How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Atlas of Ocular Optical Coherence Tomography by
This book provides a collection of optical coherence tomographic (OCT) images of various diseases of posterior and anterior segments. It covers the details and issues of diagnostic tests based on OCT findings which are crucial for ophthalmologists to understand in their clinical practice.
A Case-based Guide to Eye Pain: Perspectives From Ophthalmology and Neurology by
Diagnosing a patient with unexplained ocular pain can be time-consuming and difficult, but taking an anatomic approach and excluding causes along the way can aid in the diagnosis. This book provides the reader with a systematic evaluation plan for these cases, written and edited by leaders in the field.
Anesthesia for Eye Surgery [StatPearls] by
The most common ophthalmic procedures in current clinical practice comprise cataract, glaucoma, and vitreoretinal surgeries. An anesthetic approach is required for all of these procedures, and each specific procedure has its anesthetic considerations. Additionally, a perioperative eye injury can serve as a basis for a malpractice claim, underscoring the importance of protecting and caring for the eyes during anesthesia and mitigating the risks associated with regional anesthetic techniques.[3]
This activity reviews the anesthetic considerations and implications for ophthalmic procedures, including general, regional, and topical anesthetic techniques. The indications, contraindications, complications, and clinical significance of these techniques and the role of the interprofessional team in caring for patients undergoing ophthalmic procedures requiring an anesthetic approach are discussed.
Cataract and Lens Surgery by
This book summarizes the current knowledge on lens surgery. Not only are the surgical procedures described in detail, but experts share with the reader many useful practical tips for individual surgical steps to achieve the best possible surgical result. In addition to the focus on surgery, pre- and post-operative care and complication management is also discussed in detail and a systematic review of the current literature is provided. Clear and concisely written chapters highlight topics such as the use of special lenses, femto-laser lens surgery, secondary lens implantation and phakic lens surgery throughout the book. Cataract and Lens Surgery offers a practical resource for ophthalmologists who perform lens surgery in their daily clinical practice. Clinicians navigating the different types of lens preparations and properties for routine to complex procedures will find this book to be an essential guide.
Cutting Edge of Ophthalmic Surgery: From Refractive SMILE to Robotic Vitrectomy by
This book presents the most modern and innovative techniques in ocular surgery currently utilized by experts in the field. All aspects of ocular surgery from the front to the back of the eye are covered in this resource, with all surgeries demonstrated as 'recipes' with first the ingredients and then the surgical techniques with step-by-step instructions. The surgeries are illustrated with photographs, drawings and videos.
Diagnostic Imaging of Ophthalmology: A Practical Atlas by
This atlas is a pocket manual of orbital diagnostic imaging. It includes common imaging techniques, normal imaging features, abnormal orbital imaging of developmental diseases, injury, inflammation, lymphoproliferative diseases, diseases of the eyeball, post-operative changes, vascular diseases, tumours and neuro-ophthalmological diseases. While it particularly focuses on CT and MRI, it also describes other techniques, such as X-ray, ultrasonography and nuclear imaging.
Emergency, Acute and Rapid Access Ophthalmology: Practical, Clinical and Managerial Aspects by
This book provides a concise and practical overview of hospital based emergency, urgent and primary care service in Ophthalmology. Specialist consultants who wish to broaden their knowledge of the various ophthalmic conditions seen in clinical emergencies will find this book to be a useful go-to guide. Advice is given on establishing an ophthalmic emergency and primary care service and a series of chapters cover the management of emergency eye conditions. Emergency, Acute and Rapid Access Ophthalmology is a must read for all ophthalmic professionals in the UK and worldwide who are dealing with the growing demand for emergency eye care services and the increasing sub-specialisation within Ophthalmology.
Essentials of Pediatric Cataract Surgery by
The book highlights various pediatric cataract surgeries. It covers variants of pediatric cataract along with other rare morphologies. It covers selected challenging clinical situations along with surgical management steps. Additionally, it includes the management of surgical complications. The book provides relevant concise text supported by clinical pictures and includes 50 short videos. This book is a collection of clinical images and videos over 2 decades. Chapters cover recent advances in the field of pediatric cataract, such as ultrasound biomicroscopy, intraoperative rhexis assistant, operative room aberrometry. The accompanying video describes the surgical procedures with a voiceover lucidly explaining every step. It discusses unique cases of buphthalmous with cataract, anterior segment dysgenesis, persistent fetal vasculature and pre-existing persistent capsular defect with their latest management techniques. This book is relevant for practicing ophthalmologists and students alike.
