This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Perioperative Medicine.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
The 5-Minute Anesthesia Consult by
The 5-Minute Anesthesia Consult provides a readily accessible compilation of anesthesia topics that is useful to students, residents, physicians, certified nurse anaesthetists, anesthesia assistants, and ancillary medical staff. Following the highly successful format of the 5-Minute Clinical Consult series, 480 topics will be covered, each in a highly formatted two-page spread covering risk factors and epidemiology, preoperative evaluation, intraoperative care and postoperative care. The topic specific format of each chapter provides a focused, evidence-based, yet simplified, discussion of Physiology, Management, Co-Existing Disease, Surgical Procedure, and Drug topics.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Anaesthetic and Perioperative Complications by
Anaesthetic and Perioperative Complications dissects the nature of complications and helps anaesthetists and anaesthetic practitioners understand, avoid and manage them efficiently. Leading experts combine the detailed clinical management of common and important anaesthetic and perioperative complications with discussion of the key philosophical, ethical and medico-legal issues that arise with assessing a medical complication.
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care for Organ Transplantation by
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care for Organ Transplantation covers transplantation of the heart, lung, liver, pancreas, and kidney, as well as multivisceral and composite tissue graft transplantations. For each kind of transplantation, the full spectrum of perioperative considerations is addressed: preoperative preparation, intraoperative anesthesia management, surgical techniques, and postoperative care.
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care of the High-Risk Patient, 3e by
The fully updated third edition of this popular handbook provides a concise summary of perioperative management of high-risk surgical patients. Written by an international group of senior clinicians, chapters retain the practical nature of previous editions, with concise text in a bulleted format offering rapid access to key facts and advice.
Anesthesia for Hepatico-Pancreatic-Biliary Surgery and Transplantation by
This concise, accessible book covers anesthesia for hepatico-pancreatic-biliary (HPB) surgery and transplantation, based on randomized clinical trials, meta-analyses, case series, reports, and hands-on experience. The anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology and clinical consequences are discussed, and the close ties between HPB resection and transplant anesthesia are explored.
Australasian Anaesthesia 2023 by 
A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions by
The occurrence of deleterious or even fatal drug-drug interactions (DDIs) in the perioperative period is no longer a theoretical concern but a harrowing reality. A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions addresses the complex realm of pharmacokinetic drug interactions in an easy-to-read volume that functions as both a comprehensive clinical reference and a casebook.
Catastrophic Perioperative Complications and Management: A Comprehensive Textbook by
This textbook will provide educational material for the many students who participate in perioperative medicine. It will focus on the most serious perioperative complications and include a discussion of the pathophysiologic and pharmacologic implications unique to each. Additionally, it will provide medicolegal information pertinent to those providing care to these patients. All chapters will be written with the most current and relevant information by leading experts in each field.
Clinical Fluid Therapy in the Perioperative Setting by
Clinical Fluid Therapy in the Peri-Operative Setting brings together some of the world's leading clinical experts in fluid management to explain what you should know when providing infusion fluids to surgical and critical care patients. Current evidence-based knowledge, essential basic science and modern clinical practice are explained in 25 focused and authoritative chapters.
Core Topics in Anaesthesia and Peri-Operative Care of the Morbidly Obese Surgical Patient by
An essential read for healthcare providers across all disciplines, this book is a comprehensive guide to the perioperative management of the obese patient. Providing practical guidance on specific aspects of physiology, pharmacology and anaesthetic technique, it addresses the increasing prevalence of obese patients in both elective and emergency settings and the need for a definitive text on the perioperative care for these patients.
Core Topics in Preoperative Anaesthetic Assessment and Management by
Part of the popular Core Topics series, this book provides a practical guide to pre-operative assessment for consultants and trainee anaesthetists. Chapters cover comprehensive evidence-based guidance for assessing and managing patients with particular conditions, as well as perioperative risk stratification and challenges of pre-assessment.
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls by
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases.
The ECG Made Easy, 9e by
This popular practical text provides a readable guide to ECG interpretation, with an emphasis on straightforward application. It is written in simple language to demystify the subject, and now includes sample 12-lead ECGs for reference.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6e by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care: Strategies for Prevention, Early Detection, and Successful Management of Perioperative Complications, 2e by
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia & Critical Care, 2e is a problem-oriented approach textbook that will aid a wide variety of readers in handling day-to-day issues and developments relevant to the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients.
