making effective clinical judgements.
Echocardiography in ICU by
This book offers readers a better understanding of how to perform echocardiography in their daily intensive care unit (ICU) work. With numerous practical examples highlighting the indices and hemodynamic monitoring profiles that physicians could encounter, it considers echocardiography not merely as a simple imaging technique, but as a practical diagnostic and hemodynamic monitoring tool.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy, 3e by
This simple, jargon-free text fits in your pocket, providing an 'on-the-spot' guide to clinician-performed ultrasound in the emergency department, intensive care unit or in the field. Written by an international team of experts and comprehensively updated in its third edition, Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy brings together in one volume the latest indications for focused ultrasound, including those related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The text is highly accessible and easy to use in an emergency. It is aimed at the rapidly expanding cohort of non-radiologist clinical sonographers who use focused ultrasound. However, its broad scope (for example using ultrasound in the rapid diagnosis of DVT) makes it an invaluable addition to the library of any doctor with an interest in the technique, whether in primary care or the hospital setting. Simple to read and follow Free of jargon Fast step-by-step guide to ultrasound procedures Clear diagrams Tips and pitfalls to avoid Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19 Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19
Endotoxin Induced-Shock: A Multidisciplinary Approach in Critical Care by
This book provides easy consultation and guidance for an appropriate understanding and management of endotoxic shock. Endotoxic shock results from a severe, generalized inflammatory response induced by bloodstream infection with gram-negative bacteria. However, endotoxin-induced inflammatory activation may be disconnected by Gram-Negative threats (e.g. Gram-Positive and yeast infections) as well as occur in multiple clinical scenarios like post-cardiac arrest syndrome and trauma, possibly due to gut barrier dysfunction and consequent endotoxin translocation. The clinical management is structured focusing and dedicating a chapter for antibiotics, corticosteroids, volume support, vasoactive and cardiostimulating drug, coagulopathy and nutritional support.
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care: Strategies for Prevention, Early Detection, and Successful Management of Perioperative Complications, 2e by
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia & Critical Care, 2e is a problem-oriented approach textbook that will aid a wide variety of readers in handling day-to-day issues and developments relevant to the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients.
Ethics in Intensive Care Medicine by
In this book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, experts in the field of clinical ethics describe basic principles of clinical ethics and ethical reasoning, the fundamental pillars of intensive care medicine as well as the decision-making processes necessary to arrive at appropriate decisions for each individual patient. Specifically, the complex decision-making process, with regard to limiting life-sustaining therapies and integrating palliative care into intensive care, are expounded. Furthermore, the still controversial topics of ethical climate, proportionate care, and prioritization are elaborated upon.
Evidence-Based Critical Care, 3e by
This is the premier evidence-based textbook in critical care medicine. The 3rd edition features updated and revised chapters, numerous new references, streamlined content, and new chapters on key topics such as the new paradigm in critical care medicine, cardiac output monitoring, surgical optimization, vital signs, and arterial blood gas analysis. The book maintains the author's trademark humour and engaging writing style and is suitable for a broad and diverse audience of medical students, residents, fellows, physicians, nurses, and respiratory therapists who seek the latest and best evidence in critical care.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e by
Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3e. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence.
Extracorporeal Life Support by
This book covers up-to-date knowledge of extracorporeal life support/ membrane oxygenation (ECLS/ECMO), which is performed as one special procedure that takes over the work of the lungs when they are too sick to properly support the body. This book summarizes the major characteristics of technique, current status of implication and topics of development. Physiology and mechanism of ECLS is defined in the initial part of the book. Type and primary characteristics of ECLS, including instrument materials and monitoring methods are further introduced. Methods of cannulation, characteristics of patients and key-point of management during paediatric ECLS are included. ECLS has been recognized as one kind of novel CPR procedures, transport of ECLS, treatment of various complications with preventive strategy are demonstrated. Recent hot topics of ECLS and training perspective are also discussed.
Fast Facts for the Primary FRCA and EDAIC: Basic Science for Anaesthetists by
By facilitating timely revision of the entire curriculum, this book makes sure that candidates for both the Primary FRCA and for the EDAIC will enter the examination hall with a positive mindset and comprehensive knowledge of the basic sciences required by anaesthetists.
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care, 6e by
In the highly specialized field of caring for children in the PICU, Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care is the definitive reference for all members of the paediatric intensive care team. The authors have carefully updated the 6th Edition of this highly regarded text to bring you the most authoritative and useful information on today's paediatric critical care-everything from basic science to clinical applications.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 5e by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout.
Hall, Schmidt and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, 5e by
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic.
