Leadership & management: Journals & articles

Abstract
This study investigated whether the facial expressions of chief executive officers (CEOs) are associated with corporate performance. A photograph of the CEO or president of each company that appeared on the Fortune Global 500 list for 2018 was taken from the company's official website. The smile intensity and action unit activation in each face were calculated using a pre-trained machine learning algorithm, FACET. The results revealed a positive association between smile intensity and company profit, even when controlling for the company's geographic location (Western culture versus others) and the CEO's gender. Furthermore, when the type of smile was examined with the activation of each action unit, this significant positive association was identified in the dominant smile but not in the reward and affiliative smiles. Relationships among the leader's smile intensity, group strategy, and group performance are discussed.

Abstract
In healthcare, improvement leaders have been inspired by the frameworks from industry which have been adapted into control systems and certifications to improve quality of care for people. To address the challenge to regain trust in healthcare design and delivery, we propose a conceptual framework, i.e. the "House of Trust". This House brings together the Juran Trilogy, the emerging concept of co-production in quality management and the multidimensional definition of quality, which describes core values as an integral part of the system to deliver person- and kin-centered care. In the "House of Trust" patients, their kin, healthcare providers, executives and managers feel at home, with a sense of belonging. If we want to build a care organization that inspires and radiates confidence to all stakeholders, highlighting the basic interactions between front- and back-office is required. An organization with both well-organized back- and front-offices can enable all to benefit from the trust each of them needs and deserves. A quality system does not depend on government inspection and regulations nor on external accreditation to develop itself into a House of Trust. Success will only be achieved if all involved continuously question themselves about the technical dimensions of quality and their core values during the "moment of truth".

Abstract
This qualitative study aims to investigate the competencies and effectiveness of humor use in workplace leadership. By exploring the elements underlying successful and unsuccessful humor use, this research offers insights into the competencies required for leaders to leverage humor effectively. Adopting a qualitative inductive approach, fifteen individual semi-structured interviews were conducted, generating a dataset of 51 critical incidents of humor use. Reflexive thematic analysis was employed to identify key themes, resulting in the identification of five central elements: Reading the context, Intention and motivation, Judgement and decision, Skillful delivery, and Understanding reactions. These elements provide a comprehensive framework for understanding humor use in the context of workplace leadership, emphasizing the importance of cognitive and emotional intelligence / competencies. The study proposes a theoretical framework based on these findings, providing the foundation of a new paradigm for understanding and measuring humor use. This research contributes to a deeper understanding of the competencies and complexities involved in using humor as a leadership tool and provides practical implications for leaders aiming to enhance their leadership effectiveness through humor.

Abstract
This research investigates the glass cliff effect and the positions held by women in leadership roles, focusing on their impact on operational liquidity. The study delves into the relationship between corporate governance attributes and operational liquidity in 60 non-financial companies listed on the Pakistan Stock Exchange during Covid-19. Utilizing Quine-McCluskey technique and fuzzy set Qualitative Comparative Analysis (fsQCA), it examines the combined effect of Women on the Board, Board Size, Ownership by Blockholders, Board Qualifications and Busy Directors on Operational Liquidity. The necessary condition analysis (NCA) emphasises that firms can operate without reliance on any particular variable taken in the study. The sufficiency analysis provided an expanded understanding of the three conditions leading to the same outcome both before and during the pandemic. This research highlights the significance of the glass cliff effect and emphasizes the pivotal role of women in effectively managing liquidity during times of crisis. Additionally, it provides valuable insights for policymakers regarding the impact of Covid-19 on the interplay between corporate governance characteristics and operational liquidity.

Abstract
Purpose: This study aims to summarize studies that compared the performance of health-care institutions led by leaders with medical background versus those with no medical background.