Evidence-Based Practice in Perioperative Cardiac Anesthesia and Surgery by
This comprehensive yet concise book addresses current best practice in the combined areas of cardiac surgery and anesthesia, interventional minimally invasive cardiac procedures, perioperative management and monitoring, and critical care recovery. This book not only provides the latest best practices in the perioperative management of cardiac surgical patients, but also it summarizes the current clinical guidelines and algorithms from leading cardiac programs and professional societies.
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
The perioperative medicine sections have been updated including recent major ANZCA trials.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care, 8e by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8e, offers practical guidance from today’s international leaders in cardiac anaesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today’s clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology.
Medication Safety during Anesthesia and the Perioperative Period by
With medication errors in healthcare an internationally recognised problem, this much-needed book delivers a comprehensive approach to understanding medication safety in the perioperative period. It reviews what medication adverse events are, and how often and where these errors occur, as well as exploring human cognitive psychology and explaining why things can go wrong at any time in a complex system.
Modern Monitoring in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Care by
A practical resource for understanding this array of clinical monitoring options in anaesthesia, this important text focuses on real-world applications in anaesthesia and perioperative care. Reviewing the evidence for improved patient outcomes for monitoring technology, neurological monitoring, echocardiography systems and ultrasound are amongst the techniques covered in a head-to-toe approach. Statistics used by manufacturers to gain approval for their technology are discussed, as well as the under-appreciated risks associated with monitoring such as digital distraction.
Monitoring in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Monitoring in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care is a practical and comprehensive resource documenting the current art and science of perioperative patient monitoring, addressing the systems-based practice issues that drive the highly regulated health care industry of the early twenty-first century. Initial chapters cover the history, medicolegal implications, validity of measurement and education issues relating to monitoring.
Morbid Obesity: Peri-operative Management, 2e by
Morbid Obesity: Peri-operative Management, 2nd edition considers the perioperative care of the morbidly obese patient, from preoperative preparation to intraoperative management and through to their postoperative course.
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by
An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.
Peri-Operative Anesthetic Management in Liver Transplantation by
The book covers all aspects of peri-operative anaesthetic management of liver transplant patients. It provides a comprehensive coverage of the relevant history, surgeons', hepatologists', intensivists' and paediatricians' perspective of the disease, its pathogenesis, clinical presentation and indication for transplant. It discusses the practical aspects like fluid management and use of vasopressors. The book is divided into sections for a better and comprehensive delivery of information. Individual sections provide up to date information on the pre-operative issues and optimisation, intra-operative care and management and post-operative critical care issues and management of all transplant patients with special emphasis on recent advances.
Perioperative Anesthetic Care of the Obese Patient by
Perioperative Anesthesia: Complications and Challenges of the Obese Patient guides the practicing anaesthesiologist through each stage of surgery for the obese patient. This clinically relevant text thoroughly illustrates the unique challenges and complications the anaesthesiologist faces when supervising and administering drug delivery during surgery.
Perioperative Care in Cardiac Anesthesia and Surgery by
The book addresses every aspect of cardiopulmonary bypass management and fast-track and traditional cardiac anesthesia and describes all surgical techniques, with emphasis on postoperative considerations. Close attention is also given to routine care and management of complications in the cardiac surgical recovery unit.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and paediatric patients.
Perioperative Fluid Management by
This book presents the most recent evidence-based facts on perioperative fluid management and discusses fluid management from basic sciences to clinical applications and the patients' outcomes. Recent advances in understanding the Revised Starling principle with new concepts in tissue perfusion and the most recent techniques of perioperative goal directed fluid management are described.
Perioperative Medicine: Current Controversies by
This book addresses those aspects of anaesthetic practice in perioperative medicine which have a significant impact on both the immediate and the long-term outcome for the surgical patient. Perioperative Medicine is the natural evolution of anaesthesia from a main focus on thepatient in the operating room to a responsibility for the care of the patient from the time that the decision to operate is made, through to discharge from hospital.
Perioperative Medicine: Managing for Outcome, 2e by
Based on the most current evidence and best practices, Perioperative Medicine: Managing for Outcome, 2e, is an easy-to-follow, authoritative guide to achieving optimal outcomes in perioperative care. Written and edited by recognized authorities in anaesthesiology and surgical critical care, this fully updated edition helps you think critically about complex, long-term issues surrounding the care of the surgical patient, providing decision trees that define strategies to enhance the medical outcome of care. Focuses on what anaesthesiologists, surgeons, and intensivists need to know in order to improve outcomes through evidence- and outcome-based approaches.