Handbook of Cardiac Critical Care and Anaesthesia by
This book provides clinical tips on the management of common emergencies that are regularly faced by critical care and acute care cardiologists in resource-limited settings. Based on the current guidelines, it explores the evaluation of the patient, followed by its treatment methodology. It highlights the beneficial effects of the use of cardiac drugs during an emergency. There is also a special section on preoperative evaluation and postoperative management of cardiac patients of different subsets. Medicolegal/documentation points are also discussed where relevant. It is useful as a ready reference for physicians, anaesthetists and cardiologists. Key Features * Reinforces certain teachings and recalls certain overlooked clinical points to address emergency situations in a busy, resource limited setting * Explains lucidly what the acute cardiac care/anaesthesia registrar or cardiology fellows ought to do in the intensive care and postoperative wards * Emphasizes the importance of clinical acumen and observation
Handbook of Critical and Intensive Care Medicine, 4e by
The latest edition of this handbook is a concise yet comprehensive guide for attending physicians, fellows, residents, and students who cover the ICU. The chapters follow an outline format and are divided by organ system, including neurologic disorders and cardiovascular disorders, and special topics, such as environmental disorders, trauma, and toxicology. The handbook includes thoroughly updated chapters from the previous edition, alongside completely new content.
Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound by
This handy guide clarifies basic concepts and provides the hands-on guidance necessary for clinicians to arrive at better therapeutic decisions and perform safer procedures with the use of ultrasound. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound opens with important chapters on ultrasound basics, ultrasound orientation, and probe selection, machine controls, and equipment.
Handbook of Critical Care Drug Therapy, 3e by
Prepared by noted critical care experts at the National Institutes of Health and leading medical centers, this handbook is a quick-reference guide to the choice and administration of drugs in critical care. It contains 126 easy-to-scan tables listing drugs of choice for specific clinical situations; dosages, dilutions, and infusion rates; and indications and adverse effects of drugs. This thoroughly updated Third Edition includes many new drugs and has an expanded section on neurologic and psychiatric therapeutics.
Hemodynamic Monitoring by
This book teaches readers how to use hemodynamic monitoring, an essential skill for today's intensivists. It offers a valuable guide for beginners, as well as for experienced intensivists who want to hone their skills, helping both groups detect an inadequacy of perfusion and make the right choices to achieve the main goal of hemodynamic monitoring in the critically ill, i.e., to correctly assess the cardiovascular system and its response to tissue oxygen demands.
Hepatic Critical Care by
This book focuses on the critical care of the patient with acute, acute on chronic and chronic liver failure as well as the peri-operative care of the patient with liver transplantation. Each of these disease processes is unique in pathophysiological manifestations, underpinnings of physiology and treatment options.
Humidification in the Intensive Care Unit: The Essential by
The 2nd edition of this book aims to underline how inadequate humidification of inspired gases can be the cause of a variety of serious problems and, thus, it brings new results and trends in humidification, updates about technological analyses in equipment’s ventilator modes and again the impact of humidification in complementary therapies such airway secretions in mechanical ventilated patients. These aspects are analysed in critically ill patients requiring various options of ventilatory approach (i.e. invasive, noninvasive, nasal high flow oxygen).
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
This handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians.
Improving Critical Care Survivorship: A Guide to Prevention, Recovery, and Reintegration by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of improving critical care survivorship. Comprised of four sections, the text presents interventions that can be used to improve patient outcomes and reduce the burden of post-intensive care syndrome across the arc of care, from the ICU to returning home.
Infectious Diseases and Antimicrobial Stewardship in Critical Care Medicine, 4e by
Infectious Diseases and Antimicrobial Stewardship in Critical Care Medicine 4e has been fully updated and revised. The clinical diagnostic approach to common infectious disease problems in the CCU is the underlying theme in the book. Emphasized throughout is the importance of formulating an accurate early presumptive clinical syndromic diagnosis which is the basis for selecting optimal initial antimicrobial therapy in the CCU.
Intensive Care Fundamentals: Practically Oriented Essential Knowledge for Newcomers to ICUs by
This book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, is a graphical, dense and concise text describing fundamental theoretical concepts needed for doctors and other professionals new to the field of Intensive Care Medicine. The book serves two main purposes: as study material for any junior doctor, nurse or other allied healthcare professional who is time-pressured and wants to quickly learn the essentials; and as a course volume of new ESICM educational initiative called Intensive Care Fundamentals. The overarching goal of this initiative is to offer standardised high-quality introductory education to all starters in intensive care.
Intensive Care of the Adult with Congenital Heart Disease by
Dedicated to the critical management of acutely ill adults with congenital heart disease, this comprehensive book discusses the many challenges faced in the management of these patients, who require intensive inter- and trans-disciplinary care. It provides the first universal review of the practical management of patients with these complex conditions, who survive into adulthood with congenital cardiac malformations and are often affected by other morbidities.
