This page includes all the resources which are part of the recommended reading list for the ANZCA Primary exam, and includes annotations from the primary exam team.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources > ANZCA primary exams (PEx): Recommended reading list
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
West's now online and latest edition of Miller's now available!
It is now possible to access West's Respiratory Physiology as an online text - see entry below for access details. And the latest - 10th - edition of Miller's Anesthesia is now online.
The recommended reading list (…and beyond)
Candidates are advised that all examination questions are based on Learning Outcomes (LOs) and that the great majority of information required is contained in the recommended texts. The most recent version of each of the following texts is the recommended text. However, some topics are only superficially covered in the textbooks and candidates are advised to draw on many resources as they study, in order to gain a deeper understanding of those areas that relate to everyday anaesthetic practice.
Appendix 2 contains all of the Learning Outcomes which are examinable in the primary exam, and should form the basis of teaching and study programs for the primary exam.
Note: Resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e by This text should be studied thoroughly. It covers a large number of the primary LOs very well.
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e by Similar to Hemmings & Egan (see above). Covers some LOs not contained in Hemmings & Egan.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by This text provides excellent detailed coverage of most core areas.
This chapter from the 8th edition of Miller's was discontinued in the 9th and 10th editions. It contains essential detail on the cardiovascular effects of inhalational agents.
Foundations of Anesthesia: Basic Sciences for Clinical Practice by Although last published in 2005, this text contains some content/chapters not covered in other texts.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by The most helpful chapters are: 15, 28, 32, 70, 89, 92, 93, 94, 95, 97, 98.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by The most helpful chapters are: 1.1, 1.4 and 1.5. Otherwise, use the search function to find information about specific LOs.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by The most helpful chapters are: 1-7, 10-13, 26-28.
General physiology
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist, 4e by This text should be studied thoroughly. Additional texts are needed for respiratory-, cardiac- and renal-specific physiology (see below).
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e by Use to supplement Kam & Power (see above) as needed.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 26e by Use to supplement Kam & Power (see above) as needed.
Respiratory physiology
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e by 
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e by Use as a revision aid, after studying Nunn & Lumb's.
Cardiovascular physiology
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e by Renal physiology
Vander's Renal Physiology, 9e by General pharmacology
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e by Useful for basic PK/PD, and drug groups applicable to community/perioperative medicine settings.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 10e by Useful for basic PK/PD, and drug groups applicable to community/perioperative medicine settings. Use as an alternative to Katzung & Trevor.
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by Very detailed. Use the search function to find information about specific LOs, as required.
Anaesthetic pharmacology
See also: Integrated physiology and pharmacology section (above)
Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e by Contains detailed coverage of most areas.
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by Excellent coverage of local anaesthetics and neuraxial anaesthesia. The most useful chapters are: 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11.
Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 9e by Chapters relevant to the primary exam are: 1, 2, 3, 4 (pp. 149-155), 5, 7 (pp. 295-302), 8. Note: Only the anatomy LOs contained in Appendix 2 are examinable in the primary exam.
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e by 
Basic Physics and Measurement in Anaesthesia, 5e [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by 
The Physics, Clinical Measurement and Equipment of Anaesthetic Practice for the FRCA, 2e by 
Clinical Monitoring: Practical Applications for Anesthesia and Critical Care [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by 
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6e by 
A Practical Approach to Anesthesia Equipment by 
Our dedicated anaesthesia training resources guide provides resource support for all parts of the anaesthesia training program and curriculum, as well as an extensive list of assessment and exam resources.
Find out more
For more information about the Primary Exam (PEx), visit the college Anaesthesia exams webpage.
Learn@ANZCA
Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system.
Additional PEx revision resources are located in the PEx Revision Aids section of the Anaesthesia Training Resources guide.
Graphic Anaesthesia: Essential Diagrams, Equations and Tables for Anaesthesia, 2e by 
*Please Note: The user must create a free local profile to access this feature.
Helpful information about a range of equipment and monitoring devices.
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia : Principles and Practice, 6e by The most helpful chapters are: 2, 3, 4, 5, 12, 20.
AccessMedicine interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed. Additionally, there a number of discrete anatomy tours for areas of the body including the brain, muscles and nerves, the spine and many more.
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