Design/methodology/approach: A systematic search was conducted on three databases: PubMed, Ovid Medline and Google Scholar to identify relevant peer-reviewed studies using the keywords "performance," "impact," "physician," "medical," "doctor," "leader," "healthcare institutions" and "hospital." Only quantitative studies that compared the performance of health-care institutions led by leaders with medical background versus non-medical background were included. Articles were screened and assessed for eligibility before the relevant data were extracted to summarize, appraise and make a narrative account of the findings.

Findings: A total of eight studies were included, four were based in the USA, two in the UK and one from Germany and one from the Arab World. Half of the studies (n = 4) reported overall better health-care institutional performance in terms of hospital quality ranking such as clinical effectiveness and patient safety under leaders with medical background, whereas one study showed poorer performance. The remaining studies reported mixed results among the different performance indicators, especially financial performance.

Practical implications: While medical background leaders may have an edge in clinical competence to manage health-care institutions, it will be beneficial to equip them with essential management skills to optimize leadership competence and enhance organizational performance.

Originality/value: The exclusive inclusion of quantitative empirical studies that compared health-care institutional performance medical and non-medical leaders provides a clearer link between the relationship between health-care institutional performance and the leaders' background.

Abstract
Globally, oral conditions remain the most prevalent of all non-communicable diseases. Among the broad range of target goals and recommendations for action by the World Health Organization's Global Oral Health Strategy, we call out three specific actions that provide an enabling environment to improve population oral health including: (i) enabling population oral health reform through leadership, (ii) enabling innovative oral health workforce models, (iii) enabling universal health coverage that includes oral health. The aim of the article is to outline how leadership, regulatory approaches and policy in Australia can strengthen health promotion practice and can inform global efforts to tackle the complex wicked problems associated with population oral health. Examples in Australia show that effective leadership, regulatory approaches and well-designed policies can address the growing burden of non-communicable diseases, and are made possible through public health advocacy, collaboration and research.

Abstract
Despite progress made over the past decade, women are under-represented in positions of leadership in academic medicine. Women physicians face numerous challenges throughout their careers. Despite achieving leadership positions, women in leadership continue to experience the impact of those challenges. In this review, we describe four misconceptions about women in leadership, along with their impact and recommendations. First, we describe differences between mentorship and sponsorship, as well as their impact on attaining leadership positions. Second, the gender pay gap persists throughout women's careers, regardless of leadership positions. Third, we explore the role of self-efficacy in leadership in the context of stereotype threats. Fourth, gendered expectations of leadership characteristics place an undue burden on women, detracting from their leadership effectiveness. Organizations can address the challenges women face by creating robust mentorship and sponsorship networks, establishing transparent and equitable pay policies, promoting and normalizing a broader range of leadership styles, and improving work flexibility and support structure. Ultimately, such changes serve all members of the organization through increased retention and engagement.

Abstract
Background: The unprecedented exodus of workers from the healthcare system is a patient safety crisis. Organizational compassion in health care is the proactive, systematic, and continuous identification, alleviation, and prevention of all sources of suffering.

Aims: This scoping review aimed to describe the evidence regarding the impact of organizational compassion on clinicians, identify gaps, and provide recommendations for future research.

Methods: A comprehensive librarian-assisted database search was conducted. Databases searched were PubMed, SCOPUS, EMBASE, Web of Science, PsychInfo, and Business Source Complete. Combinations of search terms regarding health care, compassion, organizational compassion, and workplace suffering were used. The search strategy was limited to English language articles and those published between 2000 and 2021.

Results: Database search yielded 781 articles. After removing duplicates, 468 were screened by title and abstract, and 313 were excluded. One-hundred and fifty-five underwent full-text screening, and 137 were removed, leaving 18 eligible articles, two of which were set in the United States. Ten articles evaluated barriers or facilitators to organizational compassion, four evaluated elements of compassionate leadership, and four evaluated the Schwartz Center Rounds intervention. Several described the need to create systems that are compassionate to clinicians. Lack of time, support staff, and resources impeded the delivery of such interventions.