Interventional Critical Care: A Manual for Advanced Care Practitioners by
This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of the interventional procedures that can be performed in intensive care settings. The book addresses fundamentals of the indications and technical aspects of procedures, and identifies pitfalls and resource needs.
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in ED and ICU by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in.
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e by
Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 9e, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Provides easy access to evidence-based critical care practice; Offers a practical, clinically oriented approach to intensive care, with detailed descriptions of procedures, incorporating new ultrasound and how-to videos that can easily be accessed in the eBook; Key points are identified at the beginning of each chapter and in the margins of the text; Key references chosen by the author experts are highlighted at the end of each chapter.
Irwin and Rippe's Ultrasonography for the Management of the Critically Ill by
Enhancing and adding to ultrasonographic text and video content in Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, 8e, this easy-to-follow volume provides expert guidance on the optimal use of ultrasound in the critical care environment. The book covers a wide variety of critical care procedures, explaining how to perform them and how ultrasound can be used to support evaluation and management services to patients with life-threatening illnesses or injuries.
ISCCM Manual of RRT and ECMO in ICU: A Reference Book for Practicing Intensivists by
The ISCCM Manual of Renal Replacement Therapy and Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation in ICU: A Reference Book for Practicing Intensivists is an endeavor by Indian Society of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM), the first book of its kind covering practical aspects of bedside extracorporeal therapy (ECT) in ICU patients. It covers various aspects of treatment of acute kidney injury (AKI) in ICU, selection and delivery of the appropriate form of renal replacement therapy (RRT) and extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), with comprehensive material accompanied by practical aspects. The contents are focused for the young budding intensivists and critical care students, but the book will surely be a useful bedside reference guide for anybody handling extracorporeal therapy in critically ill patients. The chapters are concise; discuss the techniques with diagrammatic representation, along with the management, with key points at the end of each chapter. The chapters are arranged with subheadings, flowcharts, checklists and illustrations for better assimilation of content. It covers recent indications in the field of ECT like apheresis, ECMO for sepsis and eCPR, which may bring changes in the clinical practice of critical care physicians. This book will also help postgraduate students and young aspiring intensivists to prepare for various national and international examinations.
Key Trials in Intensive Care Medicine: Passing the Final FFICM by
This essential guide encompasses over 160 pivotal papers critical for doctors preparing for postgraduate exams in intensive care, interviews, or commencing an intensive care rotation. Chosen for their educational merit and significant influence on intensive care medicine, these key trials, studies, and meta-analyses are distilled into succinct, easy-to-read summaries. The guide steers clear of intricate numerical details and statistical analyses, concentrating instead on the core information necessary to comprehend the significance of these influential papers. Tailored specifically for the OSCE and SOE components of exams like the Final FFICM and EDIC, it provides concise summaries and key results, focusing on the most crucial information for exam success. Serving as a resource that underpins the evidence base of contemporary intensive care clinical practice, these summaries are an indispensable tool for both exam preparation and ongoing professional development in intensive care medicine.
Lange Critical Care, 1e by
LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs.
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e by
Written in clear, concise language for superb readability, Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general paediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important paediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care.
Manual of Emergency and Critical Care Ultrasound, 2e by
This is a practical, concise introduction to what is rapidly becoming an essential tool for all critical care physicians: bedside emergency ultrasound. The Manual covers the full spectrum of conditions diagnosed using ultrasound and gives practical guidance in how to use ultrasound for common invasive procedures.
Manual of Pediatric Cardiac Care: Volume I by
This two-volume manual covers the most relevant protocols in pediatric cardiac care to serve as a practical guide that matches and reflects the high level of accumulated knowledge and expertise in this clinical field. It includes 179 chapters and offers comprehensive, precise, and up-to-date practical tips with specific care protocols to provide the most efficient strategies for high-quality care in patients with congenital heart disease (CHD). This book simplifies learning with many tables, flowcharts, graphs, and algorithms for easy access and fast action. Volume I covers many key sections, such as prenatal morphogenesis and physiology of the human heart, fetal cardiology, neonates and congenital heart disease, cardiac imaging, pediatric cardiac catheterization, pediatric cardiac electrophysiology, critical events and emergency procedures in pediatric cardiac care, management of specific cardiac conditions, general pediatric and subspecialty issues related to children with CHD, follow-up standards in pediatric outpatient cardiology clinic, prophylaxis in children with CHD, quality aspects, professional conduct and training in pediatric cardiac care. This manual is a must-have resource for pediatricians, neonatologists, clinical pharmacy specialists, pediatric intensive care physicians, pediatric cardiologists, pediatric cardiac intensive care physicians, pediatric cardiac surgeons, and/or surgeons interested in pediatric cardiac surgery.
