Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ANZCA Library provides access to a wide range of resources related to the specialty of intensive care medicine.
Echocardiography in ICU by This book offers readers a better understanding of how to perform echocardiography in their daily intensive care unit (ICU) work. With numerous practical examples highlighting the indices and hemodynamic monitoring profiles that physicians could encounter, it considers echocardiography not merely as a simple imaging technique, but as a practical diagnostic and hemodynamic monitoring tool.
Publication Date: 2020-05-29
Acute and Critical Care Echocardiography by A brand new series from Oxford University Press, the Oxford Clinical Imaging Guides are specifically designed to help doctors master imaging techniques. Each guide explains the principles and practice of using imaging in an easy-to-read, highly-illustrated, and authoritative manner. Acute and Critical Care Echocardiography is the first practical guide dedicated to helping doctors use transthoracic echocardiography to manage acutely and critically ill patients.
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Critical Care Sedation by This book provides a comprehensive guide to delivering analgesia and sedation to critically ill patients for professionals and caregivers being involved in the management of these patients. It discusses and explains in detail the advantages and limitations of each drug and device using clear flowcharts, diagrams and tables. Furthermore, it explores the new drugs and - above all - new sedation delivery systems, particularly those for administering volatile anesthetics on ICUs. This book is a valuable and practical resource for anesthesists, intensivists and emergency physicians interested in sedation.
Publication Date: 2018-02-02
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by The third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3rd Edition. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence. Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Nelligan, along with nearly 200 critical-care experts, provide a comprehensive framework for translating evidence into practice, helping both residents and practitioners obtain the best possible outcomes for critically ill patients.
Publication Date: 2019-09-06
ICU Quick Drug Guide by Offering essential, evidence-based practice guidelines specifically for the critical care setting, ICU Quick Drug Guide contains up-to-date information. This handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians.
Publication Date: 2020-07-31
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy.
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Practical trends in anesthesia and intensive care 2019 by This book offers an essential guide to managing the most heatedly debated topics of practical interest in anesthesia and intensive care. It reviews the state of the art in issues concerning both intensive care medicine and anesthesia, such as antibiotic therapy in multidrug resistance infection, acute hepatic failure, weaning, ECMO, difficult airway in pediatric patients, goal directed fluid therapy, preoperative anesthesia evaluation and delirium.
Publication Date: 2020
Guerci P, Tacquard C, Chenard L, et al. Epidemiology and outcome of patients admitted to intensive care after anaphylaxis in France: a retrospective multicentre study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 11]. British Journal of Anaesthesia. 2020;S0007-0912(20)30680-2. doi:10.1016/j.bja.2020.08.024
McCann ME, Soriano SG. The unspoken question! Anesthesia and Analgesia. 2020;131(3):720-722. doi:10.1213/ANE.0000000000004662
Flaatten H, Beil M, Guidet B. Prognostication in older ICU patients: mission impossible? [published online ahead of print, 2020 Aug 14]. British Journal of Anaesthesia. 2020;S0007-0912(20)30646-2. doi:10.1016/j.bja.2020.08.005
Library discovery search
Search the entire collection
Looking for intensive care medicine information, related to the Coronavirus/COVID-19 outbreak? Visit the new Coronavirus/COVID-19 guide.
Talk to us
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support user access to the ANZCA Library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
Library feedback form
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.