Linking evidence to action: Little research has been done to understand and evaluate the impact of compassion on US clinicians. Given the workforce crisis in American health care and the potential positive impact of increasing compassion for clinicians, there is an urgent need for researchers and healthcare administrators to fill this gap.

Abstract
Background: Existing research has mostly focused on themes related to returning to or staying at work and studied organizations' operational rather than strategic level actions to support work ability. Top managers' understanding of work ability management (WAM) may influence how work ability support processes are implemented in organizations.

Objective: To find out how top managers define WAM, what the aims of WAM were and whether the aims were on a strategic level.

Methods: Altogether 28 semi-structured interviews among Finnish social and health care top managers were conducted during the years 2019-2021 and analyzed inductively using qualitative thematic analysis.

Results: Top managers' definition of WAM was mainly multidimensional. Two main aims emerged, i.e., to support work ability 1) at the individual and 2) at the organizational level. The aims of the former were to anticipate the decrease of health and functional capacity, to support workers already decrease in these, to develop competence, and to manage the effects of changes on work ability. The aims at the organizational level were to improve labor availability and personnel retention, to ensure the flow of work, and to increase trust and create shared values. Top managers described the aims as being at a strategic level, but this was not yet realized in their organizations because the actions were reactive rather than proactive.

Conclusion: Top managers' multidimensional perception of WAM, emphasizing proactive actions, and strategic level aims are crucial and require the commitment of the top managers for strategic WAM, especially during constant changes.

Abstract
Background: Chief residents (CRs) have pivotal educational and leadership roles in residency programs. The necessary CR leadership skills that transcend specialties have not been defined and most training on these skills occurs in silo.

Objective: The primary goal was to define leadership skills important for the general CR role. The secondary aim was to determine which skills should be included in cross-specialty CR training and identify benefits of such training.

Methods: Sixty-three CRs and 25 program directors (PDs) from 25 residency programs at a single institution were surveyed via a modified Delphi approach in 2022 as part of a needs assessment on CR leadership training. First, respondents answered three open-ended questions about skills needed for the CR role and the potential benefits of cross-specialty CR training. Respondents then rated categorized responses on the importance of the skill, agreement that skills should be included in cross-specialty training, and agreement on benefit of cross-specialty training using a 5-point Likert scale. Positive consensus was defined as 80% agreement.

Results: Fifty respondents (53%) participated in round one and 28 (32%) in round two. Positive consensus was reached on 38 skills (63%). Nine skills reached consensus on inclusion in cross-specialty training including communication skills and certain management skills. Consensus on benefits of training include learning from and collaborating with other residency programs.

Conclusion: The authors defined important skills for the CR role that reached consensus across a broad range of specialties and identified the perceived benefits of shared leadership training. Residency programs should consider cross-specialty leadership training for CRs with a focus on communication and management skills.

Abstract
Background: Authentic leadership in nurse managers has been identified as a strong predictor of multiple nurse outcomes. However, its association with staff performance and nurses' intention to leave has yet to be established.

Purpose: This study was designed to identify the predictive effect of sociodemographic variables on nurse performance and intention to leave and to examine the relationship between authentic leadership in nurse managers and, respectively, nurse performance and intention to leave.

Methods: A comparative and correlational design and a cross-sectional survey approach were used. A convenience sample of 166 registered nurses working in a government hospital in Jordan was recruited. Data collection was performed online using the sociodemographics questionnaire, the Authentic Leadership Questionnaire, the Turnover Intention Scale, and the Six Dimensions of Nurse's Performance Scale. Data were analyzed using descriptive statistics, independent t test, one-way analysis of variance, Pearson correlation, and multiple hierarchical linear regression.