Manual of Pediatric Cardiac Care: Volume II by
This two-volume manual covers the most relevant protocols in pediatric cardiac care to serve as a practical guide that matches and reflects the high level of accumulated knowledge and expertise in this clinical field. It includes 179 chapters and offers comprehensive, precise, and up-to-date practical tips with specific care protocols to provide the most efficient strategies for high-quality care in patients with congenital heart disease (CHD). This book simplifies learning with many tables, flowcharts, graphs, and algorithms for easy access and fast action. Volume II covers many vital sections, such as ethical considerations in pediatric cardiac patients, pediatric cardiac surgery, pediatric cardiac intensive care unit (PCICU) guidelines, clinical pharmacy guidelines, adults with congenital heart disease, appendix (with normal values/reference tables/graphs/scores and various calculated indexes used and needed for proper pediatric cardiac care). This manual is a must-have resource for pediatricians, neonatologists, clinical pharmacy specialists, pediatric intensive care physicians, pediatric cardiologists, pediatric cardiac intensive care physicians, pediatric cardiac surgeons, and/or surgeons interested in pediatric cardiac surgery.
Marino's The ICU Book, 4e by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, 4e, continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit.
Marino's the Little ICU Book, 2e by
Quick lookup for the most essential info in critical care! Ideal for quick reference at the bedside, The Little ICU Book is a condensed, compact version of The ICU Book , Dr. Marino's best-selling comprehensive intensive care reference .The Little ICU Book zeroes in on only the essentials for the hands-on care of critically ill adult patients.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment. This invaluable resource provides intensive care medicine trainees with an ideal companion for the FFICM and EDIC and other postgraduate critical care exams.
Mechanical Ventilation for Respiratory Failure: Demystifying the Box in the Corner of the Room by
Mechanical ventilators have long been an integral part of the care of patients with acute and chronic respiratory failure, and the recent COVID-19 pandemic has further underscored the need for greater understanding of the basic principles of their use in today's ICU. Mechanical Ventilation for Respiratory Failure: Demystifying the Box in the Corner of the Room, is an easy-to-read, accessible text covering must-know information in this essential area--from basic and core principles to advanced topics in the field
Mechanical Ventilation in Emergency Medicine, 2e by
This book functions as both an introduction and a refresher of fundamental mechanical ventilation concepts. It reviews the core evidence-based principles of ventilation and focuses on this topic as it occurs in the emergency setting, covering the management from intubation until transfer to the ICU. Comprehensive and concise, this second edition features updated new material on blood gas analysis, advanced modes of ventilation, as well as a completely revamped chapter on the ventilator screen, and five new case studies.
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine: A Resource for Clinicians, Administrators, and Risk Managers by
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine is a comprehensive resource intended to provide a state-of-the-art overview of complex ethical, regulatory, and legal issues of importance o clinical healthcare professionals in the area of acute care medicine; including, for example, physicians, advanced practice providers, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and care managers.
Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook, 2e by
The second edition of Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA) has been thoroughly revised and updated. This beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance provides pertinent and practical guidance for managing vital acute pain services in all civilian and military clinical settings. Much of the book is devoted to step-by-step guidance on performing various regional anaesthesia nerve blocks organized by pertinent neuroanatomy, use of nerve stimulation, and use of ultrasound.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Monitoring Mechanical Ventilation Using Ventilator Waveforms by 
Neurosonology in Critical Care: Monitoring the Neurological Impact of the Critical Pathology by
This textbook addresses the classical use of Transcranial Doppler (TCD) and Transcranial Color-Coded Duplex Sonography (TCCS), focusing on the usefulness of neurological monitoring beyond classical acute brain injuries present in the daily intensive care medical practice. It encompasses a wide range of critical pathologies where neurological impact is part of clinical evolution, offering practical approaches for managing, application and interpretation of neurosonology to assist the physician to making real-time individualized decisions at bedside.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by 
Onco-Critical Care: An Evidence-Based Approach by
This book provides insights into the care of cancer patients in the intensive care unit in a comprehensive manner. It provides an evidence-based approach to practitioners and postgraduate students to understand about the critical care needs of the patients suffering from malignancies. It helps the readers to develop critical thinking and encourage discussion towards improving the overall care of the patients and their families as their optimal management requires expertise in oncology, critical care, and palliative medicine and there is a dearth of books explaining about the special requirements and critical care needs of cancer patients.
Operative Techniques and Recent Advances in Acute Care and Emergency Surgery by
The aim of this book is to identify and shed new light on the main surgical practices involved in acute care and trauma surgery. Adopting an evidence-based approach, a multidisciplinary team of surgeons and intensivists illustrate basic and advanced operative techniques, accompanied by a comprehensive and updated reference collection. Emerging surgical procedures in Acute Care Surgery are also explored step by step with the help of ample illustrations.
