This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to paediatric pain.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e by
Making the correct diagnosis is the first step in the effective management of patients in pain, and simplifying the diagnosis is the primary focus of Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e. Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides clinicians with a clear, concise, and up-to-date understanding of the most common pain syndromes encountered in day-to-day practice, along with practical insights on how to diagnose and treat them. Featuring more than 1,000 high-quality illustrations, this unique atlas provides the information needed to make the correct diagnosis--the signs and symptoms associated with each syndrome, the testing needed to confirm the working diagnosis, and the differential diagnosis.
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e by
The Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4e by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain.
Back Pain in the Young Child and Adolescent: A Case-Based Guide by
Back pain is a common musculoskeletal condition that presents to physicians in the primary care office, the urgent care facility, and the emergency room. However, few primary care physicians have received education and training about the appropriate workup and referral for a child who presents with back pain. This book is designed to fill the gaps in primary care physician knowledge and ultimately improve patient care.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Case Studies in Pain Management by
Cases are divided into seven sub-topics: neurologic disorders, spinal disorders, musculoskeletal pain, visceral pain, headache and facial pain, cancer pain, and special topics such as pain in children and older adults. Discussions follow a question-and-answer format, facilitating learning and also enabling self-testing.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by
Acute Pain brings coverage of this diverse area together in a single, comprehensive clinical reference, from the basic mechanisms underlying the development of acute pain, to the various treatments that can be applied to control it in different clinical settings. Much expanded in this second edition, the volume reflects the huge advances that continue to be made in acute pain management.
Clinical Pain Management: Cancer Pain, 2e by
Now divided into four parts, the second edition of Cancer Pain delivers broad coverage of the issues that arise in the management of malignancy-related pain, from basic science, through end of life care and associated ethical issues, to therapies, both medical and complementary.
Clinical Pain Management: Chronic Pain, 2e by
The second edition of Chronic Pain now covers a vast scientific and clinical arena, with the scientific background and therapeutic options much expanded. In common with the other titles comprising Clinical Pain Management, the volume gathers together the available evidence-based information in a reader-friendly format without unnecessary detail, and is divided into three parts.
Clinical Pain Management: Practice and Procedures, 2e by
Largely reorganised and much expanded in this second edition, Practice and Procedures brings together in a single volume general methods of pain assessment and presents the wide range of therapies that can be provided by a range of health care disciplines.
Coté and Lerman's A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 6e by
Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia.
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, 26e by
The authoritative resource to paediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important paediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries.
Echocardiography in Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease: From Fetus to Adult, 2e by
This comprehensive textbook on the echocardiographic assessment of pediatric and congenital heart disease has been updated for a second edition with an emphasis on new technologies. This highly-illustrated full-color reference contains over 1200 figures, and offers over 600 video clips on a companion website. Fully updated, with new chapters on the assessment of the post-Fontan procedure patient and on pregnancy and heart disease. Each lesion chapter includes new section highlighting the key elements of the echocardiogram(s).
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates by
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates provides a comprehensive guide to the special needs of infants undergoing anesthesia. It focuses on the first year of life, the time when anesthesia mortality and morbidity is highest.
Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4e by
Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e by
Written in clear, concise language for superb readability, Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general paediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important paediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care.
Manual of Pediatric Anesthesia, 7e by
Authored by three world experts, this is a clinically focused book on pediatric anesthesia. "The Manual", as it is known, has long dominated the market for a succinct and practical resource on administering anesthesia to children and is used by residents, general anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pediatric anesthesiologists. This new edition retains the basic structure of the book and is updated throughout.
The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management, 4e by
Offering expert guidance from seasoned clinicians at Massachusetts General Hospital, this bestselling handbook provides accurate, clinically essential information in a portable, quick-reference format. Broad-based, multidisciplinary coverage draws from the disciplines of anaesthesiology, neurology, behavioural medicine, nursing, psychiatry, and physical therapy to provide practical, evidence-based information for sound therapeutic choices.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e by
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e is an essential resource for all anaesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.
A New Holistic-Evolutive Approach to Pediatric Palliative Care by
This book illustrates why a holistic approach is important in Pediatric Palliative Care (PPC). Readers will learn this approach has a "horizontal" axis, featuring the patients' mental and physical needs, as well as their environments. It has also a "vertical axis": the evolutive changes of the patients throughout their development and their illness, their aspirations and fears. An evolutive (or dynamic) approach is mandatory. Each child/parent has a different experience of illness and a different path to recovery that is influenced by their age, gender, culture, but also by the state of their grief.