Results: The overall mean score was 2.08 (SD = 0.87) for the Authentic Leadership Questionnaire, 3.57 (SD = 1.76) for the Turnover Intention Scale, and 3.00 (SD = 0.51) for the Staff Performance Scale. Mean nursing performance differed significantly based on marital status, whereas intention to leave differed significantly based on marital status and the respondent's perception of their first-line manager. A statistically significant, positive correlation between authentic leadership and staff performance and a statistically significant, negative correlation between authentic leadership and intention to leave were found. In addition, authentic leadership was uniquely associated with staff performance (B = 0.19, p < .05) and intention to leave (B = -0.39, p < .05) in the hierarchical regression analysis after controlling for sociodemographic variables.

Conclusions/implications for practice: Authentic leadership from nurse managers is associated with improved nurse performance and lower nurse intention to leave. Nurse managers may enhance authentic leadership attributes to better retain nurses in hospitals and improve nurse job performance.

Abstract
Emotional intelligence (EI) has been widely researched in different fields of knowledge. This paper reviews the literature on emotional intelligence, leadership, and teams in 104 peer-reviewed articles and reviews provided by the Web of Science and Scopus databases from 1998 to 2022. It is a hybrid or mixed review as it uses both quantitative and qualitative analysis techniques. The aims of this study are a performance analysis of the selected documents (years of publication, country, sectors, techniques used, most cited authors, authors with more publications, journals, journal quartiles, and scope of publication), as well as a co-word analysis using Atlas. ti v8. The results of the quantitative analysis indicate that the majority are empirical works. The qualitative analysis is a co-word analysis providing the following results: (i) classification of authors by major themes-categories (EI, leadership, team), (ii) classification of themes within each major theme: three subcategories in EI, 17 subcategories in leadership, and 19 subcategories in team and, lastly, (iii) classification according to the chronological development of main objectives from the most cited authors' articles we analyzed. Leadership (transformational, emergence, virtual, effective, health, effectiveness) is the major theme we studied. Our in-depth review of the articles has shown that emotionally intelligent leaders improve both behaviors and business results and have an impact on work team performance. It also highlighted a positive relationship between emotional competence and team members' attitudes about work. The new trends focus on the impacts of COVID19, the global crisis due to the Ukraine War, working in VUCA and BANI environments, comparative studies between generations, the application of artificial intelligence and the influence of mindfulness on organizations.

Keywords: economic development; entrepreneurship; innovation; leadership; sustainability.

Abstract
Over the years, the concept of despotic leadership (DL) has emerged as a hot topic in academic and professional debates on leadership. To this end, this study aims to synthesize existing literature on despotic leadership in business management scholarship. We utilize a systematic literature review technique to systematically identify, select, and evaluate existing scholarly publications on despotic leadership to highlight emerging topics, theories, and the consequences of despotic leadership at the workplace. In addition, we also provide a set of specific research questions for advancements of DL in management and leadership research as well as to clarify its conceptual and operationalization ambiguities. The findings of this review are categorized as follows, i) theory and conceptualization of DL, ii) state-of-the-art research profiling, iii) key thematic areas, and iv) future agenda. The key implications of this review for theory and practice are discussed.

Abstract
Innovative Work Behavior (IWB) of employees is one of the essential requirements for organizations to excel in competition in today's dynamic world. Nowadays, organizations can keep the current pace through competitive advantage. But to acquire competitive advantage, employees must be creative and innovative in their work-related behaviors. Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) in Pakistan are suffering several challenges in this regard. Therefore, current study is designed to examine the role of negative events and negative leadership on the IWB of the employees with mediating role of Psychological Well-being (PsyWB). Further, the moderating role of Perceived Organizational Support (POS) has also been tested. The negative event used in current research is Workplace Incivility (WPI) and Despotic Leadership (DL) from the negative leadership styles examined. Results of the current study showed that the presence of WPI and DL in organizations damage the IWB of employees as they harm the PsyWB of employees. We find that PsyWB mediated the relationship among DL, WPI, and IWB. POS is helpful for employees to overcome the negative issues prevailing in the organizations. The SMEs need to construct policies to eradicate WPI and must discourage despotic personalities to make the environment favorable for employees to protect their IWB. There must be some events that can increase the positive PsyWB of employees to make them more creative and motivated. Likewise, POS must be at sufficient level so that employees feel safe and healthy in all respects.