Oxford Handbook of Critical Care, 3e by
The fully revised, third edition of the Handbook describes best practice of critical care in a succinct, concise and clinically-orientated way. Covering the principles of general management, it includes therapeutic and monitoring devices, specific disorders of organ systems, as well as detailed information on drugs and fluids.
Oxford Textbook of Advanced Critical Care Echocardiography by
The Oxford Textbook of Advanced Critical Care Echocardiography provides a physiological and evidence-based reference guide to the principles and techniques of advanced echocardiography. Both transoesophageal and transthoracic echocardiography are addressed, where appropriate.
Oxford Textbook of Critical Care, 2e by
The thoroughly revised second edition of the Oxford Textbook of Critical Care is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary text covering all aspects of adult intensive care management. Uniquely the book takes a problem-orientated approach providing a reference source for clinical issues experienced every day in the intensive care unit.
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease inthe critically ill.The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the criticalcare setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology.Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance ofgetting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughoutexplore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
Oxford Textbook of Transplant Anaesthesia and Critical Care by
The Oxford Textbook of Transplant Anaesthesia and Critical Care has been written and edited by pioneers in the field of organ transplantation with an international team of authors, in order to equip anaesthetists and intensivists with the knowledge and training necessary to provide high quality and evidence-based care.
Passing the Final FFICM: High-Yield Facts for the MCQ & OSCE Exams by
This innovative resource serves as a fusion of an MCQ guide and a textbook, providing essential content for postgraduate trainees gearing up for the FFICM Final exam, a vital part of the CCT in Intensive Care Medicine. Crafted to meet the unique requirements of the MCQ while also addressing the necessity for concise, well-structured responses in the OSCE, this book prioritises quick topic transitions, delivering focused, streamlined learning across a range of ICM topics. Its uniqueness lies in its unorthodox structure; rather than having a conventional table of contents, it gives you the freedom to start your learning adventure from any page. Each of the 1,400 facts is structured as a question, reflecting the format of both exams. Answers are conveniently positioned just below, eliminating the need for constant page-flipping. The material is carefully curated to cover the breadth of the ICM curriculum, weaving in valuable insights from the author's and colleagues' exam experiences. Random questions replicate the unpredictability of both exams and enhance the reader's capacity to swiftly switch between topics during self-assessment. This balances knowledge application and active recall while using memory-enhancing methods like self-quizzing, chunking, and spaced repetition.
Pediatric and Neonatal Mechanical Ventilation: From Basics to Clinical Practice by
Written by outstanding authorities from all over the world, this comprehensive new textbook on paediatric and neonatal ventilation puts the focus on the effective delivery of respiratory support to children, infants and newborns. Throughout, the text is complemented by numerous illustrations and key information is clearly summarized in tables and lists.
Pediatric Critical Care: Text and Study Guide, 2e by
This extensively updated textbook is a comprehensive study guide that covers pediatric critical care principles and specific disease entities commonly encountered by the pediatric critical care medicine (PCCM) practitioner. Pathophysiologic aspects unique to the pediatric patient are emphasized. The first edition has become a highly utilized text for pediatric critical care fellows.
Pharmacology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, 5e by
The fifth edition of this popular textbook continues to provide a solid foundation of pharmacological knowledge for all those working in anaesthesia and intensive care. The content has been thoroughly revised to include expanded chapters with clearer figures, ensuring readers are kept abreast of the ever-changing landscape of clinical pharmacology. Conveniently divided into four sections covering the basic principles of pharmacology, core drugs in anaesthetic practice, cardiovascular drugs, and other important drugs and complemented by new diagrams, tables and chemical formulae to facilitate learning.
Physics for Anesthesiologists and Intensivists: From Daily Life to Clinical Practice by
This book, now in its 2nd edition, discusses, explains and provides detailed, up-to-date information on physics applied to clinical practice in anaesthesiology and critical care medicine, with the aid of simple examples from daily life. Almost everything that happens around us, including in the operating room and intensive care units, can be explained by physical laws.
POCUS in Critical Care, Anesthesia and Emergency Medicine by
This book describes Emergency Ultrasound (EFAST echo, Lung Ultrasound, Vascular Ultrasound and Transthoracic Echocardiograhy) and all ultrasound technics in Anesthesia practice, i.e. Gastric Ultrasound, Airway Ultrasound and Ultrasound guided vascular access. The book is divided into 11 sections and each section is devoted to a well-defined topic that are further investigated in the dedicated chapters richly and fully illustrated with colored and detailed sonoanatomy drawings. The volume represents a very useful, practical and highly didactic tool. It presents concise up-to-date and evidence-based knowledge in POCUS and explains the use and benefits of ultrasound for intensivists, anesthesiologists, emergency specialists and allied professionals, as well.