Eye Pathology: An Illustrated Guide by
This book is a comprehensive, in-depth, and up-to-date resource on eye pathology that will be of great practical value for ophthalmic and general pathologists and ophthalmologists. Congenital abnormalities, inflammatory conditions, infections, injuries, degenerative diseases, and tumours are all covered with the aid of more than 700 images. In the case of tumours, the wide variety of neoplasms that occur in the eyelid, conjunctiva, retina, uveal tract, lacrimal gland and sac, orbit, and optic nerve are comprehensively reviewed, and the most recent knowledge on the relation between genetics and prognosis is presented. Entries on specific diseases are organized in a standard way, with information on etiology, epidemiology, clinical presentation, pathological characteristics, differential diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis.
Foundational Papers in Oculoplastics by
Modern oculofacial plastic surgery as a field is quite young, with the majority of the literature and leaders in the field developing since the 1950s. As such, the body of literature is quite small compared to other fields. Currently, there is no unified source where readers can learn about the core manuscripts that drive clinical decision-making and influence thought. This book gathers over 50 foundational studies in the oculoplastics field and provides commentary on each study. Discussion of each study includes the abstract, in-depth commentary on the strengths, limitations, and implications of each paper, and guidance for further reading on the topic with a brief review. A short remark by an author from the paper will provide additional color commentary on the inspirations and challenges involved in conceiving and conducting the study. Foundational Papers in Oculoplastics is relevant for anyone who is interested in oculoplastics (ophthalmologists, oncologists, plastic surgeons, etc.) and provides a nice overview of the field with interesting personal anecdotes from those who helped establish it.
Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia, 6e by
As the field pediatric anesthesia advances and expands, so too does the gamut of challenges that are faced by today's anesthesiologists. Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia aims to fully prepare trainees and experienced professionals for modern practice by equipping them with the knowledge and cutting-edge techniques necessary to safely and successfully anesthetize children for a range of different surgeries and other procedures.
The Infected Eye: Clinical Practice and Pathological Principles by
This book addresses the diagnosis and treatment of common ocular infections. Relevant pathological principles are described to provide a basis for the understanding of these disorders. The epidemiology of infection as a class of ocular disease and the pathological effects of infectious processes in tissue are discussed in introductory chapters. These fundamentals are explained and reinforced with tables and selected illustrations of tissue pathology. Further chapters by leading clinical specialists describe recommended approaches to infections of the eye and periocular tissues as these conditions occur in adults and children.
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e by
Written in clear, concise language for superb readability, Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general paediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important paediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care.
Local and Regional Anesthesia in Ophthalmology and Ocular Trauma [StatPearls] by
The delivery of local and regional anesthesia is an essential tool for providing immediate localized anesthesia for various intraocular and periocular procedures. This activity reviews the different anesthetic options for intraocular and periocular surgery and highlights the anatomical considerations and the role of the interprofessional team in performing these techniques.
Neuro-Ophthalmology: Illustrated Case Studies by
This book presents fifty clinical cases in neuro-ophthalmology, some of which are common and some of which are rare. Each case is presented as a diagnostic and management challenge as found in clinical practice. High quality clinical photographs and images bring the cases to life alongside the diagnostic process and management decisions of an experienced specialist. A short summary of important aspects of the pathogenesis and treatment of each disease finishes each case. Neuro-Ophthalmology: Illustrated Case Studies entertains and instructs the reader and is ideal reading for doctors in training in this area, as well as general consultant neurologists and ophthalmologists.
Operative Dictations in Ophthalmology by
This book provides residents with a comprehensive review of surgical cases within the field of ophthalmology. Operative Dictations in Ophthalmology touches on important steps within each surgical case, indications for the procedure, possible complications, and a sample dictation. The review serves as both a preparation and debriefing for each surgeon, or surgeon in training, by improving comprehension time, cultivating surgical forethought, and refining post operative dictations.