Perioperative Pain Control: Tools for Surgeons: A Practical, Evidence-Based Pocket Guide by
Written by experts in the field. Includes a review of evidence-based alternatives to opioids. Provides information and guidelines to managing chronic pain within each surgical specialty.
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide by
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide provides a unique and comprehensive approach to pain management, offering effective treatment strategies tailored to various specialties. This collaborative effort includes insights from experts in anesthesiology, pain management, physical medicine, addiction medicine, pharmacy, and surgery, ensuring diverse and inclusive content for all healthcare professionals involved in perioperative pain management. The book addresses special patient populations, highlighting specific challenges and strategies to meet their analgesic needs. Clinical providers seeking a blueprint for creating optimal perioperative pain management pathways will find this guide invaluable for planning and optimizing their clinical resources.
Perioperative Quality Improvement by
Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anaesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anaesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analysing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations.
Perioperative Two-Dimensional Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Practical Handbook, 2e by
Perioperative Two-Dimensional Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Practical Handbook, 2e has been designed to be a concise, portable guide for using TEE to recognize cardiac pathology during the perioperative period. This compact guide has a diverse appeal for anaesthesiologists, cardiac surgeons and cardiologists desiring comprehensive up-to-date echocardiographic information at their fingertips.
Personalized Medicine in Anesthesia, Pain and Perioperative Medicine by
This book discusses the current and future impact of cellular and molecular medicine (CMM) on anesthesiology and perioperative medicine. It covers the topic from a translational perspective and describes the relevance of CMM to daily clinical practice.
Person Centered Medicine by
The 21st is being recognized as the Century of the Person, particularly in Medicine and Health. Person Centered Medicine, as a concept and global programmatic movement developed in collaboration with the World Medical Association, World Health Organization, International Council of Nurses and 30 other institutions over a decade of annual Geneva Conferences, places the whole person as the center of health and as the goal and protagonist of health actions. Seeking the person at the center of medicine, has meant a medicine of the person, for the person, by the person and with the person. Articulating science and humanism, it strives for a medicine informed by evidence, experience and values and aimed at the restoration and promotion of health for all. This textbook on Person Centered Medicine reviews this perspective as it has evolved to date and its resulting knowledge base.
Post-Anesthesia Care: Symptoms, Diagnosis and Management by
This book aids the practitioner in the clinical management of surgical patients during the often turbulent hours after surgery. After a brief introduction to PACU organization, this manual discusses the common and most serious symptoms encountered in the post-operative patient, giving guidance on diagnosis of the underlying disorder and the treatment options available.
Practical Perioperative Transoesophageal Echocardiography, 3e by
Practical Perioperative Transoesophageal Echocardiography, 3e, is the definitive guide dedicated to helping clinicians use this essential imaging technique to manage perioperative cardiac patients. Capturing the latest evidence-based developments; this resource offers authoritative guidance on monitoring and procedures for cardiac anaesthetists and intensivists.
Preoperative Assessment and Management, 3e by
This latest edition of Preoperative Assessment and Management offers up-to-date, concise, and comprehensive information for anyone who performs preoperative assessments on patients. With a practical, no-nonsense writing style, it provides fast, efficient answers on evaluating patients with neurological, cardiac, renal, endocrine, metabolic, hematologic, musculoskeletal, and other disorders; administering medications; and more.
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient: Enhanced Recovery Before Surgery by
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient is a ground-breaking collaborative effort written by medical and psychological experts in the field of pain management with a specific interest in the perioperative arena. The modern emphasis on biopsychosocial-spiritual care is as important here as anywhere in medicine as comprehensive mind-body preparation is essential to optimize outcomes.
Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency by
Perioperative safety continues to be a global challenge. It is estimated that approximately 200 million surgical procedures are performed annually worldwide, and despite various national and global safety initiatives, perioperative adverse event rates remain alarmingly high. Although hospitals and governmental agencies impose safety standards and certification by organizations such as the Joint Commission, which can address issues of perioperative safety, many hospitals in developed, developing or underdeveloped countries lack the resources or knowhow to decrease perioperative adverse events. There is a great opportunity for improving perioperative safety worldwide especially in underdeveloped or developing countries. Filling a gap in the literature, this book teaches healthcare providers the basic principles of perioperative safety and efficiency, including checklists and processes to reduce adverse events.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
Reducing Mortality in the Perioperative Period, 2e by
This book offers a complete description of each topic with updated evidence from the literature. Each chapter deals with a specific drug or technique and is structured into the following: background knowledge, main evidence from the literature, and a practical how-to section. Lastly, the book describes in detail the consensus process used, which served to reinforce the systematic review and which is currently being used and improved in other settings with growing success.