Point-Of-Care Ultrasound for the Neonatal and Pediatric Intensivist: A Practical Guide on the Use of POCUS by
This book, written by internationally renowned experts, is a comprehensive text covering all aspects and recommendations regarding the use of POCUS for critically ill neonates and children. Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) for the Neonatal and Pediatric Intensivist is structured to address and expand upon recently published international evidence-based POCUS guidelines endorsed by the European Society of Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care (ESPNIC). The book is richly illustrated and includes a robust collection of individual POCUS images and cases. The Electronic Supplementary Materials offer high quality and interesting video clips complementing reader learning, particularly for neonatology, pediatric critical care, and general pediatric providers. Chapter authors provide a practical, experience-based approach to clinical integration of POCUS applications and highlight relevant supportive literature as well as important limitations to POCUS use in the management of critically ill children. The information within the book is also intended to support further clinical and educational research in the practice of pediatric POCUS.
Post-Intensive Care Syndrome by
This book provides detailed up-to-date information on the physical, cognitive, and psychological impairments that are frequently present following a stay in an intensive care unit and examines in depth the available preventive and therapeutic strategies, including adapted rehabilitation programs.
A Practical Handbook on Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Therapy by
It offers readers a profound understanding of intensive care, with a specific focus on organ systems, their interactions, and the effect of life support technologies, pursuing a comprehensive approach to congenital heart defects and therapies, including pitfalls and solutions.
Practical Issues Updates in Anesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book describes the state of the art concerning some of the most hotly debated topics in anesthesia and intensive care and is at the same time intended to serve as a useful practical guide that will assist in improving outcomes. The topics covered are wide ranging and include, for example, use of the prone position in ARDS, the role of therapeutic hypothermia in the critically ill, the value of immunoglobulins in the treatment of severe sepsis, drug management of septic shock, new strategies for prevention of ventilator-associated pneumonia, non-invasive ventilation outside of the ICU, management of postoperative bleeding and prognostic factors in cardiac arrest. Written by recognized experts in the field, the book will offer a comprehensive and easy to understand update for specialists and students of anesthesia and intensive care.
Practical Trends in Anesthesia and Intensive Care 2020-2021 by
This book offers an essential guide to managing the most-debated hot topics of practical interest in anesthesia and intensive care. The book clearly explains complex topics, offering practicing clinicians valuable insights into the latest recommendations and evidence in the field while, at the same time, making it a vital resource for students new to the fields of anesthesia and intensive care.
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Secrets by
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Care Secrets is an all-new addition to this popular series, offering practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This new resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Principles and Practice of Maternal Critical Care by
This book contains a collection of the most recent insights regarding maternal morbidity and mortality and optimization of the care processes during acute critical illness. The volume represents a practical resource to be used in real-time by medical practitioners faced with a woman who is critically ill during pregnancy and the peripartum period.
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e by
Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation. Each chapter has been extensively revised to reflect the latest research.
Procedures, Techniques, and Minimally Invasive Monitoring in Intensive Care Medicine, 4e by
This extremely practical "how-to" guide provides graphically illustrated, step-by-step instructions for every diagnostic, therapeutic, and non-invasive monitoring procedure used in adult critical care. Coverage of each procedure includes indications, contraindications, equipment, anatomy, technique, complications, and ongoing care.
Procedures in Critical Care by
Procedures in Critical Care gives you practical, on-the-spot management strategies for the broad range of conditions encountered in daily critical care practice. Supporting this coverage are full-colour illustrations that take you step-by-step through each procedure.
Quality Management in Intensive Care: A Practical Guide by
This book comprehensively summarises the latest thinking and research in the rapidly evolving field of quality management in intensive care. Quality indicators and outcome measures are discussed with a practical focus on patient-centred, evidence-based implementation for safer and more effective clinical practice. Chapters on topics such as teambuilding, patient satisfaction, mortality and morbidity, and electronic management systems are organised into three sections, covering quality management at the scale of the individual patient, the intensive care unit, and the national and international level.
Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies by
The first text of its kind in this important area, Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies is designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICU before the development of adverse clinical outcomes. Presents 62 real-world clinical cases hat demonstrate the principles of diagnosis and therapy, helping you develop a thorough understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition.
Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, 5e by
In the 5th Edition, more than 250 global contributors bring you completely up to date on today's understanding, treatments, technologies, and outcomes regarding critical illness in children.