Oxford Handbook of Pain Management by
The Oxford Handbook of Pain Management is the essential resource for all clinicians involved in the management of pain. Organised into sections dealing with basic principles of treatment, therapeutic interventions, including non-medical management of pain, and specific clinical situations, the Handbook emphasises the multimodal treatment options available for patients with pain conditions and brings them together to provide a truly biopsychosocial approach to management.
Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain, 2e by
The new edition of the Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain brings together an international team of experts to provide an authoritative and comprehensive textbook on all aspects of pain in infants, children, and youth. Divided into nine sections, the textbook analyses pain as a multifactorial problem to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of this challenging subject.
Pain Management: Special Issue of Anesthesiology Clinics by
This issue of Anesthesiology Clinics focuses on Pain Management.Topics include: The Pain Treatment Imperative: Developments in the 21st Century, Imaging Pain, The Opioid Conundrum, Advancing the Pain Agenda in the Veteran Population and more.
Pain Management Secrets, 4e by
Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals.
Pain Procedures in Clinical Practice, 3e by
In the 3rd edition, Dr. Ted Lennard helps you offer the most effective care to your patients by taking you through the various approaches to pain relief used in physiatry today. In this completely updated, procedure-focused volume, you'll find nearly a decade worth of new developments and techniques supplemented by a comprehensive online video collection of how-to procedures at www.expertconsult.com. You'll also find extensive coverage of injection options for every joint, plus discussions of non-injection-based pain relief options such as neuromuscular ultrasound, alternative medicines, and cryotherapy.
Pediatric Orthopedic Trauma Case Atlas by
Unlike previous books on this topic, this book utilizes a case atlas format to provide current management strategies for pediatric orthopedic injuries to the upper and lower extremity and axial skeleton in a clear and concise manner, demonstrating real-world clinical situations and methodology for successful treatment. Each case will be authored by an expert in the field and will contain comprehensive step-by-step instructions on how to handle each injury.
A Practical Handbook on Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Therapy by
It offers readers a profound understanding of intensive care, with a specific focus on organ systems, their interactions, and the effect of life support technologies, pursuing a comprehensive approach to congenital heart defects and therapies, including pitfalls and solutions.
Practical Management of Pain, 6e by
This authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. The fully revised 6th edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more.
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e by
Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine.
Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2e by
Get up-to-date on all of the techniques that are rapidly becoming today's standard of care with Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd Edition. With this extensively revised edition, you'll see how the increased use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain and other medical conditions can transform your patient care.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Paediatric pain
IASP pain refresher courses
Pain 2018: Refresher Courses, 17th World Congress on Pain by
Presented at the 17th World congress on Pain in Boston, Massachusetts, in September 2018, these papers represent the thinking of the world’s top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2016: Refresher Courses, 16th World Congress on Pain by
Pain 2016 Refresher Courses: 16th World Congress on Pain, was written by the instructors of the Refresher Courses offered in conjunction with the 16th World Congress on Pain, held September 26-30, 2016, in Yokohama, Japan. The publication incorporates the latest thinking on a diverse range of topics in pain research and treatment and is a valuable resource not only for those new to the pain field but also for those seeking to update their knowledge.
Pain 2014: Refresher Courses, 15th World Congress on Pain by
Every two years, the International Association for the Study of Pain publishes a compendium of benchmark papers that summarize the current status of pain research, treatment, and management throughout the world. Presented at the 15th World Congress on Pain in Buenos Aires in October 2014, these papers represent the thinking of the world's top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher Courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress of Pain by
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress on Pain, is based on IASP's refresher courses on pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (neuroimaging, genetics), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological, complementary/alternative), and disorders (neuropathic pain, headache, cancer pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, pediatric pain, abdominopelvic pain).
Pain 2010 - An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus by
Pain 2010 – An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus, based on sessions held at the 13th World Congress on Pain, 2010, in Montréal, covers pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (imaging, genetics, pain models), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological), disorders (cancer pain, neuropathic pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, abdominal/pelvic pain, back pain, paediatric pain), and drug development.