Abstract
Background: Embedded attitudes within the medical workforce mean supervisors have a key role in the practice and promotion of decolonised and antiracist approaches to their engagement with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health medical education.

Objective: The aim of this paper is to provide an understanding of the practical application of decolonised and antiracist approaches for the general practitioner (GP) supervisor.

Discussion: Decolonised and antiracist approaches can elevate supervisor engagement with their GP trainees and assist understanding of the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Abstract
Emergency and essential surgery is a critical component of universal health coverage. Session three of the three-part virtual meeting series on Strategic Planning to Improve Surgical, Obstetric, Anaesthesia, and Trauma Care in the Asia-Pacific Region focused on strategic partnerships. During this session, a range of partner organisations, including intergovernmental organisations, professional associations, academic and research institutions, non-governmental organisations, and the private sector provided an update on their work in surgical system strengthening in the Asia-Pacific region. Partner organisations could provide technical and implementation support for National Surgical, Obstetric, and Anaesthesia Planning (NSOAP) in a number of areas, including workforce strengthening, capacity building, guideline development, monitoring and evaluation, and service delivery. Participants emphasised the importance of several forms of strategic collaboration: 1) collaboration across the spectrum of care between emergency, critical, and surgical care, which share many common underlying health system requirements; 2) interprofessional collaboration between surgery, obstetrics, anaesthesia, diagnostics, nursing, midwifery among other professions; 3) regional collaboration, particularly between Pacific Island Countries, and 4) South-South collaboration between low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) in mutual knowledge sharing. Partnerships between high-income countries (HIC) and LMIC organisations must include LMIC participants at a governance level for shared decision-making. Areas for joint action that emerged in the discussion included coordinated advocacy efforts to generate political view, developing common monitoring and evaluation frameworks, and utilising remote technology for workforce development and service delivery.

Keywords: anesthesia; global health; medical education; rural health; underserved health.

The Asia Pacific Journal of Health Management (APJHM) is a peer reviewed journal for managers of organisations offering health and aged care services. It was launched as the official journal of the Australasian College of Health Service Management in 2006. It is currently published as a collboration between ACHSM and the Society for Health Administration Programs in Education (SHAPE), following a Memorandum of Understanding signed in July 2019.

International Journal of Health Policy and Management (IJHPM) is an open access and peer-reviewed journal, which serves as an international and interdisciplinary setting for the dissemination of health policy and management research. It brings together individual specialties from different fields, notably health management, health policy, and health economics into a dynamic academic mix.

The Journal of Healthcare Leadership is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on leadership for the healthcare professions. The publication strives to amalgamate current and future healthcare professionals and managers by providing key insights into leadership progress and challenges to improve patient care. The journal aspires to inform key decision makers and those professionals with ambitions of leadership and management; it seeks to connect professionals who are engaged in similar endeavours and to provide wisdom from those working in other industries

The Journal of Multidisciplinary Healthcare (JMDH) aims to represent and publish research in healthcare areas delivered by practitioners of different disciplines. This includes studies and reviews conducted by multidisciplinary teams as well as research which evaluates or reports the results or conduct of such teams or healthcare processes in general.

The Journal of the International Project Management Association (IPMA) Project Leadership and Society (PLAS) is an academic and gold open access journal. As a sister open access journal of the International Journal of Project Management, the leading journal in the field of Project Management. PLAS opens up for novel approaches that study projects and relate them to society. Society is considered in a broad sense, including policy, leadership and managerial practice.

This issue will cover novel approaches to demonstrating value by anesthesiologists. Articles will include Value from the Patient and Payer Perspectives, Perioperative Surgical Home, Demonstrating Value: A British perspective, Demonstrating value: A case study of enhanced recovery, Acute Pain Management/Regional, Measuring Outcomes as Demonstrating Value and many more!