Savage and Aronson's Comprehensive Textbook of Perioperative and Critical Care Echocardiography, 3e by
Savage & Aronson's Comprehensive Textbook of Perioperative and Critical Care Echocardiography, 3e, remains the definitive text and reference on transesophageal echocardiography (TEE). This authoritative reference covers material relevant for daily clinical practice in operating rooms and procedural areas, preparation for certification examinations, use of echocardiography in the critical care setting, and advanced applications relevant to current certification and practice guidelines.
SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for postgraduate exams in anaesthesia and intensive care including the FRCA, FFICM, the EDAIC, and the EDIC. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in. Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters such as 'Intravenous anaesthetic agents' to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading.
Sedation and Analgesia for the Pediatric Intensivist: A Clinical Guide by
Provides a comprehensive overview on sedation and analgesia for the paediatric intensivist. Divided into two primary sections, the text presents a framework on how to care for patients who need sedation, analgesia, and neuromuscular blockade inside the paediatric ICU (PICU), and how to manage procedural sedation in an outpatient setting.
Sleep in Critical Illness: Physiology, Assessment, and its Importance to ICU Care by
This state of the art book summarizes current knowledge regarding sleep during critical illness and recovery and how the risk factors, recognition, and outcomes associated with sleep in the ICU differ from those of healthy adults. Chapters address sleep quality in both the research environment and during routine care, the factors that disrupt sleep architecture and circadian biology in the ICU setting, medications that alter sleep architecture and those that can be used to improve it, the relationship between sleep and sedation and between sleep and delirium, and current strategies that can be used to improve sleep in the vulnerable ICU population.
Stories from ICU Doctors: Navigating and Conquering Adversity by
The intensive care unit (ICU) is a specialised hospital ward where the 'sickest-of-the-sick' patients, often with life-threatening illness, receive around-the-clock monitoring and life support. There is a wide spectrum of conditions managed, and these present unique challenges for those who work in this field. Written in lay language by experienced ICU doctors (Intensivists), Psychiatrists, healthcare professionals outside of medicine and other stakeholders, "Stories from ICU doctors" provides insight and commentary around the nature and management of stressors for senior doctors working in the ICU. The first five sections of the book describe the distinctive nature of the ICU environment: the human factors involved, the characteristics of thriving Intensivists, the emotions they experience, and how they behave in response. The final three sections provide a synthesis of the advice of these clinicians for both current and future Intensivists, the advice from those who surround the Intensivist both at work and at home; and some concluding remarks about trainee suitability and selection for intensive care medicine. This book is for ICU patients and their families, it is for the families of ICU doctors, it is for doctors from other specialities, it is for the nurses and others that work alongside ICU doctors, and for anyone considering a career in ICU medicine and those who care for them. We share these stories in hope that readers might better appreciate the human side of these doctors, better understand the complex working environment in which they practice, and perhaps better empathize with their stressors and struggles. Most importantly, this book is also for the ICU doctors who currently work within the specialty, to validate their feelings and experiences, and ultimately provide support by reminding them that they are not alone in navigating the difficulties they face.
Surgical Critical Care Therapy: A Clinically Oriented Practical Approach by
This text provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of this field, and will serve as a valuable resource for clinicians, surgeons and researchers with an interest in surgical critical care. The book reviews up to date data regarding the management of common problems that arise in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit. The protocols, care bundles, guidelines and checklists that have been shown to improve process measures, and in certain circumstances, are discussed in detail.
Surgical Intensive Care Medicine, 3e by
This third edition text has been largely rewritten to include the many important advances that have been made and the controversies that have arisen in the past years. New topics have been added including Oxygen Transport, Tissue Oxygenation Evaluation, Echocardiography in the Critically Ill, Bedside Ultrasonography, Critical Care Issues in Oncological Surgery Patients, Long-Term Outcome after Intensive Care, Therapeutic Hypothermia, Delirium, and Post-Operative Gastrointestinal Dysfunction.
Surgical Metabolism: The Metabolic Care of the Surgical Patient, 2e by
The book provides information that supplements the more traditional approaches and provides a detailed overview of the metabolic knowledge needed for surgical practice. The text reviews normal physiology, the pathophysiology of starvation and surgical stressors. It also focuses on appropriate nutritional repletion for various common disease states.
Telemedicine in the ICU by
This text provides a concise, yet comprehensive overview of telemedicine in the ICU. Written by experts in the field, Telemedicine in the ICU is a practical guide for intensive care physicians and hospital administrators that provides all the information necessary in building and maintaining a successful tele-ICU program.
Textbook of Critical Care, 8e by
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8e, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and paediatric patients in the ICU. A full-colour art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team.