Savage and Aronson's Comprehensive Textbook of Perioperative and Critical Care Echocardiography, 3e by
Savage & Aronson's Comprehensive Textbook of Perioperative and Critical Care Echocardiography, 3e, remains the definitive text and reference on transesophageal echocardiography (TEE). This authoritative reference covers material relevant for daily clinical practice in operating rooms and procedural areas, preparation for certification examinations, use of echocardiography in the critical care setting, and advanced applications relevant to current certification and practice guidelines.
Standards and Recommendations for Safe Perioperative Practice, 5e by
The fifth edition of AfPP’s benchmark publication has been revised and updated for 2022. Following the launch of the Standards and Recommendations Online in January, the printed version is now also available to buy.
Written by practitioners for practitioners, ‘Standards and Recommendations for Safe Perioperative Practice’ is the essential reference tool for all theatre departments. It provides comprehensive guidance on evidence-based best practice and minimising risk in and around the operating theatre.
Standards for Perioperative Medicine by
The purpose of this document is to articulate standards and associated indicators of quality care against which performance can be compared.
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2e by
The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care.; This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Perioperative medicine
Handbook of anaesthesia & peri-operative medicine by
This book is an invaluable educational resource for trainee anaesthetists and an indispensible aide-mémoire for practising anaesthetists.Each chapter discusses the significance and importance of problems that can impact the peri-operative management of the surgical patient. The case scenarios at the end of each chapter will additionally help in understanding the practical relevance of basic science.
Medication Safety during Anesthesia and the Perioperative Period by
With medication errors in healthcare an internationally recognised problem, this much-needed book delivers a comprehensive approach to understanding medication safety in the perioperative period. It reviews what medication adverse events are, and how often and where these errors occur, as well as exploring human cognitive psychology and explaining why things can go wrong at any time in a complex system.
Perioperative Care, Anaesthesia, Pain Management and Intensive Care: An Illustrated Colour Text by
A concise textbook on perioperative care, anaesthesia, pain management and intensive care in the 'Illustrated Colour Text' series. Topics covered include concerns about surgery and anaesthesia; the preoperative visit/optimisation; and co-existing diseases in the perioperative period.
Perioperative Care in Cardiac Anesthesia and Surgery by
The book addresses every aspect of cardiopulmonary bypass management and fast-track and traditional cardiac anesthesia and describes all surgical techniques, with emphasis on postoperative considerations. Close attention is also given to routine care and management of complications in the cardiac surgical recovery unit.
Perioperative Medicine by
Peri-operative medicine provides practical guidelines on the management of all the common medical conditions likely to be encountered in routine surgical and anaesthetic practice. The first section addresses a range of general issues that can arise on surgical wards when patients with complex medical problems are being prepared for operation, such as obtaining informed consent. The book then provides simple protocols for the safe care of patients with underlying medical problems on surgical wards, with special focus on the risks that various conditions pose for surgery and anaesthesia. The third part of the book looks at the diagnosis and management of medical complications in the post-operative period.
Perioperative Medicine for the Junior Clinician by
Perioperative Medicine for the Junior Clinician is the first easy-to-read resource, featuring a digital component, on how to manage a diverse range of patients in the perioperative period, providing up-to-date practical knowledge and advice from a broad range of medical specialists caring for surgical patients.Perioperative Medicine for the Junior Clinician provides a guide to perioperative care, covering principles and practices of care; risk assessment; laboratory investigations; medication management; specific medical conditions and complications; postoperative care and pain management. It also features bite-size videos explaining the key concepts, as well as case studies, investigations and quizzes.
A Surgeon's Guide to Anaesthesia and Peri-Operative Care by
The book is presented in three sections. The first focuses on applied basic sciences for the surgeon. The second discusses perioperative care and specific considerations that arise in the surgical specialties from both the surgical and anaesthetic viewpoint. The third section, 'At a Glance', is written in an easily accessible, brief format for revision or reference.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