Ophthalmic Anaesthesia (OSH in Anaesthesia) by
This Oxford Specialist Handbook is a concise, practical yet comprehensive guide to ophthalmic anaesthesia, covering anatomy, specific anaesthetic techniques, and the changes that have occurred in ophthalmic anaesthesia over the past decades.
Ophthalmology in Military and Civilian Casualty Care by
rauma to the eye and associated structures account for a significant number of combat-related injuries, and combat ocular trauma has steadily risen in frequency over the last century. Ophthalmology in Military and Civilian Casualty Care comprehensively examines the accommodations and modifications that must be made in order to treat such ocular traumas in a military setting. Created by ophthalmology experts actively serving in the military at various levels, this book is designed to improve ophthalmic casualty outcomes across military settings. A history of military ophthalmology serves as the opening chapter, setting the stage for subsequent chapters examining the intricacies and advancements of damage control ophthalmology, prehospital care of combat eye injuries, neuro-ophthalmic manifestations of trauma, and further severe ocular conditions. Later chapters explore the preventative and proactive efforts to reduce and treat combat-related ocular trauma by developing "eye armor" for the American infantry and military-affiliated ophthalmic surgical missions. Complete with high-quality color illustrations and figures, this unique book will serve as an invaluable, practical reference for military physicians, military ophthalmologists, ophthalmology professors, residents, and fellows interested in combat medicine and eye trauma.
Small-Gauge Vitrectomy for Diabetic Retinopathy by
This book describes step by step how to operate on the patient with diabetic retinopathy. After thorough explanation of surgical planning, including the potential need to perform individual procedures at different time points, each stage of the vitrectomy is clearly documented with the aid of color photographs and drawings as well as online surgical videos. Variations in approach are described that are potentially of value, depending on whether one is dealing with a straightforward diabetic retinopathy or a difficult case of tractional retinal detachment. In the second part of the book, a series of case reports are presented that illustrate the surgical procedures applicable in different circumstances. In addition, pearls and pitfalls are highlighted. Small-Gauge Vitrectomy or Diabetic Retinopathy, 2nd Edition has been updated in response to the rapid increase of diabetes worldwide and the technical advancements in ocular surgery. New chapters on anatomy, surgery and novel laser photocoagulation strategies for diabetic retinopathy also feature in this revised edition. This book is an ideal source of information and guidance for all who are embarking upon such surgery or wish to further hone their skills.
Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, 19e by
For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions. The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates - to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Ophthalmic anaesthesia
Ocular Anesthesia by
The first textbook to comprehensively discuss anesthesia methods and implications for every ophthalmic surgical technique. The subspecialities of cataract, corneal, refractive, glaucoma, strabismus, oculoplastic, vitreoretinal, and neuro-ophthalmic surgery are each covered by a leading authority in the field. In addition, there is thorough coverage of potential complications.
Ophthalmic anaesthesia : a practical handbook, 2e by
Ophthalmic Anaesthesia, 2e is a comprehensive practical guide to anaesthesia for ophthalmic procedures. Advances since the book's first publication in 1983 have been dramatic, especially with the trend towards day case surgery for cataract extraction and lens implantation. Safe practice depends on careful selection of patients and rigorous protocols. These changes are central to this thoroughly revised and updated edition.
Ophthalmic Anaesthesia by
Covering the entire subspecialty of anaesthesia for surgery of the eye, the book offers chapters on a variety of subjects including: the history of ophthalmic anaesthesia, physiology and pharmacology, anatomy, pre-operative assessment, paediatric anaesthesia, orbital regional anaesthesia, general anaesthesia, complications, high-volume cataract surgery, and future developments. This illustrated text describes the techniques used in the anaesthetic management of patients undergoing the most commonly performed surgical procedures in the world.
Ophthalmic Anaesthesia (OSH in Anaesthesia) by
This Oxford Specialist Handbook is a concise, practical yet comprehensive guide to ophthalmic anaesthesia, covering anatomy, specific anaesthetic techniques, and the changes that have occurred in ophthalmic anaesthesia over the past decades.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