Textbook of Echocardiography for Intensivists and Emergency Physicians, 2e by
The second edition of this superbly illustrated book equips practitioners with all the information that they will require in order to perform echocardiography appropriately and to interpret findings correctly. After clear exposition of fundamentals of the examination technique via both the transthoracic and the transesophageal approach, the functional anatomy of all normal and pathologic thoracic structures as observed on echocardiography is presented in detail.
Textbook of Neurointensive Care: Volume 1 - Neuroanatomy, Diagnostic Assessment, Disease Management by
This extensively updated edition provides a comprehensive review of intensive care for neurologically injured patients from the emergency room and ICU through the operating room and post-surgical period in two comprehensive volumes. The Editors of this first volume present a comprehensive textbook that incorporates best practice/evidence-based medicine and performance improvement, while it champions the three characteristics needed in our neuro-ICUs: patient and family centered high-quality care, education, and discovery. This volume concentrates on neuroanatomy, diagnostic assessment and disease management, examining the neurological problems most frequently seen in intensive care, and describes the various types of neurosurgery and critical features of the management of patients. General issues are discussed across the textbook, such as cardiac care, fluids and electrolytes, nutrition, and monitoring as well as more specific conditions and complications including elevated intracranial pressure, seizures, and altered mental states. Listening to an injured brain is not easy. It takes knowledge, dedication, and understanding of the critically ill patient and their family. Textbook of Neurointensive Care Volume 1: Neuroanatomy, Diagnostic Assessment, Disease Management provides the reader with a detailed resource for studying this most complex area of medicine. It is thus essential reading for all trainees and professionals in critical care, neurosurgery, anesthesia and neurology.
Textbook of Neurointensive Care: Volume 2 - Perioperative Management, Monitoring, Pharmacotherapy by 
Topical Issues in Anesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book describes the state of the art concerning some of the most hotly debated topics in anesthesia and intensive care and is at the same time intended to serve as a useful practical guide that will assist in improving outcomes. The topics covered are wide ranging and include, for example, the use of antibiotics during renal replacement therapy, and the role of video laryngoscopy, .
The Trauma Golden Hour: A Practical Guide by
The Golden Hour is a well-established concept in emergency medicine, related to the critical period of one hour after an injury, accident or trauma. This term implies that the mortality rates increase substantially if efficient care is not provided within 60 minutes after the trauma. This book is intended as a practical manual in Trauma Care within the context of the golden hour, addressing all trauma types and all body parts. Readers will find essential decision-making algorithms and protocols with commentary for traumas, along with easily accessible information on how to treat patients in a very practical and handy fashion.
Ultrasound in the Critically Ill: A Practical Guide by
This book provides a practically applicable guide to the use of ultrasound in the care of acutely and critically ill patients. The first section attempts to take a comprehensive approach to specific systems of examination. The second section presents a range of specific cases enabling the reader to develop an understanding of how to apply these methodologies effectively.
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care by
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care is a narrative on accommodating an overwhelming surge of critically ill patients from pandemics, natural disasters, or war, while ensuring the safety of the healthcare staff. A crisis standard of care is when resources are limited. Triage models are used to provide treatment based on the best level of evidence for the available resources. Inspired by coronavirus disease 2019, the narrative is driven by this pandemic. The initial approach for any crisis is similar. However, each cause of crisis can have unique challenges.
Updates in Intensive Care of OBGY Patients by
This book presents the updated management of acute and critically ill obstetric and gynecological patients. It describes patients' care with pregnancy-induced medical disorders, comorbidities, and gynecological (OBGY) conditions requiring acute and intensive care support therapy. This book will guide early diagnosis and speedy management of life-threatening conditions. Chapters provide a comprehensive and systemic approach in an easy-to-understand format. Along with diseases and comorbidities of pregnancy, acute illness and its management caused by in vitro fertilization (IVF) are focused on, and a dedicated chapter about COVID-19 infection in obstetric patients is provided. Updates in Intensive Care of OBGY Patients will support intensivists, obstetricians, gynecologists, acute care physicians, and surgeons. Residents, fellows, specialists, and other junior medical staff working in intensive care units will also value this source. It will also help to broaden the understanding of nurses and paramedical staff in intensive care therapy.
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2e by
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets’ popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style – making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
The Very Old Critically Ill Patients by
This book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, provides detailed up-to-date information on the care of the critical ill very old (>80 years) patients in the ICU. This book will give readers knowledge about the current epidemiology of elderly ICU patients, in patient-centered outcomes and factors affecting these outcomes.
The Washington Manual of Critical Care, 4e by
The Washington Manual® of Critical Care provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in the field. The fourth edition focuses on the essential information you need to know, using a brief, bulleted format, along with numerous figures, tables, algorithms, and images throughout. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of bedside diagnosis and management of the most frequently encountered illnesses and problems seen in the ICU--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Intensive care medicine
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