In the series Anesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain in Neonates and Children, leading international experts provide detailed, up-to-date information on key topics in the field. Both basic and advanced aspects are covered, with thorough descriptions of current techniques and stimulating consideration of future directions. The series editors are acknowledged authorities on pediatric anesthesia who have contributed to Italian and international guidelines and published extensively on various facets of this branch of medicine. This series will be an invaluable resource for anesthesiologists, neonatologists and pediatricians looking to update their knowledge and a useful educational tool for residents and students.
Acute and Procedure Pain in Infants and Children by
This volume documents the past progress in the aggressive management of acute pain in children. Leading clinicians and scientists discuss mapping the complex cascade of events occurring in response to pain in both the central and peripheral nervous systems and the many ways to manage acute pediatric pain.
Anesthesia and Pain Management for the Pediatrician by
A handbook to providing medical clearance for anaesthesia, whether for a well child, a child with asthma or another chronic disease, or a child with an acute or recent respiratory infection. There is information about less painful techniques for administering anaesthesia to children, as well as specific information about pain prevention and relief and techniques for administering sedatives and analgesics in the office setting.
The Child with Headache: Diagnosis and Treatment by
Ten papers by North American specialists address the extent of the pediatric headaches, headache assessment (per the International Headache Classification System), diagnosis, causative/triggering factors, and drug and nondrug management programs.
Chronic and Recurrent Pain in Children and Adolescents by
This book provides in-depth reviews of important issues relating to chronic pain in children. Topics range from basic neurophysiology to clinical diagnosis and treatment. The contributors emphasize scientific evidence and clinical applications, making the text invaluable to those working in the fields of children's pain or developmental aspects of pain mechanisms.
Measurement of Pain in Infants and Children by
19 papers from the first biennial International Forum on Pediatric Pain treat psychometric, neurophysiological, neurobiological, behavioral, and clinical issues in the measurement, management, and research on pain in a population for whom the standard self-report is untenable--except through specially- designed measures.
Pain in Infants, Children, and Adolescents, 2e by
Written by an international group of experts from all relevant disciplines, this book remains an indispensable source of guidance for all clinicians who treat pediatric patients with acute and chronic pain.
Pain Management, 2e by
Regarded as the premiere clinical reference in its field, Pain Management, 2e provides comprehensive, practical, highly visual guidance to help you effectively apply the most recent evidence-based advances in pain management.
Pediatric Critical Care by
Pediatric Critical Care covers the entire field, from basic science to cutting-edge clinical applications. An expert team of editors and contributors from around the world, bring you today's best information on the current and future landscape of pediatric critical care so you can consistently deliver optimum care to your young patients.
Pediatric Pain: Biological and Social Context by 
The Pediatric Pain Handbook by 
Pediatric Pain Management: A Multi-Disciplinary Approach by
Pediatric Pain Management provides the theoretical knowledge required to manage acute and chronic paediatric pain, and discusses both drug and non-drug methods of pain relief. The information is presented in an accessible manner to enable readers to apply it in their daily clinical practice.
Prevention and Control of Pain in Children: A Manual for Health Professionals Based on the Findings of a Workshop of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health, London by 
Chemotherapy in Neonates and Infants: Pharmacological Oncology for Children Under 1 Year Old by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of pediatric oncology, discussing drug therapy and treatment in children under the age of 1 year. It is the first volume to focus on chemotherapy in newborns and infants, especially the daily clinical practice and treatment protocols.
Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology: A Pocket Guide by
This book is intended to offer guidelines about drug interactions for physicians, pharmacists and the other healthcare professionals involved in the chemotherapy of pediatric patients. In this book the reader will have access to a primary introduction for the major diseases in pediatric oncology, followed by the major therapeutic protocols.
Pediatric and Adolescent Oncofertility: Best Practices and Emerging Technologies by
Reflecting the increasing interest in fertility management for pediatric and adolescent patients and fulfilling an urgent need to have a comprehensive guide to the management of these individuals, this is the first book of its kind to present a comprehensive discussion of pediatric and adolescent oncofertility.
Supportive Care in Pediatric Oncology: A Practical Evidence-Based Approach by
This book provides a thorough and up-to-date discussion of key issues in the supportive care of children with cancer. A variety of frequently encountered situations is covered, including infections, metabolic, cardiopulmonary and neurologic emergencies, tumor lysis syndrome, pain, emesis, mucositis, thrombotic disorders, nutritional problems, hyperleukocytosis and acute abdomen.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
